We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get to know the real St Lucia” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Poinsettia Villa Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Poinsettia Villa Apartments to your Saves list
Poinsettia Villa Apartments
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Belizaire Road | Saint Lucia, Castries, St. Lucia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct For Best Rate
Vitoria-Gasteiz, Spain
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Get to know the real St Lucia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We just came back from staying at Poinsettia Apartments and we are already missing it.

The location of the apartments is perfect, within walking distance to Castries, where you can visit its market, try all the different local fruit and vegetables and have a creole lunch. The beautiful Vigie Beach is also within walking distance.

The apartments have everything you may need. The kitchen is fully equipped with a coffee machine, toaster, etc. They are surrounded by a beautiful green landscape, with various mango and other trees. It is just awesome to find a bag full of exotic fruit at your doorstep when coming back after a long day discovering all that the island has to offer. Another of our favorites was enjoying the amazing sunset over the Vigie cove from the terrace. Simply beautiful!

The staff is lovely and will go out of their way to help you with whatever you need. From giving you a ride to the supermarket on your first day there to help you find out how to organize a hike to the Gros Piton.

We are looking forward to come back in the future and definitely recommend the Poinsettia Apartments to anyone visiting St Lucia that is looking for a different experience than the one offered by the all inclusive resorts, looking for “a home away from home,” as they themselves describe it.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
5
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

We choose Poinsettia Apartments based on positive reviews in TA, location and affordability.
Since this was our first time in St.Lucia we wanted to stay somewhat in the middle between Rodney Bay and Soufriere /Pitons area. Castries was our choice for a base town and Poinsettia Apartments were our base camp!
Secluded in the exclusive hill , above Point Seraphine on the Vigie side of Castries , this small apartment complex with a beautiful garden and a swimming pool have the best view of the bay! We were greeted by Farida, one of the owners, who was extremely kind, helpful and gave us many ideas on where to shop and what to see around. Philip and Monique, the caretakers of the property went out of their ways to help us with all the requests we had.
We stayed at apartment #5 with two bedrooms. The rooms were comfortable, spacious, and spotless. One of the two terraces was overlooking the bay and the other was looking at the pool. We even had a complimentary welcome basket with coffee and breakfast items waiting on the counter-top and on the last day of our stay we had a bag of Caribbean fruits left on our door handle!
One of our favorite late afternoon activities was lounging by the pool, feeling the cool breeze, watching the cruise ships sailing off the harbor and sharing stories with the new friends we’ve made in Poinsettia.
Since there are only seven apartments, we felt as if we had the place to ourselves. It was that quiet and serene. We have rented a car and explored the island daily, but when in Castries you would walk from Poinsettia to the market and historical sites . It was a safe and pleasant walk. The town has an authentic Caribbean feel that you won’t find at Rodney bay or Cap Estate.
I highly recommend Poinsettia for your choice in Castries, the apartments are real gem!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

I stayed there for two months, and enjoyed every moment. Loved my morning swim in the wonderful pool and in the evening as the sun was setting. Or sitting on the porch wiith a cup of coffee and look at the huge cruise ships sailing by in the sunset. The people who run the place are very nice and helpful, and you feel welcome. The location is amazing and the aparments are fully equipped. So much nicer than a hotel room, because you have everything here, a kitchen, a washing machine - all you need to make you feel home - like you live here, and not just another tourist. I can fully recommend this place to everyone who enjoys beauty and freedom at an expendable Price. Dorte from Denmark

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Ontario
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

I stayed at Poinsettia Apartments for two months this year and had a wonderful time. The family who own the apartments are delightful. While I was there Margaux was running the office and was very kind and helpful, arranging for day trips etc. whenever I needed to book something. She even gave me a lift a couple of times. Her sister Diane, whom I had met and corresponded with previously was also very helpful with my arrangements.

Part of the time I was staying alone as I was between visitors but I felt very comfortable and safe in this gated complex, which is also very well lit at night. As with the other reviewers I found it very convenient and loved to watch the activity in the harbour with the huge cruise ships going in and out each day. I could walk into town or use the bus service to go elsewhere on the island. It was also convenient to grocery stores, banks etc. and there was always a taxi handy if I needed to use one when grocery shopping.

All things considered I think this is one of the best values for money on the island. The apartments the pool and the grounds are beautiful and the family and staff are top notch. Hopefully I will be able to return again next year.

Room Tip: Apartment #5 has a private terrace with a great view of the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantes, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Poinsettia apartments is for me the best place to stay in St Lucia!

Really beautiful apartments, very nice pool, amazing view on Castries Bay... Very close from the airport but very quiet place, close from the city, the beach, everything!

The pluses: fruits and vegetables from the garden, the whole place is very very well maintained by a very nice team.

Just go and have a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barbados
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Its the perfect location for a business trip. 5 minutes from the Vigie airport and centrally connected to everything. the roof top patio is a great place for meeting up with partners. The apartments are spacious with lots of room for meetings. It comes with a full kitchen waher and dryer and all u need to be ready for business and to entertain.

Room Tip: There are 1 bedroom and two bedroom apartments. Some have a garden, some have two balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We have recently stayed in the Poinsettia Apartments in Castries, St Lucia. The apartments are very well presented and clean and tidy. We were made to feel very welcome and nothing was too much trouble. It was handy for the harbour and 'Duty free Shopping,' with Vigie Beach close by. The Coal Pot Restaurant is nearby and an excellent place to dine, with fine Caribbean cooking.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castries
0.3 mi away
Casa del Vega
Casa del Vega
#9 of 17 in Castries
4.0 of 5 stars 50 reviews
1.8 mi away
Villa Beach Cottages
Villa Beach Cottages
#1 of 17 in Castries
5.0 of 5 stars 517 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rendezvous Resort
Rendezvous Resort
#3 of 17 in Castries
4.5 of 5 stars 2,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
#3 of 17 in Gros Islet
4.5 of 5 stars 1,310 reviews
3.2 mi away
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort
2.2 mi away
St. James's Club Morgan Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poinsettia Villa Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poinsettia Villa Apartments

Address: Belizaire Road | Saint Lucia, Castries, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Castries
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Castries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Poinsettia Villa Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Poinsettia Caribbean Resort Villas/apartments, St. Lucia, is a small family owned and managed tropical retreat where attention to detail and personal care are always evident.Poinsettia resort consists of seven individual and tastefully furnished cozy apartment villas, each with private entrance. Centrally located on a hill top overlooking Vigie Cove, it offers a panoramic view of the Caribbean sea. Near the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Poinsettia Villa Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poinsettia Villa Apartments St. Lucia/Castries

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Poinsettia Villa Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.