We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel experience I won't forget” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cotton Bay Village

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Cotton Bay Village to your Saves list
Cotton Bay Village
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   PO Box 2374 | Cap Estate, Cas-En-Bas, Castries, St. Lucia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Castries
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Decent hotel experience I won't forget”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Booking process and getting checked in and out was a breeze. Concierge was really nice.

Hotel is not a luxury one, but for the price we paid, it was worth it. Lots of furniture needs updating and maintenance.

We stayed in a 3 bedroom terracotta villa. Each room had its own bathroom which made it super convenient. The smaller bedroom was tiny though, but did not create a bad experience. The other rooms were huge, and the ensuites were definitely one of the largest I have ever seen. The kitchen was pretty good except it was missing a lot of the basics like cutting knife, pans, proper cutlery. One thing to be aware of is that AC is only in the bedrooms...everywhere else is hot and muggy as hell. There was a sun roof with jacuzzi and private pool but we never really went there because it was really hot and the private pool had a lot of stuff in it. WiFi is included only where the modem is - you also have to request it. I would also recommend requesting a hanging net for the bedrooms to prevent mosquitoes.

The hotel pool was really nice and not crowded at all. The beach was kind of small and needed a lot of maintenance but overall it was a good experience. There's only one life jacket, which was not a big deal, but would have been great if we all had one. There's also a limited amount of kayaks and paddles, so prepare ahead if you have a big party.

Piano Piano restaurant - Food was good but prices are expensive! Although the restaurant was a little empty while we were there, service was still great. I love the piano man, he played nonstop throughout our meal.

Beach restaurant - we had breakfast here almost every day and really love the atmosphere and food. Beware that everyone on property runs on "island time" so every thing is slowed down by three folds. Waiters are really friendly and accommodating - shout out to "Sasha's mom" (sorry did not catch your name) you made our experience even better.

We had complimentary full body massages by a lovely lady who I forgot her name (starts with a L...). Was so good and relaxing, and really helped my body recover from the long piton hike a day prior.

Would not recommend driving on your own as roads are windy and there's no stop lights or street signs when you are outside of the city. To get to the resort, if you don't know your way you are bound to get lost! Taxi service was easily accessible through the concierge; even though it does add up in price if you go out a lot, at the end, our party felt like not renting a car was the best thing we did.

Room Tip: Request bed net, wi-fi, adapters and jacuzzi usage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CottonBayVillage, Director of Sales at Cotton Bay Village, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Tchin1180,
Thank you for taking the time to share your vacation experience with us at Cotton Bay Village. We really appreciate and value your wonderful comments. We are glad that you all had an enjoyable time with us, and was able to do the Piton Hike which is such fun, I will pass on your kind words to our therapist Aloysius who was able to help with your sore muscles after the hike. Again thank you and we all look forward to welcoming you back someday soon..
Regards Ginette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    77
    24
    10
    14
See reviews for
133
91
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
SURREY UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We stayed as a family in May in a private villa rental booked through the owner in UK. We had a 3 bed private terracotta villa. Very spacious and clean and good value for money. The grounds and flowers are very pretty .I would be wary if booking privately because the villa on one side was boarded up with a dirty empty pool and the one on the other side had dead birds in the pool.
The resort was fairly empty during our stay. The main pool was great and the warmest pool I have ever been in. The beach restaurant is a beautiful setting but was. £45 for lunch for 2 kids meals and a bowl of pasta and soft drinks . I won't repeat what had been said before the beach is not white sands but absolutely beautiful and breezy and the resort is quite isolated. I think it would do better as an all inclusive. The staff were all fantastic very warm, friendly and helpful. As a private rental we had to pay electric and a cleaning fee at the end of our stay. I am not sure if you have to pay if you book direct. At check in I was hit with a £287 check out fee
£100 PER WEEK for electric and. £80 odd pounds for the clean which we thought was going to be £40.
When I started to grumble the front desk scattered apart from one whom gave me the impression that he had heard this a lot. I lived in the Caribbean for years and I know that electric Is quite expensive but if it was as much as they charged me St lucia would be in darkness because the salaries are low.
Apparently it is metered but as we were out all day and didn't use full air con at night nothing would convince me that I used £100 a week. This soured the end of my holiday to be honest. A nice resort but wouldn't stay here again

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Getting our own rental car and driving on the left side of road was a major adventure for us the second we landed in St. Lucia. Cotton bay is located on the north side of the island. On the North side of the island is where most of the big resorts and cruise liners are (ex. sandals).

My husband and I stayed in a two bed room villa. The room was well decorated. But the windows had cracks in them so we got bitten up heavily by mosquito and both of the beds in the bedroom were the worst beds we have ever stayed in. We were so exhausted by the 3rd night we were there we considered switching hotels. It took us about 7 times speaking with the front desk that we need a better bed before we got our rooms switched. They didn't offer to switch us until we told me we were moving to a different place to stay. They upgraded us to a 3 bedroom villa.The difference between the rooms were night and day. The beds were of higher quality, there was a washer, the windows were better sealed, and they even had a jacuzzi on the roof!

Cotton bay is great- if you want to experience living on a island. But this is not where the sites are. The pitons are located on the south west side of the island. The site out there is truly remarkable. We took a small boat to the deep end of the ocean to snorkle and it is truly the most magical ocean floor you will see. The coral reef and the life within it was mind blowing. The sulfure springs are also near the pitons.If you don't plan to get a rental car, I don't recommend staying on the northen side of the island. The pro side, they have great resturants on the northern side of the Island and the Hairy Crab is one of our favorite resturants!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CottonBayVillage, Director of Sales at Cotton Bay Village, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Swtbublz,
Thank you for visiting us at Cotton Bay Village and taking the time to share your your experience of Cotton Bay Village and our beautiful St. Lucia. We are pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us. All the best and look forward to your return. Best regards Ginette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We have never been to St.Lucia & were very excited to go. Beautiful resort on the very north end of the island. Very secluded, quiet resort. Great location for rest and relaxation, food was excellent, must try the croissants and chocolate croissants, exceptional service from the wait staff. Loved having Danielle as our intern, she was very sweet and will do well. So lucky to have met Robert who shares his beaded necklaces & bracelets on the beach that he makes! He was a wealth of information about the island. When you stay at Cotton Bay a must is a visit to the spa for a massage with Joyce, superb!! The value of the resort was exceptional, must visit this resort.

Room Tip: We had room 75 balcony had a winding staircase to the pool area. Very nice two bedroom, living room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CottonBayVillage, Director of Sales at Cotton Bay Village, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Divingdiva77, Thank you for your wonderful review. it was a pleasure having you stay with us, especially since it was your very first trip to the beautiful shores of St. Lucia we are privileged to have been your pick. We are delighted to hear that you got to rest and relaxed while enjoying some croissant and chocolate ones too.I have passed on your kind words to Danielle, Robert and Joyce and we all look forward to welcoming you back some time soon. Best regards Ginette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

This resort is run down and horrible. I don't know who these people are that are walking into the villas and think that this is luxury. It's not even on par with how nice a Marriott hotel is. It's more like a Motel 6 and I am NOT exaggerating.

There is only air conditioning in the bedrooms and let me tell you, it is HOT there. And the bedroom air conditioning only works if the door is shut all day and you can shut the bathroom door (bathrooms aren't air conditioned either.)

Everything in the villa feels worn out. The upholstery was torn, the light fixtures at various places throughout were broken or torn. It's just really REALLY low rent. There's mold in a lot of areas, probably due to the lack of air conditioning.

You have been warned.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CottonBayVillage, Director of Sales at Cotton Bay Village, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear AzulSchmazul, thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us at Cotton Bay Village. We are sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations and that the lack of central air conditioning was such an important factor. We would like to thank you for the opportunity of serving you and again thank you for your review. Best regards Ginette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

Stayed here with my family during April spring break. Had originally booked a large 3-bdrm villa but was upgraded to the 4-bdrm Cotton House upon arrival. The villa was definitely spacious! More than enough room for the 6 of us. Each bedroom had its own bath. Part of the villa showed a little wear and tear (bathrooms needed to be re-grouted in parts, washing machine/dryer didn't work, coffee maker needed to be replaced, pool grating surrounding the pool needed to be replaced), but given the size of the house and how little time we spent inside, we were able to overlook this. A/C only in the bedrooms, but this villa had a separate den area with A/C downstairs that had a couch and TV. Private backyard pool area - its own gazebo in the shade. Short walk from villa to beach, pool and restaurants. Beach was not your typical Caribbean beach - darker sand, small, constant waves, tons of wind - but not many people outside of the resort used the beach, so it was nice and secluded and seemed safe. Not many panhandlers bothering you on the beach. Yes, the horses ride by occasionally, but they weren't a bother. Yes, there are a ton of kite surfers in the water but they provided some amusement for my kids to watch. Kayaks are available for use free of charge. Hotel pool is very large - with enough lane space to swim 25m laps. Marjorie's was in close proximity and a great place to grab lunch. Restaurants were so-so. The one by the beach was convenient, so the only reason we would go there. Went to Piano Piano - which was NOT worth the time nor the expense. Resort very close to Rodney Bay and Castries for for dinner.

Had a massage in the spa - masseuse was very capable. Spa was quiet and clean.

I would return to the resort with my family. Tons of room available for the price. Staff very friendly. Only complaint was that it never seemed like the concierge made our dinner reservations although we were told we had them. None of the restaurants were aware of our reservations. Luckily, we were able to be seated everywhere we went.

Room Tip: Definitely try for one of the larger villas. It was great to have all of the space!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CottonBayVillage, Director of Sales at Cotton Bay Village, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear 2000cl, thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your stay with us. It was indeed a pleasure having you and your family with us and we look forward to your return. Best regards and do have a lovely evening...Ginette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Based only on research online, I decided upon this resort for a honeymoon destination. A big gamble considering the event. My wife and I stayed here for a week. We couldn't have landed in a better place. Excellent service and restaurant (we prefer the beach club). The villa had an "at home" feeling. Trips organized at the front desk were precisely organized and on time. No shortage of things to make your stay worry free. People of St. Lucia were very polite. No one would harass you and always a good morning/evening with a smile. The resort is like a big gated community. You can stroll the streets at night with no worries. The compound is smoked weekly for insects. Everything to make your stay an enjoyable and memorable one is done. This will definately be the first of many visits for my family. Looking forward to the next visit. Guests of room 41 2014/04/26!!!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CottonBayVillage, Director of Sales at Cotton Bay Village, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear NickHassanali, many thanks for your email and trusting us for your special occasion, it was our pleasure to have you both. We are pleased that we were able to make Cotton Bay Village your home. All the best and we look forward to your return....Ginette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cotton Bay Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cotton Bay Village

Address: PO Box 2374 | Cap Estate, Cas-En-Bas, Castries, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Castries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Castries
#5 Luxury Hotel in Castries
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Castries
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Castries
#7 Romantic Hotel in Castries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cotton Bay Village 4.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cotton Bay Village Experience Cotton Bay Village is one of the best vacation experiences in the Caribbean and offers everything you need to make the most of your Caribbean vacation. Our full-service beachfront resort offers luxurious Apartments, Townhouses and Beachfront Villas, perfect for families and friends or if you are just looking to escape. Here you will find a secluded beach, a creche and kids club, an award winning spa and gym, two restaurants, butler service and a onsite deli/mini mart. We are located next to the St. Lucia Golf Club and just minutes away from Rodney Bay’s shopping mall, fabulous restaurants, casinos, cultural attractions and recreational activities. A variety of meal plans to suit your individual style and habits, from all inclusive, half board, breakfast to self catering dining options. The gourmet experience at Cotton Bay is part of the holiday and all children 5 and under eat for free. Bring the Baby, not the baggage is our philosophy and therefore we invite all families with young children to pre-order baby monitors, sterilizers, cots, cribs, blankets and baby bath tubs at no extra cost. Special baby foods and nappies can also be requested. Beachfront non-motorized watersports included with your holiday package and for the adventurous, why not try your hand at kite surfing or horse back riding, right on our beach. Catering to your individuality is what we do, ask for what you want and if we can tailor make it for you, that's our pleasure. Come and enjoy a place where you can truly unwind, let it be, enjoy real privacy, down time, quality time, true family time and so much more. Contemporary Caribbean Living at Cotton Bay Village Beach Resort. Why settle for a normal hotel room? Upgrade to a Villa at Cotton Bay Village. Book online today to enjoy your Caribbean vacation at Cotton Bay Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Cotton Bay Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cotton Bay Village Castries
Cotton Bay St Lucia
Cotton Bay Village St. Lucia/Castries

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cotton Bay Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.