We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sizable villas, secluded location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cotton Bay Village

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Cotton Bay Village to your Saves list
Cotton Bay Village
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   PO Box 2374 | Cap Estate, Cas-En-Bas, Castries, St. Lucia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Castries
NJ
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Sizable villas, secluded location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

Stayed here with my family during April spring break. Had originally booked a large 3-bdrm villa but was upgraded to the 4-bdrm Cotton House upon arrival. The villa was definitely spacious! More than enough room for the 6 of us. Each bedroom had its own bath. Part of the villa showed a little wear and tear (bathrooms needed to be re-grouted in parts, washing machine/dryer didn't work, coffee maker needed to be replaced, pool grating surrounding the pool needed to be replaced), but given the size of the house and how little time we spent inside, we were able to overlook this. A/C only in the bedrooms, but this villa had a separate den area with A/C downstairs that had a couch and TV. Private backyard pool area - its own gazebo in the shade. Short walk from villa to beach, pool and restaurants. Beach was not your typical Caribbean beach - darker sand, small, constant waves, tons of wind - but not many people outside of the resort used the beach, so it was nice and secluded and seemed safe. Not many panhandlers bothering you on the beach. Yes, the horses ride by occasionally, but they weren't a bother. Yes, there are a ton of kite surfers in the water but they provided some amusement for my kids to watch. Kayaks are available for use free of charge. Hotel pool is very large - with enough lane space to swim 25m laps. Marjorie's was in close proximity and a great place to grab lunch. Restaurants were so-so. The one by the beach was convenient, so the only reason we would go there. Went to Piano Piano - which was NOT worth the time nor the expense. Resort very close to Rodney Bay and Castries for for dinner.

Had a massage in the spa - masseuse was very capable. Spa was quiet and clean.

I would return to the resort with my family. Tons of room available for the price. Staff very friendly. Only complaint was that it never seemed like the concierge made our dinner reservations although we were told we had them. None of the restaurants were aware of our reservations. Luckily, we were able to be seated everywhere we went.

Room Tip: Definitely try for one of the larger villas. It was great to have all of the space!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CottonBayVillage, Director of Sales at Cotton Bay Village, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear 2000cl, thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your stay with us. It was indeed a pleasure having you and your family with us and we look forward to your return. Best regards and do have a lovely evening...Ginette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    75
    24
    10
    14
See reviews for
132
91
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Based only on research online, I decided upon this resort for a honeymoon destination. A big gamble considering the event. My wife and I stayed here for a week. We couldn't have landed in a better place. Excellent service and restaurant (we prefer the beach club). The villa had an "at home" feeling. Trips organized at the front desk were precisely organized and on time. No shortage of things to make your stay worry free. People of St. Lucia were very polite. No one would harass you and always a good morning/evening with a smile. The resort is like a big gated community. You can stroll the streets at night with no worries. The compound is smoked weekly for insects. Everything to make your stay an enjoyable and memorable one is done. This will definately be the first of many visits for my family. Looking forward to the next visit. Guests of room 41 2014/04/26!!!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CottonBayVillage, Director of Sales at Cotton Bay Village, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear NickHassanali, many thanks for your email and trusting us for your special occasion, it was our pleasure to have you both. We are pleased that we were able to make Cotton Bay Village your home. All the best and we look forward to your return....Ginette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

My wife and I spent a short 5 days vacation at the resort from April 10th to April 15th. Had chosen the resort based on the reviews and reasonable price.
Resort located on the North tip of the Island on Atlantic side about 1.5 to 2 hours drive from the airport depending on traffic. Resort consists on a number of villas. We stayed in the smaller one (one bedroom) that located around the big pool. Picture that you take your house and bring it to Carribeans. Our room was on the first floor with a porch coming out to the swimming pool. I had a feeling that it is a summer time and only me and my neighbor across the street are on vacation and the rest of the community are at work. After lunch seemed it was a bit more people. There was always a problem with towels at swimming pool (and at the beach as well), some time they were brought late and in short supply, and sometime were not brought at all.
Our accommodation consisted of a bedroom, leaving room, two baths and equipped kitchen. Window/door at the bedroom was facing to community drive, so we were keeping it closed and had to run air conditioner. On another hand, you have your own porch. If you are on the second floor, you have a balcony. Everything is in good shape, though toiletries when ran out were provided only when requested. At a huge bathroom mirrors were very small and far and it was not possible to shave (magnifying mirror would be a plus). Internet provided in the room via individual router that only covered one room and at a slow speed.
They have two restaurants. Beach restaurant serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. Service and food are very mediocre. We went to the town, bought some food and had breakfasts and some other meals in the villa. On another hand, the Piano Piano restaurant was really superb. When we went there it were only three tables occupied- what a shame. It works three days a week. Do recommend to dine there. On other occasions we went to Rodney Bay and had meals in couple restaurants there (Tapas on the Bay - food was great). Definitely recommend to rent a car to be a bit more mobile if not afraid to drive on the left side with the wheel on the right. There is another restaurant couple hundred feet to the left walking along the beach that serves local food. Food was simple and great.
Territory seems being maintained, but really need more work.
Beach has a gray kind of sand and fresh wind is blowing from Atlantic Ocean. As at the pool, there were not too many people. Service is kind of on a low side. Seaweeds being cleaned every morning, though beach cleaned only at the hotel and to the left were kitesurfing school is located. To the right of the hotel it is never being cleaned and there is a lot of garbage. So we ventured with short walks along the beach to the left followed by homeless (though known by locals) dogs that are friendly and always looking for food. Waters are alway busy with kitesurfers. There are kayaks available for residents use.
I drove further north of the island to the one of the private residences on top of the mountain. Views are magnificent of both our bay and Rodney bay. Also went to Cap Maison for dinner. Good experience, though on expensive side.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CottonBayVillage, Director of Sales at Cotton Bay Village, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Smiliee, thank you for your candid review, it was a pleasure having you stayed with us. We do take all our reviews very seriously, as we strive to offer the best service and to meet everyone's expectation. We do hope we can welcome you back some day. All the best Ginette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

We arrived to our destination Cotton Bay Village the property was amazing. The villa had three bedrooms and 4 bath rooms to much room for us but we had a ball. We also had a private pool great when you don't feel like leaving your room. I did not think it would look like the pictures online but it was even better. The staff greeted us at the counter with warm smiles and great conversation. My husband was so amazed with the treatment we received at this time. I felt like I was with family. Our trip was for a week didn't really have a lot planned but the help of their lovely staff every day was filled with adventure. The food was amazing and also the drinks. Now we did not really know there currency in which is called EC. After a few taxi rides to some local spots we soon learned. On our next trip we will be sure to take all EC. We did some shopping in their local mall in Castries found some great things real inexpensive. The local food places where out of the world curry chicken, stewed chicken, and the fish. I can also say the rum punch and my husbands favorite the Chairman's Reserve was GREAT!!! The people in St. Lucia are so laid back until its crazy. The love and since of calmness you feel in this place leaves you speechless. The trip was so amazing we have scheduled another trip in November.

Room Tip: Make sure you get the room with a private pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CottonBayVillage, Director of Sales at Cotton Bay Village, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Chenita J, thank you for wonderful review, and taking the time to share your vacation experience it was indeed a pleasure having you stay with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back to our beautiful shores. cold rum punch and chairman's reserve await you. All the best Ginette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

We were greeted with a warm welcome and shown to our villa by very courteous and friendly, W. Auguste.

The villa is beautiful. Get one with your own private pool.

The shuttles only run twice a week and for a limited time, so bring cab fare if you want to go anywhere,

We only ate at the beach restaurant twice because the staff were so rude.

Unfortunately, water was off much of the time and our air conditioning and refrigerator did not work.

The beach is perfect for wind surfing, but not so much for swimming.

All-in-all, a beautiful and safe place to stay for a short time.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CottonBayVillage, Director of Sales at Cotton Bay Village, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Vigeeblue, thank you for your review and sharing your vacation experience. our management team has taken your review seriously regarding the wait staff as we strive to provide courteous and friendly service at all times. All the best and we all look forward to welcoming back to Cotton Bay Village and the Beautiful island of St. Lucia. Regards Ginette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

You don't get a second chance to make a first impression and ours at Cotton Bay was sublime. Upon entering the gates of this beautiful boutique resort we were ushered into a little corner of paradise. This village of beautiful villas, with the fragrant scent of flowers gently wafting through the sun-kissed air was intoxicating. The grounds were meticulously maintained and the landscaping was lush and flower filled! The walk from our villa to the two restaurants within the confines of the village and to the beach reminded us daily of how fortunate we were to happen upon this Caribbean treasure.
Home away from home was a beautiful and inviting 3 bedroom villa that was maintained with the loving and caring hands of the staff during our stay.This in itself was a surprise as we had reserved a one bedroom villa with a private pool only to be upgraded to the three bedroom upon our arrival.The villa had a full kitchen and living room that both opened to our private patio and pool.The 3 bedrooms were immaculate and each provided flat screen TV's with plenty of channels to choose from. The 3 full bathrooms were spacious and clean and with windows opened to the gentle breeze, you could hear the sounds of the village drifting lazily through our villa. We ended each day on the rooftop patio gazing at the night sky feeling you could touch the stars they seemed that close.
The beach was so unique ... nothing like the large resorts that we had experienced. Nestled in a small cove it really felt like your private beach. The sound of galloping horses at waters edge mixed with the visuals of kite surfing and wind surfing made you want to pinch yourself to ensure that this wasn't a dream. No need to fight for a spot on the beach as there was always plenty of room available during our stay. If you tired of "laying on the beach" there was a hiking trail along the cove that provided spectacular views of the Caribbean, horseback riding, as well as kite and wind surfing.
Time spent at the Beach Restaurant and Piano Piano was warm and inviting and is one of our fondest memories of our stay. The food well prepared and delicious .... the drinks refreshing and relaxing ... and most importantly the staff that were ALWAYS smiling and pleasant and that made us feel like family. We'll always remember Madge, Verna, Liz, Ellie, Cecelia, Dale, Jonathon, August, and Noel for their warmth and hospitality and making us feel that we were special.
Natalie and George B

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CottonBayVillage, Director of Sales at Cotton Bay Village, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Dear George, thank you for giving us the opportunity for hosting you, and creating such beautiful memories of your stay at Cotton Bay Village and the beautiful island of St. Lucia. We also thank you for taking the time to write such a detail review about your experience, the team and I are delighted that we met and exceeded your expectations. All the best and we all look forward to welcoming you again some time soon. Do have a lovely Sunday...Ginette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

The staff here were really helpful and lovely. All the condos are gorgeous and the beach that the resort sits on offers lots of activities and is a beautiful spot on the island. There is kite surfing and horse riding offered right on cas en bas beach. The resorts restaurant and bar that sits right on the beach has great food and drinks at decent prices and is a good spot to wind in the day. The resort also has several kayaks free to use any time which we used daily on the sea. Truly a great experience and I definetly recommend this place!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CottonBayVillage, Director of Sales at Cotton Bay Village, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Tahlia, thank you for sharing your experience. We are happy that we made your vacation a blissful stay at a home away from home, and do hope we get the opportunity to welcome you again. All the best and see you again....Ginette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cotton Bay Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cotton Bay Village

Address: PO Box 2374 | Cap Estate, Cas-En-Bas, Castries, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Castries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Castries
#5 Luxury Hotel in Castries
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Castries
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Castries
#7 Romantic Hotel in Castries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cotton Bay Village 4.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cotton Bay Village Experience Cotton Bay Village is one of the best vacation experiences in the Caribbean and offers everything you need to make the most of your Caribbean vacation. Our full-service beachfront resort offers luxurious Apartments, Townhouses and Beachfront Villas, perfect for families and friends or if you are just looking to escape. Here you will find a secluded beach, a creche and kids club, an award winning spa and gym, two restaurants, butler service and a onsite deli/mini mart. We are located next to the St. Lucia Golf Club and just minutes away from Rodney Bay’s shopping mall, fabulous restaurants, casinos, cultural attractions and recreational activities. A variety of meal plans to suit your individual style and habits, from all inclusive, half board, breakfast to self catering dining options. The gourmet experience at Cotton Bay is part of the holiday and all children 5 and under eat for free. Bring the Baby, not the baggage is our philosophy and therefore we invite all families with young children to pre-order baby monitors, sterilizers, cots, cribs, blankets and baby bath tubs at no extra cost. Special baby foods and nappies can also be requested. Beachfront non-motorized watersports included with your holiday package and for the adventurous, why not try your hand at kite surfing or horse back riding, right on our beach. Catering to your individuality is what we do, ask for what you want and if we can tailor make it for you, that's our pleasure. Come and enjoy a place where you can truly unwind, let it be, enjoy real privacy, down time, quality time, true family time and so much more. Contemporary Caribbean Living at Cotton Bay Village Beach Resort. Why settle for a normal hotel room? Upgrade to a Villa at Cotton Bay Village. Book online today to enjoy your Caribbean vacation at Cotton Bay Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cotton Bay Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cotton Bay Village Castries
Cotton Bay St Lucia
Cotton Bay Village St. Lucia/Castries

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cotton Bay Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.