We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cotton Bay Village

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Cotton Bay Village to your Saves list
Cotton Bay Village
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   PO Box 2374 | Cap Estate, Cas-En-Bas, Castries, St. Lucia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Castries
South Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“We loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

I had planned on writing a lengthy review and naming everyone who made it special; however, the entire vacation was special and largely due to all of the staff.

We arrived the first week in March and everyday was as beautiful as the one before. I will worn you that the ride from the airport is long and winding, so if you have issues with this try to ride in the front. We reserved a car through the resort and it was great and inexpensive for 3 people ($100+ roundtrip). When we arrived we were upgraded to a 3 bedroom villa which was beautiful. It was my daughter, sister-in-law, and I so we all had our own large bedroom with bathroom.The kitchen was huge and had everything you could want. People need to realize that part of the charm of staying in the Carribean is having it be a bit different from home. Any issue or question we had was met with a prompt and friendly response. Once things were figured out like the internet ( you need them to set it up in your room), there were no problems. The washing machine is different then in the States too, so definitely ask about anything you're not sure of. We also needed help with the safe deposit box.

Breakfast was included in our stay so every morning we were greeted by the lovely ladies at the beach restaurant. They were very friendly and maybe it wasn't the fastest service, but we enjoyed it for what it was. The food was good, and in the evening, if you preferred, you could have it delivered to your villa. A huge plus, and always arrived hot and delicious. The other nights we went to Piano, Piano and enjoyed it very much. It was more upscale and pricey, but we thought the food and atmosphere were great. You have to try the "Signature" chocolate piano dessert.

Definitely take the shuttle into town and stock up on drinks and food for lunch and snacks, as the food is pricey on the island. Take advantage of the Spa and have a hot stone massage... heavenly.

We really enjoyed the dogs on the beach and watching the horses everyday.The dogs will not bother you if you don't want them around so don't let previous reviews unfairly influence you. We found them to be a positive experience.We loved the tranquillity of the whole site and never left except to go into town for provisions.We never had any problems with mosquitoes, but didn't open the windows too much and used the AC in the bedrooms.

I have been to St. Lucia a few times before and did all the sight seeing things, etc so didn't feel the need to see it again. However, if it is your first time definitely take advantage of the day trips and see the island. Thank you again for a fabulous stay. The entire staff needs to be praised for a job well done. Hope to come back soon, and highly recommend the resort for a laid back friendly vacation.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CottonBayVillage, Director of Sales at Cotton Bay Village, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for sharing your vacation experience this us. We are happy that we met your expectations. Now that you have found us, we look forward to welcoming you again. Stay relaxed! Ginette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    77
    24
    10
    14
See reviews for
133
91
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Somerset
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We loved our holiday at Cotton Bay! It was just sooooo relaxing. It was very quiet, even though there were quite a few families there with young children during our stay. The individual buildings of the resort are well distributed, so there's plenty of room for everybody.

I particularly enjoyed the grounds of the village which are full of tropical plants and flowers. These in turn attract lots of birds; we saw humming birds, sugar birds and egrets frequently. We delighted in feeding the very tame black birds and sparrows on our terrace over breakfast.

We stayed in a two bedroom apartment; we much preferred having an apartment than the usual hotel room. There was so much more space to relax and a kitchen to make snacks if we wanted to.

We spent some time most days walking up and down the long natural beach and watching the kite surfers before adjourning to the beach bar. Cas-en-Bas beach is so less crowded than some of the other beaches on the island; hence we were never pestered by anyone trying to sell local products. There is also a wonderful sea breeze most days which stops you from roasting during walks. We didn't have any trouble with mosquitos, but did get a few sand fly bites when walking on the beach in the evening.

We think that Cotton Bay Village is ideally situated, being right next to a quiet beach and a golf course, and just a short taxi ride away from the shops and restaurants of Rodney Bay.

Cotton Bay however isn't ideal for everyone, particularly not for those who want lots of activities and a 'party holiday'; but for those that want to relax around the pool or on the beach and enjoy the natural delights of the Caribbean, it's perfect.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CottonBayVillage, Director of Sales at Cotton Bay Village, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
It was our pleasure having you stay with us, and letting us help you to relax and enjoy our precious little island in the sun and Cotton Bay Village. We look forward to welcoming you back. All the best and see you soon. Best regards Ginette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed at Cotton Bay Village for a blissful week during spring break. The staff did everything to make our visit pleasant. Jeanette and Jason were especially caring and helpful. Thank you!

We highly recommend the villas by the beach -- just wonderful!

The beach was great. Almost private, no crowds, natural, and the hike to secret beach especially nice. The kite surfing school was one of the kids' favorite activities.

We rented a car, and highly recommend it. We went in to Rodney Bay often and traveled the island, including hikes in the rainforest. Finding trails in St Lucia isn't easy but worth it. Driving in St Lucia isn't too difficult.

We had a couple's massage, and the therapists were very good.

Can't wait to be back!

Room Tip: Mango villas have good layout and decent kitchen if you plan to cook and eat in; the ones by the bea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CottonBayVillage, Director of Sales at Cotton Bay Village, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Wow, thank you for that review, indeed St. Lucia and Cotton Bay Village is magical and our people are wonderful and always willing. thank you for staying with us and letting us make your experience magical as you describe it. All the best and we look forward to hosting you again. Best regards Ginette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We spent 8 days at Cotton Bay in March. It is located on the NE side of the island on the Atlantic Ocean in a nicely protected bay. It is kind of tucked away from everything-closest town is Rodney Bay which is a $16-$20 cab ride but only about 10 minutes away (they take either USD or Eastern Carribean $). Note it is about a 2 hour ride from the airport in the south. The hotel runs a shuttle 3 times a week so you can get provisions in the many shops of Rodney Bay. The beach is nice and not crowded at all compared to the Reduit beach over by Rodney Bay and there is generally no one trying to sell you stuff every 30 seconds like at Rodney Bay. They water is very warm-some seaweed on some days depending on the wind-but nothing to worry about. There are beach chairs and towels free. We got upgraded to a 3 bedroom villa upon arrival which was awesome. The villa had a full kitchen and a nice private courtyard with a small pool and chairs. Only the bedrooms are air conditioned and seemed clean to us. The main drawback is that there are no screens on the doors or windows and we made the mistake of sleeping with the doors open on the first nite. We awoke to 50+ bug bites each the next day which was somewhat irritating. Not sure if they were mosquitos or other bugs. We slept with the A/C on after that and only got a few here and there after that. They did bring a mosquito net when we asked, but the way it fell over the bed wasn't really big enough so we never used it. The staff was all awesome there and I can't say enough about how friendly they all were. There is a concierge who will arrange various excursions for you, which we did. The hotel has a gym with treadmills, bikes and weights. Some of the machines weren't maintained very well but it was adequate. They apparently have a spa of some sort as well but they never gave us any information on it so we never used it. The hotel has a beach restaurant/bar which was good but had a somewhat limited menu, and one other more fancy restaurant which we never ate at. They have a small store on site where you can get drinks, coffees, sandwichs,etc, but it's quite expensive. The food overall in St. Lucia was very expensive in my view, even surpassing Italy. I guess that is to be expected somewhat given it's an island but I haven't dropped that much money on food anywhere else in the world and it was mostly good but not outstanding for what you paid. The hotel also has a massive pool area which looked great but we never used as what's the point if you are at the beach? There is one other beach bar down the beach-unaffiliated with the hotel. We had a drink there one day which was fine but I don't know that I'd eat there as it looked a bit dodgy. There is nothing else on the beach around the bay other than some kite surfing places. There is a horse stable nearby and the horses come down daily and jump in the ocean which was kind of amusing to watch. Overall, we liked Cotton Bay but the bugs were a major drawback. It's a good place if you are looking for a quiet place to relax. Probably not so great if you are looking for nitelife and restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CottonBayVillage, Director of Sales at Cotton Bay Village, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Thank you for your review and sharing your Cotton Bay Village experience. Its was a pleasure having you stay with us. The bugs are seasonal and can be a nuisance especially being a tropical island, however we fumigate twice a week to help elevate the problem. All the best and again we were delighted to have you stay with us and look forward to welcoming you again. Best regards Ginette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

After having read the previous review, I thought it important to write my own. We stayed here last week and took over three villas looking out over the pool area, which were very spacious and cleaned every day. Ours needed a lick of paint but apart from that was very comfortable. We had a problem with WiFi, but when we reported it somebody came that afternoon to install a rooter.

Yes there are Mosquitos, but this is the Caribbean! Using a good quality anti mosi usually does the job!

We enjoyed the whole of cotton bay, the pool was brilliant for toddlers and very relaxing and quiet for the rest of us with a very helpfull bar!

We had previously read up about the beach and actually found it really beautiful perfect for morning walks and watching the sun rise. It had a very private feel which is lovely when no beaches on St Lucia are private.

We enjoyed the beach bar some evenings as we did the beach restaurant. Yes if you eat here every night of your stay I can imagine the choice becoming limited and there could be a daily special, but the food was delicious when it arrived.

We didn't try the Piano Piano restaurant though as we often either took a taxi or used the hire cars to Rodney Bay 10 min away (a buzzing town). We also saw some amazing sun sets at Cap Maison and Spinnakers on the beach, still only ten minutes way.

Cotton Bay is a very relaxed pace to stay. The staff are very friendly and do all they can for you. Yes it may take 5 mins for your cocktail or meal to arrive, but this is the Caribbean!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CottonBayVillage, Director of Sales at Cotton Bay Village, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
We are thankful that you chose to stay with us. We are very delighted to see just how much you enjoyed your time with us. It always puts a huge smile on our faces after reading such lovely reviews. All the best and we look forward to your return. Best regards Ginette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We came to Saint Lucia for white sandy beaches and relaxation: this is not what we got at cotton bay. We ended up moving hotels after a day. The website made this place look great and it's not. We stayed in a 3 bedroom suite. We didn't have hot water, the pool at our villa was dirty, and the chairs outside were wood with a thin cheap cushion on them.
We found bugs in the showers and rooms even though at first glance they seem clean and nice.

The beach is horrible, small, filled with stray dogs, the water is brown and full of seaweed and the sand is dark and dirty looking. This is the only hotel in Saint Lucia not on the Caribbean side. The Caribbean side is beautiful and filled with white sandy beaches. Anyway, there are 2 restaurants at the hotel but one is only open a few times a week and the other one, on the beach, has a few select things on the menu. I wouldn't want to eat there anyway because it just seems dirty and unkept. Not to mention there were zero vegetarian/vegan options.

The hotel is also very far from the main area of Saint Lucia which has cute shops, restaurants, grocery stores, etc. You have to take a cab everywhere. Not to mention it's the farthest from the airport, it took us 3 hours to get there.

This place is overpriced and basically gross! I wouldn't stay here ever again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1461, General Manager at Cotton Bay Village, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Krod3500;

It is disappointing that your experience with us did not meet your expectations. It is important to note that we value your comments and review and hope that you had an otherwise enjoyable vacation in St. Lucia. Thank you for taking the time out to share.

Michael Mathius
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roebling, New Jersey, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I have friends who live in St. Lucia, and I was coming for a visit. They invited me to stay at their home, but I didn't want to intrude, so I asked them to recommend a property. We booked the villa based on their recommendation. The Cotton Bay website doesn't show a lot of pictures, but sounded really nice. We originally booked a two bedroom villa, and my friend, who knows the owners, had us upgraded to a 3 bedroom villa.

The property was immaculate. Very well kept, and neat. The property is a bit tight... the villas are on narrow roads, but not a problem, because the cars are small.

The inside of the villa (41) was mostly clean, although the refrigerator looked like there were fingerprints on it. One of the upstairs bedroom AC unit didn't work for the first two days. We called the front desk 3 times, and on the third night, someone came and spent about an hour changing the thermostat, then a part in the closet, but fixed the AC. The dishwasher was broken. No attempt was made to fix it... we had to live with it. The clothes washer is one of those washer/dryer in one unit. Washed one load of clothes, and it took 6 hours to dry the clothes. Didn't really care about that too much, but it's something to keep in mind if you're planning to pack clean clothes for the flight home.

One thing that was really bothersome was there was always a laundry bag on the front porch. They changed the sheets every day and replaced the towels.

There was a plant in the sitting room that was in water. We noticed the water was teeming with mosquito larve... the mosquitos...

The main house isn't airconditioned... only the bedrooms. There are sheer curtains in front of the doors, but the breeze blows them open, and mosquitos get into the building. I have never received so many mosquito bites in my life... I admit, I didn't use any repellent, and I did read the reviews, so if you do stay... use repellent... they are bad.

The beach was nice, on the Atlantic Ocean side of the island. The water was clean, but because of the waves, there was sand silt in the water... and lots of seaweed, but we checked out beaches on the Caribbean side, and looked about the same with the silt and the seaweed... so this beach was no worse than other beaches in the area.

The staff was friendly and attentive and always answered the phone at any time. Check in and check out was effortless.

I will add photos that I took since the Cotton Bay website doesn't have too many pictures.

We didn't visit Piano Piano, but we did visit the beach bar... nice atmosphere, and we visited the little shop in the front of the property... looking for breakfast sandwiches around 10am, and they said they didn't get any deliveries until noon, so we left the property to seek food. Luckily we had a rental car, so we weren't limited at all.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CottonBayVillage, Director of Sales at Cotton Bay Village, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
We are happy that you had such a great holiday with us and the beautiful island of St. Lucia. Congratulations! you are our two hundred guest to share your experience and so we are delighted to offer you two free nights on your next stay with us. All the best and please email me at ginette@cottonbaystlucia.com to reserve your villa, do have a wonderful evening...Ginette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cotton Bay Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cotton Bay Village

Address: PO Box 2374 | Cap Estate, Cas-En-Bas, Castries, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Castries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Castries
#5 Luxury Hotel in Castries
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Castries
#7 Romantic Hotel in Castries
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Castries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cotton Bay Village 4.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cotton Bay Village Experience Cotton Bay Village is one of the best vacation experiences in the Caribbean and offers everything you need to make the most of your Caribbean vacation. Our full-service beachfront resort offers luxurious Apartments, Townhouses and Beachfront Villas, perfect for families and friends or if you are just looking to escape. Here you will find a secluded beach, a creche and kids club, an award winning spa and gym, two restaurants, butler service and a onsite deli/mini mart. We are located next to the St. Lucia Golf Club and just minutes away from Rodney Bay’s shopping mall, fabulous restaurants, casinos, cultural attractions and recreational activities. A variety of meal plans to suit your individual style and habits, from all inclusive, half board, breakfast to self catering dining options. The gourmet experience at Cotton Bay is part of the holiday and all children 5 and under eat for free. Bring the Baby, not the baggage is our philosophy and therefore we invite all families with young children to pre-order baby monitors, sterilizers, cots, cribs, blankets and baby bath tubs at no extra cost. Special baby foods and nappies can also be requested. Beachfront non-motorized watersports included with your holiday package and for the adventurous, why not try your hand at kite surfing or horse back riding, right on our beach. Catering to your individuality is what we do, ask for what you want and if we can tailor make it for you, that's our pleasure. Come and enjoy a place where you can truly unwind, let it be, enjoy real privacy, down time, quality time, true family time and so much more. Contemporary Caribbean Living at Cotton Bay Village Beach Resort. Why settle for a normal hotel room? Upgrade to a Villa at Cotton Bay Village. Book online today to enjoy your Caribbean vacation at Cotton Bay Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Cotton Bay Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cotton Bay Village Castries
Cotton Bay St Lucia
Cotton Bay Village St. Lucia/Castries

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cotton Bay Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.