We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great vacation stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cotton Bay Village

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Cotton Bay Village to your Saves list
Cotton Bay Village
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   PO Box 2374 | Cap Estate, Cas-En-Bas, Castries, St. Lucia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Castries
Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
“Great vacation stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed at Cotton Bay Village for 4 nights through a LivingSocial deal. The drive there was confusing at first, but it was easy get to once we knew where it was. The concierge staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The resort itself has enough activities on-hand to to keep you occupied and the location of Cotton Bay is very close to other attractions in the north of the island. Our villa was beyond what we expected in both size and overall quality. We would definitely consider returning in the future and would highly recommend staying here to others.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1461, General Manager at Cotton Bay Village, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for sharing your sweet and short vacation experience this us. We are happy to know that we met your expectations. Now that you have found us, we look forward to welcoming you again. Stay relaxed!

Michael Mathius
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    76
    24
    10
    14
See reviews for
132
91
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
England
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed for 18 days in Jan/Feb. We booked the first 10 days in a Tamarind Villa, but made no bookings for the final week.

For the same price equivalent hotels were offering a bedroom. We had a comfortable two bed apartment and terrace which lived up to everything which we had expected. We then decided to stay on for the final week and were upgraded to an elegant three bed villa.

The location of the village on a secluded bay about half a mile end to end is perfect. On the beach there is the Cotton Bay's restaurant and bar, an independent restaurant and bar, a kite surfing school and horse riding. No crowds, no jet-skis. The beach is on the Atlantic side of the island, so there is a constant cooling breeze, and the sea remains calm because of the bay.

The food in the beach restaurant is simple and very good.. The atmosphere is Caribbean relaxed. There is a second restaurant in the village, offering more sophisticated food at higher prices.

We cannot speak too highly of the management and staff. Constantly helpful and constantly smiling.

We hired a car for most of our stay. The town of Rodney is about 10 minutes away, and having spent the evenings at Cotton Bay for the first half of the holiday, we ate in town for the rest. A variety of restaurants, some extremely good.

We generally like 5* hotels with all of the attendant facilities. Although Cotton bay doesn't have the five restaurants and seven bars etc. of such places, the easy atmosphere and the excellent accommodation and staff provide an environment which to our taste was pretty much faultless.

Only criticism, mosquitoes get into the villas at night.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CottonBayVillage, Director of Sales at Cotton Bay Village, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
We thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are happy that overall you enjoyed your stay. All the best and we look forward to welcoming you again.. Ginette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toano, Virginia, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

This place is beautiful and there is so much to do. Its truly ashame you cant walk along the beach with your loved one without being bothered by a local wanting to sell you some weed or jewelry or better yet... make you something that will take up even more of your precious vacation time. I felt like i was being pushed from one money pit to another. I put my foot down and had to be down right rude to simplg get to where i wanted to go... jet skis and that was grand. I recommend going here with a group, i dont think the locals will be attacking a whole group for money but couples BEWARE!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1461, General Manager at Cotton Bay Village, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Hi Abigail;

We greatly appreciate you taking the time out to make this review. You did the right thing by putting your foot down. Thanks again for this review and recommendation to our future guests. It really meant a lot to us. We look forward to you returning some day soon.

Michael
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

I was a little apprehensive when i booked this hotel - it was a bit of a last minute decision, and there were not masses of photographs on their website. However, i went with the tripadvisor reviews and was not disappointed! We booked a villa with plunge pool and the place was fantastic (Villa 16). It was massive (had three bedrooms), a beautiful kitchen and a gorgeous little garden with a pool. Our typical day involved cooking breakfast together at home (but the breakfasts at the beach restaurant are really good), sitting in our garden enjoying the morning sun, and then heading to the beach in the afternoon for lunch and some beach fun! The backyards are almost completely private which is nice if you are on a romantic vacation, and the plunge pools are just the right size to jump in and take a dip. The beach, although not the white sand and turquoise waters one expects from the caribbean, is lovely and the kiteboarding looked to be a lot of fun.

The staff were fantastic - gracious and so so helpful. We had hired a rental car which unfortunately got a flat tire - and one of the staff at the hotel (and i am ashamed to admit i forgot his name) took the tire to the garage for us to get it fixed! We had valentines dinner at the hotel's formal restaurant which was delicious - especially for island food.

We will be sure to return - we will probably bring our parents as this is a great place for families as you can vacation together without being on top of one another. I highly recommend and cannot wait to go back!

Room Tip: i strongly recommend the villas with a plunge pool - it adds a great dimension to your trip, and giv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CottonBayVillage, Director of Sales at Cotton Bay Village, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for your kind review, and sharing your experience. We certainly can't wait to have youu back. All the best and do have a wonderful weekend Ginette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We are very grateful to the staff at CBV for making our vacation extra special. Reserve directly through the resort for best service and accurate rates/ property description. Gerrit Schepers is a fantastic private chef who will come to your holiday home at Cotton Bay to make amazing meals to order. Every meal we had for five days was a wonderful surprise. He can be reached through CBV. Abdullah, we will never forget your help! Thank you for a wonderful vacation on gorgeous Saint Lucia!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CottonBayVillage, Director of Sales at Cotton Bay Village, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your vacation experience, it was our pleasure to host you and we look forward to your return. Kind regards Ginette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Booked Cotton Bay Village (CVB) after seeing reviews on Trip Advisor.
I would describe the property as a boutique hotel/villa property.
We booked a small villa but were upgraded to a larger one with much more space and many additional amenities including our own plunge pool.
The villa property was gorgeous and right on a fantastic beach that was not overrun by tourists and that locals seemed to frequent as well.
We were not overly bombarded on the beach by locals trying to sell us their crafts.
The property is about a 10 minute drive from Rodney Bay and about 20 minutes from Castries.
The property organizes a shuttle 2-3 times a week to Rodney Bay so you can shop, get groceries for your villa and tour around.
Golf course is right near by.
We spent lots of time on our beach and did a few day trip excursions.
We hired a driver named Ernest from St. Lucia Tours Too. Ernest was exceptional and was very courteous, timely and professional. He customized a whole day tour for my husband and I.
Completely worth the money.
Ernest's company also provided airport transfers which we used too.

CVB can help organize excursions for you and help with taxis.

Cotton Bay Village has several places to get a meal: formal restaurant, ocean side restaurant with a bar, deli, room service.
We had a good size kitchen and cooked a lot.
Huge pool in the middle of the complex - although we spend most of the time on the beach.
Gated complex which we felt very safe in. I felt safe on the island outside the villa area too.
Staff is so friendly: special shout out to Auguste who we enjoyed meeting and was most helpful to us.
They have a small gym but a lot of the equipment was broken - this is my one complaint.
But I was able to walk/run everyday just outside the walls of the villa and felt safe.

Excursions we did:
Climbed Gros Piton
Diamond Botanical Gardens and Waterfall
Visited Soufriere and the volcano area
Pigeon Island (highlight of the trip - great restaurant on site)
Rodney Bay exploring

We loved our trip to St. Lucia and would recommend Cotton Bay Village. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CottonBayVillage, Director of Sales at Cotton Bay Village, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for your review, it was a pleasure having you stay with us, all the best and we all look forward to hosting you again in the future. Kind regards Ginette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwood, UK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

My wife and I and our two adult children stayed at Cotton Bay Village for a week in mid February having booked a two bed Terracotta townhouse. I had previously notified them that it was for a special birthday and on arrival they had relocated us to a marvellous and very spacious three bed villa which was superbly located near to the beach, beach bar and restaurant.
The maids had decorated the bed in the master bedroom to celebrate the event and wine and fruit had been left for us. What was so marked was the exceptional and friendly service from all staff - the maids (Edna and ?, who made us chocolate tea, showed us how to make it and gave us ingredients to make at home), David in the beach bar makes fantastic cocktails and provides all night entertainment, reception where no request was too much, and the beach bar restaurant. Restaurants were booked for us and taxis arranged without a glitch.
Although some commentators have criticised the beach, it was long and quiet with a small amount of seaweed which was cleared every morning - it was still exceptional.
Any downsides? Unless you take a cab into Rodney Bay $16 (£10), there are no places apart from a small shop on site to purchase groceries etc., and there is one bar (fantastic and on the beach so no problems there) and two restaurants ( reasonably varied menus). Rodney Bay has a large selection of restaurants some of which are very good, but relatively expensive.
Would we go back? Yes - tomorrow!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1461, General Manager at Cotton Bay Village, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Hi Spokeyp;

Thank you for taking the time out to share your vacation experience during your stay with us. It was our pleasure and we are happy that you enjoyed the upgrade and the surprised welcome. Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cotton Bay Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cotton Bay Village

Address: PO Box 2374 | Cap Estate, Cas-En-Bas, Castries, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Castries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Castries
#5 Luxury Hotel in Castries
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Castries
#7 Romantic Hotel in Castries
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Castries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cotton Bay Village 4.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cotton Bay Village Experience Cotton Bay Village is one of the best vacation experiences in the Caribbean and offers everything you need to make the most of your Caribbean vacation. Our full-service beachfront resort offers luxurious Apartments, Townhouses and Beachfront Villas, perfect for families and friends or if you are just looking to escape. Here you will find a secluded beach, a creche and kids club, an award winning spa and gym, two restaurants, butler service and a onsite deli/mini mart. We are located next to the St. Lucia Golf Club and just minutes away from Rodney Bay’s shopping mall, fabulous restaurants, casinos, cultural attractions and recreational activities. A variety of meal plans to suit your individual style and habits, from all inclusive, half board, breakfast to self catering dining options. The gourmet experience at Cotton Bay is part of the holiday and all children 5 and under eat for free. Bring the Baby, not the baggage is our philosophy and therefore we invite all families with young children to pre-order baby monitors, sterilizers, cots, cribs, blankets and baby bath tubs at no extra cost. Special baby foods and nappies can also be requested. Beachfront non-motorized watersports included with your holiday package and for the adventurous, why not try your hand at kite surfing or horse back riding, right on our beach. Catering to your individuality is what we do, ask for what you want and if we can tailor make it for you, that's our pleasure. Come and enjoy a place where you can truly unwind, let it be, enjoy real privacy, down time, quality time, true family time and so much more. Contemporary Caribbean Living at Cotton Bay Village Beach Resort. Why settle for a normal hotel room? Upgrade to a Villa at Cotton Bay Village. Book online today to enjoy your Caribbean vacation at Cotton Bay Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cotton Bay Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cotton Bay Village Castries
Cotton Bay St Lucia
Cotton Bay Village St. Lucia/Castries

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cotton Bay Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.