We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to return!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cotton Bay Village

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Cotton Bay Village to your Saves list
Cotton Bay Village
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   PO Box 2374 | Cap Estate, Cas-En-Bas, Castries, St. Lucia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Castries
New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Can't wait to return!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

I was a little apprehensive when i booked this hotel - it was a bit of a last minute decision, and there were not masses of photographs on their website. However, i went with the tripadvisor reviews and was not disappointed! We booked a villa with plunge pool and the place was fantastic (Villa 16). It was massive (had three bedrooms), a beautiful kitchen and a gorgeous little garden with a pool. Our typical day involved cooking breakfast together at home (but the breakfasts at the beach restaurant are really good), sitting in our garden enjoying the morning sun, and then heading to the beach in the afternoon for lunch and some beach fun! The backyards are almost completely private which is nice if you are on a romantic vacation, and the plunge pools are just the right size to jump in and take a dip. The beach, although not the white sand and turquoise waters one expects from the caribbean, is lovely and the kiteboarding looked to be a lot of fun.

The staff were fantastic - gracious and so so helpful. We had hired a rental car which unfortunately got a flat tire - and one of the staff at the hotel (and i am ashamed to admit i forgot his name) took the tire to the garage for us to get it fixed! We had valentines dinner at the hotel's formal restaurant which was delicious - especially for island food.

We will be sure to return - we will probably bring our parents as this is a great place for families as you can vacation together without being on top of one another. I highly recommend and cannot wait to go back!

Room Tip: i strongly recommend the villas with a plunge pool - it adds a great dimension to your trip, and giv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CottonBayVillage, Director of Sales at Cotton Bay Village, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for your kind review, and sharing your experience. We certainly can't wait to have youu back. All the best and do have a wonderful weekend Ginette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    75
    24
    10
    12
See reviews for
130
91
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We are very grateful to the staff at CBV for making our vacation extra special. Reserve directly through the resort for best service and accurate rates/ property description. Gerrit Schepers is a fantastic private chef who will come to your holiday home at Cotton Bay to make amazing meals to order. Every meal we had for five days was a wonderful surprise. He can be reached through CBV. Abdullah, we will never forget your help! Thank you for a wonderful vacation on gorgeous Saint Lucia!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CottonBayVillage, Director of Sales at Cotton Bay Village, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your vacation experience, it was our pleasure to host you and we look forward to your return. Kind regards Ginette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Booked Cotton Bay Village (CVB) after seeing reviews on Trip Advisor.
I would describe the property as a boutique hotel/villa property.
We booked a small villa but were upgraded to a larger one with much more space and many additional amenities including our own plunge pool.
The villa property was gorgeous and right on a fantastic beach that was not overrun by tourists and that locals seemed to frequent as well.
We were not overly bombarded on the beach by locals trying to sell us their crafts.
The property is about a 10 minute drive from Rodney Bay and about 20 minutes from Castries.
The property organizes a shuttle 2-3 times a week to Rodney Bay so you can shop, get groceries for your villa and tour around.
Golf course is right near by.
We spent lots of time on our beach and did a few day trip excursions.
We hired a driver named Ernest from St. Lucia Tours Too. Ernest was exceptional and was very courteous, timely and professional. He customized a whole day tour for my husband and I.
Completely worth the money.
Ernest's company also provided airport transfers which we used too.

CVB can help organize excursions for you and help with taxis.

Cotton Bay Village has several places to get a meal: formal restaurant, ocean side restaurant with a bar, deli, room service.
We had a good size kitchen and cooked a lot.
Huge pool in the middle of the complex - although we spend most of the time on the beach.
Gated complex which we felt very safe in. I felt safe on the island outside the villa area too.
Staff is so friendly: special shout out to Auguste who we enjoyed meeting and was most helpful to us.
They have a small gym but a lot of the equipment was broken - this is my one complaint.
But I was able to walk/run everyday just outside the walls of the villa and felt safe.

Excursions we did:
Climbed Gros Piton
Diamond Botanical Gardens and Waterfall
Visited Soufriere and the volcano area
Pigeon Island (highlight of the trip - great restaurant on site)
Rodney Bay exploring

We loved our trip to St. Lucia and would recommend Cotton Bay Village. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CottonBayVillage, Director of Sales at Cotton Bay Village, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for your review, it was a pleasure having you stay with us, all the best and we all look forward to hosting you again in the future. Kind regards Ginette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwood, UK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

My wife and I and our two adult children stayed at Cotton Bay Village for a week in mid February having booked a two bed Terracotta townhouse. I had previously notified them that it was for a special birthday and on arrival they had relocated us to a marvellous and very spacious three bed villa which was superbly located near to the beach, beach bar and restaurant.
The maids had decorated the bed in the master bedroom to celebrate the event and wine and fruit had been left for us. What was so marked was the exceptional and friendly service from all staff - the maids (Edna and ?, who made us chocolate tea, showed us how to make it and gave us ingredients to make at home), David in the beach bar makes fantastic cocktails and provides all night entertainment, reception where no request was too much, and the beach bar restaurant. Restaurants were booked for us and taxis arranged without a glitch.
Although some commentators have criticised the beach, it was long and quiet with a small amount of seaweed which was cleared every morning - it was still exceptional.
Any downsides? Unless you take a cab into Rodney Bay $16 (£10), there are no places apart from a small shop on site to purchase groceries etc., and there is one bar (fantastic and on the beach so no problems there) and two restaurants ( reasonably varied menus). Rodney Bay has a large selection of restaurants some of which are very good, but relatively expensive.
Would we go back? Yes - tomorrow!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1461, General Manager at Cotton Bay Village, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Hi Spokeyp;

Thank you for taking the time out to share your vacation experience during your stay with us. It was our pleasure and we are happy that you enjoyed the upgrade and the surprised welcome. Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berkhamsted
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

After a cold, wet and stressful winter at home we booked a week at Cotton Bay looking for sun, rest and relaxation-and we couldn't have chosen better! The resort is beautifully designed and immaculately maintained. The staff were unfailingly helpful and friendly. We were given an upgrade from a one to a two bedroomed Tamarind Villa which was really spacious and well appointed with its own small terrace and patio. Although next to the pool we felt quite secluded when we wanted to be. The pool was superb and never felt crowded although the resort was quite full. The beach was small but again never felt crowded and there was usually a welcome breeze to cool us down a little. I can't understand,incidentally, why some people complained of the horses from a nearby stable using the beach. During the week when we were there there were occasional parties of tourists riding by and on Sunday we were greatly entertained by the local youth showing off their horsemanship riding bareback through the waves. It certainly wasn't a nuisance:more a welcome bit of local colour.
We were on a half board basis which was a good move as it there isnt easy access to other hotels and restaurants. We notice that some people have commented that the food was pricy and limited but we felt we had a good deal. We were able to choose freely from the menues in both restaurants and personally felt we had plenty of choice. The beach cafe menu had a choice of grills and a changing menu which comprised some local dishes and some blander international dishes. The food was freshly prepared and well cooked. For breakfast there was a cold buffet which was always fresh and appetising and a good selection of freshly cooked hot dishes. The beach cafe itself was open to the beach and a lovely relaxed venue. I can't remember the service being slow as some people have complained but we wouldn't have bothered much if it had been! The Piano Piano restaurant was only open three days a week and wasn't well used when we were there so it was rather lacking in atmosphere but the food was very good indeed. As we had a fully equipped kitchen we were planning to get our own lunch so we were disappointed that the shop had very limited supplies We didn't fancy wasting good chill out time taking the courtesy bus to the local shopping mall. (This ran three days a week when we were there) However, the lady who ran the shop offered to get some cold meats for us herself from the local supermarket- which was indicative of how friendly and helpful we found the staff.
As part of our deal we had one complimentary treatment at the spa which was a blissful experience and much to be recommended!
One word of caution: if you wanted to do much apart from chill out this might not be the place for you. It was possible to hire a car or take taxis to nearby towns and there were plenty of excursions to book but all were quite expensive. We did have one trip to the rain forest which was very good but apart from that we were happy just to relax and enjoy....

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CottonBayVillage, Director of Sales at Cotton Bay Village, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Many thanks for your review, we are delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us and felt relaxed. Alll the best and we look forward to welcoming you back to Cotton Bay Village sometime soon. Best regards Ginette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We stayed in one of the 3 bed villas with pool. Nice villa - clean and well fitted out. Small private pool but big enough for kids to splash around in. Complex reported to be full when we were there as it was half term week. Despite this the place never felt crowded. Main pool relatively quiet too with no problem getting sun loungers. Beach was very nice and sea lovely and warm.

We were delighted the dreaded sand flies had gone (now out of season) and didn't problems with mosquitos.

We booked direct with the owner so technically speaking we were on our own if we had a problem. Inevitably we did - the fridge freezer stopped working. Although not their responsibility, the hotel staff attentively came to try and fix it but it required a spare part to be put on order in the UK (estimated delivery time 3 weeks). Frederic Mouyon the Duty Manager sorted us out a temporary fridge there and then and took care of our breakfasts for the remainder of the week (which by the way are outstanding!).

Many thanks to all the staff at Cotton Bay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CottonBayVillage, Director of Sales at Cotton Bay Village, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for your candid review on your experience with us, we are delighted that you had a wonderful vacation, and we all look forward to welcoming you back to Cotton Bay Village for your next vacation. All the best and do have a fantastic week. Regards, Ginette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Just got back from staying at the Cotton Bay. The villa we stayed in was superb with a really good sized pool. The staff are all so very friendly and helpful. Joyce who did my facial was such a lovely person, really attentive. All in all a fantastic place. St Lucia and its people are fantastic. We will be back!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CottonBayVillage, Director of Sales at Cotton Bay Village, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
We are happy that you had a great time and feel well rested. Thanks for taking the time out to write your review and candid comments about your vacation experience. Looking forward to seeing you again. Regards Ginette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cotton Bay Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cotton Bay Village

Address: PO Box 2374 | Cap Estate, Cas-En-Bas, Castries, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Castries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Castries
#5 Family Hotel in Castries
#6 Luxury Hotel in Castries
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Castries
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Castries
#7 Romantic Hotel in Castries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cotton Bay Village 4.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cotton Bay Village Experience Cotton Bay Village is one of the best vacation experiences in the Caribbean and offers everything you need to make the most of your Caribbean vacation. Our full-service beachfront resort offers luxurious Apartments, Townhouses and Beachfront Villas, perfect for families and friends or if you are just looking to escape. Here you will find a secluded beach, a creche and kids club, an award winning spa and gym, two restaurants, butler service and a onsite deli/mini mart. We are located next to the St. Lucia Golf Club and just minutes away from Rodney Bay’s shopping mall, fabulous restaurants, casinos, cultural attractions and recreational activities. A variety of meal plans to suit your individual style and habits, from all inclusive, half board, breakfast to self catering dining options. The gourmet experience at Cotton Bay is part of the holiday and all children 5 and under eat for free. Bring the Baby, not the baggage is our philosophy and therefore we invite all families with young children to pre-order baby monitors, sterilizers, cots, cribs, blankets and baby bath tubs at no extra cost. Special baby foods and nappies can also be requested. Beachfront non-motorized watersports included with your holiday package and for the adventurous, why not try your hand at kite surfing or horse back riding, right on our beach. Catering to your individuality is what we do, ask for what you want and if we can tailor make it for you, that's our pleasure. Come and enjoy a place where you can truly unwind, let it be, enjoy real privacy, down time, quality time, true family time and so much more. Contemporary Caribbean Living at Cotton Bay Village Beach Resort. Why settle for a normal hotel room? Upgrade to a Villa at Cotton Bay Village. Book online today to enjoy your Caribbean vacation at Cotton Bay Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Regatta Hotels, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cotton Bay Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cotton Bay Village Castries
Cotton Bay St Lucia
Cotton Bay Village St. Lucia/Castries

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cotton Bay Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.