We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cotton Bay Village

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Cotton Bay Village to your Saves list
Cotton Bay Village
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   PO Box 2374 | Cap Estate, Cas-En-Bas, Castries, St. Lucia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Castries
Oxford
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Special place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We had a wonderfully relaxing holiday in Cotton Bay (despite the roof repairs - now finished I hope!)....the staff were courteous and friendly and the food is superb (particularly in Piano Piano).
A quiet place with not much night life and away from the other resorts but that adds to the special exclusitivity...might not have the best beach on the island but it's quiet ...like having your own private one...we loved the horses cantering on the sand and some of the staff were great fun and really helped to make our holiday special. We were in a two bedroom villa overlooking the communal pool and it was luxury. If things didn't work (or we couldn't work it out) we were attended to immediately. Sadly the spa isn't in action which would have been nice on the one rainy day we had but the massage I had was excellent. Thank you for a lovely holiday and all your help and assistance.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1461, Director of Sales at Cotton Bay Village, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time out to share your vacation experience with us. We are happy to know that you had a wonderfully relaxing holiday. The Beach Club roof replacement will be completed this week. We hope the memories of your vacation will make you return next year.
Looking forward to welcoming you again.

Ginette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    75
    24
    10
    14
See reviews for
132
91
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

Great spot and very quiet as not busy. We liked the variety of beach and pool. We were self catering but used the beach bar a lot. We hadn't hired a car so had to plan shopping trips with taxis. However taxi service was excellent.
The accommodation was good although for self catering the house could have been better equipped and there wee a few things that didn't work. There was air con in the bedrooms but not in the living area which meant the evenings could be very warm with the windows shut to prevent mosquito bites.
Overall we had a great time and cans back well rested.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1461, General Manager at Cotton Bay Village, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
We are happy that you had a great time and feel well rested. Thanks for taking the time out to write your review and candid comments about your vacation experience. Looking forward to seeing you again.

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Thank you to all the staff at Cotton Bay for making our week in St Lucia so relaxing and easy, from the booking process (thank you Abdulla) through to departure (we could not have had a better or more accommodating driver than Eustace) we couldn't have wished for more. A special thanks to David who made our cocktails at the beach bar but added so much more to the experience with his engaging stories and local knowledge. Also to Joyce for providing a most relaxing massage at the spa.
To all of the other front office staff (Jason,Patrick and others) who helped us with all our needs including car rental,golf booking etc thank you so much.
We highly recommend this resort to anyone who needs total rest and relaxation, the facilities are great, the pool and beach are perfect, and watching the horses and kite surfers provides a classic St Lucian scene.
The breakfast was first class, and beach bar meals and dinner were also great.
We will definitley return to this little corner of paradise.
Paul & Gill

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1461, Director of Sales at Cotton Bay Village, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Thanks for your comments and taking the time out to do so. We are happy have played a small part in making your vacation to St.Lucia relaxing and that you got the opportunity to unwind. We look forward to seeing you soon.

Ginette.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

After a wonderful week at Sandals Grande our 2nd week at Cotton Bay was Heaven. We stayed in the Terracotta Villa with the plunge pool and really enjoyed the Luxury of the unit, daily housekeeping, privacy and peaceful surroundings. Hurricane Isaac was over the island while we were there and it left us with 2 days of Caribbean breeze. We took off the A/C and opened up the Villa what a fantastic view from your bed, I could wake to this each day with breakfast in bed.
Housekeeping ( Alicia) and Front Desk (Abdulla), Thank you for take such good care of us, you made it our home away from home....Food was delicious also ordered local bread from the deli.
We viewed the other rentals - Cotton house, Mango Chateau, Calabash, Coral penthouse they are all very luxurious. Planning on returning next year with the family.
The free shuttle to Rodney Bay on Tuesday and Thursday is very useful.
The beach is black sand, so the water close to shore is dark brown not the usual Blue/turquoise. If you are a beach lover you might be disappointed but the rest of the resort make up for this, if you are looking for a peaceful get away from the stress of daily life.
Went to the street party in Gros let, food was delicious not much to see/do only vendors with local food/drinks/ music and a lot of tourists. Vendors do not post a price list, prices are per item, they accept US$ @ 2.50EC$. Would be easier if they offered 2 or 3 choices at a fixed price per plate. The Caribbean has a Lobster season, so if there are Lobster dishes at the Street party off season, it is either illegally caught or from frozen.
We took the Luxury transfer back to UVF in a BMW, it was well worth the money - US $85

Room Tip: If you are staying in a Villa or house ask for a location to get the afternoon sun in the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1461, Director of Sales at Cotton Bay Village, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
It sounds like you had a wonderful vacation in St. Lucia. We will keep your Coral apartment reserve for your next visit. Thank you for the comments and review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We stayed at Cotton Bay Village from 2nd-17th August 2012. My Wife and I and our four daughters, 12, 10, 8 and 20 months. We normally stay in Private Villa as opposed to a Hotel as we prefer the privacy and freedom. Cotton Bay was the perfect combination of the two. All the privacy and freedom of a Private Villa combined with all the convenience features of a Hotel. We absolutely loved it here and ALL the staff were just fantastic, no-one could do more for you. Ginette supervised everything for us and she and her staff were truly excellent. The Communal Pool is excellent, the beach was fantastic and every time we came back to the complex from a day out / meal out / shopping it was like returning to your personal oasis. I've seen comments about the seaweed on the beach but to us that was an irrelevance. It is raked up every day at least twice and there is only a lot of it the day after a stormy day and within a few hours it is raked away. People also commented about the units needing painting but we saw a consistent program of maintenance and care and you have to bear in mind that the white walls are baked and then rained on regularly. They all looked fine to me and ours was beautiful inside. Whenever anything needed attention we would phone the team and it got dealt with immediately. After a stormy day quite a bit of foliage debris and dust was in the villa pool - no problem - asked for it to be cleaned specifically again on that day (in addition to the regular scheduled cleaning) and so it was. Kids Club was great and we left our youngest daughter alone for the first time ever, she was absolutely fine and loved it. My eldest daughter fainted in the Kids Club one day having not drank enough water. The team (Juan & Vicky, apologies if spelling wrong) looked after her and followed up for several days by phoning us at the Villa to ensure she was ok. I cannot recommend this place enough, it was SUPERB and we will definitely be returning!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CottonBayVillage, Director of Sales at Cotton Bay Village, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
We know how much you looked forward to this vacation. It was our pleasure to make it both relaxing and enjoyable for you and the family. Looking forward to welcoming you back.

Thanks for taking the time out and writing this review.

Ginette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ingatestone, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

My family had a wonderful Easter in St Lucia at cotton bay and stayed in the terracotta villa.

We have 3 young children aged 8,5,2 and the kids club was fantastic. The staff are very friendly and the food is typical carribean style, simple but tasty. Service is typical carribean, chilled and relaxed - not fast which is fine unless you are in a hurry.

No problems with the sunbeds by the pool or beach as many villas have their own pools.

Best family holiday I have had and i have already booked and upgraded to chateaux mango for my return trip next Easter.

Room Tip: Get a villa with pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CottonBayVillage, Director of Sales at Cotton Bay Village, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
Thank you for your review, we are pleased to hear that you and your family had a wonderful stay with us. All the best and we look forward to welcoming you back to Cotton Bay Village where your Chateaux Mango is waiting patiently for your return.

Regards and see you soon
Ginette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbados
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Stayed here for just one night to be closer to the airport for my return flight and am happy that I booked my other nights somewhere else.

In all fairness, maybe it's just that this type of hotel wasn't what I was looking for. It is very secluded and quiet. Maybe suited for persons who want to get away and want their privacy.
I had a much better time at Coconut Bay Resort and even began to regret not booking the overnight at Bay Gardens Resort like a friend had suggested.

Hotel looked beautiful on the website but reality didn't compare. Rooms need updating, bathroom had some mold, Dryer didnt work and piece of the microwave kept falling off. Didn't make a big deal of it because we were only staying oine night and everyone we came into contact to was so pleasant we didn't want to bother to complain.

The grounds are beautiful - they have lovely manicured outdoor areas.
Pool is a good size but perhaps not the best option for kids as it is 5ft with no shallow areas.

Re location , again , this hotel is very isolated so unless you rent a car or don't mind spendng a fortune in taxis I wouldn't make this my first choice.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CottonBayVillage, Director of Sales at Cotton Bay Village, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
Many thanks for your review,we are sorry to hear that Ctton Bay Village was not what you expected. In saying that we do hope to welcome you in the future should you decide to come for some relaxation. All the best and do have a wonderful week end.


Regards
Ginette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cotton Bay Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cotton Bay Village

Address: PO Box 2374 | Cap Estate, Cas-En-Bas, Castries, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Castries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Castries
#5 Luxury Hotel in Castries
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Castries
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Castries
#7 Romantic Hotel in Castries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cotton Bay Village 4.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cotton Bay Village Experience Cotton Bay Village is one of the best vacation experiences in the Caribbean and offers everything you need to make the most of your Caribbean vacation. Our full-service beachfront resort offers luxurious Apartments, Townhouses and Beachfront Villas, perfect for families and friends or if you are just looking to escape. Here you will find a secluded beach, a creche and kids club, an award winning spa and gym, two restaurants, butler service and a onsite deli/mini mart. We are located next to the St. Lucia Golf Club and just minutes away from Rodney Bay’s shopping mall, fabulous restaurants, casinos, cultural attractions and recreational activities. A variety of meal plans to suit your individual style and habits, from all inclusive, half board, breakfast to self catering dining options. The gourmet experience at Cotton Bay is part of the holiday and all children 5 and under eat for free. Bring the Baby, not the baggage is our philosophy and therefore we invite all families with young children to pre-order baby monitors, sterilizers, cots, cribs, blankets and baby bath tubs at no extra cost. Special baby foods and nappies can also be requested. Beachfront non-motorized watersports included with your holiday package and for the adventurous, why not try your hand at kite surfing or horse back riding, right on our beach. Catering to your individuality is what we do, ask for what you want and if we can tailor make it for you, that's our pleasure. Come and enjoy a place where you can truly unwind, let it be, enjoy real privacy, down time, quality time, true family time and so much more. Contemporary Caribbean Living at Cotton Bay Village Beach Resort. Why settle for a normal hotel room? Upgrade to a Villa at Cotton Bay Village. Book online today to enjoy your Caribbean vacation at Cotton Bay Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cotton Bay Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cotton Bay Village Castries
Cotton Bay St Lucia
Cotton Bay Village St. Lucia/Castries

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cotton Bay Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.