We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a place to go for!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Apartment Espoir

Save Saved
You added Apartment Espoir to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Apartment Espoir
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Labrelotte Crescent | East Winds/ Marisule, Castries, St. Lucia   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 13 Castries B&B and Inns
Zurich
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“a place to go for!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I just came back from my 9-day-St. Lucia trip spending all my vacation at Espoir. I am totally excited and can only recommend it. The place of the property is located on a little hill in 2 mins walking distance to a lovely beach - which I could compare to and found it as the nicest beach in the northern area of the island.
The hill situation offers great views of morning light over greenery and evening sunset into the sea. An absolutely romantic place!!!
The owners Sabine and Keith are the most lovely, caring and helpful people I met in quite a while. They are helpful on advice and help you to organize your day trips and know everything worth to know about the island and its people. It makes your time really valuable.
I stayed 6 days in a 1-2 persons studio and moved for 3 days in an apartment on the upper floor - all rooms offer sea view.
I am a luxury hotel goer for most of my trips but I was so glad that for this time I had decided for this guest house. Although the property is situated at a tranquil and dreamy place near a bay it does not mean that you are remote from shops and entertainment. By public bus or car facilities of convenience are easily to reach with no big fuss. The apartments are all well equipped with everything (microwave, AC, fridge, water cooker, dishes, pots, cutlery....) and nothing is left to be missed - even a full collection of adapters are provided. I will come again.
The owners organized for my arrival and departure an airport transfer.

Room Tip: all kinds of rooms are nice - I cannot specify a worse or better location as all rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
c130Engineer, Owner at Apartment Espoir, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Many, many thanks for all these wonderful words! Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. You came to us with your dreams & Ideas of what you wanted to see & do during your holiday. I am so happy that we were able to assist you in fulfilling your wishes. As we say @ Espoir “Dont just dream it, Do it”. I am so proud of you! It was a great pleasure having you @ Espoir & we look forward to welcoming you back to Espoir & our Beautiful Island of St Lucia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    81
    17
    0
    1
    3
See reviews for
15
60
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Saskatchewan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We spent 12 nights at Espoir in February and had a great time. It's hard to add anything to the other reviews. Keith and Sabine are special people and make your stay a joy. We spent lots of time at windjammer beach and exploring this wonderful island on mini buses. We had an upper level room and the view was to die for and we enjoyed the pool as well. If you are looking for a true tropical getaway don't hesitate, just go!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
c130Engineer, Owner at Apartment Espoir, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review and I am delighted that you enjoyed your time spent with us at Apartment Espoir Once again, thank you for posting these wonderful comments; I am sure it will help assist other travellers when planning their own holiday.
We hope to welcome you back to Apartment Espoir at some point in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, West Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We loved staying at Espoir!! Room was clean, view was very nice, beach was near by, and mostly the hosts, Sabine & Keith, were just wonderful!
The room has full kitchen, so you can prepare your own meal if you'd like. Great way of saving money!
We spent lots of time at the balcony during breakfast and just admiring their beautiful garden. The dogs loved to visit and hang out at the balcony too! :) We usually saw Keith and just loved talking with him. He's a wonderful man! Wish our stays there were a little bit longer!! We miss you Sabine & Keith! -M&M-

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
c130Engineer, Owner at Apartment Espoir, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Many, many thanks for all these wonderful words! Wow! I can’t begin to thank you for your kind comments. It was a great pleasure having you @ Espoir. I greatly appreciate you taking the time to write a comment, what lovely words, and thank you. It was a great pleasure meeting you & we look forward to your return. You were great guests & that helped to make your vacation great. It’s always a pleasure having such wonderful people to share my Island with.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

Stayed at the Espoir for one and a half weeks during Christmas and New Years. If you're looking for an all-inclusive place to stay with spa treatments and god-knows-what go to the East Winds Inn or the Windjammer Landing Resort. Apartment Espoir is for individualists that can sustain themselves. We had the studio which was perfectly fine with a small kitchenette that had everything you needed, a bathroom big enough to definitely not get lost in and a balcony with a nice view of the garden, the hills north of the capital and the ocean. Within a mere 5 minutes you're down at Labrelotte Bay beach and everything else you just get to by car. Getting used to driving on the 'wrong' side of the road was actually easier than we thought. Finding Espoir at first was a bit tricky though, because some of the signs that should lead the way were nowhere to be seen. I'd suggest replacing them if they haven't been replaced already, since the mark on Google Maps is wrong.
As for the owners, Sabine and Keith are perfect hosts. Not only will they host you, but help you in any way thinkable if you need help. If you want to be left alone they'll do that just as well. You should however not be intimidated by dogs. Although they are pretty sizeable they are very friendly, bordering on the affectionate.
Did we like the place? Well, certainly. Would we recommend it? Without hesitation.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
c130Engineer, Owner at Apartment Espoir, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review and I am delighted that you enjoyed your time spent with us at Apartment Espoir. We appreciate guests feedback as it assists us in identifying guests' needs and areas to improve on to provide maximum guest satisfaction. Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

We stayed at Espoir for one month between March to April 2012. We are UK medical students and Espoir was the perfect place to stay for our elective at Victoria Hospital, Castries. We would highly recommend Espoir to any fellow medical students looking for place to stay on their elective.

Keith and Sabine have created a fantastic place to stay with a beautiful swimming pool, gardens and well equipped apartments just a few minutes walk from the beach.

The reviews of this place are for real! Keith and Sabine are the loveliest hosts that we have ever come across and cant do enough for you.

If you are planning a trip to St. Lucia, this is THE place to stay.

Katie and Harry.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
c130Engineer, Owner at Apartment Espoir, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Many, many thanks for all these wonderful words! Wow! I can’t begin to thank you for your kind comments. It was a great pleasure having you @ Espoir. I am so happy we could have assisted you & helped to make your vacation a super time. I greatly appreciate you taking the time to write a comment, what lovely words, and thank you. It was a great pleasure meeting you & we look forward to your return. You were great guests & that helped to make your vacation great. It’s always a pleasure having such wonderful people to share my Island with.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

What can we say that has not already been said about Espoir, Keith and Sabina. For those that love the self sufficient holiday this is the perfect place why stop anywhere else.
Keith and Sabina are the perfect hosts making you feel more than welcome they made us feel that we were on holiday with friends nothing was too much trouble, they are an invaluable resource for everything you’d be hard pressed to find something that they do not know about the island they organised all our trips told us the best places to go and eat – places we would never have found - and arranged our hire car.
The apartments are superb with wonderful views and just a short 3 minute walk to 2 lovely beaches. There was something satisfying about laying our towels down in the middle of the East Winds Inn all inclusive resort and thinking how much have you paid to stop here!! All beaches in St Lucia are free.
The 2 bed apartment we stayed in had everything we needed; the gardens are well maintained the pool was a wonderful distraction. Keith has just finished a 2 bed Villa in the Gardens – this is finished to a high standard and we hope to return and try it out some day. The apartments are well placed even if you do not have a car a short walk to the bus stop, buses all 16 seat mini buses are frequent and friendly allowing you to explore Rodney bay, Gros Islet and Castries within 30 minutes this is a must but remember ‘Bus Stop Driver’ when you want him to stop no bell.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
c130Engineer, Owner at Apartment Espoir, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your time spent with us and that your vacation was just what you wanted, We look forward to welcoming you back to St Lucia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

For the self sucicient who like to truly experience and explore while on vacation. Rent a car, stay at the Espoir and pick Keith's brain on the best trail hiking along the north side of the island and beyond. Listen to him. Ask him about food and local festivities.
The apartment was perfect. Nestled in a garden with 8 different types of mango (among many year round bloomers) that are in season beginning April to October. Keith was building a private two bedroom cabin when we there. Just beautiful.
Access via your own two feet to two fine beaches on the right and the left at the end of a short dirt rd/path.
Get your friends o
My suggestion. Come and check it out on your own, but consider gathering your close friends and family, Rent out a bunch of apartments and take the place over . The views from the balconies are glorious. The place is extremely safe and secure. Two beautiful labs will be there to greet you.
The grocery store is close enough(just down the main rd) . Rodney bay is a few minutes drive. We were able to explore 15 beaches from this location and we only went as far south as soufriere and north to... Cas en bas. We stayed for two weeks .
I was so comfortable there that I cried when we left.
A truly amazing experience to share ...

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
c130Engineer, Owner at Apartment Espoir, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review and I am delighted that you enjoyed your time spent with us at Apartment Espoir Once again, thank you for posting these wonderful comments; I am sure it will help assist other travellers when planning their own holiday.
We hope to welcome you back to Apartment Espoir at some point in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Apartment Espoir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartment Espoir

Address: Labrelotte Crescent | East Winds/ Marisule, Castries, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Castries
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Castries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Apartment Espoir 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apartment Espoir, a unique experience, The 11 fully self contained apartments (clean, light, friendly Caribbean colors, well equipped), fantastic view overlooking the Caribbean Sea, lush garden, beautiful palm fringed sandy beach, great service, warm friendly atmosphere, English & German speaking, great unforgettable tours, home away from home. Don't just Dream it! Do it! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Apartment Espoir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartment Espoir Hotel Castries
Apartment Espoir St. Lucia/Castries

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apartment Espoir, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.