We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good solid resort, food and watersport” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sandals Regency La Toc Golf Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Sandals Regency La Toc Golf Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Sandals Regency La Toc Golf Resort and Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   La Toc, Castries, St. Lucia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Castries
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“good solid resort, food and watersport”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We stayed for over one week, had to extend our holiday because of illness. There certainly are worse places to extent your trip. We got upgraded to another room and both accommodations have been great. Food in any of the restaurants was good but not 5* breakfast was certainly the best... So much choice!!!! Very much recommend the fruit juices. Activity wise tennis, gym, diving, swimming etc so much to do, and we enjoyed it all. Did my PADI open water, such an amazing team and location.!!! Can only recommend!

During the time of illness I would have wished a little more support during the hospital stay... Ie hotel transfer between locations, or dinner to room. But I guess basics were covered.
unhappy about that issue with the room, as the hotel wanted us to re locate because of overstaying, due to illness. After some discussions we were allowed to stay in the same room for recovery.

I appreciate this was a very unique situation and it was still am amazing holiday - with friendly staff.

Room Tip: Mosquito protection is a must, we got struck down with dengue fever! Terrible illness!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,802 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,753
    1,166
    442
    232
    209
See reviews for
93
3,879
8
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,260)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

My husband and I did not have the chance to go on a honeymoon when we were first married and so two years later this was our "honeymoon". I was at first very discouraged after reading some of the previous reviews and wasn't sure if we had made the right choice. After a week at La Toc I can say we are very happy with our overall experience! There are pros and cons to every place you can stay and here are a few to help you make the right choice:

Bar service--- Definitely slow and a little watered down when compared to other all inclusives. We did visit the Grande while we were there and noticed a big difference in the amount of bartenders available and the strength of the drinks. We personally didn't feel it was worth the extra thousand dollars, however, that the Grande costs over La Toc. Also, the pool bar at La Toc is definitely a party scene on most days so it is just something to consider when you are making your choice as the Grande seemed a bit more quiet.

Food- My husband and I personally felt that all of the food was good enough for us. The dinner meals were all good for us and my favorite restaurant was The Pitons (caribbean cuisine) and my husband really enjoyed Soy (sushi). We dined at La Toc which required reservations, but we really felt it was too fancy and stuffy for our tastes and would not make the same choice again. The food at La Toc restaurant was delicious, just not the setting we prefer. Overall there is a nice variety of dining options. Portions tend to be small so don't be shy about ordering two appetizers a person or even an extra entree if you like to eat. The hibachi restaurant Kimonos was a great time but it was so hot in there it was a bit hard to enjoy (Chef Marcus was amazing!).

Pool/atmosphere- I read a lot about how you could not get a seat near the pool and was worried this would really effect us. It turns out it wasn't a problem because if you get out and throw down some towels and a personal item (book, tshirt, etc) around 700-8 am (the earlier the better for your choice of seats) you didn't have to worry about getting down there until around 10 or even 11 am which left plenty of time to go back to bed, eat breakfast, etc.

Activities- We took advantage of many activities offered at the resort from the pool and beach volleyball (a great way to be social and meet other people), to the ocean kayaks, catamarans, shuffleboard, golf, a dance contest, karaoke (trust me-- we didn't feel pressure to be any good) and many other silly contests/activities. Water sports are definitely better at the Grande because their beach is very calm and some days at La Toc there were red flags up which meant water activities were suspended. I would say the Golf was better than I expected, although this is probably because it was very low pressure and I had never really played before. Beware though, Golf is not free as they lead you to believe online. It was $100 a couple plus a tip for our caddy. The caddy we had was Kent and he was really awesome. Knowing I had never played he was very nice and instructional, going out of his way to show me the best grips. swing, etc. He even gave my husband some good pointers.

We did the Joe Knows excursion which was a lot of fun. You go to the mud baths, a waterfall (overrated), snorkeling (which was ok, although the equipment was poor), and eat delicious caribbean food. At the end all you do is binge drink rum punch and party on the boat, which was actually the most fun part. Lots of dancing and laughing and joking. JR and BK's boat was recommended to us and so we recommended them to others all week as we really liked them and enjoyed the experience. We also heard from friends we met that they loved the ziplining tour.

The resort seems to slow down a lot in the evening and we were back in our room by midnight most nights, except for one night where the piano bar had a lot going on.

**The Friday Night Street Party is a MUST** There was a ton of delicious food and the entertainment was really great (fire breathers, stilt walkers, etc)

Room- We had the Emerald Ocean Front balcony room, which we really liked. The room itself was clean and the size was good for us. I highly recommend the balcony if you are someone who enjoys sitting out in the morning or the evening. At first I wasn't sure if it was worth the extra money but I felt we got our use out of it. We also loved the location of our room as we were located near many of the activities and restaurants.

At first I felt like we might have been really missing out by not getting the butler service, but now I would really say I don't think it is worth it. Others we had met felt like for the extra money they found it to be a bit oppressive as they always had someone around and felt it was sometimes a little awkward. This is a second hand account however, so make your own choice on that one.

Overall we had a really great experience, found the staff to be very friendly (and just a little slow at times), the food to be pretty good and the other couples we met to be wonderful, friendly and open to a good time. I would recommend La Toc without reservation, but for a future vacation will likely pick somewhere less expensive with comparable food/drink.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Holiday celebration form 30 May to 10 June at Le Toc. Initial disappointment being shown down a dark corridor to our room which turned out to be a good size if not slightly tired. Husband extremely unhappy at having to pay $42 per week for internet access having spent thousands of pounds on the holiday, Suggest the least they could do is offer free internet access in the reception area. The pool area which dominates Le Toc can feel at bit 18 to 30 silly games and the Bingo was an unnecessary activity be it only once weekly.
The saving grace of the holiday and why we have awarded it 4 stars was the lovely attitude of the staff. The cleanliness of the resort and the variety of food from restaurants providing varying experiences (Japanese restaurant wins hands down). It does however get a bit repetitive after a week though.
The other bonus was being able to travel to the other resorts and we particularly enjoyed the Grande as the resort centres round the beach rather than the pool (excellent snorkelling around the small jetty but do take your own mask and snorkel as $50 on site.
The excursions were pricey but one couple we met had the foresight to ask for these as their wedding presents however, they did get a bit 'tripped out'.
Honeymooners dominate so many people had lots in common including having a personal butler to reserve the best sun-beds with an umbrella for shade.
Go with an open mind, plenty of reading material and make the most of the beautiful clear, warm sea water and free water sports which are better at the Grande.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

You can read so many reviews on here and it'll just drive you crazy - don't hesitate and just say YES! We absolutely loved our honeymoon at Sandals La Toc and found ourselves shocked by how relaxed we could feel. The vacation was much-needed and was a great escape from the stress of the real world.

Highlights and Criticisms:

** The drive from the airport is an hour. Prepare for a windy road, regardless if you take the shuttle or the private transfer. We opted for the private transfer; when we were greeted with champagne and a happy driver, we knew we'd made the right choice!

** When it comes to Butler Service, you know if you need it. Once we read the description of the services they offer, we knew that it was the right choice for us. It allowed us to relax and let someone else make the decisions for the week. They help with unpacking, making reservations at restaurants, reserve spots for you at the pool/beach, bring food and drinks to the pool/beach.. basically anything under the sun. We had a bit of "butler guilt" in asking for all these things, but you really should indulge! It's worth the price you pay.

** The food at most of the restaurants is average. Highlights are at Kimonos (Hibachi-style Asian cuisine) and the French restaurant La Toc. The rest isn't bad, but it's not great. Service was mixed. At some locations we were served promptly and at others, it was obvious that they were not working for a tip. We didn't choose this resort for 5-star dining, so this in no way ruined the trip.

** The pools are amazing! We enjoyed the more private Sunset Bluff pool by our room and the more "party" Pavillion pool. Both equipped with swim-up bars which was a favorite perk of ours!

** The Joe Knows Tour is a MUST if you want to get as much "St. Lucia" in one excursion.. and that includes the rum punch. As a couple in our mid-twenties, we really enjoyed making friends on the boat and having maybe a little too much fun with the punch! The tour really is a great way to enjoy several tours in one, including a mud bath, waterfall, Caribbean lunch and snorkeling. The ride back with music and punch is just a plus!

** There are professional photographers all over the resort that take your picture. At the end of the trip, these babies will cost you an arm and a leg. For us? Totally worth it. But it did put a dent in that room charge!

** Tip: Bring tumblers. They are great for carrying around your fruity rum drink!

** Regret: not visiting the other two resorts (Grande and Halcyon). There is just SO MUCH to do in one week that we didn't feel like we had the time. If and when we return, we will be sure to reserve a day or two for the other resorts. We kept hearing that we HAD to go to the Grande.

** Regret: not exploring St. Lucia outside of the resort. We did two excursions (Joe Knows and Deep Sea Fishing) but other than the shuttle to those locations, we didn't see the city or island at all. Again, with only a week there we felt we barely had anytime. Next trip we will definitely spend more time off-campus!

All in all, we were very satisfied. It was truly the most relaxed we have ever felt and it will be a honeymoon we remember forever.

Room Tip: Butler's Sunset Bluff Oceanview Room - the view is breathtaking and the location is perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newfoundland canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Just returned from a week at la toc. The main reason for writing a review was our dinner at kimonos on our last night and our chef arkadeous (not sure on the spelling!). He was amazing and was one of the highlights of the trip!!

Also loved the pub and Jeremiah!

I'm a vegetarian and the resort was very accommodating.

Beach at the grande was better for water sports but still glad we stayed at la toc.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hattiesburg, Mississippi
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

This was our second stay at La Toc, and it was great. The management team at this resort, Mr. James and Mr. Clark, are two of the most helpful people. They place a very high value on their customer service. Thank You.

We traveled to this resort with two other couples, and had rooms right next to each other as requested. We stayed in room 897 from June 3 - June 10, 2014. We had an outstanding view, the beach on one side and the cliffs on the other. Our Butlers were Roger and Ferna, with Roger being the best. Roger was outstanding, and I would recommend him for future visits. Great guy and a hard worker. We also had a relief butler named Jason who worked for us a couple of days while our two main butlers were off, Jason was really good also.

We spent a few quiet evenings at the fire pits by the sunset bluff pool, with Roger the bartender at the sunset bar taking great care of us. Roger is a great guy and treated us very good, always smiling.

One of the girls traveling with us had some dietary restrictions on what she could eat. It seemed every time we went to eat, the server would always ask about food allergies or special diets. One of the restaurant managers, Mr. Abhijet, actually remembered us from a previous dinner and walked over and made sure the server was aware of the food restrictions. When the food was delivered, Mr. Abhijet actually followed the server to our table and double checked the food to make sure everything was ok. Great customer service.

The dive team at the La Toc was very professional. We did a couple of scuba dives, and saw some really nice sea life. The dive instructors/leaders would actively search out different sea life and sights to show us, and let everyone with a camera get a chance to get a good picture. I really enjoyed the diving here. Beautiful dive sites from this resort.

The property is one of the most beautiful Sandals properties I have been to. From ocean sunsets, to the bluff/cliff walls, beautiful beach, and very clean well kept landscape.

The dining was very good also- the best place we ate by far was "La Toc", with "Gordons" being second. The service and food at "La Toc" was the best. The best breakfast was Armondo's, but plan on a long wait at that one. From when we sat down and ordered to get our food was about an hour both times we went, and they were not busy.

I also wanted to mention Emma the intern, who treated us very nice at the returning guest dinner.

This resort is still one of my favorites, and I would recommend staying at La Toc to anyone thinking about visiting St. Lucia. Just be sure to stop by and have a beer with Roger and tell him we said hi.

Room Tip: Always get a Butler room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Regency La Toc Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Thank you so much for your review and it was certainly our pleasure to welcome you back to Sandals La Toc, Mike! Our friendly staff do their best to make your stay an incredible experience and we're happy that you were so impressed by their efforts. We hope to welcome you all back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

I can't even begin to describe how terrible this place is. Horrible food, uncomfortable beds, terrible staff and an ugly part of the Island. Nearby Castries is horrible too. Do not stay at La Toc. They ruined our vacation that we spend thousands of dollars on. The website does not represent what they actually offer. We went for a week and couldn't wait to get back home and eat some good food and drink good wine and drinks that aren't watered down. Sandals should be ashamed of themselves for this place.

Room Tip: Don't waste your time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Regency La Toc Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Dear James,
We regret to hear that we did not meet quite your expectations for service and quality. We have many guests that boast of our luxurious inclusions, water sports, fine dining, accommodations and quality of staff but as hoteliers we realize that there is always room for improvement and we appreciate you taking the time to voice your concerns to us.
We are always looking for ways to improve our resort to exceed the expectations of our clients. Since we are in a constant state of evolving our resorts and updating our amenities, I will be sure to send your feedback to the General Manager and relevant departments.
Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Sandals Regency La Toc Golf Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Regency La Toc Golf Resort and Spa

Address: La Toc, Castries, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Castries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Castries
#4 Romantic Hotel in Castries
#4 Family Hotel in Castries
#4 Luxury Hotel in Castries
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Castries
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Castries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Regency La Toc Golf Resort and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•Elevated Millionaire Suites come with 180 degree views, rotating 46” plasma TV’s, a private whirlpool and infinity pool and fully opened glass walls•Private car transfers and 24 hour room service available•Sandals La Toc Golf Course located directly on the resort •10 minutes from George F.L. Charles Airport (SLU), Shopping and Castries and 1 hour from the Hewanorra International Airport (UVF)•“Stay at One, Play at Three” free shuttle exchange privileges with Sandals Grande St. Lucian and Sandals Halcyon •Three magnificent freshwater pools, sixty-five personal plunge pools, and four whirlpools. •Voted Sandals Resorts “World’s Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row•Voted Sandals Resorts “Caribbean’s Leading Hotel Brand”, 18 years in a row•Voted Saint Lucia‘s Leading Spa Resort •Five Star Diamond Award - American Academy of Hospitality Sciences ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Sandals Regency La Toc Golf Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals La Toc Golf Hotel Castries
Sandals St Lucia
Sandals Regency St Lucia Hotel
Sandals Regency La Toc Golf Resort And Spa St. Lucia/Castries

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandals Regency La Toc Golf Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.