We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some good, some not so good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sandals Regency La Toc Golf Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sandals Regency La Toc Golf Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Sandals Regency La Toc Golf Resort and Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   La Toc, Castries, St. Lucia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Special Offer
$355 Instant Air Credit!
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Castries
Columbia, South Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Some good, some not so good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We went to a travel agent to help decide between a few Sandals resorts for our Honeymoon. We ultimately ended up picking this one because she said it was quieter than the Grande and was in a nice location. We also needed help deciding on a room. She convinced my husband that the Butler room with a pool was the way to go (I wanted the pool my husband thought it was unnecessary).

THE GOOD-
Flash forward to arrival- we arrived at the airport with no problems. We were pushed towards the Sandals lounge (do not let the porters take your bags its not that far and they ASK you for a tip after). We had a private transfer, which was very nice after being on a plane all day. The driver drove a bit crazy and the roads are very curvy- hello motion sickness!

We got to the hotel and were taken to the Butler's/Concierge lounge where we checked in. As we waited for our Butler to take us to our room they had rum punch and sandwiches. The Butler came and introduced himself and gave us some instruction and information. He had made reservations for a few locations already for us. He informed us that the restaurant across the street from the room was great and close for our first night. We ate at Armando's that night and crashed soon after. Don the Butler walked us over there and everything, such a great new experience.

The rest of the week went by so fast! The food was great everywhere. The sun comes up so early, that you get up and get your day started way before you would here in the US (you also want to go to bed earlier lol). We were up between 5-7am and in the ocean/pool by 830 most mornings. As long as you goto the pool after breakfast you are able to get a chair fairly easily. The Butler can go put out towels, but we only asked once. We found chairs easily in the mornings and even most of the time in the afternoons. Overall great experience everywhere with the staff.

THE BAD-
There are only two types of beer avaliable- Piton (a local dirty tasting light beer) and Heineken. There are four house wines that are pretty good, but you are mostly stuck with liquor if you want alcohol. NOT COOL! It took my husband 3 days to find a liquor drink that he could take more than 2 sips of and I dealt with it, but I DO NOT like liquor that much and would have much preferred a good beer.

It also rained the morning of our second day. Not a big deal, except the frame around the sliding door started to leak. Not because it was coming through the top of the door, it was coming through the overhanging part of the actual WALL. Told the Butler lounge and the Butler. Said maintenance was going to fix it- did not look any different- plus i'm not sure how they would fix leaking through paint and part of the wall in less than one day????? Some of the other repair work was very off also. It did not necessary affect our stay, but after paying OVER $8,000, you expect a little more!!

Our personal pool was COLD as ice every time I tried to get in it. I only jumped in one day because we had been out walking around and I sucked it up and jumped right in. They should have warmers or something, especially since the sun only hit it in the morning, but I would have loved to use it in the afternoon after we were tired from the main pool.

Some days they were slow to replace towels after they had taken old ones.

Great experience overall, but for the price, I could have seen better.

Room Tip: Don't bother getting a room with a pool, you won't use it if it is ice cold, even with the t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,431
    1,041
    392
    213
    205
See reviews for
83
3,415
6
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,055)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We came to Sandals La Toc for our honeymoon on October 13th, and it was a fantastic choice. From the time we arrived until the last minutes of our stay, the staff treated us like gold. We had the Romeo and Juliet suite on Sunset Bluff, which had an amazing view and near ideal location. Throughout the stay, we found ourselves eating at every place we could and every meal was absolutely delicious!
We were lucky enough to get a butler level room, and even more lucky to have two butlers (Roger and McCann) that made our trip more special yet. Roger and McCann helped plan our days and nights with fun, exciting things to do, and always made our return even better. We hiked the Pitons one day, and came back to relaxing bubble bath with some tasty champagne along with flowers and a lovely note on our bed. It seemed that nearly every day there was some little surprise waiting for us when we got back to the suite. Roger and McCann always made it seem like we were the only ones they were taking care of, even though that was obviously not the case. Honestly, I cannot say enough great things about them, and I will request them again if I can make it back out one day.
Overall, the experience was phenomenal. The views were breathtaking, the tours were so much fun, the food and drink was delicious, and the service was top notch! Thank you Sandals for giving us the best honeymoon we could have imagined!

Room Tip: The Sunset Bluff rooms have fantastic views, and are a short shuttle ride to the entertainment. Ours...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Regency La Toc Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Thank you for your review of Sandals La Toc! We are honored to have hosted your honeymoon and we are thrilled that you enjoyed every single moment of it! Our butlers do a fabulous job at making sure you are pampered and that you have amazing memories that will last a lifetime!
We wish you well and hope to see you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenner
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Had a wonderful experience at La Toc. Staff is unbelievable. We especially enjoyed Sarah in Sales- she is a true delight and made us feel special. After meeting her 1 time, she greeted us by name each day. We elected not to do the butler room & it worked out fine - it is just not our style. Enjoyed meeting the locals on the beach and getting to know them. There is a very talented artist that hangs out on the beach, Jabrina - you should check out her work! I bought 3 of her paintings. Can't say enough about the staff.
Hope to visit again soon!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

My husband and I were so excited to share our birthdays in another luxurious slice of paradise. This years choice was La Toc....celebrating an extra special birthday this year....my husbands 60th. I made plans to be delivered to the nearby regional airport by helicopter. The main airport was an 1.5 hour ride. What a spectaculiar experience. We were able to see many things that would have been missed by car.

Once we arrived we were shuttled to La Toc by private transfer and we were quickly greeted with smiles and cool drinks in the "Butler Area" on check in. We had booked a Sunset Bluff butler suite w/ garden view. And were surprised with a two day upgrade to an ocean front with a pool. (Thank you very much) We truly enjoyed each moment of the room. Only set back was waiting for the change to our original room. After all confusion was dealt with and we were settled into our home away from home for the next six days. Quite honestly we liked this room much better. Bigger bedroom and a much more expanded bath area. Nice balcony that offered more than a garden view it offered a nice ocean view with beautiful vegetation as a soft back drop.

Special thanks to our wonderful butlers Genivieve and Tana who worked non stop to ensure our every need was met. (And beyond) Vaun "A General Manager" could always be found through out the resort with a big smile and making sure everything was to our satisfaction. Sorry I do not have the names but the swim up pool staff at the Bluff pool area were always smiling and eager to meet your needs.

In the past, we have never used room service for meals other than breakfast....with the exception of this trip. Room service was wonderful. And we never had to wait long (as others have reported). We would order our dinner, open a bottle of wine, and sit out on the balcony and enjoy the sounds of and sights of this particular paradise.

La Tocs was a great choice to enjoy a romantic dinner with top notch service. We also enjoyed Armandos (Italian cuisine) The Pitons (Caribbean) Gordon on the Pier (at the Grand) and the welcome back dinner was enjoyable as well. Could not complain about the food or service in any manner.

We were very happy to discover that the pools were open 24/7. We enjoyed that many evenings along with the lounges and fire pits. We were not looking for a wild night life setting and found the Bluff area met our needs perfectly. Beautiful surroundings providing solitude and very romantic evenings.

A must do....reserve a Cabana for a day ($90) for a day. You are tucked in between the ocean and the quiet Piton Pool. Just a few steps down you can enter the beautiful peaceful water and beaches or if you prefer take a few steps up and enjoy the serenity of the Piton Pool. (No swim up bar....not a problem.) Plenty of bar service provided.

We could have not have asked for a better experience. Perhaps a few less rain drops. But what could we expect it is rain season.

Another first for us...we booked a trip to comeback next year as we waited for a private drive back to the airport. From start to finish we celebrated another year of life in the lush tropical surroundings of this cliff side glamorous resort.

Room Tip: Sunset. Bluff Butler Rooms....higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint George's, Saint George, Grenada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We arrived at Sandals La Toc on Oct.12/13 and were absolutely mesmerized from the time we set foot on the grounds to the time we stood in the lobby to watch out to the blue sea below. The staff were so gracious; always a ready smile on hand, they clearly work extremely hard to make everyone feel welcome. The two most amazing hostesses - La Toya and Abiola - made each dining experience with them one to remember. Sarah Ashton - this girl knows how to connect and keep it real while making everyone smile with her enthusiasm. Ask Kirton to fix you an omelette and you won't be disappointed; my husband was particularly fond of these at breakfast. Jacintha's efforts to get us into La Toc went beyond what we could ever have expected! Book your reservations in La Toc prior to your arrival though so you don't miss out.

We thoroughly enjoyed The Pitons and Neptune. Both for ambience and quality, they were second to none. The Pavilion breakfast is wonderful; there is literally something for everyone.
Cricketer's Pub's fish and chips was fantastic along with a cold Newcastle Brown Ale. Cheers to Jeremiah with whom we could have chatted for hours.

The poolside bar is fun and relaxing, a great way to interact with other guests - we easily found chairs and thought the pool itself was excellent. If you're looking for nightlife though, this is probably not the spot for you as things tended to finish fairly early.

Don't be wary of venturing off-hotel and approach some of the local tour guys on the beach. Alvin's tour was amazing - snorkeling between the Pitons, seeing the coast on the water by boat, bathing in the sulphur spring and seeing the historic town of Soufriere - there wasn't one of us who stopped smiling the entire trip. King Nigel had everyone laughing but still managed to give people a true sense of just what the island's natural beauty has to offer.

If we could, we'd go back next week - sheer romance and stunning beauty was the order of the day and that's exactly what we got.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile


We traveled to St. Lucia on October 13th and stayed at the Sandals La Toc Resort for our honeymoon.

Staff: Every single staff member greats you with a smile and ensures you are 100% satisfied. Playmakers Oswald and Miquel made sure we had fun everyday and participated in the resort games. Sarah Ashton in sales always greeted us with a hug and huge smile. She learned our names the first time we met her and did not forget them the entire trip. I actually looked forward to seeing Sarah every time I entered the lobby or pool area. I was actually disappointed when she was not around. She was very sweet and personable. Pool bartenders Tasha and Miguel always made sure our drinks were filled.

Dining: we did not have a chance to eat at the La Toc restaurant because it was completely booked for reservations. I wish we could have had that experience. Be sure to book all evening reservations prior to traveling. All other food at the other restaurants were phenomenal. The candle light dinner is well worth the extra charge. Pitons, which served traditional st lucian food, we enjoyed the best. Try the lamb or surf and turf.

Experience: we did not pay extra for butler service but still had a great awesome honeymoon. We found towels and chairs by the pool without the butler and seemed to do fine. If you want to splurge for this special occasion, go ahead, but it is not needed. We had a couples massage in red lane and loved it but did not appreciate the 10-13% service charge that was added to our room at the end of our treatment. The entire resort has a no tipping policy so we were confused with this 35$ extra charge. We did book two excursions, land and sea by the resort and Zip lining by an outside vendor we found on the beach. We saved alot of money with the beach vendor. We flew on a helicopter into the resort to skip the 1.5 hour ride from the airport. Well worth it.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrington, Wyoming
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We had the best time here at Sandals. This was our first experience at an adult only resort and it was exactly what we were looking for. Drinks were served from the moment we stepped off the plane and didn't stop till we were boarding the plane! There were so many choices for dining that we ate at a different place almost every day. The customer service was out of this world and all customer service businesses should learn something from these people! They love what they do and it shows in how they treat you!! Golfing and diving were great and so was the Joe Knows tour! Our room was a honeymoon suite and was secluded but close enough to all the activities-which they had something going on every evening. Just an all around wonderful place to relax, unwind and enjoy the sun.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Regency La Toc Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Thank you for your review, Devin! We are so pleased that you had the perfect honeymoon at Sandals La Toc. From the beginning to end, we strive to give our guest the best service and quality. It is wonderful that our staff made such a wonderful impression upon you and I will pass on your kind remarks to the team!
We look forward to having you return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandals Regency La Toc Golf Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Regency La Toc Golf Resort and Spa

Address: La Toc, Castries, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Castries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Castries
#3 Spa Hotel in Castries
#5 Luxury Hotel in Castries
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Castries
#5 Romantic Hotel in Castries
#5 Family Hotel in Castries
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Castries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Regency La Toc Golf Resort and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•Elevated Millionaire Suites come with 180 degree views, rotating 46” plasma TV’s, a private whirlpool and infinity pool and fully opened glass walls•Private car transfers and 24 hour room service available•Sandals La Toc Golf Course located directly on the resort •10 minutes from George F.L. Charles Airport (SLU), Shopping and Castries and 1 hour from the Hewanorra International Airport (UVF)•“Stay at One, Play at Three” free shuttle exchange privileges with Sandals Grande St. Lucian and Sandals Halcyon •Three magnificent freshwater pools, sixty-five personal plunge pools, and four whirlpools. •Voted Sandals Resorts “World’s Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row•Voted Sandals Resorts “Caribbean’s Leading Hotel Brand”, 18 years in a row•Voted Saint Lucia‘s Leading Spa Resort •Five Star Diamond Award - American Academy of Hospitality Sciences ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Sandals Regency La Toc Golf Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals La Toc Golf Hotel Castries
Sandals St Lucia
Sandals Regency St Lucia Hotel
Sandals Regency La Toc Golf Resort And Spa St. Lucia/Castries

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandals Regency La Toc Golf Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.