We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Laid back vacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sandals Regency La Toc Golf Resort and Spa

Save Saved
You added Sandals Regency La Toc Golf Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sandals Regency La Toc Golf Resort and Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   La Toc, Castries, St. Lucia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Couples Massage!!
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Castries
New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Laid back vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This was our 10th Sandals vacation. Overall the resort kept up with the Sandals reputation that my wife and I have enjoyed over the years. The property was very beautiful and a very mello place to just hang on the beach or pool and relax. If you are looking for an upbeat atmosphere this is not the place for you. I dont want that statement to come off as negative as that is not my intent. This resort had just more of a relaxed vibe and not a party place. We went on the Son of Man Tour (knock off version of Joe Knows). We saved $70 by going on the this tour vs what the resort charges and felt like it was basically the same tour. Look for Cornelius on the beach to set up the tour. Very informative and fun day with the Son Of Man staff. I played golf twice while i was there, I would rate the course as average. Very short but tight and challenging, Steven was our caddy both days. Steven was very easy to work with and was a pleasure to be around.
My biggest piece of advice on this resort is to not listen to all of the negative reviews (they had me a bit worried before we went). If you have any issue on your trip ask for Victor in guest relations and he will take care of it for you (great guy).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,380
    1,020
    389
    213
    203
See reviews for
81
3344
5
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,008)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We have just returned from our honeymoon at this resort. We upgraded to a butler suite, we had the two storey verandah suite. Although the accomodation was really lovely, i think if i went again i would have a single storey apartment as we rarely used the living area. Butlers we had were Marcus and Donovan, both were extremely helpful/friendly, and did everything they could to make the stay as wonderful as possible.
If you do have a butler then ensure you make the most of this by asking the butler to book all your restaurant reservations, ensure you ask your butler to reserve loungers by the pool. If you dont have a butler then please note you are allowed to leave towels on the sunloungers at this resort, so if you wanted an umbrella you will need to get up very early to reserve. We noticed a lot of new guests being unable to get anywhere with shade or even a sunlounger at times.

The grounds and views are wonderful and the beach is paradise. The beach is quite small but its big enough for the size of the resort.

Restaurants - we didnt eat in the buffet for dinner one night due to such a variety of other restaurants. All of which are amazing. Definetly recommend the japenese restaurant, wonderful setting, and a great experience. The Pitons restaurant is also lovely, and we had a wonderful meal. The Le Toc restaurant was our favourite, this is a must. We also went to the other sandals resort and ate at Gordons, this is included for butler guests but you have to pay if you dont have the butler service. To be honest its a lovely setting, and was lovely food but i preferred Le Toc which is included in the standard all inclusive facility.

Staff are very friendly, and helpful, nothing was ever too much. George who works by the pool serving drinks is such a credit to this resort. We had a couples massage at the spa which was lovely, and would recommend, although i would say visit the spa and see what offers they have on, as we didnt check and they had a package which worked out cheaper.

Would definetly recommend this hotel for a honeymoon resort. We had amazing weather, VERY HOT, we went 5th March, so if you go at this time ensure to pack a hat.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We had a great time staying at La Toc. This was our first Sandals stay and would love to go back. The grounds were beautifu. l We stayed in an Emerald Isle Oceanview room with private sundeck. The room was on the small side but the large balcony made up for it. Be aware this resort is on the side of a mountain and getting from the check in area to the top of the hill where Armando's is was quite a hike. Use the shuttles if you want to make it to dinner without sweating. We enjoyed all of our meals at the resort. We often spent our evenings at Herbie's the piano bar. The staff and other patrons were very friendly. Lucas was wonderful. On Friday nights there is a street party with food and drinks which was a good time. The pool was nice and relaxing. The beach was fun, but a bit rough. You could do a bit a body surfing but most watersports were out of the question. We visited Sandals Grande and if you are looking to lay on the beach and do watersports that is probably your place. While we were visiting Grande we also walked the block outside of the resort to Pigeon Island. It had some great views and old British Forts if you want to get in some history.

We did a few excursions such as horseback riding, ziplining, shopping and the Land and Sea tour all booked through the tour agent in the lobby. All were wonderful. The Land and Sea tour (rather than the Joe Knows) was more subdued than the Joe Knows, the stops on both tours were very similar.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Workington, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

This trip was a dream of mine & wow did it live up to it, just pure paradise. Staff are fantastic especially Ray the front of house girl and not forgetting Lucas & his side kick Jackson 5 ( he looked like a younger version of Jermaine Jackson ) who work in the piano bar they made my holiday so much more special. Food out of this world, plenty to do. I spent the week on the beach absolutely devine. I luved the Italian & Neptunes restaurants the staff can not do enough for you. When we arrived my hair straightners did not have a long enough lead so I could not use a mirror, I rang reception and within 10 mins they arrived with an extension lead for me now that is customer service in my book. I would highly recommend this dream hotel. Go on book it and you will not regret it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Tennessee
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Let me first start by saying we travel to an all inclusive resort yearly for vacation so I am compairing this resort to others. St. Lucia is a beautiful Island and the resort had a nice beach with calm water. But our issues started with check-in. We had just traveled for 8hrs and they make you do a group check-in before you do anything else that took 40min and wasn't very helpful then they want to still come the next day for a resort tour. Our room was comparable to an standard U.S. hotel but nothing in compairson to other all inclusives. The room had several things in disrepair and the shower leaked. Beer and wine were not included in the room but water, soda, and juice were included. The food was excellent but unless you have a butler suite then room-service is not an option. 24hr room service has been included in every other all-inclusive without paying extra. Other than a Friday night street festival, the entertainment was watered down and not even worth sitting through. They never even used the ampitheater the entire week. Several things weren't working on the resort including their water bikes, hammocks, some beer taps. Luxuries that are included on most all-inclusive resorts weren't availabe, were reserved for butler suites, or were for rent. Most notably beach cover/umbrellas, pool chairs, and beach beds. Next and maybe most important the drinks. They had top shelf vodka and whiskey but their rum was from japan or china and was aweful. They don't even carry ANY of the local rum at their bars but they sell it! When I asked about this I was told that Sandals was under contract with El Dorado and couldn't serve other rums. Unbelievable and unacceptable not to have good rum in the carribean. The service was excellent at certain restuarants and during certain times at others but you had to flags down someone at times to get refills or service such as breakfast. The Japenese and the French restuarant require reservation and the carribean (Piton) had a 2 hr wait. We made reservation on our 1st full day there and had to wait until our last night to get a date for the French restuarant because guest at the other 2 resorts also share the restaurants. We made the best of this vacation but I was extremely disappointed in Sandals compaired to other all inclusive, even 3 star all-inclusive and I paid at least $2,000 more for this room than any other all inclusive.

Aaron R., TN

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dahlgren, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

I can't say enough wonderful things about our stay at Sandals La Toc. We went for 7 nights over Valentine's week 2013 when friends of ours were getting married. Grounds and views are outstanding - it's not a huge resort but we liked that - it's compactness made it feel more personal. The beach is small but secluded but with the same service you get at the pool - beach chairs and drinks service. Plenty of free water activities (even diving) Service overall was impeccable. The staff cannot do enough for you - all super friendly and highly professional! If they got it wrong they tried very hard to fix it immediately. The swim up pool bar with it's 29 different Caribbean cocktails was our favourite spot pre lunch. The main pool has all the hustle and bustle of a holiday pool but nothing too over bearing - and if you don't like that there are two other amazing quiet pools to choose from. We stayed in a standard room with a garden view - no concierge. We had stressed and wondered about whether that was necessary, having read other reviews. I do not believe it would have been worth the extra money! We were never in our room other than getting ready or sleeping. But our wonderful maids went out of their way to leave us little surprises (every night there were petals on the bed and a towel sculpture as well as chilled wine and a bubble bath with petals! - we did tip our regulars however - Sandals say no tipping but seriously I do believe a few dollars here and there make a big difference to the little extras that you will then experience) Our room was on the second floor close to the main pool. I worried it might be loud at night but it was quiet and entertainment does not go on too late anyway.
The food: wonderful! fabulous seafood, Italian, Japanese, French and local cuisine. All a la carte and there was a mixture of reservations only/no reservations necessary which was great. I liked the fact that the portions were generally small which meant we weren't over eating buffet style! The main thing for us was the food was hot! (many resorts we've been to that has been an issue) No room service so don't expect it - but seriously who needs it?
I can't comment on day trips as we did none! We also didn't visit the other 2 Sandals hotels as we just felt ours had everything and sitting on a bus there and back was not our idea of fun!
Highly recommend this holiday destination to anyone - we will definitely consider Sandals again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Went with a group of friends, a total of 4 couples. If you want an enjoyable, no worries trip with friends, then I highly recommend this place and St Lucia.

Stayed in Oceanview room "go". This was just fine for us. Nice space, close the action, and we had a balcony.

Food at Sandals is great, especially when compared to other all-inclusives I have stayed at. Armandos and La Toc were our favorites for dinner.... Neptunes for lunch. Kimonos was meh. And the Cricketers bar is great for any snack or late night. Shout out to Jeremiah at Cricketers for being the man. We may name our first-born after you.

Beach was very nice and included water sports were a very nice bonus.

Pools are great. But as others have mentioned, you'll need to get there early to get prime real estate.

Golf is included, but you have to pay $11 per 9 holes (plus tip) for caddies. No big deal - still good value. Golf course is interesting, short... conditions were not great (comparable to a muni course) but i was not expecting anything immaculate anyway

Joe knows tour was great and the lunch they take you too is even better. Worthwhile excursion

One mini-gripe: you have to pay extra for internet. This is petty considering this is "all inclusive". Many conventional hotels offer complementary internet... why does an all inclusive charge for it?Sandals should consider revising this policy - better to have no surprises and 100% satisfaction to your guests vs collecting a few extra bucks on internet.

Overall, a trip to St Lucia is highly recommended.... and Sandals is a great place to stay while you are there.

Room Tip: request a full balcony room... many have "balconettes" which are just railings next a wind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandals Regency La Toc Golf Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Regency La Toc Golf Resort and Spa

Address: La Toc, Castries, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Castries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Castries
#3 Spa Hotel in Castries
#5 Luxury Hotel in Castries
#5 Family Hotel in Castries
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Castries
#5 Romantic Hotel in Castries
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Castries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Regency La Toc Golf Resort and Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•Elevated Millionaire Suites come with 180 degree views, rotating 46” plasma TV’s, a private whirlpool and infinity pool and fully opened glass walls•Private car transfers and 24 hour room service available•Sandals La Toc Golf Course located directly on the resort •10 minutes from George F.L. Charles Airport (SLU), Shopping and Castries and 1 hour from the Hewanorra International Airport (UVF)•“Stay at One, Play at Three” free shuttle exchange privileges with Sandals Grande St. Lucian and Sandals Halcyon •Three magnificent freshwater pools, sixty-five personal plunge pools, and four whirlpools. •Voted Sandals Resorts “World’s Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row•Voted Sandals Resorts “Caribbean’s Leading Hotel Brand”, 18 years in a row•Voted Saint Lucia‘s Leading Spa Resort •Five Star Diamond Award - American Academy of Hospitality Sciences ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and BookIt.com so you can book your Sandals Regency La Toc Golf Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals La Toc Golf Hotel Castries
Sandals St Lucia
Sandals Regency St Lucia Hotel
Sandals Regency La Toc Golf Resort And Spa St. Lucia/Castries

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandals Regency La Toc Golf Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.