We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Sun Sets” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boiled Frog Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Castries
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Boiled Frog Guesthouse
Save Saved
You added Boiled Frog Guesthouse to your Saves list
Choc Bay, Castries, St. Lucia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 14 Castries B&B and Inns
Castries, St. Lucia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic Sun Sets”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

This is a great place to watch the sunsets in total privacy with a drink in your hand. Simply spectacular. The guest house experience was great, the food fantastic, friendly atmosphere, you feel like this is your home. Truly a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Book early...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
35
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cochrane, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

We have just returned from a two week stay at the Cottage at the Boiled Frog Guesthouse. It was our first trip to non US or Canadian destinations and Danielle and Steve were the perfect hosts. Besides the amazing setting,accessibility to our own swim beach and all St. Lucia has to offer, the hosts made us comfortable and then....encouraged us to go explore! It was the perfect way for us to have the experience. The cottage is a perfect place for the longer stay- breakfast foods provided in the fridge, cooking facilities available, two comfy couches, king size bed, air conditioning and large bathroom. There is a beautiful back deck, fully sheltered veranda, hammocks and the gazebo. Lovely reclining chairs were our favourite to watch the beautiful sunset every night, of course with a Piton beer! Danielle also gives the option of dining with them 5 nights a week posting the menu days ahead. The meals were fabulous and the company great- thoroughly enjoyed the other guests, Steve, Danielle, Alex, Sasha, Danielle's parents and of course Pod! The conversation was always lively and varied- we learned a lot about other islands, St. Lucia culture and many other things!!! We both found the Lucian people amazing- polite, interesting and very welcoming! Danielle suggested multiple activities and lists of dos and don'ts-again great for us travelling newbies.The location of the guest house is great- bus stop virtually at the door, easy walking distance in to Castries, grocery store 2 blocks away. We will be back!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, UK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

We spent a week at the Boiled Frog in early Feb ’14 staying in the Cottage. It was our first time in St Lucia and we enjoyed our stay very much. As some other reviewers have also said we were not sure if the communal nature of the outdoor space would suit us but it turned out to be one of the best things about the Boiled Frog. Steve and Danielle, who run it, had Danielle’s parents, Dave and Barbara staying. Between them they made us feel very welcome and ensured we had lots of ideas for our days.

We took a taxi from the airport and had a Suzuki Jimny from Drive-A-Matic delivered on our first day. We were able to return it at the end of our stay at the airport which was very convenient. This allowed us to explore the island and for Brits, at least, the driving is easy but I was glad to have the extra ground clearance and a good map is essential. Our favourite beach was at Gros Islet just on the edge of The Landings. We borrowed the Boiled Frog beach chairs which made for a comfortable day. I bought lunch from one of the Gros Islet shacks and brought it down to the beach, very cheap and very good. We also went to Cas en Bas and had lunch at Marjorie’s and walked south to five dollar beach on the coastal path which made for very enjoyable day out.

Another highlight was taking the local bus with fellow BF guests up to Gros Islet on the Friday evening. We then walked up to The Landings where we had 2 for 1 cocktails in the beach bar while being serenaded by a fantastic saxophonist. We walked back to Gros Islet for the Friday night Jump Up where we ate street food and then took the bus back. We had three meals with Steve and Danielle and also ate at the Wharf, a ten minute walk or short bus ride away. We ate twice at Rodney Bay, driving to Spinnaker’s one night and by bus to Tapas on the Bay on the other. Had we stayed longer we would have tried the Marina which is just beyond the main Rodney Bay turning and has a number of places to eat.

Are there any down sides to staying at the Boiled Frog? It probably helps if you like dogs although I can’t see how anybody could fail to like Zeus, Carla and Corey. In the end I was not sure if they had adopted us or we had adopted them. The furniture and furnishings in the cottage are not really five star luxury but you are mid-way between Rendezvous and Sandals Halcyon with the same views for a fraction of the price.

Overall I was very glad we stayed in the Boiled Frog.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

This review is well overdue! We returned from a vacation earlier last year in St. Lucia. Four days at the Boiled Frog and four days at a super-luxury resort in the southern Anse Cochon area. Needless to say, our stay at the Boiled Frog touched our hearts in a way that is difficult to describe, but I will make an attempt. Firstly, Danielle and Steve along with their wonderful boys made us feel so at home. We were concerned at first that maybe we are too private-a-people to enjoy the open and social nature of a bed and breakfast. To our surprise, by the time we were checking out of the Frog, we felt like we still had so many conversations that we still wanted to have with Danielle and Steve. We felt sad to leave them even though we were leaving the BF to check into a luxury resort.

They gave us amazing recommendations for places to eat, of which "The Wharf" was our favorite. We fell in love with "The Wharf's" accra so much that we re-create the dish whenever we need a lift. The location is perfect as it's a nice bus-ride to the city and also Rodney Bay where the beaches are nice. The BF is itself on a lovely beach which is great for a sun-bathing session, but not as comfy for a swim, but close enough (five minutes) to swimmable beaches.

I felt very safe at the BF even though it was located off the main road. I'm so glad we didn't rent a car as we traveled to popular spots both North and South of the BF. The location could not have been more convenient. Their terrace is huge and replete with fun lounging chairs and hammocks and a fridge full of all sorts of beverages.

We know we will be back to visit them at the Boiled Frog again as the St. Lucian experience cannot be the same without them. Danielle and Steve are a beautiful couple, remarkable human beings, inspiring parents and gracious hosts. We can all learn a lot from them.

The resort could not give us warm memories that the BF gave us-a special experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset England
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

An excellent guest house on a small beach with lovely views and sunsets. The rooms off the terrace were comfortable and very large with plenty of storage space and big bathrooms. Breakfast was help yourself with lots of choice and hot drinks available all day. Danielle and her family were very welcoming and we would recommend a visit.

Room Tip: The twin room had a lot of natural light and a nice bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

Just returned from a wonderful holiday on St. Lucia. We stayed 9 days in a small cottage at the Boiled Frog and enjoyed our stay there very much. Everything was perfect - lovely family who gave us always very helpful advices and Danielle as well as Steve are wonderful cooks! We loved to spend supper together, enjoyed the delicious food and it was really nice and informative to talk to the family members and other guest in a familiar atmosphere. The house is situated directly at the sea and we could do long walks along the shore. The is a reef just in front but also lovely places for bathing. Just in front of the house is a bus stop for local busses which is comfortable and easy to handle. The site is huge and beside a big indoor-terrace there is another terrace outside and a huge garden. Also sunchairs are available.
Thanks again to Danielle and Steve and also the kids and parents - We had a wonderful time!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

I've stayed in Boiled Frog Guest House at the end of October for four nights. This was one of the most relaxing holidays I ever had.
Guest House is located by the sea, but not far from main road which leads to Castries one way and to Rodney Bay and Pigeon Island the other way.You don't need rent a car or call a taxi to travel around: there is bus stop close by and buses are cheap and reliable.
My room as well as house terrace were facing beautiful view over the the beach. On the terrace there was plenty of space for hammocks, sofas, chairs and big dining table - where everyone meet for diner. Dinner meals were home cooked and always delicious.
Friendly hosts, relaxed atmosphere and beautiful sea sunsets made this holiday very special.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Boiled Frog Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boiled Frog Guesthouse

Address: Choc Bay, Castries, St. Lucia
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Castries
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Castries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boiled Frog Guesthouse is a 3 room guesthouse situated on the shores of the Caribbean Sea. All rooms are large, air conditioned with private bath. The cottage room is self contained with kitchenette while the other two rooms share a common kitchen. There is a small beach directly in front of the property and a large beach just minutes down shore. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Boiled Frog Guesthouse St. Lucia/Castries

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boiled Frog Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.