We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“boiled frog turned chilled” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boiled Frog Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Castries
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Boiled Frog Guesthouse
Choc Bay, Castries, St. Lucia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 13 Castries B&B and Inns
uk
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“boiled frog turned chilled”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

CANADIANS Danielle and Steve Unruh felt they were being boiled alive in their jobs as health and safety advisors to the oil industry.

When they sent each other drawings of their ideal place to live, both doodles depicted a house by the sea fringed by palm trees.

The light bulb moment illuminated the way to the pair establishing the aptly-named Boiled Frog Guesthouse, near Castries, on sunny St Lucia.

For many people, holidaying in the Caribbean means an all-inclusive resort with all the associated pampering you fancy.

What Danielle and Steve offer Is a bed and breakfast by the sea, with the option of dining with them and their family at night should you wish.

Arriving at the Boiled Frog feels more like arriving at a friend’s home.

Danielle and Steve greet you with a smile and introduce you to sons Alex, Sasha, little smasher Kieron and Zeus the friendly dog.

You walk, via the sprawling ocean-facing deck, to either a self-contained cottage or one of two large bedrooms with en-suite bathrooms.

You grab a beer already chilling in the fridge, you hear the waves swooshing on the sand, see a huge illuminated cruise ship crawling by on the horizon and the relaxation begins.

We spent what must be one of the laziest two weeks of our lives at the Frog, and we loved it.

Mostly all we did was take long beach walks alongside the clean, crashing surf of Choc Bay, throw down the sarongs, lap up the 30C heat and cool off in the waves.

The only decisions were whether we turned left or right in the morning, which book to read next, or if we could have a private skinny dip, which was normally “oh yes”.

Having flown all that way from the UK, we did hop on one of the abundant island minibuses and do the tourist bit to the marina and fort at Rodney Bay, as well as to Soufriere in the shadow of the islands famous Piton twin peaks.

We also took in scenic Marigot Bay, marvelling of the hilltop holiday homes belonging to the likes of Oprah Winfrey and boxing champ George Foreman.

But we really were lazy on this trip, which was designed to be a battery charge away from an England on the cusp of another chill winter.

We breakfasted around 7am, helping ourselves to fresh coffee, juice, muesli and toast.

We sometimes had family dinners and enjoyed lovely homemade bread, pasta, Frog burgers, steak and lobster (lobster which two local spear fisherman had caught that very day).

Sometimes we walked the 15 minutes along a busy main road to dine at the Wharf bar and restaurant , where owner’s daughter Liza bent over backwards to make us feel at home and kept to cold beers coming with gusto.

And that was about it.

Plenty of people told us to keep out wits about us for theft, but plenty of people strolled by us on our deserted stretch of beach and every one was polite and civil.

It is a fact of life that you have to keep your wits about you everywhere in the world, even your home town.

Frog gardener Sylvester, who came with the property when it was bought, did appear with a machete now and again – in order to offer us coconuts from the palm tree or golden apples which we chomped on with thanks.

All in all we had restful days capped by interesting chats during family dinners or down at the pub.

The room was clean, the food was great, and hosts Danielle and Steve were on hand to solve the slightest problem should it arise.

Danielle’s parents, Dave and Barbara, turned up for Christmas and enriched the family scene.

Even Zeus the dog smiled for a photo, almost.

We would thoroughly recommend the Boiled Frog to any fellow traveller who feels they are getting a bit boiled by life’s pressures, and fancies the same kind of break.

It you stay there, when the interested locals ask you which hotel you are staying at, you will undoubtedly tell them the same as we did: “We aren’t in a hotel, we are staying with friends.”

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoiledFrog1, Manager at Boiled Frog Guesthouse, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for leaving a review here on Trip Advisor. We thoroughly enjoyed your time with us and we are so glad that it was one of your most restful vacations ever! Maybe one day we will see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
35
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Georgia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I'm writing this review with a lump in my throat looking at pictures of The Boiled Frog. I miss our vacation cottage by the sea. We have stayed in many resorts and hotels in our travels and we can honestly say that our stay with Danielle, Steve, and their boys (yes, you too, Zeus) topped them all. This was our first trip to St Lucia and we couldn't have been in better hands to learn about the island and venture out on our own. Danielle's assistance was invaluable; from arranging transportation with our very competent driver Elias, to booking excursions. Plus, she bakes some damn good bread! Every meal prepared by our hosts were delicious. We even got to eat lobster caught near the guesthouse by local fishermen. We swam in the private little beach coves, slept well, and enjoyed good conversation. I loved zenning out in the hammock under the moonlight listening to the waves. The Boiled Frog's atmosphere is laid back and carefree, like a hug for your soul. Guests posting previous reviews know what I'm talking about. We had an absolutely wonderful vacation and plan to return. Steve and Danielle have a genuine love for their home and we're so happy that they shared it with us.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoiledFrog1, Manager at Boiled Frog Guesthouse, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Well we are so happy that we got to share our home with you! Thank you for choosing to stay with us. With the sun so far to the south of us at the moment, that hammock in the yard is the perfect place to spend an entire afternoon in the shade of the coconut trees. We look forward to a time when you can join us again! Thank you for leaving this review and sharing your experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

The owners of this guesthouse were very friendly and went out of their way to make sure we had a relaxed stay. It is right on the water and it is possible to walk into Castries. Our room was very large and had everything we needed, including air conditioning. Breakfast was included in the price and taken on the nice veranda overlooking the sea. The veranda is unfortunately caged in but presumably this is necessary for security. We would definitely stay here again if in Castries.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

There is not much I can add to the positive comments already left on this site, except to echo them. Staying at the Boiled Frog really is like staying with family or friends: I have never been at a hotel or guesthouse like it. The location is convenient, and the hosts very friendly and welcoming, and always ready with advice on how to use the local buses, where to go, what to do etc.

I should also mention the option (on most evenings) of eating dinner with the family, prepared by Danielle. These were uniformly excellent, in fact probably the best cooking we had on the island (and that includes the impressive Wharf restaurant, 10 minutes walk up the road). Add to that, the very reasonable charges for room (and a small extra for dinner) and it all adds up to amazing value. The only problem with people wanting to stay there will be the small number of guests that they can take. My advice is to consider advance booking if you want to stay there from now on, given the high ratings it is getting on Tripadvisor.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoiledFrog1, Manager at Boiled Frog Guesthouse, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us and for becoming part of our world for a while and thank you for sharing your thoughts about your stay here on Trip Advisor! We loved sharing our little piece of St. Lucia with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We recently visited St. Lucia for my daughter's wedding. The wedding was at a Sandals resort. To get the best deal on airfare from San Diego, we had to fly out a day earlier. Rather than to try to book an extra day at Sandals we chose to take in some local color. We couldn't have made a better choice than to stay at the Boiled Frog.
This is the first time that my family and I had stayed anywhere other than a Marriott or a resort. We had the best time, Steve and Danielle welcomed us like we were old friends or family. The rooms were perfect and the house is located practically right on the beach. After we settled in Danielle was the perfect host, we spent hours talking about how they managed to settle in St Lucia and how much we had in common.
The location of the Boiled Frog was convenient to stores, restaurants and even to the Sandals Resort where we were to spend the remainder.of our vacation. Danielle informed us where to get the best deals on spas and entertainment while in St. Lucia.
Our overall experience staying at the Boiled Frog was more than we expected. It was like staying with friends, My only regret was that we only stayed one night. If we hadn't booked a wedding at Sandals we would have stayed longer.
If you are looking for perfect place to stay with that feeling of being with family or friends then I highly recommend staying at the Boiled Frog with our new friends Steve and Danielle.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoiledFrog1, Manager at Boiled Frog Guesthouse, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review even though your stay was so brief! It was great to meet you and your family and we're glad we could be a small part of your stay on this beautiful island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

We were at The Boiled Frog for 6 nights from Aug 5-11, 2012. We had Danielle greating us at the airport, and introduced us to her great family. We felt at home right from the beginning. Danielle prepared us a great welcoming dinner!!! We had great discussions with this very nice family. As we were the only clients during this week, Danielle and Steve gave us the cottage, which is very private. This guesthouse is so well located, close to the action and activities of St. Lucia. The bus transit system is very effective, so we could travel this part of the island for pennies. We were close to stores. Danielle and Steve provide very good advice on activities we should consider. We have done the catamaran from Castries to Soufrière, which is a must! We have also visite the Museum Our Planet - very nice! We have eaten at The Wharf, very close to the guesthouse (we walked), and some other nice restaurants at Rodney's Bay. One of our favourite activity was to swim and snorkle at the Pigeon Point National Park. Beautiful scenery. The week went by way too fast!!! Again, thanks to Danielle and Steve, this was a very nice journey on a very amazing island! Danielle and Steve are definitively in the right business!!! Thanks again!!! Mario and Danielle from Gatineau, Québec, Canada.

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful, but the cottage is a larger with a kitchen. Might be convenient for peo...
See more room tips
Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoiledFrog1, Manager at Boiled Frog Guesthouse, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Thank you so much for this great review and taking the time to share your experience of the Boiled Frog with other travellers. We really appreciate it and we're very glad you enjoyed your stay. It is always a fantastic experience to meet people such as yourselves and to have you share your lives with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
xoxo
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

I never write reviews. I love to read them. But I don't feel compelled. Not until the Boiled Frog of St. Lucia. My first solo Christmas trip with Danielle & Steve. What an extraordinary experience, home, location, and family to commune with. I felt right at home with their family and enjoyed every minute of my stay. I was so cared for in such a unique home stay. The house and property is blissful- right on the beach, where I went running daily. The sunsets were divine, Danielle and Steve's cooking out of this world, and the ambience was just what one expects from the Caribbean- healing, relaxing, slow, and heavenly.

What can you expect?
Hi speed internet so you could "work" or connect
Wonderfully welcoming hammocks for being a lazy bum
Excellent location (right next to grocery so you can cook in their kitchen to save $)
Helpful and genuinely kind hosts/owners Danielle and Steve
Very spacious and comfortable en-suite rooms with fridge and welcome drinks & wine
2 large communal areas both with a spectacular view
Terrific airport pick up

In summary, the Boiled Frog is highly recommended. We're all on a budget these days and this place affords you bang for your buck, comfort, safety, and a lovely place to make memories or to seek solace. I know I made lifelong friends there and will be back as I had promised.

Go to St. Lucia and visit the Boiled Frog. It's a special place with a personal charm. If you're not a resort person like myself then this place is your bullseye. You will be very pleased and relaxed the minute you step foot.

Room Tip: All the rooms are equally gorgeous and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoiledFrog1, Manager at Boiled Frog Guesthouse, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review for us and thank you for choosing to stay with us! We loved having you be part of our world and allowing us to be a part of yours. We're glad it was as great an experience for you as it was for us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Boiled Frog Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boiled Frog Guesthouse

Also Known As:
Boiled Frog Guesthouse St. Lucia/Castries
Address: Choc Bay, Castries, St. Lucia
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Castries
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Castries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boiled Frog Guesthouse is a 3 room guesthouse situated on the shores of the Caribbean Sea. All rooms are large, air conditioned with private bath. The cottage room is self contained with kitchenette while the other two rooms share a common kitchen. There is a small beach directly in front of the property and a large beach just minutes down shore. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boiled Frog Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Boiled Frog Guesthouse to your Saves list