We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take this tour. Really, you'll love it.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Herod's Island Tours

Herod's Island Tours
Castries, St. Lucia
758-716-6540
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Take this tour. Really, you'll love it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We met some fellow cruise critic members who turned us on to Herod's tour. I'm a guy who hates the typical look out the window to your left and right tour that seems to be in every cruise destination.This ain't it.
Herod is very intelligent and fun. He was a 5th grade teacher before starting his company.

He picked us up at the cruise ship and toured the island on the way to the banana fields. (He provides complimentary Piton Beer, water, soft drinks, and THE BEST RUM PUNCH during the tour.)
A banana fresh from the tree is amazing. My wife and son had their pictures taken holding a boa constrictor. (Our 9 year old loved this)
We then went to the volcanic sulfur mud bath. Lot's of fun. (Bucket list check mark) There is a changing room and showers at the baths.
Starting to feel a bit hungry as group pulled up to Herod's Mom's beautiful home. The home is on a hill landscaped with tropical trees and flowers. We were served a buffet lunch on the covered front patio/porch. The porch has lovely views of the mountains and the food was great. (Think catered lunch at an event.)
We then visited a small fishing village before taking a water taxi to a cove below the Pitons where we snorkeled. The cove was full of colorful fish and a few crabs. (Changing area and showers provided)

Having had a full day of adventure we were really impressed when our group was picked up in a speed boat for a SUPER FUN and FAST trip back around the island directly to the cruise ship.

This was by far the best tour we have ever been on. (Our 4th cruise in a year)


Great trip for families, teens, couples young or not so young.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    2
    3
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburg, CA
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Best Tour in the Caribbean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Learned about Herod’s from a friend on Cruise Critic. Boy am I glad that I was turned on to Herod’s Land and Sea tour! This tour was the highlight of our Caribbean cruise! We were given a tour of the island, brought to Sulfur spring, banana plantation, had an authentic Creole lunch at Herod’s parent’s house which had a great view!
We were then boarded onto a boat and brought to a beach where we could play, swim or snorkel. Then we were boarded back onto the boat and whisked to our cruise ship. This boat ride in itself was great! It was a fun ride for the kids and gave a great vantage point of the coast!
During this whole time, we were provided soft drinks, beer and RUM PUNCH! That rum punch was great! All I can say is book the tour and you won’t regret it.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A Must While In St. Lucia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

We went on Herod's tour while we were in St. Lucia. We selected his tour over others based on tripadvisor reviews. The bananas were the best we have ever tasted. The bakery bread was fresh. His mother's island cooking was an added plus. The mud baths were unique & Pitons snorkeling were my favorite during our entire Southern Caribbean cruise. We had a 7 & 9 year old with us. Great for any age.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“St. Lucia at it's Finest with Herod”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

This tour was spectacular. Herod and his team are so professional and knowledgable about their island. The tour started in the van, just 4 of us. He drove us around the island providing history and great information about what we were seeing. We stopped at a banana plantation where we learned how they grow and then tasted fresh bananas right off the tree. Then he pulled over at a tucked away bakery and got us the most delicious bread to eat. We did the water fall, the mud bath and had a delicious lunch prepared by his mom! We ended up at the Pitons where we swam in the clearest water I've ever seen. He gets you back to the ship via water taxi. It was truly a fantastic experience. Our group highly recommends this tour!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Herod's Tours in St. Lucia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I highly recommend this tour to anyone going to St. Lucia by cruise ship or plane, especially if you want to see the Pitons, the twin mountains that St. Lucia is famous for. Herod meets you at the pier, and then takes the group by van all over St. Lucia, ending in Souifere near the Pitons. We only had 6 in our tour group which was amazing, but he takes up to 10 people. First, we stopped at a banana plantation and sampled fresh bananas. Then he stopped in a fishing village and bought homemade butter bread for us; it was yummy! He told us all about all the sites along the way, the history of the island and the people, and stopped at scenic points for pictures. He took us to the drive-in volcano where we bathed in the mineral springs and gray mud bath. What a neat experience! Herod took pictures of us as we did this. We then showered and went to a waterfall where everyone got to get in the pool at the bottom. Lunch was amazing! He took us to his house, where we ate a Creole meal prepared by his mom and served at tables set up on her veranda facing the Pitons! Wonderful meal, amazing view, and beautiful setting! We ended up at a beach by the Pitons where we snorkeled at an incredible site with reefs! We were at the beach below the resort where they filmed an episode of "The Bachelor". After this, we went by a speedboat all the way back to the cruise port and were let out right onto the pier by our ship. The trip back was along the coast, so he pointed out the special sites and places of interest! This is the best exursion to the Pitons because you get to go back by boat and not by bus. It is over an hour by bus from the port to the Pitons, but it doesn't seem long going there because of all the stops along the way. Excursions that go back by bus travel straight back making for a long trip. Going back by speedboat was fun, fast, and amazing!!! Herod is such a great guy! He makes sure that everyone is comfortable and having fun! He was always willing to make pictures of us all with our own cameras. This excursion really gives you a lot for your money! All 6 of us in our party were so pleased and would do this tour with Herod again for sure!!! I will post pics at a later date!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Herod's Island Tours also viewed

Castries, Castries Quarter
Vieux Fort, Vieux Fort Quarter
 
Castries, Castries Quarter
Castries, Castries Quarter
 

Been to Herod's Island Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Herod's Island Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.