We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality, affordable, safe and genuinely friendly vacation experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Beach Cottages

Save Saved
You added Villa Beach Cottages to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Beach Cottages
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Choc Bay-Gros Islet Hwy | PO Box 129, Castries, St. Lucia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
50% off for 2 months only
Ranked #1 of 17 hotels in Castries
Burton, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Quality, affordable, safe and genuinely friendly vacation experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

We visited the island and this remarkable resort (for the first time) the week of Nov 16-23, 2013.
From the moment we booked the room weeks in advance, to our arrival from the airport, our stay and departure, we were treated wonderfully.

The accommodations (#2 Upper) exceeded our expectations. The suite was large with upscale decor, but the focal point are the double doors that swing wide open to a large porch overlooking the sea. It is a spectacular view. We enjoyed idly gazing at the island of Martinique while we relaxed in the comfortable porch recliners. We couldn't get closer to the beach and water without being on a boat.

Colin (owner) and his friendly professional staff were readily and cheerfully available and arranged our daily adventures on the island leaving us all the enjoyment without the hassles and details. Colin took his valuable time to let us know that he appreciated our business. He provided expert and valuable information about what to do, where to go including maps and quite interesting island and family history. We were able to book and charge many of the recommended island activities to the resort which greatly simplified accounting and, for us, helped eliminate foreign transaction fees.
After learning that Colin also has another resort and Cocoa Plantation in the south of the island (La Dauphine) , we visited there and were treated to wonderful tour of the grounds, resort and plantation. A truly worthwhile and educational visit. The staff was very welcoming, friendly and knowledgeable.

The location of the resort was excellent, allowing us to easily travel to the North Rodney Bay area restaurants as well as South to Castries and activities beyond. The street where the resort is located can become rather busy, however we were never bothered by noise or street activity during our stay. Stores are conveniently nearby and within walking distance although we had a rental jeep and chose to stop on our way to other activities.

The resort compound was always clean and we felt the security of the area was excellent. We always felt safe. There are cottages containing internet enabled computers, a library of books and movie CD’s. A small store for convenient provisions is only steps away for the rooms. The included WiFi reception was excellent in our room and vital way to stay in touch with family in the U.S. via smartphone. There is a large TV housed behind the upper doors of the wardrobe although we never had occasion to watch.
The kitchen had virtually everything needed to prepare snacks, small meals to full blown dinners.
The large and comfortable 4-poster bed, ample dresser, drawer and closet space and the large bathroom with double sinks and spacious walk-in shower all added to the comfort of the suite.

To be sure there are larger, all-inclusive and certainly more expensive resorts on the island and we feel that 'Villa Beach' more than fulfilled our wants and needs of a quality, affordable, safe and genuinely friendly vacation experience. We highly recommend the resort and its people and we look forward to our return.

Room Tip: We loved the views from our Upper Deluxe room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    392
    41
    9
    4
    3
See reviews for
83
203
8
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Olathe, KS
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

After visiting St Lucia for many years we branched out from our usual accommodations at Ti Kaye for villa beach cottages. The decision to branch out based somewhat on our decision to bring our 24 year old niece with us to the island this year. A creature of habit, I was apprehensive about staying somewhere new and I can now admit that I was pleasantly surprised. It was great to have a full kitchen to make meals and drinks in. Being right on the ocean was great, we had an excellent view that looked like a post card everyday. I had read previous reviews about Claudius the cab driver, and they are all correct. He made our travels around the island safe, fun, and very personalized. The world famous Claudius is an amazing asset to this property. The rest of the staff were excellent as well. We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The beach front rooms are excellent. The 2nd back bedrooms can hear some street traffic noise but no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Maine
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

We travelled to St. Lucia over American Thanksgiving. Villa Beach cottages was wonderful. I have never stayed so close to the beach and to hear the waves crashing continuously was heaven. The staff were so accommodating and Colin made us feel at home. His advise on where to go on the island was terrific but I think his stories and wisdom were appreciated more. (Especially for my two teenagers). If you have grown children but still want to have a family holiday and have separate rooms/beds/privacy - you have found your place! We had a two bedroom villa. Master suite looks over the ocean and the other room has two beautiful queen beds at the back of the villa with their own bathroom. You can charge your taxi rides to the room (convenient), but cheaper to rent a car for a day or two at the Villa if you plan to go longer distances.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

We started our week at VBC's sister property, La Dauphine. (see a great review on it too). Colin and his staff took great care of us. We stayed in #2 and I wish I could own this room. 2nd floor, great balcony, immaculately clean, spacious, great kitchen.....

We wanted to be out the water and this is the place. You can't find a place any closer to the water. We left our doors open all night and listened to crashing waves. We walked to the grocery store and ate fresh fish almost every night grilled just below our balcony. It is in a great central location for going down to Castries or up to Rodney Bay and Cap Estate.

Colin was amazing. He insists on sitting down with every guest at least once during the week. He tells you all about this wonderful place of his and this fantastic island. My fiance only had one question, "How can we find fresh coconuts?" We had been looking all the way from the south end for a vendor to buy one and we never found it. (I will say the snake man's stand probably had them but we did not stop. :-) ) Colin picks up the phone and asks someone to get us a coconut. To our amazement, someone went and cut a fresh one on a tree on the estate. This guy knows how to treat guests.

The place is the perfect size and right on the beach. Some people will love to have the huge Sandal's amenities that are right next door, but not us. We wanted beach, waves, pool, grill and some local atmosphere. We were after relaxing vacation not a huge resort filled with activities. I am not knocking that but we got exactly what we wanted, a week in paradise.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roslyn, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Went to St. Lucia in December 2013- terrific island -- great people, great food, lots to see and do, a variety of terrific beaches. We don't like large all-inclusive resorts, so we found Villa Beach Cottages through Trip Advisor - outstanding choice. Perfect location. The rooms are directly on the beach, so sitting on the large terrace is a joy. Large clean bedroom with full kitchen, jacuzzi, modern bathroom. Wonderful staff, very welcoming. Very fair price. The bonus is Colin, the manager -- on your 1st day there, he sits down with you and gives you a thorough review of the island - history, things to do, maps, etc. All in all, our best Caribbean experience yet- will definitely return to this hotel. By the way, the best way to see St. Lucia is to rent a car. The roads wind a lot, but it gives you the freedom to go wherever you want.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

We stayed at Villa Beach Cottages from November 29th to December 8th 2013 for our 25th wedding anniversay. We were met at the airport by Austin (what a character) who immediately made us feel at home as he drove us to the resort and got us settled in room # 4, which was just footsteps away from the pools, gazebos and beach.
We were just floored by the accomodations, hospitality and genuine concern for our well being displayed by the wonderful staff (Colin, Austin, Neva, Nadia, Wilma, Claudius and especially Philbert) for example: Philbert offered his help by taking his lunch hour to assist us in feeling comfortable taking our rental vehicle to the local market place to pickout fresh fish to grill and also helped with preparing it with local seasonings which we enjoyed on our private balcony while watching a beautiful sunset.
Right next door to the resort is a wonderful restaurant called "The Wharf" serving great local food and awesome drinks made by Liza and Kirnal (Liza should have been a standup comedian as she had us in stitches she was so funny)
Everyday I woke up I felt completely at home in paradise and would recommend Villa Beach Cottages to anyone who wants to stay in Saint Lucia.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

We have done a lot of all-inclusives and cruises and were dreading the hustle and bustle of these types of vacations. We were yearning for a relaxing vacation, no preset plans, no competition for restaurants, take everyday as it comes. This was it. The kitchens are truly fully stocked. We mostly had breakfast and lunch at home and had dinner out. restaurants in St. Lucia are better than we expected. Colin the manager will give you a 1h talk about what to do on the Island. This was very helpful. Don't miss a snack or lunch at Ladera near the Pitons. The staff were super friendly. The driving in St. Lucia was fine. You can walk to the Sandals on the beach to go to dinner there if you wish. You need a car for this place.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are newer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Beach Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Beach Cottages

Address: Choc Bay-Gros Islet Hwy | PO Box 129, Castries, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Castries
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Castries
#1 Family Hotel in Castries
#1 Romantic Hotel in Castries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Beach Cottages 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An intimate, boutique, beachfront hotel featuring deluxe fully self-contained one and two bedrooms villa suites nestled among the coconut trees and lush tropical gardens at Choc Bay with panoramic views of the Caribbean Sea and offering comfortable, casual luxury with friendly, impeccable service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Villa Beach Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Beach Cottages Hotel Castries
Hotel Beach
Villa Beach Cottages St. Lucia/Castries

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Beach Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.