We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We were taken away by everything about this resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Beach Cottages

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Castries
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Beach Cottages
Choc Bay-Gros Islet Hwy | PO Box 129, Castries, St. Lucia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Summer Special - 30% Off
Ranked #1 of 17 hotels in Castries
Springfield - Delaware County, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“We were taken away by everything about this resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We decided we wanted to go to St Lucia and started looking around for a place to stay. The beauty of the cottages caught our eye and each time we looked at another place, we kept coming back to Villa Beach Cottages. The location is great, they offer everything you would want except for an all inclusive meal and drink package if that is what you are looking for. We never do all inclusive so that didn't mater. When we visit a place, we like to explore the area and get the local flavor of the differant restaurants, bars and grocery stores. The cottage was fully equipped for cooking in which we like to do for breakfast and sometimes a lunch. The owner, Colin Hunte, paid us a personal visit and went over everything about the property along with all of the attactions and restaurants on the lsland. We took a ground level 1 bedroom cottage which we loved because we could walk off our patio into the pool or hot tub. The beach was only a few steps away. The staff was very attentive and accommodating. They handled every request very quickly and we left with the impression that they felt like they just could not do enough for you. We love our stay here and would recommend it to anyone that wants to find a little paradise amongst the palm trees. The price was a great value for the dollar.

Room Tip: The rooms on the second floor have a better view of the Caribbean but the rooms on the ground floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    389
    40
    8
    4
    3
See reviews for
82
199
8
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Voorhees, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I told my son if planned a vacation for my husband and myself he could go. He researched and came up with Villa Beach Cottages and he did a great job. We loved it here. The place is beautiful and the service was wonderful, The women at the front desk were extremely helpful making car reservations, dinner reservations, and researching sites for us to visit. Colin gave us great advice as to where to go for meals and fun. We fell like we didn't miss anything. We were disappointed in the underwater life as there was little to see because of damage from Hurricane Thomas in 2010. We snorkeled and chose not to dive. However, we spent much more time above the ocean this vacation and the island is beautiful. The flowers were spectacular with a lot of variety. We went to the botanical gardens, the waterfall, and the mud baths with a driver/guide set up by the resort and had a fantastic trip!! This is a must do! We also climbed Gros Piton which was a difficult climb but very rewarding, Enjoy!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood, South Carolina, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We had previously stayed at Bay Gardens Beach Resort and loved it. This time we wanted more of the private "villa feel" and found it at the cottages. We had our own patio with table & chairs, fully stocked kitchen, spacious bath and privacy. I don't think we saw more than 10 guests the whole time we were there. Colin, the owner, did go out of his way to give us pointers as this was our second time in St. Lucia. He was right on. Very clean, friendly staff, all made for a relaxing week. Pool, and beach at your back door.

Room Tip: You can have chefs make a gourmet dinner and have it delivered to your room. Price included appetize...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We stayed at Villa Beach for a week in May. We opted not to get an all inclusive place because we prefer to explore on our own and knew that if we had an all inclusive, we would probably not move much from our hotel.
The room - suite really - was fantastic. Full kitchen and double sink bathroom (the one we stayed in anyway) large jacuzzi tub off the bedroom. No bugs, comfy bed and RIGHT on the beach.
The staff were very helpful. We asked them lots of questions and they were very patient and kind.
We were able to work out s package prior to our arrival that had some services included and they seemed laid back but eager to please to work out the things we needed.
The rooms were extremely clean. There were washers and dryers available for laundry but costly at $10 for a load of wash and dry. Wifi at the resort and a computer room if you need it.
One of the few issues I had was that the pool was smaller than I like no enjoy swimming in the pool over the surf and the pools ( they have two very small ones), while nice, we're quite small. The only other issue was the location. In some ways Vastries is central to a lot on the island but most of what we wanted to do was in the south of the island and the pitons, the big islsnd draw, were a ninety minute drive away. I'd recommend this for people who are adventurous and want to set their own agenda snd not have everything planned out for them. Probably a better singles or kid free couple place than a family place.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Segny, France
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Since our last commentary for tripadvisor on Villa Beach Cottages in 2004 we have returned every year for two months and it really has become our home from home. For us it is a haven of peace and tranquility within easy reach of the capital, Castries, and the entertainment area of Rodney Bay. The unfailingly pleasant and efficient staff, who we now consider as true friends, are mostly the same people as when we first visited. This is a sure sign of good management and continuity.
The idyllic situation of the property, right on the beach, is an attribute which is hard to beat. We have grown to love the island, with which we are now very familiar, having explored practically every nook and cranny thanks to Coconut Car Rentals, available at VBC. For those not wishing to drive, the staff can arrange numerous tours and adventure trips tailored to the needs of the guests.
Of course, not to be missed, is the Hunte family plantation, La Dauphine, with its new infinity pool and lush vegetation. The flowers and the whole plantation are a credit to the Estate Manager. The welcome given by the Housekeeper/cook is heartwarming. The Dauphine is situated in the South in close proximity to the world renowned Pitons.
The accommodation and facilities at both properties are first class, carefully maintained and extremely comfortable and practical.
We cannot praise the VBC and Dauphine staff and many amenities enough. As far as weareconcerned Colin Hunte has opened up the gates to paradise .

Room Tip: All rooms have their own special charm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Lake, Indiana, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

My husband and I just returned from here yesterday. Our trip was to celebrate our anniversary the staff went above and beyond what we have experienced in the past at other places we have visited. Beautiful beach views, very nice fully stocked suites. We spent 4 days at VBC and 3 days at their other property La Dauphine Estate which was absolutely beautiful, flowers fruit trees cocoa trees you name it is there. The staff at both places were amazing made us feel like part of the family and were willing to do anything to make our stay more relaxing and enjoyable. We will definitely be returning to stay with them again.

Room Tip: We had an upper level suite that was just wonderful in the morning to sit on the balcony and drink y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We stayed at VBC for the Jazz Festival and couldn't of asked for better service or accommodations. Receptionist Nadia was very helpful in making arrangements before we ever arrived. Once there, the owner, Colin, sat with us personally and described the many places he recommended us go see and restaurants to eat at. The rooms were outstanding, but I feel this is secondary to the amazing staff. Each balcony is literally 20 yards from the ocean and you can hear the waves crashing at night, very serene and romantic. Nadia also rented a car for us and we were able to park right by our doorsteps. The location is central to many of the sights of the island. The value we got was outstanding and I highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa Beach Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Beach Cottages

Address: Choc Bay-Gros Islet Hwy | PO Box 129, Castries, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Castries
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Castries
#1 Romantic Hotel in Castries
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Castries
#4 Business Hotel in Castries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An intimate, boutique, beachfront hotel featuring deluxe fully self-contained one and two bedrooms villa suites nestled among the coconut trees and lush tropical gardens at Choc Bay with panoramic views of the Caribbean Sea and offering comfortable, casual luxury with friendly, impeccable service. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Beach Cottages Hotel Castries
Hotel Beach
Villa Beach Cottages St. Lucia/Castries

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Beach Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Villa Beach Cottages to your Saves list