We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Caribbean Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Beach Cottages

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Villa Beach Cottages to your Saves list
Villa Beach Cottages
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Choc Bay-Gros Islet Hwy | PO Box 129, Castries, St. Lucia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Castries
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Perfect Caribbean Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We just returned from our second trip to Villa Beach Cottages and cannot recommend the property enough! The thing that sets this place apart is the customer service. No waiting in line to speak to a disinterested concierge, no waiting for housekeeping to pick up after 10 rings, no disinterested employees. Instead, you are greeted with a smile every time you encounter a staff member, and the front desk girls (Nadia, Olivia, Neva, and Cassie) go out of their way to arrange day excursions, make dinner reservations, and help you with whatever you need. No need to spend time and money planning excursions and making reservations beforehand - it can all be done once you arrive with no disadvantage for not booking early. Truly the meaning of being on vacation!!

The villas are lovely. We had a two bedroom/two bathroom cottage that easily accommodated our family of 5 adults. There is no restaurant on the premises, but this was not an issue for us. We like to make our own breakfast and lunch, and with a full grocery store just down the road, this is easily accomplished. There are grills available too if you want to cook a steak while watching the waves crash on the beach.

I cannot end the review without mentioning the adorable kittens that make the property truly feel like home. And the owner Colin goes out of his way to give you a history of the property and let you know all your options while in St. Lucia.

Thank you again for a wonderful stay and we will be back next year!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    405
    48
    11
    4
    3
See reviews for
94
213
8
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Evanston, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

I am slow to post - we traveled in February 2011.

This is one of the most wonderful boutique hotels I've ever stayed at. The hotel is small enough that the hotel staff get to know you right away, but big enough of a hotel that you have all the privacy you need. The rooms are all very large. We broke our stay up and spent a couple of nights at the other property - La Dauphine Estate - so when we returned back to Village Beach Cottages we were in a new room. Each room we stayed in was clean and had more amentities then we needed (so many wonderful restaurants on the island there was no need for a full kitchen to cook, but it came in handy for breakfast and snacks) and the decks are the best part of the room with their endless sea views. We borrowed a kayak one day and went out to the little island just off shore to explore - what a great experience.

As I noted we spent a couple of nights at La Dauphine Estate as well, and this was an experience I would recommend for everyone. It gives you time to explore another part of the island, and it is truly a private get away. They were building the pool when we were there, which is now finished and looks amazing. We cannot wait to go back to lay in the pool and look up at the cocoa trees and surrounding rainforest.

The staff at both locations went above and beyond to make sure we had a wonderful trip.

We did the adventure package so our stay at both properties came with a car which was great for getting around the island to explore. There are several nearby grocery stores that you can stock your kitchen with for snacks and breakfast and of course Piton beers. With the wonderful views at our hotel we looked forward to returning to the hotel after all of our daily excursions.

Room Tip: Request a room on the beach - there are a couple of rooms without the beach balcolnies and sea views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmilyScarborough
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We visited the Villas in January 2012 to scout wedding locations. We were drawn to the property because of the great reviews. After our initial stay, we knew we found the right place to get married.

In March 2013, we returned to the Villas for our wedding and honeymoon. Susan Mondesir and the entire staff at the Villa Beach Cottages made our big day stress free and FUN! The Villas easily accommodated our group of 40+ people. Initially we were not expecting such a large turnout but we were so lucky and blessed to have so many of our family and friends join us for our wedding in St. Lucia. Susan was on top of every detail for our welcome dinner and Jump Up party on Friday, wedding and reception on Saturday and brunch on Sunday. Planning a wedding can be stressful for the bride but not if it is held in St. Lucia at the Villas!

For our honeymoon we stayed at the Villas. Why go anywhere else?! It doesn't get better than paradise! The reception staff (Neva, Nadia, Olivia and Cassie) scheduled our activities (hiking Gros Piton, zip lining, day trip to Soufriere, snorkeling trip, etc.) and our dinner reservations. Every day was a delight!

The entire staff at VBC (housekeeping, grounds, maintenance, reception, security, Austin & Colin) goes out of their way to accommodate all requests and to make your stay at the Villas the BEST! I love how they always greet you with a warm smile! It is one little detail that sets the Villas apart from other properties.

We are so lucky to have our wedding and honeymoon at the Villas! We hope to plan many more return trips in the future.

Room Tip: We love the deluxe one bedroom rooms! Beautiful room with incredible views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

I cannot say enough wonderful things about Villa Beach Cottages. I only wish I had been able to say longer. The staff are sincerely the nicest people I have ever met. They are so helpful and kind and very knowledgeable about the island, where to go, what to do, where to eat, etc. The reception staff truly has GREAT suggestions for things to do while in St. Lucia! I think they should write their own guide-book :) In addition, I was very impressed with how clean the rooms and property were. It's clear that everyone at VBC takes pride in their jobs and wants everyone who visits to have a wonderful experience.

I think the rates are VERY reasonable for the amazing service and location.

The poolside relaxation is amazing. I truly enjoyed the quiet of the property. Because the property is not huge, there's no racuousness, which is really nice. It's the perfect balance of fun and relaxation. There are two small pools, just the right size for the property and several deck chairs, which makes it easy to go back and forth to your room when you get too hot outside.

The kitchens are very nice to have so you don't have to eat every meal out, and the nearest grocery is a short taxi ride or even a nice walk away; however, there are some amazing places to eat in the Rodney Bay and Castries area, and I wouldn't miss a chance to experience the local cuisine!

Thank you SO much to everyone at VBC for the wonderful and memorable trip. I hope to return to visit soon!

Room Tip: I think a downstairs room is great because you can walk straight from your back deck into the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed at VBC for 8 nights of fun and relaxation. This is a beautiful place in a beautiful location. The staff and managment are terrific and expecially helpful in setting up rides and tours for visitors. The cottages are right on the beach and there is a nice restaurant next door with good food at reasonable prices (The Warf). The deck area is large and diverse enough to allow for privacy or parties, depending on the occasion. They have sit-on kayaks for paddling around and visiting nearby Rat Island. Nice pool with hot tub and outdoor shower. They have a small store in the complex as well as a room with a bookshelf for beach reading and a couple of computers. There is WiFi available, but the signal doesn't seem to be strong enough in the rooms and coverage is spotty around the complex - but this is supposed to be a vacation destination so it was fine for most of us. The place is a little pricy compared to other spots, but probably well in line with the location.

Room Tip: The beach-side second-floor rooms have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed at Villa Beach Cottages for eight days for our son's onsite wedding. It was perfect. Everyone we met in St. Lucia treated us as family, and the entire staff at VBC -housekeeping, reception, maintenance, grounds, etc - was no exception. They couldn't do enough to make our stay enjoyable. Any request for help or information or arrangements was met with friendliness and absolute professionalism.
We loved hearing the waves lap the beach, especially at night. I don't think you will find this at most St. Lucian hotels,as others seem to be high on the mountains or much further away from the water. This aspect alone would send us back to Villa Beach next time.
And although we were initially surprised at the short depth of the beach here, it was great for playing in the sand and swimming with a nice sandy bottom - no rocks or coral to avoid. We had waves of varying size while there, sometimes gently lapping and other days a bit rougher which we were told was unusual, but always, always beautiful. On a clear day you can see Martinique.
The property is very quiet - there is the smallest (of 3 on St.Lucia) Sandals on the south side, a small restaurant called The Wharf on the north side - nice to have for a casual lunch or dinner - and a small beach just past that---then fairly impassable rocks so the property feels very, very private. We rarely saw non-VBC guests walking in front on the beach.
There are two small pools, a hot tub, beach lounge chairs and a hammock, two small gazebos and a number of coconut trees, but.....no swim-up bars, beach volleyball or loud music with drunken games being played, so if that is your cup of tea, VBC is not for you.
The guest bedrooms were of good size, and it is nice that in the two-bedroom units each room has its.own bathroom. A large living area with TV, DVD player, couch, chairs, dining table and equipped kitchen was in between the two bedrooms.
If you prefer not to cook, there are plenty of restaurants within short taxi rides - reception will make your reservation so you get a great table, and arrange your taxi from a pool of the same friendly, courteous and very safe taxi drivers they call on. These same gentleman took us on day trips, island tours, and answered all our many questions about St. Lucia. VBC is on the NW coast of the island, and is about 75 minutes from UVF airport which is on the SE part. This might seem like a long drive after your flight, but just relax and enjoy your initial island tour with your knowledgeable driver. (Note: there is another airport, SLU, just a few minutes from Villa Beach Cottages, but only smaller planes go in and out there, so most likely you will use UVF.)
If you choose to cook, there is a grocery store within a few minutes walk, and a taxi stand in the parking lot to drive you and your groceries back for about $10 US. (If you do plan to do much cooking, you might pack your favorite spices.) You can also order a limited-menu dinner thru reception which is sent in from a local restaurant, and which you can eat anywhere on property -- your balcony/patio, around the pool, or at a few small waterfront tables mid-property.
There are many activities to do on St. Lucia, and our 40-some wedding guests enjoyed a number of them -snorkeling, SCUBA, zip-lining, hiking Gros Piton, riding through the rainforest, visiting the mineral baths, taking a mud bath at the Sulfur Springs and attending the Friday night "Jump Up" in Gros Islet, a short drive away. We spent the better part of one day touring the island with Ernest, stopping to learn about a banana plantation, visiting the Botanical Gardens where we recommend you hire one of the private guides out front so you know what you're looking at (our knowledgeable guide was Peter Simon) , and having lunch at Ladera, a lovely resort where you have a breath-taking view of the Pitons. We spent another day on Pigeon Island, a national park on the north side of Rodney Bay which is maybe a 15 minute drive from VBC. You pay US $6 to enter the property, which has a nice calm beach where you can rent beach chairs, and a not-too-strenuous hike to the lookout on top of the hill of Fort Rodney where you get a fabulous view of the bay & boats on one side and the Atlantic and Martinique on the other. Inside the park is a wonderfully rustic restaurant, Jambe de Bois ("Wooden Leg") where we had a delightful lunch and great conversation with a sailing couple who joined us.
We could have done so much more, but we loved the peace and relaxation we found at Village Beach Cottages, so we were more than happy to spend lots of time there. If you are looking for a restorative holiday, with the options of being as active as you wish, Villa Beach Cottages affords you that full spectrum.

Room Tip: I would definitely get a room on the water side. The upstairs rooms have a great view from the balc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
connecticut
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We just returned from our second vacation at Villa Beach Cottages. Quite simply, this is an amazing place! Beautiful and thoughtfully appointed,very clean,full service villas are set literally at the water's edge on the north end of the island. We stayed in a two bedroom, two bath unit that was more than spacious enough for our family of five adults. Fully equipped kitchens are provided and grills can be rolled up to your door, if you feel like staying in and cooking. Otherwise, there are many excellent restaurants nearby. We spent hours relaxing on our private "porch" that was just a stone's throw from both the beach and the pool. We also went on two snorkeling trips (arranged by the resort and not to be missed), explored Pigeon Island Park and went horseback riding.VBC is a small, family owned and operated resort, which is what makes it so unique on an island seemingly dominated by large, all-inclusive resorts. The owner, Colin Hunte, and his front desk staff (Nadia, Neva, Olivia and Cassie) take care of their guests' every need with a combination of friendliness and professionalism that is not to be beat. They arrange everything from dining reservations (always the best tables in the restaurant) to excursions to other parts of the island. We have already reserved the same unit for two weeks next year and feel as if this is fast becoming our home away from home. If you don't want or need a big resort, and do want to be pampered by a caring staff and wake up with your toes practically touching the ocean, then this is the perfect place for you!

Room Tip: Second floor has better view; first floor provides easy access to beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Beach Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Beach Cottages

Address: Choc Bay-Gros Islet Hwy | PO Box 129, Castries, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Castries
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Castries
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Castries
#3 Family Hotel in Castries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Beach Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An intimate, boutique, beachfront hotel featuring deluxe fully self-contained one and two bedrooms villa suites nestled among the coconut trees and lush tropical gardens at Choc Bay with panoramic views of the Caribbean Sea and offering comfortable, casual luxury with friendly, impeccable service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Villa Beach Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Beach Cottages Hotel Castries
Hotel Beach
Villa Beach Cottages St. Lucia/Castries

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Beach Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.