We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I can still hear the waves.....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Beach Cottages

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Villa Beach Cottages to your Saves list
Villa Beach Cottages
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Choc Bay-Gros Islet Hwy | PO Box 129, Castries, St. Lucia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
50% off for 2 months only
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Castries
Woodbridge, Virginia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“I can still hear the waves.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed at Villa Beach Cottages for eight days for our son's onsite wedding. It was perfect. Everyone we met in St. Lucia treated us as family, and the entire staff at VBC -housekeeping, reception, maintenance, grounds, etc - was no exception. They couldn't do enough to make our stay enjoyable. Any request for help or information or arrangements was met with friendliness and absolute professionalism.
We loved hearing the waves lap the beach, especially at night. I don't think you will find this at most St. Lucian hotels,as others seem to be high on the mountains or much further away from the water. This aspect alone would send us back to Villa Beach next time.
And although we were initially surprised at the short depth of the beach here, it was great for playing in the sand and swimming with a nice sandy bottom - no rocks or coral to avoid. We had waves of varying size while there, sometimes gently lapping and other days a bit rougher which we were told was unusual, but always, always beautiful. On a clear day you can see Martinique.
The property is very quiet - there is the smallest (of 3 on St.Lucia) Sandals on the south side, a small restaurant called The Wharf on the north side - nice to have for a casual lunch or dinner - and a small beach just past that---then fairly impassable rocks so the property feels very, very private. We rarely saw non-VBC guests walking in front on the beach.
There are two small pools, a hot tub, beach lounge chairs and a hammock, two small gazebos and a number of coconut trees, but.....no swim-up bars, beach volleyball or loud music with drunken games being played, so if that is your cup of tea, VBC is not for you.
The guest bedrooms were of good size, and it is nice that in the two-bedroom units each room has its.own bathroom. A large living area with TV, DVD player, couch, chairs, dining table and equipped kitchen was in between the two bedrooms.
If you prefer not to cook, there are plenty of restaurants within short taxi rides - reception will make your reservation so you get a great table, and arrange your taxi from a pool of the same friendly, courteous and very safe taxi drivers they call on. These same gentleman took us on day trips, island tours, and answered all our many questions about St. Lucia. VBC is on the NW coast of the island, and is about 75 minutes from UVF airport which is on the SE part. This might seem like a long drive after your flight, but just relax and enjoy your initial island tour with your knowledgeable driver. (Note: there is another airport, SLU, just a few minutes from Villa Beach Cottages, but only smaller planes go in and out there, so most likely you will use UVF.)
If you choose to cook, there is a grocery store within a few minutes walk, and a taxi stand in the parking lot to drive you and your groceries back for about $10 US. (If you do plan to do much cooking, you might pack your favorite spices.) You can also order a limited-menu dinner thru reception which is sent in from a local restaurant, and which you can eat anywhere on property -- your balcony/patio, around the pool, or at a few small waterfront tables mid-property.
There are many activities to do on St. Lucia, and our 40-some wedding guests enjoyed a number of them -snorkeling, SCUBA, zip-lining, hiking Gros Piton, riding through the rainforest, visiting the mineral baths, taking a mud bath at the Sulfur Springs and attending the Friday night "Jump Up" in Gros Islet, a short drive away. We spent the better part of one day touring the island with Ernest, stopping to learn about a banana plantation, visiting the Botanical Gardens where we recommend you hire one of the private guides out front so you know what you're looking at (our knowledgeable guide was Peter Simon) , and having lunch at Ladera, a lovely resort where you have a breath-taking view of the Pitons. We spent another day on Pigeon Island, a national park on the north side of Rodney Bay which is maybe a 15 minute drive from VBC. You pay US $6 to enter the property, which has a nice calm beach where you can rent beach chairs, and a not-too-strenuous hike to the lookout on top of the hill of Fort Rodney where you get a fabulous view of the bay & boats on one side and the Atlantic and Martinique on the other. Inside the park is a wonderfully rustic restaurant, Jambe de Bois ("Wooden Leg") where we had a delightful lunch and great conversation with a sailing couple who joined us.
We could have done so much more, but we loved the peace and relaxation we found at Village Beach Cottages, so we were more than happy to spend lots of time there. If you are looking for a restorative holiday, with the options of being as active as you wish, Villa Beach Cottages affords you that full spectrum.

Room Tip: I would definitely get a room on the water side. The upstairs rooms have a great view from the balc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    395
    43
    9
    4
    3
See reviews for
84
207
8
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
connecticut
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We just returned from our second vacation at Villa Beach Cottages. Quite simply, this is an amazing place! Beautiful and thoughtfully appointed,very clean,full service villas are set literally at the water's edge on the north end of the island. We stayed in a two bedroom, two bath unit that was more than spacious enough for our family of five adults. Fully equipped kitchens are provided and grills can be rolled up to your door, if you feel like staying in and cooking. Otherwise, there are many excellent restaurants nearby. We spent hours relaxing on our private "porch" that was just a stone's throw from both the beach and the pool. We also went on two snorkeling trips (arranged by the resort and not to be missed), explored Pigeon Island Park and went horseback riding.VBC is a small, family owned and operated resort, which is what makes it so unique on an island seemingly dominated by large, all-inclusive resorts. The owner, Colin Hunte, and his front desk staff (Nadia, Neva, Olivia and Cassie) take care of their guests' every need with a combination of friendliness and professionalism that is not to be beat. They arrange everything from dining reservations (always the best tables in the restaurant) to excursions to other parts of the island. We have already reserved the same unit for two weeks next year and feel as if this is fast becoming our home away from home. If you don't want or need a big resort, and do want to be pampered by a caring staff and wake up with your toes practically touching the ocean, then this is the perfect place for you!

Room Tip: Second floor has better view; first floor provides easy access to beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

If you're looking for a newly renovated, fully furnished condo right on the water look no further. We weren't interested in an all-inclusive, which seem to dominate the St. Lucia Hotel scene and Villa Beach was a perfect alternative. I would definitely recommend the Adventure Package, which comes with a car, hotel transfer, and an adventure (which we actually did not do). While I dont think you absolutely need a car, it was nice to explore the island and go to other beaches, restaurants, supermarkets, etc. without relying on a taxi. The hotel itself was quite peaceful. It is very well maintained and honestly, there is little reason to leave during the day. If you are looking for a place to sit on your porch and watch the Carribean with a cold beer in hand look no further. Would definitely recommend to anyone visiting the island.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I searched for many hours on TripAdvisor to find what we were looking for in a winter beach vacation - location on a great swimming beach with warm ocean temperatures, not a huge hotel with lots of people and activities, comfortable accommodations, not having to go out to eat all the time, relatively reasonably priced. Villa Beach Cottages popped up in the search - and its many reviews were glowing - so glowing, in fact, that I was a little suspicious. But it's all true. We just got back from a week's stay in early March (we are a married couple around age 60) and had one of the most relaxing, refreshing, and enjoyable vacations ever. Admittedly, we don't need much in the way of activities to be content - but if you want activities and don't mind paying for them there's plenty to do and see on the island. We did an island tour (very interesting and worthwhile), loved having lunch overlooking the Piton Mountains, and yet couldn't wait to get back to what we felt was the best beach in St. Lucia.
Some tips:
1. Unless you have small children, I would recommend getting an upstairs room. The bedroom and balcony views are amazing and it offers a little more privacy. We stayed in a standard room (as opposed to deluxe) and it was luxurious as far as we were concerned.
2. If you're not renting a car, ask the driver who picks you up at the airport to stop at a grocery store before you get to Villa Beach. We had intended to go out for dinners but It's so easy to make simple meals and the setting is so beautiful that we wanted to stay put. That saved a lot of money, too.
3. As far as restaurants go, we loved Laurels - a local place not on the beach but with really delicious food. We had the same fish there as at Jacques (a very pricey place on the water) and honestly, it was tastier at Laurels. The Wharf, next door, is perfectly fine and remarkably reasonably priced - a great choice the first night you're there.
4. Be prepared for some really big waves! We were told it was unusual for March, but the last few days we were there the waves were so big it was a little scary to go in the water. Otherwise the beach was perfect - warm water, sandy bottom with no rocks. Walkable, too - as long as you don't mind getting wet because at times there's not much dry beach.
5. We wanted to take the bus sometimes but upon asking Colin or others at the front desk we found that it didn't go where we wanted to go. But if you're just going into Castries or Rodney Bay to walk around I think the buses would work.
6. Claudius is a great driver for tours or anything else you might want to do - and if you go by the one place on the island that makes cassava bread, get some!
7. Get local fruits and vegetables at the green grocers rather than the larger grocery store. Go early in the day when the selection is better.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lovettsville,VA
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

This was our first trip to St. Lucia. We did not want to stay in a big resort, in my searching I found VBC, we just returned home after 17 nights of pure pleasure, We were not disappointed, the room was spacious, very clean, 2nd floor, end unit, sun settings were beautiful. Everyone at VBC from Colin on down where helpful, friendly and knew us by our name not room #. The cab drivers provided by VBC were very friendly and we always got a good history lesson about St. Lucia. The beach was very inviting and clean. We were in walking distance of two grocery stores. Next door was The Wharf Restuarant, great food, large portions and very reasonable prices. Lisa will greet you at the door, dad does the cooking and Colonel is behind the bar. Try the homemade cheesecake. It was an enjoyable stress free trip, VBC handled everything for us. If you are thinking about going to St. Lucia, check out VBC, you will not be disappointed, also family friendly. We will return and stay at VBC.

Room Tip: 2nd floor,end unit, over looking the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groton, Connecticut
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

My husband and I rented a first floor 2 bedroom villa at VBC with another couple for a week and what a special place we discovered. The owner, Colin Hunte, met with us for approximately an hour and gave us so many wonderful tips regarding restaurants and tours.The office staff, groundsmen and cab drivers were all so friendly and helpful and made us feel right at home. We spent a great deal of time with our cab driver, Ali, and we thoroughly enjoyed his company. He was a great tour guide and a very safe driver. Our villa was so large and well equipped. We intended to just have coffee in our room and go out for meals because we were on vacation. We ended up eating breakfast on our patio, snacks in the afternoon, and brought in a couple of dinners. Although we thoroughly enjoyed touring the Island, we looked forward to returning to our slice of paradise at VBC. It was so mesmerizing watching the sunsets from our patio or sitting on the lounge chairs by the pool. We just loved it!

Room Tip: Any room facing the magnificent view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groton, Connecticut, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We stayed at Villa Beach Cottages for a week and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. Everyone was so friendly and helpful. The location was perfect, between Rodney Bay and Castries. Very convenient to both and the local grocery stores. The cottage itself was set on a beautiful beach and was relaxing and met all our needs. I would highly recommend this property.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Beach Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Beach Cottages

Address: Choc Bay-Gros Islet Hwy | PO Box 129, Castries, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Castries
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Castries
#1 Family Hotel in Castries
#1 Romantic Hotel in Castries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Beach Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An intimate, boutique, beachfront hotel featuring deluxe fully self-contained one and two bedrooms villa suites nestled among the coconut trees and lush tropical gardens at Choc Bay with panoramic views of the Caribbean Sea and offering comfortable, casual luxury with friendly, impeccable service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Villa Beach Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Beach Cottages Hotel Castries
Hotel Beach
Villa Beach Cottages St. Lucia/Castries

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Beach Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.