We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best vacations!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Beach Cottages

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Villa Beach Cottages to your Saves list
Villa Beach Cottages
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Choc Bay-Gros Islet Hwy | PO Box 129, Castries, St. Lucia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Castries
bolivia, nc
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“One of the best vacations!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

I booked a week at VBC as a surprise birthday trip for my husband. We have traveled extensively and, while he loves the places we have visited, he never shows real "excitement". Boy was he excited this time. We were at VBC for less than 2 hours when he announced he would love to come back! It was the most relaxing and enjoyable week. Everyone at VBC is friendly, helpful, and very thoughtful. We took a tour to Soufriere with Claudius and he is an excellent guide.

We did many of the same things as the previous reviewer so I don't think I can add much more other than we are already planning a return trip. If you want to feel like you are home, yet have the beach within a few steps of your room, then VBC is the place.

Room Tip: All rooms have sea views. We were in room #4 which is on the lower level with a unobsturcted view o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    396
    44
    9
    4
    3
See reviews for
85
208
8
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mesa, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed at VBC the first week of October. It was low season so there were only a handful of people there which was awesome for us! It was like we had the whole place to ourselves. I had read all of the reviews so knew what to expect and it was exactly what we had anticipated. We stayed on the 2nd floor on the end (#12 I think). Very private and a gorgeous view. Olivia, Neva and Austin were patient and knowledgeable as they answered my million questions. Colin gave us a wonderful overview and lots of suggestions our first day. Earnest the security guard was really friendly and even gave me his umbrella when it started to rain on the way to the store so I wouldn't get wet. Claudius was a fantastic driver and tour guide. We took the island tour with Claudius and went snorkeling with Dive Fair Helen (be prepared that lunch is sitting on the boat and nothing fancy). We went to the Friday night jump up--nice to sample food and if you're not shy about dancing with the locals--but not too much else there. (All the tourists were there until about 10pm--then the locals came out) Ate dinner at a local restaurant called Claudia's--excellent! Also ate at the popular Coal Pot--food was pretty good, but you really go for the ambiance cause it is expensive (over $100 US for 2 soups 2 entrees and 2 sodas) Some hints that might help someone be prepared is 1) There is only one restaurant nearby-The Wharf next door. We ate there several times and had excellent food, but it is a local joint so not fancy to look at. The owner talked to us and was really nice. Other than that, you have to drive, taxi or take the bus. 2) Transport- We took the bus (big van) most places and it was really easy. The bus stop is right in front of the hotel and the route is just a giant circle so you can't get lost. It's inexpensive and when you want to get off you just say "next stop driver" and he pulls over. We never had to wait for the bus--in fact, they would see us coming and wait for us! Sometimes it does get a little squished in there though. Taxis are convenient but very expensive. We didn't rent a car this time, but now that we know the lay out of the island, we would probably rent one next time. 3) Groceries- it is wonderful having a kitchen! And everything you would ever need is in it. We walked to the Super J grocery store twice--it took about 10 minutes. It is a very busy road but there is a sidewalk most of the way and there are other people walking so it didn't bother us at all. The only thing is remember you can't carry too many groceries back, so if you're planning to buy a lot of stuff, you might want to take a taxi. We just got the basics cause we did not want to have to throw away stuff at the end of the week. I definitely recommend the starter pack from the hotel. Well worth the money--you don't want to have to worry about getting something to eat after all that traveling. 4) Beach--all beaches are public. The beach outside VBC may not be the biggest or nicest but the plus is that there was not a lot of people there or locals selling stuff. The staff will take beach chairs down for you or, the beach is so close, we just laid in chairs on the deck overlooking the beach. Really beautiful, especially at sunset. Took the kayak out to Rat Island but not really much there--just a nice chance to be on the water.
Overall, we loved St. Lucia, loved Villa Beach Cottages and their staff! After looking at Sandals resorts, we are SO glad we decided on VBC. It was perfect for us. If you are looking for a noisy, crowded place for partyers and honeymooners, this is definitely NOT the place for you. VBC is a small, quiet, family-owned hotel that prides itself on service and friendliness. No happy hours, (except the do-it-yourself kind!) no nightly entertainment, no all-you-can-eat buffets--just fantastic views, beautiful grounds, and top notch staff. I've only been home 3 weeks and already thinking about when we can go back!

Room Tip: Definitely get the 2nd floor overlooking the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I recently returned from a 14 night stay at VBC with my wife and son (2 years old) and it was absolutely amazing. As a seasoned traveller, and reading the reviews on here, our expectations were high to say the least. The staff were excellent throughout the trip, offering an effective concierge service - booking activities and restaurants as well as being friendly and welcoming hosts. We were there when Tropical Storm Isaac passed over and the owner Colin Hunte made an extra effort to put us at ease. We also had our own driver/tour guide called Claudius - he was absolutely brilliant and took us on a number of tours. We travelled with our 2 year old son and Claudius could not do enough for us - continually allowing us to keep our car seat with him whilst he left us to come and pick us up later. He is trustworthy, reliable and when we went on long tours, he was great with our son - allowing us to have some time to take photos and enjoy the mudbath! We really are grateful to him and cannot recommend his services enough. As for the suite - well the pictures say it all! Absolutely loved this place, can't sing its praises enough and, most importantly, cant wait to return!

Room Tip: Choose the Ocean view - worth every extra penny!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stayed 4 nights at Villa Beach Cottages. Our primary criteria were that we wanted something close to the water (where we could hear the waves, unlike larger resorts where many of the rooms are further away from the water) and something where we had some degree of privacy. Those requirements, plus the very high marks that VBC got in the TA rankings prompted us to choose VBC for our stay.

VBC met most of the basic requirements of our stay, and some of the unmet needs were more our lack of good planning than VBC’s fault, but we also didn’t feel that the resort measured up to the high marks given by most TA raters.

In particular:
While cleanliness in general was good, the floors were dirty. Walking around barefoot inside led to dirty, black feet almost instantly. They could have done a better job washing the floors.

They say that they have two grills for visitor use, and we bought some fresh tuna one night to grill. One grill wasn’t working. The other was sitting outside someone’s unit, waiting to be used, but not in use. When I inquired of the office about using it, they said it had been reserved, but they would call the person. The response I got back was that the person didn’t know when they were going to be using the grill, but that they would contact the office when they were finished. This was at 6:30pm. I didn’t make a fuss, but I felt that a better response from the office would have been to gently explain to them that since there was only a single working grill, could they be more specific about their use needs, or could we use it for ½ hour then return it to them? In short, I felt like a resort that prides itself on customer service took their eye off the ball on this. In addition, it made my wife and I wonder why, since there’s a maintenance man hanging around all day doing nothing, there was a non-working grill.

The beach itself is relatively unappealing. It’s very narrow. In addition, right next to the VBC property, between VBC and the Sandals/Halcyon a few hundred yards to the south, is a sort of no-trespassing/public-access area that gets used by many locals, a few of whom look, well, questionable. My wife didn’t feel comfortable walking by herself down this stretch of beach.

As others have said, the road outside VBC is VERY busy. It’s not a walking road. As a result, between the beach issue and the road issue, one can tend to feel “trapped” at the resort. This would have probably been less pronounced had we chosen to rent a car rather than rely on taxis; however, since we did the latter, we did often feel a bit trapped here.

I don’t want to leave readers with an idea that our opinion of VBC was entirely negative; it wasn’t. The staff is helpful and friendly. they were quick to coordinate activities, dinner reservations, taxis, etc – they try hard to serve and please.

But the negatives were surprising to us, given the extremely high marks VBC has gotten in the reviews. I’m always a bit uncomfortable writing negative reviews but in this case, I was a bit surprised by some of these negatives, and felt like it would be helpful to future travelers to know about some of them.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Our family (me, husband and 14 & 16 year old girls) just returned from a week in St. Lucia and the Villa Beach Cottages. Neva was incredibly patient and answered all of my e-mail questions. She, along with Nadia and Olivia were wonderfully helpful in the office in setting up our excursions. We met with Colin on our first full morning - and he gave us a wonderful history as well as a verbal tour of the island. We took him up on a number of his suggestions. We stayed in a 2 BR deluxe on the 2nd floor. Both bedrooms were quite large. The only drawback I can think of is that the balcony was only accessible through our master bedroom (although my husband and I didn't consider this a drawback in any way). We did find that the wi-fi in the room was spotty.

If we ever go back to St. Lucia, I would easily consider staying here again -- especially if going as a family. Villa beach Cottages truly made our vacation!

Room Tip: choose a 2nd floor room for a beautiful view and gorgeous sunsets! We were in room 20. The wi-fi th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We stayed here for a week in July 2012 and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We also spent 2 nights at their other property, La Dauphine, near the Pitons. As it was the low season, both properties were quiet and we were upgraded at each resort, which was an unexpected surprise. Despite it being the low season, the weather was perfect for most of our stay, only turning rainy on the day we climbed the Gros Piton.

Villa Beach is small but perfectly formed, from the quality of the self catering villas (which have everything you need if you do want to cook your own meals) and their nicely furnished terraces to the little pools, jacuzzi and hammocks, and of course the beautiful beach right on your doorstep!

A Sandals resort is just down the beach. It was quite loud and much busier than our peaceful surroundings, but obviously has all the benefits of a large all-inclusive resort that Villa Beach does not have. We were so glad we chose a small, independent hotel! The owner, Colin, takes an interest in each one of his guests and spends an hour or so talking with them at the beginning of their stay. There probably aren't many resorts with this sort of personal touch.

The staff are friendly and helpful, particularly the drivers. We had the same driver, Claudius, on a number of occasions. He also drove us down to Chateau Laffite, and did a great job as our guide so that we were able to make a fun day of the journey, stopping at the Botanic Gardens, mud baths and several view points on the way down. He also stopped at Ladera so we could have lunch overlooking the Pitons and Jalousie so we could go snorkelling. We had a fantastic day thanks to him.

At La Dauphine, we were upgraded to the Chateau Laffite - the huge colonial house. Antonia has prepared a traditional Caribbean meal for us so we didn't have to worry about cooking or dining out. This old house is very charming and it was a unique experience staying there, if a little scary at night! It needs a bit of TLC, especially the bathroom - the shower was a bit temperamental. The overall experience was a bit like staying at grandparents or elderly relatives (if they lived in a colonial house in the middle of cocoa plantation)! This is not a criticism as we really enjoyed our two nights at La Dauphine. The grounds are amazing and there is a lovely pool. You can also have a guided tour of the working cocoa plantation with the estate manager, Charles - he knows so much!

Our experience of Villa Beach Cottages and La Dauphine is one of peacefulness and relaxation. Don't be put off booking a trip to St Lucia during the low season.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Town, ME
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

My husband and I got married June 10th, and soon after left for 8 days, 7 nights in St. Lucia.
First the weather was spectacular, the island was amazing, fun activities, great food.

Now, to say the Villa Beach Cottages was great was an understatement. The girls in reception, Neva, Nadia and Olivia set us up with a great taxi driver for most of our stay, and helped us plan the most personal honeymoon experience. We went zip lining, on an ATV tour, helicopter ride, kayaking, snorkeling, and so much more. They also gave us some great restaurants to try. Our favorite: the Coal Pot!
Colin, the manager, sat down with us, helped us plan activities and gave a great history of the Cottages.

Our honeymoon villa was perfect. The cottage feel to the place was perfect, spiral staircase and all. Two decks, kitchen, lovely bedroom.

The cottages have a beautiful beach, right on the water, lovely landscape and pools.
AND being the middle of June, and a slower season, we had the entire resort almost to ourselves.
Down the beach is a Sandals, it was always busy. SO, SO glad we weren't there. The Villa Beach Cottages was small, personal, quiet and romantic. They even set up dinner on our porch, through Coconuts restaurant. What a perfect way to spent our favorite day there: spent the day in Soufrierre, and come back to a sunset dinner on our porch.

The perfect honeymoon!!! Definitely recommend the Villa Beach Cottages. We're thinking for a 5 or 10 year anniversary, heading back again!! :-)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Beach Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Beach Cottages

Address: Choc Bay-Gros Islet Hwy | PO Box 129, Castries, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Castries
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Castries
#2 Romantic Hotel in Castries
#2 Family Hotel in Castries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Beach Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An intimate, boutique, beachfront hotel featuring deluxe fully self-contained one and two bedrooms villa suites nestled among the coconut trees and lush tropical gardens at Choc Bay with panoramic views of the Caribbean Sea and offering comfortable, casual luxury with friendly, impeccable service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Villa Beach Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Beach Cottages Hotel Castries
Hotel Beach
Villa Beach Cottages St. Lucia/Castries

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Beach Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.