We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we were looking for!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Beach Cottages

Save Saved
You added Villa Beach Cottages to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Beach Cottages
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Choc Bay-Gros Islet Hwy | PO Box 129, Castries, St. Lucia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
50% off for 2 months only
Ranked #1 of 17 hotels in Castries
Derby, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Just what we were looking for!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Our family (me, husband and 14 & 16 year old girls) just returned from a week in St. Lucia and the Villa Beach Cottages. Neva was incredibly patient and answered all of my e-mail questions. She, along with Nadia and Olivia were wonderfully helpful in the office in setting up our excursions. We met with Colin on our first full morning - and he gave us a wonderful history as well as a verbal tour of the island. We took him up on a number of his suggestions. We stayed in a 2 BR deluxe on the 2nd floor. Both bedrooms were quite large. The only drawback I can think of is that the balcony was only accessible through our master bedroom (although my husband and I didn't consider this a drawback in any way). We did find that the wi-fi in the room was spotty.

If we ever go back to St. Lucia, I would easily consider staying here again -- especially if going as a family. Villa beach Cottages truly made our vacation!

Room Tip: choose a 2nd floor room for a beautiful view and gorgeous sunsets! We were in room 20. The wi-fi th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    392
    41
    9
    4
    3
See reviews for
83
203
8
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We stayed here for a week in July 2012 and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We also spent 2 nights at their other property, La Dauphine, near the Pitons. As it was the low season, both properties were quiet and we were upgraded at each resort, which was an unexpected surprise. Despite it being the low season, the weather was perfect for most of our stay, only turning rainy on the day we climbed the Gros Piton.

Villa Beach is small but perfectly formed, from the quality of the self catering villas (which have everything you need if you do want to cook your own meals) and their nicely furnished terraces to the little pools, jacuzzi and hammocks, and of course the beautiful beach right on your doorstep!

A Sandals resort is just down the beach. It was quite loud and much busier than our peaceful surroundings, but obviously has all the benefits of a large all-inclusive resort that Villa Beach does not have. We were so glad we chose a small, independent hotel! The owner, Colin, takes an interest in each one of his guests and spends an hour or so talking with them at the beginning of their stay. There probably aren't many resorts with this sort of personal touch.

The staff are friendly and helpful, particularly the drivers. We had the same driver, Claudius, on a number of occasions. He also drove us down to Chateau Laffite, and did a great job as our guide so that we were able to make a fun day of the journey, stopping at the Botanic Gardens, mud baths and several view points on the way down. He also stopped at Ladera so we could have lunch overlooking the Pitons and Jalousie so we could go snorkelling. We had a fantastic day thanks to him.

At La Dauphine, we were upgraded to the Chateau Laffite - the huge colonial house. Antonia has prepared a traditional Caribbean meal for us so we didn't have to worry about cooking or dining out. This old house is very charming and it was a unique experience staying there, if a little scary at night! It needs a bit of TLC, especially the bathroom - the shower was a bit temperamental. The overall experience was a bit like staying at grandparents or elderly relatives (if they lived in a colonial house in the middle of cocoa plantation)! This is not a criticism as we really enjoyed our two nights at La Dauphine. The grounds are amazing and there is a lovely pool. You can also have a guided tour of the working cocoa plantation with the estate manager, Charles - he knows so much!

Our experience of Villa Beach Cottages and La Dauphine is one of peacefulness and relaxation. Don't be put off booking a trip to St Lucia during the low season.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Town, ME
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

My husband and I got married June 10th, and soon after left for 8 days, 7 nights in St. Lucia.
First the weather was spectacular, the island was amazing, fun activities, great food.

Now, to say the Villa Beach Cottages was great was an understatement. The girls in reception, Neva, Nadia and Olivia set us up with a great taxi driver for most of our stay, and helped us plan the most personal honeymoon experience. We went zip lining, on an ATV tour, helicopter ride, kayaking, snorkeling, and so much more. They also gave us some great restaurants to try. Our favorite: the Coal Pot!
Colin, the manager, sat down with us, helped us plan activities and gave a great history of the Cottages.

Our honeymoon villa was perfect. The cottage feel to the place was perfect, spiral staircase and all. Two decks, kitchen, lovely bedroom.

The cottages have a beautiful beach, right on the water, lovely landscape and pools.
AND being the middle of June, and a slower season, we had the entire resort almost to ourselves.
Down the beach is a Sandals, it was always busy. SO, SO glad we weren't there. The Villa Beach Cottages was small, personal, quiet and romantic. They even set up dinner on our porch, through Coconuts restaurant. What a perfect way to spent our favorite day there: spent the day in Soufrierre, and come back to a sunset dinner on our porch.

The perfect honeymoon!!! Definitely recommend the Villa Beach Cottages. We're thinking for a 5 or 10 year anniversary, heading back again!! :-)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

This is an independently owned property set right on the beach at Choc Bay. Self-catering and well-equipped, you can make your own holiday on this beautiful island. Colin, the owner is a mine of information about the history of St Lucia and can help you decide where best to go to explore its beauty. Claudius aka "liat" was a great driver and guide. We had an idyllic time and are so glad that we did not opt for one of the impersonal resorts.

Room Tip: The top(second) floor rooms have the best views, especially of the sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

It's a small friendly place that has a strong service orientation. All the time I'd see people sweeping up leaves, touching up paintwork, and cleaning. and they're all polite and friendly.

This is doubtless due to the leadership of Colin Hunt, a charming and slightly idiosyncratic man who loves his work.

We had a balcony that looked out at the gorgeous beach, and they will lend you snorkelling gear, kayak etc. And they have on-site car rental.

The independent restaurant next door looks run-down but the food is good and they're friendly. It's better than it looks! And back at the villa, self-catering allows you to eat what and when you want.

Highly recommended. It has the sophistication of a corporate establishment, with the charm of an independent. Just enough quirkiness to make it interesting.

Room Tip: You need a beach view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

We spent 5 nights at VBC, and it was fantastic. They arranged for Alex to pick us up at the airport, and he was a wonderful source of information on the history and layout of the island. We were warmly greeted by Olivia, and as others have said, the room was exactly like on the website - fantastic! We were in room 3, and if we came back, we would ask for that room again.

We got to meet Collin Hunte on our first morning there, and he gave us an orientation of the place (including history of the building, and how it was a labour of love - very evident), and of the island. We spent over an hour with him, and wished we could have spent the day with him, he was definitely a highlight - an incredible story teller! We went to all of the restaurants he recommended, and also booked a tour as per his amazing overview of what to do. Unfortunately, I had a kayaking accident on that same first day, and on our day of the tour, Claudius took us to the hospital rather than touring the island. Claudius was a fantastic man, definitely book your tour with any of the gentlemen they suggest, Collin surrounds himself with good people.

We ended up having to stay at the resort due to my accident, but sitting on the deck was wonderful - it rained for the last 2 days, so we just read our books and watched the water and stormy weather, which was really beautiful.

as for food, the restaurant next door is open for lunch and dinner, and is ok - Lisa who works there is just lovely, but her father was a bit gruff - he complained to us when we wanted to pay with credit card, grumbling about the cost to him, which was not welcoming.

We really enjoyed Coal Pot and Delirous (for lunch).

We would not hesitate to come back here!

Room Tip: Room 3 is great, enjoy Collin's orientation - definitely a high light!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleyville, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

Hi! This place had large bedrooms, baths, full kitchen and living area. 5 adults had no problems. 2nd floor with balconey over-looking the beach. Staff was very helpful and friendly. They arranged anything we wanted from rent a car to island/whale tours. We had breakfast at our apartment and roamed the island. Collins the owner takes time to brief you on a variety of sites and places to eat. Good picks. Hvae seen fancier but not issues from my group.

Room Tip: Get something closer to the office with beach view for better WiFi coverage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Beach Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Beach Cottages

Address: Choc Bay-Gros Islet Hwy | PO Box 129, Castries, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Castries
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Castries
#1 Family Hotel in Castries
#1 Romantic Hotel in Castries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Beach Cottages 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An intimate, boutique, beachfront hotel featuring deluxe fully self-contained one and two bedrooms villa suites nestled among the coconut trees and lush tropical gardens at Choc Bay with panoramic views of the Caribbean Sea and offering comfortable, casual luxury with friendly, impeccable service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Villa Beach Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Beach Cottages Hotel Castries
Hotel Beach
Villa Beach Cottages St. Lucia/Castries

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Beach Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.