We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible Honeymoon!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Beach Cottages

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Castries
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Beach Cottages
Choc Bay-Gros Islet Hwy | PO Box 129, Castries, St. Lucia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Summer Special - 30% Off
Ranked #1 of 17 hotels in Castries
Old Town, ME
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Incredible Honeymoon!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

My husband and I got married June 10th, and soon after left for 8 days, 7 nights in St. Lucia.
First the weather was spectacular, the island was amazing, fun activities, great food.

Now, to say the Villa Beach Cottages was great was an understatement. The girls in reception, Neva, Nadia and Olivia set us up with a great taxi driver for most of our stay, and helped us plan the most personal honeymoon experience. We went zip lining, on an ATV tour, helicopter ride, kayaking, snorkeling, and so much more. They also gave us some great restaurants to try. Our favorite: the Coal Pot!
Colin, the manager, sat down with us, helped us plan activities and gave a great history of the Cottages.

Our honeymoon villa was perfect. The cottage feel to the place was perfect, spiral staircase and all. Two decks, kitchen, lovely bedroom.

The cottages have a beautiful beach, right on the water, lovely landscape and pools.
AND being the middle of June, and a slower season, we had the entire resort almost to ourselves.
Down the beach is a Sandals, it was always busy. SO, SO glad we weren't there. The Villa Beach Cottages was small, personal, quiet and romantic. They even set up dinner on our porch, through Coconuts restaurant. What a perfect way to spent our favorite day there: spent the day in Soufrierre, and come back to a sunset dinner on our porch.

The perfect honeymoon!!! Definitely recommend the Villa Beach Cottages. We're thinking for a 5 or 10 year anniversary, heading back again!! :-)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    389
    40
    8
    4
    3
See reviews for
82
199
8
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

This is an independently owned property set right on the beach at Choc Bay. Self-catering and well-equipped, you can make your own holiday on this beautiful island. Colin, the owner is a mine of information about the history of St Lucia and can help you decide where best to go to explore its beauty. Claudius aka "liat" was a great driver and guide. We had an idyllic time and are so glad that we did not opt for one of the impersonal resorts.

Room Tip: The top(second) floor rooms have the best views, especially of the sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

It's a small friendly place that has a strong service orientation. All the time I'd see people sweeping up leaves, touching up paintwork, and cleaning. and they're all polite and friendly.

This is doubtless due to the leadership of Colin Hunt, a charming and slightly idiosyncratic man who loves his work.

We had a balcony that looked out at the gorgeous beach, and they will lend you snorkelling gear, kayak etc. And they have on-site car rental.

The independent restaurant next door looks run-down but the food is good and they're friendly. It's better than it looks! And back at the villa, self-catering allows you to eat what and when you want.

Highly recommended. It has the sophistication of a corporate establishment, with the charm of an independent. Just enough quirkiness to make it interesting.

Room Tip: You need a beach view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

We spent 5 nights at VBC, and it was fantastic. They arranged for Alex to pick us up at the airport, and he was a wonderful source of information on the history and layout of the island. We were warmly greeted by Olivia, and as others have said, the room was exactly like on the website - fantastic! We were in room 3, and if we came back, we would ask for that room again.

We got to meet Collin Hunte on our first morning there, and he gave us an orientation of the place (including history of the building, and how it was a labour of love - very evident), and of the island. We spent over an hour with him, and wished we could have spent the day with him, he was definitely a highlight - an incredible story teller! We went to all of the restaurants he recommended, and also booked a tour as per his amazing overview of what to do. Unfortunately, I had a kayaking accident on that same first day, and on our day of the tour, Claudius took us to the hospital rather than touring the island. Claudius was a fantastic man, definitely book your tour with any of the gentlemen they suggest, Collin surrounds himself with good people.

We ended up having to stay at the resort due to my accident, but sitting on the deck was wonderful - it rained for the last 2 days, so we just read our books and watched the water and stormy weather, which was really beautiful.

as for food, the restaurant next door is open for lunch and dinner, and is ok - Lisa who works there is just lovely, but her father was a bit gruff - he complained to us when we wanted to pay with credit card, grumbling about the cost to him, which was not welcoming.

We really enjoyed Coal Pot and Delirous (for lunch).

We would not hesitate to come back here!

Room Tip: Room 3 is great, enjoy Collin's orientation - definitely a high light!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleyville, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

Hi! This place had large bedrooms, baths, full kitchen and living area. 5 adults had no problems. 2nd floor with balconey over-looking the beach. Staff was very helpful and friendly. They arranged anything we wanted from rent a car to island/whale tours. We had breakfast at our apartment and roamed the island. Collins the owner takes time to brief you on a variety of sites and places to eat. Good picks. Hvae seen fancier but not issues from my group.

Room Tip: Get something closer to the office with beach view for better WiFi coverage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

We recently returned from St Lucia and VBC where we spent two enjoyable weeks. When we arrived it was raining very heavily (as it continued to do for the next 5 days and off and on during our stay) and we were met by Olivia carrying a huge umbrella to accompany us to ur room - a ray of sunshine on that awfully wet evening. When we were shown to our two bedroom deluxe villa, I remarked that it looked just as it did on the website photo gallery! That welcome set the scene for the rest of our stay at VBC - the standard of accomodation was very good; the staff, from Reception to security and housekeeping, were all very friendly and helpful; every request (not many, I dare say) for attention to something that was not working e.g. unable to open the safe before re-setting it; was met and rectified very promptly. Colin (the owner) added to the welcome by 'introducing and inducting us to the family' and was very helpful with suggestions for exploring the island - he certainly does his bit for the Tourist Board and for promoting St Lucia! I certainly would recommend Villa Beach Cottages to others visiting St Lucia - a really friendly, peaceful resort, the location of which affords you the tranqulity you may want but which is also close enough to the actiion if you want it. I couldn't end this review without also mentioning Moses, the taxi driver sent by VBC to meet us at the airport. A real gentleman who provided an excellent service for us, taking us to various venues and also an excellent guide on our tour - he won us over as soon as he'd stopped on our way from the airport and got us some locally baked bread (literally hot off the oven!) with melting butter; very welcome after the unappetising airplane meal we had!

Room Tip: We stayed in the deluxe rooms on recommendation from a previous Trip Advisor reviewer; although we d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012 via mobile

From the moment we arrived we where treated like family! Every thing was perfect and well done! The staff was very friendly & helpful and made our wedding day very special indeed! Susan our wedding coordinator took care of everything! Colin & all the staff that could attended our ceremony as well as our Villa neighbors.... We truly can't say enough good things about our stay! We looked at several properties and were very happy with our choice to stay at Villa Beach and we will be returning soon!!!!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa Beach Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Beach Cottages

Address: Choc Bay-Gros Islet Hwy | PO Box 129, Castries, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Castries
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Castries
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Castries
#1 Romantic Hotel in Castries
#4 Business Hotel in Castries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An intimate, boutique, beachfront hotel featuring deluxe fully self-contained one and two bedrooms villa suites nestled among the coconut trees and lush tropical gardens at Choc Bay with panoramic views of the Caribbean Sea and offering comfortable, casual luxury with friendly, impeccable service. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Beach Cottages Hotel Castries
Hotel Beach
Villa Beach Cottages St. Lucia/Castries

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Beach Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Villa Beach Cottages to your Saves list