We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel we have every been to” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rendezvous Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Rendezvous Resort to your Saves list
Rendezvous Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Malabar Beach, Castries 190, St. Lucia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Castries
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best hotel we have every been to”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

This was our first holiday since our honeymoon 2 years ago and it did not disappoint! The hotel is wonderful and the staff fantastic! They make the check in process hassle free by doing it for you and that sets the tone for the stay – the culture of the hotel is to make your stay as comfortable and relaxing as possible. The staff are all very friendly, well-mannered and very courteous – they all want to get to know you, for example they all say hello to you and remember your name, and show genuine interest in you: they all stop you and take a few minutes to talk to you about anything and everything. Staff such as Tony, Bianca, Jacinta, Francis, Matilda, Michaela, Head Chef Peter, General Manager Yasmin and not to mention the duo of Deano and Tino are an absolute credit to the hotel. Some of the other key reasons we enjoyed it so such was because of the location - it has its own beachfront - food is very good in spite of being all inclusive, rooms are clean, pools are cosy and where the hotel really excels is the champagne bar which is a great place to meet other couples; this getting to know other couples creates a warm and family-like atmosphere among the guests which enhances the food-good factor in the hotel. This place is a must for those who want to get away for a luxurious R&R break – we will definitely be going back!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,029 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,410
    429
    112
    46
    32
See reviews for
25
1,684
Solo
0
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (592)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

This is a well presented hotel that is ideally situated on the beach with great accomodation. The vast majority of staff are excellent, always helpful, pleasant and clearly dedicated to their jobs. The restaurants provide excellent food, with wide and varied menus that never disappoint. The facilities in the hotel are excellent, with a gym, TV lounge, archery, several pools and much more. There are a couple of bars, although we found the beach bar service rather inconsistent. Our holiday was unfortunately ruined by the ignorant and racist security staff employed by the hotel. I am white and my wife is black and clearly these ignorant security staff with their small and racist minds must have considered that I had 'brought' my wife into the hotel and consistently challenged us as we walked around the hotel and on the beach. They were rude, constantly banning us from walking along the beach and were persistent in their condemnation of my wife. Bearing in mind my wife is an accademic who owns and runs several successful businesses, the small minded attitudes of these ignorant security staff was a shock. Other guests witnessed their disgusting behaviour and commented to us how shocked they were too. We complained several times to the hotel and they apologised. As we sat on our first class BA filghts back to London we could see the funny side of this ignorant and unnaceptable behaviour but found it a sad reflection on St Lucian society. We are well travelled, staying in some of the best hotels and we have never experienced such dispicable behaviour in any other country.

More generally it was disappointing that smoking was permitted in the covered parts of the hotel, albeit generally restricted to the edges. It is also worth noting that the hotel is next to a regional airport where light aircraft flights fun from about 06:00 to 20:00 most days. The aircraft noise was not particularly intrusive though.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResortManagementRDV, Manager at Rendezvous Resort, responded to this review, August 31, 2014
Dear Guests

Thank you for choosing Rendezvous for your time away together.

We are apalled by the nature of the concern you have raised and sincerley apologise for the way you have been treated. Unfortunately, we were not aware that you were experiencing this problem until you spoke directly to me hours prior to your dearture. Had we been aware, we most certainly would have addressed the matter. Since your report, we have approached the Security Management company on the issue demanding immediate corrective action.

The Rendezvous team in no way supports or condones this sort of attitide or behaviour. The resort team consistently and successfully treats every guest, no matter the circumstances with warmth, dignity and respect. As I mentioned to you, we are now contemplating extending some of the customer service training conducted for the inhouse resort staff to the security team to address this problem.

Again, we apologise for this most unfortunate experience which should not be taken as a reflection on St. Lucian society. St. Lucians in general, as you would have experiecned for yourself, are some of the most hospitable, kind, warm and genuine people you will find. The St. Lucian culture is such that the average St. Lucin will give up the comofrt of their own bed in an effort to adequately cater to a guest. The island's success in the hospitality industry is an indicator of our openess as a people and our readiness to embrace our visitors. In every society, there will be those who undermine the status quo but the St. Lucian people work assiduously to preserve the tourism industry as it is so important to our economy but more so coming from a place where it is comes as second nature to look after visitors to our homes and to our island.

Yhasmine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stone Mountain, Georgia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

I am a travel agent who spent one night at the resort and was in desperate need to relax and unwind. I was concerned about being alone at a couple's resort however the staff was very attentive. The General Manager even called to invite me to dinner with her personally. I had an immaculate Oceanfront Room in which I was no more then 10 steps from the beach. The decor is calming and furnishings up to date with nice wood. The bathroom was huge and stocked with great toiletries. I had a terrace with hammock and very comfortable patio furniture. I arrived between lunch and afternoon tea so the restaurant was closed, They opened up the kitchen to prepare a meal for me. There are no televisions in the rooms which was a cause for concern since I fall asleep with it on. There is a radio and docking station so I had some good music. The gardens are lush and inviting in addition to the azure blue pool. The beach is public as with all beaches in St. Lucia so there were children and teenagers in the vicinity but not all day. Security is present at all times but not intrusive. The beach is long and wide and not in the least bit crowded. They also have cottages which have a retro somewhat dated look from the outside but definitely modern and up to date on the inside. If you are looking for nightlife and a substantial number of activities then this may not be the right resort. The staff provides wonderful hospitality and you can definitely leave the world outside and reconnect with yourself and mate.

Room Tip: Luxury Oceanfront is the way to go because of the large patio area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

Just returned from another visit to this resort and did not regret repeating the experience at all. From the moment we arrived we were greeted by staff who remembered us from a year ago, you quickly are made to feel like part of The Rendevous family.
The staff certainly make this a very special place. We would particularly like to thank Carmen, Frances, Matilda, Candice, Krista, Trevor, Simon, Tony, Stephen and the lovely Ranford who all went that extra mile to make our stay so relaxing.
We did the sunset cruise and would definitely recommend it. Chris and Blue Boy were brilliant and the personal treatment they gave us made it an extra special occasion, one of the best boating experiences we have done on many visits to the Caribbean.
Our room was a very high standard and spotlessly clean. There is always plenty of choice in the buffet restaurant and The Trysting Place is a must with excellent food and ambiance.
You may choose to be private as many couples do or meet new and interesting people as we did, the perfect place for this is pre dinner drinks in the champagne bar.
We would certainly recommend The Rendevous if you are looking for a couples resort with plenty of pampering and personal attention.

Room Tip: Beachside cottages are amazing and very private
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

We have written this review whilst still on holiday at the Rendezvous as we wanted to share our experience with others during our stay. We chose the Rendezvous after careful review to celebrate our joint 30th wedding anniversaries with our best friends as it offered everything we were looking for from a couples only boutique hotel.

Every aspect of this hotel has exceeded our expectations and made our stay so special. The first thing to mention is the staff at the hotel who all go far above the call of duty. They treat you with a friendliness and personal attention you would not find at many hotels around the world. They look after your every need with personal touches throughout which make you feel so special.

We have got to know many of the staff personally and their attitude towards their guests is a credit to the hotel, from the staff who make up our rooms each day right up to and including the management . Nothing we have experienced is false but a genuine willingness to make your stay one to remember. Special mention to the sports and entertainment team of Deano, Shane, Byron, Clavi and Pauline. What great people and fun to be with. We have had a real laugh! Also Simon, Miss Gloria and Elizabeth who have looked after us so attentively at meal times. Management deserve a mention for the the standards and quality of staff they employ.

The resort itself is just what we were looking for! More typically St. Lucian. Clean, beautifully kept and an ideal location. You hear many reports about a cemetery next door, the small airport and locals on the beach. Ignore the negative reports. In our opinion none of them impact on the tranquility of this resort. The cemetery is further down the beach. The planes are small propeller and part of the Caribbean life and gone in 15 seconds and it is great to see local friendly St. Lucians enjoying their island without disturbing the hotel guests.

There are 2 great restaurants the Terrace and the Trysting Place. The food at both is exemplary and the themed nights keep it varied. A la carte in the Trysting Place is intimate but the Terrace is great for dining under the stars.

We are sure that the last few days of our holiday will be met with the same high standards of service and would highly recommend Rendezvous for that special holiday.

Thank you management and staff for making our stay so special!

Tim and Alison Padday

Room Tip: Would suggest the Luxury Beach Front rooms on 1st or 2nd floor. Fabulous sea views and private and q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west london
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

You will find the Rendezvous Resort a truly marvelous relaxing break from the stress of modern living, from the moment we arrived until our departure the staff could not do enough for us everyone was so friendly and helpful that is why my heading is Your welcome, say thank you to a member the staff and they will reply your welcome and really mean it, the buffet food was excellent with a good variety but you must always have a meal in the a la carte restaurant, the Champagne bar a perfect place for an aperitif and relaxing listening to the pianist, plenty of light-hearted activities to get involved in or just laze around the pools getting a nice tan to take home, lovely grounds to meander through all in all I cannot fault our experience in any way a fantastic holiday

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

Just returned from this amazing hotel, just wish we could have stayed longer!
I was a bit concerned when reading the other reviews, but I'm glad I didn't take any notice.
Food is brilliant with lots of choice, lots of activities to do in the day. Yes the room doesn't have a T.V and the Wifi was hit and miss, but you are on holiday so I'm sure everyone can cope without it! Staff were so friendly and couldn't do enough for us. Can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castries
12.6 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 12 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 stars 676 reviews
6.1 mi away
The BodyHoliday, LeSport
19.7 mi away
Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
St. James's Club Morgan Bay
2.2 mi away
Sandals Regency La Toc Golf Resort and Spa
2.5 mi away
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rendezvous Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rendezvous Resort

Address: Malabar Beach, Castries 190, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Castries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Castries
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Castries
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Castries
#3 Romantic Hotel in Castries
#6 Family Hotel in Castries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rendezvous Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rendezvous - The Boutique Hotel For Couples. Rendezvous is the only all-inclusive boutique resort in the Caribbean nestled in a tropical garden on a 2-mile stretch of beach, designed for couples who want to spend quality time together in an atmosphere of personalized care. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your Rendezvous Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rendezvous Hotel Castries
Rendezvous Hotel St Lucia
Rendevous St Lucia
Rendezvous Resort St. Lucia/Castries

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rendezvous Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.