We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, ruined by ignorant security staff” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Rendezvous Resort

Save Saved
You added Rendezvous Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rendezvous Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Malabar Beach, Castries 190, St. Lucia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Castries
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Great hotel, ruined by ignorant security staff”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a well presented hotel that is ideally situated on the beach with great accomodation. The vast majority of staff are excellent, always helpful, pleasant and clearly dedicated to their jobs. The restaurants provide excellent food, with wide and varied menus that never disappoint. The facilities in the hotel are excellent, with a gym, TV lounge, archery, several pools and much more. There are a couple of bars, although we found the beach bar service rather inconsistent. Our holiday was unfortunately ruined by the ignorant and racist security staff employed by the hotel. I am white and my wife is black and clearly these ignorant security staff with their small and racist minds must have considered that I had 'brought' my wife into the hotel and consistently challenged us as we walked around the hotel and on the beach. They were rude, constantly banning us from walking along the beach and were persistent in their condemnation of my wife. Bearing in mind my wife is an accademic who owns and runs several successful businesses, the small minded attitudes of these ignorant security staff was a shock. Other guests witnessed their disgusting behaviour and commented to us how shocked they were too. We complained several times to the hotel and they apologised. As we sat on our first class BA filghts back to London we could see the funny side of this ignorant and unnaceptable behaviour but found it a sad reflection on St Lucian society. We are well travelled, staying in some of the best hotels and we have never experienced such dispicable behaviour in any other country.

More generally it was disappointing that smoking was permitted in the covered parts of the hotel, albeit generally restricted to the edges. It is also worth noting that the hotel is next to a regional airport where light aircraft flights fun from about 06:00 to 20:00 most days. The aircraft noise was not particularly intrusive though.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResortManagementRDV, Manager at Rendezvous Resort, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Guests

Thank you for choosing Rendezvous for your time away together.

We are apalled by the nature of the concern you have raised and sincerley apologise for the way you have been treated. Unfortunately, we were not aware that you were experiencing this problem until you spoke directly to me hours prior to your dearture. Had we been aware, we most certainly would have addressed the matter. Since your report, we have approached the Security Management company on the issue demanding immediate corrective action.

The Rendezvous team in no way supports or condones this sort of attitide or behaviour. The resort team consistently and successfully treats every guest, no matter the circumstances with warmth, dignity and respect. As I mentioned to you, we are now contemplating extending some of the customer service training conducted for the inhouse resort staff to the security team to address this problem.

Again, we apologise for this most unfortunate experience which should not be taken as a reflection on St. Lucian society. St. Lucians in general, as you would have experiecned for yourself, are some of the most hospitable, kind, warm and genuine people you will find. The St. Lucian culture is such that the average St. Lucin will give up the comofrt of their own bed in an effort to adequately cater to a guest. The island's success in the hospitality industry is an indicator of our openess as a people and our readiness to embrace our visitors. In every society, there will be those who undermine the status quo but the St. Lucian people work assiduously to preserve the tourism industry as it is so important to our economy but more so coming from a place where it is comes as second nature to look after visitors to our homes and to our island.

Yhasmine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,761 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,201
    382
    107
    43
    28
See reviews for
20
1439
Solo
0
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (469)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Stone Mountain, Georgia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I am a travel agent who spent one night at the resort and was in desperate need to relax and unwind. I was concerned about being alone at a couple's resort however the staff was very attentive. The General Manager even called to invite me to dinner with her personally. I had an immaculate Oceanfront Room in which I was no more then 10 steps from the beach. The decor is calming and furnishings up to date with nice wood. The bathroom was huge and stocked with great toiletries. I had a terrace with hammock and very comfortable patio furniture. I arrived between lunch and afternoon tea so the restaurant was closed, They opened up the kitchen to prepare a meal for me. There are no televisions in the rooms which was a cause for concern since I fall asleep with it on. There is a radio and docking station so I had some good music. The gardens are lush and inviting in addition to the azure blue pool. The beach is public as with all beaches in St. Lucia so there were children and teenagers in the vicinity but not all day. Security is present at all times but not intrusive. The beach is long and wide and not in the least bit crowded. They also have cottages which have a retro somewhat dated look from the outside but definitely modern and up to date on the inside. If you are looking for nightlife and a substantial number of activities then this may not be the right resort. The staff provides wonderful hospitality and you can definitely leave the world outside and reconnect with yourself and mate.

Room Tip: Luxury Oceanfront is the way to go because of the large patio area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just returned from another visit to this resort and did not regret repeating the experience at all. From the moment we arrived we were greeted by staff who remembered us from a year ago, you quickly are made to feel like part of The Rendevous family.
The staff certainly make this a very special place. We would particularly like to thank Carmen, Frances, Matilda, Candice, Krista, Trevor, Simon, Tony, Stephen and the lovely Ranford who all went that extra mile to make our stay so relaxing.
We did the sunset cruise and would definitely recommend it. Chris and Blue Boy were brilliant and the personal treatment they gave us made it an extra special occasion, one of the best boating experiences we have done on many visits to the Caribbean.
Our room was a very high standard and spotlessly clean. There is always plenty of choice in the buffet restaurant and The Trysting Place is a must with excellent food and ambiance.
You may choose to be private as many couples do or meet new and interesting people as we did, the perfect place for this is pre dinner drinks in the champagne bar.
We would certainly recommend The Rendevous if you are looking for a couples resort with plenty of pampering and personal attention.

Room Tip: Beachside cottages are amazing and very private
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have written this review whilst still on holiday at the Rendezvous as we wanted to share our experience with others during our stay. We chose the Rendezvous after careful review to celebrate our joint 30th wedding anniversaries with our best friends as it offered everything we were looking for from a couples only boutique hotel.

Every aspect of this hotel has exceeded our expectations and made our stay so special. The first thing to mention is the staff at the hotel who all go far above the call of duty. They treat you with a friendliness and personal attention you would not find at many hotels around the world. They look after your every need with personal touches throughout which make you feel so special.

We have got to know many of the staff personally and their attitude towards their guests is a credit to the hotel, from the staff who make up our rooms each day right up to and including the management . Nothing we have experienced is false but a genuine willingness to make your stay one to remember. Special mention to the sports and entertainment team of Deano, Shane, Byron, Clavi and Pauline. What great people and fun to be with. We have had a real laugh! Also Simon, Miss Gloria and Elizabeth who have looked after us so attentively at meal times. Management deserve a mention for the the standards and quality of staff they employ.

The resort itself is just what we were looking for! More typically St. Lucian. Clean, beautifully kept and an ideal location. You hear many reports about a cemetery next door, the small airport and locals on the beach. Ignore the negative reports. In our opinion none of them impact on the tranquility of this resort. The cemetery is further down the beach. The planes are small propeller and part of the Caribbean life and gone in 15 seconds and it is great to see local friendly St. Lucians enjoying their island without disturbing the hotel guests.

There are 2 great restaurants the Terrace and the Trysting Place. The food at both is exemplary and the themed nights keep it varied. A la carte in the Trysting Place is intimate but the Terrace is great for dining under the stars.

We are sure that the last few days of our holiday will be met with the same high standards of service and would highly recommend Rendezvous for that special holiday.

Thank you management and staff for making our stay so special!

Tim and Alison Padday

Room Tip: Would suggest the Luxury Beach Front rooms on 1st or 2nd floor. Fabulous sea views and private and q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west london
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

You will find the Rendezvous Resort a truly marvelous relaxing break from the stress of modern living, from the moment we arrived until our departure the staff could not do enough for us everyone was so friendly and helpful that is why my heading is Your welcome, say thank you to a member the staff and they will reply your welcome and really mean it, the buffet food was excellent with a good variety but you must always have a meal in the a la carte restaurant, the Champagne bar a perfect place for an aperitif and relaxing listening to the pianist, plenty of light-hearted activities to get involved in or just laze around the pools getting a nice tan to take home, lovely grounds to meander through all in all I cannot fault our experience in any way a fantastic holiday

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Just returned from this amazing hotel, just wish we could have stayed longer!
I was a bit concerned when reading the other reviews, but I'm glad I didn't take any notice.
Food is brilliant with lots of choice, lots of activities to do in the day. Yes the room doesn't have a T.V and the Wifi was hit and miss, but you are on holiday so I'm sure everyone can cope without it! Staff were so friendly and couldn't do enough for us. Can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We've just got back from a 10 day break at Rendezvous and this is our 2nd time to St Lucia.The transport to the resort was a little uncomfortable mainly due to the road works which still seem to haunt the island. Once we arrived we couldn't have been made to feel more welcome. The staff are so very friendly and they genuinely want you to have a great time.

"Best bits":
We stayed in the Seaside Suite which are quite large and accommodating, just across from the pool, pool bar and beach. The food at this resort was good, lots of selection and all presented well. As a vegetarian it can occasionally be a problem but there were numerous choices every night. The Trysting restaurant is a really good option, although the portion sizes are very small even for 'fine dining' and it benefits form air conditioning. The pools are well laid out and positioned. We loved the 'lazy river' and the privacy it gave us.I can highly recommend the 'sunset splash' where the boat guys head off round the coast in the speedboat and give you a great time, explaining the coastline and some of St Lucia's history. (Boy Blue was a mind full of information).
The restaurant staff go a long way in making this stay personal, remembering your name (Thank you Frances and Carmen) makes you feel a little special and the ladies in the Spa were fantastic, Melinda gives a mean sports massage and Antonia that special pampering.

'Needs improvement":
On a down side the Wifi is very poor, you cant get it in your room just in the Terrace and even then it sometimes just goes off! There is no Fridge in the seaside suites which is a pain and to be honest I wouldn't want to go without TV again.... even if just for the news.
There were more than the usual amounts of mosquitoes in the resort, we felt the gardens were somewhat overgrown and that they would benefit from being cut right back around the pathways. Our own suite had restricted entrance due to overgrown plants and because of this we didn't sit outside which was a shame as it would have been nice to do so.
There was no 'fogging' taken place whilst we were there which may have been the reason for the insect invasions, we didn't see anyone without badly bitten legs,most of which was caused during the walks to the restaurant or in the restaurant itself at night times. they were quite bad in the terrace areas and bar also. We like to be able to wander off the resort but to be honest Castries isn't really that kind of place which was disappointing, a trip into Rodney Bay is a better option

The resort has mix of ages and allows you to sit back and relax, I think it is a bit expensive for the standard but it does what is says on the tin and lets you have privacy and relaxation just remember to go armed with lots of mosquito spray and a good 3G package before you leave home :)

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General-Managers1, General Manager at Rendezvous Resort, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review offering your feedback. Our Guests’ feedback is so important to us.

I am very pleased to read your comments regarding our staff. They are trained to provide superior customer service and to make our guests experience memorable and it is always a pleasure to receive positive comments about their good work.

Concerning the WIFI, we were unfortunately experiencing an island wide problem at the time of your visit. The internet service provider experienced a major technical problem which affected internet access for many hotels and businesses across the island. This was beyond our control. We will admit that the resort WIFI requires improvement and we are committed to making these improvements. Currently, an upgrade program is underway expected to complete at month end. Thereafter, we expect that connectivity problems will have been corrected.

It is a conscious decision to offer a holiday without television. This is so to create an atmosphere for couples to spend quality time together without the distraction of their normal frenetic lives. Having said this, we do realize that some guests would enjoy watching some television during their stay, and that’s why there is a large screen television offered in the hospitality suite which available day and night to guests who may want to watch.

I would like to apologize for the problems you encountered with the mosquitoes. We do have a comprehensive programme to control mosquitoes, which includes fogging every Monday evening and regularly fumigating guest accommodations. However, we strongly advise and encourage our guests to wear insect repellent.

We do organize outings to the market in Castries which is quite a popular tour. For guests wanting to leave the hotel, we also offer several picturesque tours around the island as well.

Thank you again for the feedback. We truly value the opinions of our customers in order to improve our offerings.

King regards,

Yhasmine Remi-Hylton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Rendezvous Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rendezvous Resort

Address: Malabar Beach, Castries 190, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Castries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Castries
#2 Luxury Hotel in Castries
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Castries
#2 Spa Hotel in Castries
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Castries
#3 Romantic Hotel in Castries
#4 Family Hotel in Castries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rendezvous Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rendezvous - The Boutique Hotel For Couples. Rendezvous is the only all-inclusive boutique resort in the Caribbean nestled in a tropical garden on a 2-mile stretch of beach, designed for couples who want to spend quality time together in an atmosphere of personalized care. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Regatta Hotels, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Venere, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Rendezvous Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rendezvous Hotel Castries
Rendezvous Hotel St Lucia
Rendevous St Lucia
Rendezvous Resort St. Lucia/Castries

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rendezvous Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;