We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a Niche Resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rendezvous Resort

Save Saved
You added Rendezvous Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rendezvous Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Malabar Beach, Castries 190, St. Lucia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Castries
Princeton, Texas
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“This is a Niche Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

If you fit into their niche, you will love vacationing there. If you don’t fit their niche, you will find the resort too quiet. This resort seems to cater to the 55+ crowd. Couples at the resort are usually found reading by the pool or on the beach. My best advice if you are considering Rendezvous resort is be clear on exactly what you want on your vacation and make sure it aligns with what this resort has to offer. If you are looking for a lot of quiet one-on-one with your spouse, you will love it. If you and your spouse enjoy interacting with other couples and people watching, you will be bored.
The resort positives:
• Beautiful! The resort is gorgeous; the grounds are meticulously cared for. The beach wrapping around the resort is beautiful and while it is public, the locals did not crowd the beach on the weekend so there was plenty of room for the guests. The resort provides lounge chairs for the guests.
• The staff is extremely service oriented. From the bar employees that bring you drinks on the beach to the restaurant employees that place your napkin on your lap at meal time. All you need to do is ask, and the staff will take care of it.
• The resort provides several water sport options for their guests that are included in the all-inclusive package. This includes some motorized options like tubing and skiing.
• The resort is quiet and peaceful. Most people there spend the day reading on the beach or at the pool.
The resort negatives:
• The resort representative meets with you when you arrive to brief you on the rules for the resort as well as the dress code you are expected to follow. It felt like we were staying at someone house as a guest, you can sit in these chairs at meal time only, you must be wearing dry close to sit in these chairs, and you have to put on a cover up to walk through the Terrace area (where the public bathrooms are that you use when lounging at the pool or on the beach).
• The resort is use to travelers from England and the UK, who take 10-14 day vacations. The resort schedules out activities across the week, but for those of us on a “long weekend” vacation, certain activities may not be available during our stays.
• Dress code! This resort has two dining areas, the Terrace Restaurant and the Trysting Place. Both require women to dress “elegantly” and require the men to wear long pants and blue jeans are frowned upon at the Trysting. If you wear a hat to dinner, they will ask you to remove it be you a male or female dinner. Flip Flops are also not allowed. I have never stayed at a resort that did not provide a casual dining area for those of us who do not like to dress up on our vacation.
• The Terrace Restaurant is where all the meals are served. The area is outside and men can wear shorts for lunch service but are required to wear long pants for the dinner service. The resort depends on the sea breeze to cool off this dining area. Literally, there are no ceiling fans or anything to circulate the air other than the breeze off the ocean. My husband was dripping sweat within minutes of sitting down. We spent more time changing clothes on this vacation, going from dinner clothing to heat appropriate cloths.
• The Lazy River is not a lazy river. It is more like 4 small private pools with sunbathing areas. The pool have rocks or steps in between them that create little waterfall sounds. You cannot get into the “lazy river” and float anywhere.
• The large pool is pretty and relaxing. They have a pool bar with snacks, but no music. And if you want to play your own music you need to wear headphones. Their beer glasses are little juice glasses (like for breakfast) and the pool bar does not seem to be fully stocked. I could not get a strawberry daiquiri at the pool bar, but if I covered up and walked 40 feet to the Terrace bar I could.
• The pool does not have a public restroom. You have to walk into the Terrace area to go to the restroom, which meant drying off and putting on a cover up.
• The rooms are great, but there are no TV’s. You are completely cut off from what is going on in the world around you. No news and no sports, not even in the bars. And the Wi-Fi range is limited to the Terrace area and is hit or miss when you are trying to check a sport score on your IPhone. Also the radios in the room are for older IPhone, if you have the IPhone 5, you will need an adaptor in order to plug it into the stereo.
• Location! We had to go into Castries to get slacks for dinner. We wandered around a little but were not impressed with the town. If you like to adventure out from your resort and visit the nearby town, you might consider a resort in the Rodney Bay area north of Castries. That town was newer, more touristy, and honestly nicer. Also the resort is right next to the old airport and the cemetery. The airport is still operational, but for smaller commuter planes. I think they had 3-5 planes take off from the airport each day. The noise was noticeable but not constant. And the cemetery looks interesting if you like older cemeteries, but the resort security guards will stop you from going over there for your own safety.
• The resort has only two public AC areas. The Trysting Dining Room and the Champaign bar. Both open up late in the evening. If you need a reprieve from the heat during the day, you will have to wander to your room or go in the water.
• This resort seems tailored to older couples and those couples who are a world onto themselves. The Champaign bar is the only place that I saw people interact and talk with someone other than their companion. And then the piano was too loud to really carry on any kind of conversation.
• If you’re a couple that likes to interact with your fellow vacationors in a fun and carefree environment, this resort is not the place for you. This resort, with its rules and comatose environment, is like a vacation to the grandparents’ house. Our standing joke was when the “walker racers” were going to commence. We felt like we were in a rest home, except it was too quiet.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,761 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,201
    382
    107
    43
    28
See reviews for
20
1439
Solo
0
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (469)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
187 helpful votes 187 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We’ve just returned home after another excellent stay at The Rendezvous.

We had a top floor garden view room that also gave us views of the sea. It wasn't big, but had had been tastefully refurbished and was very private, which we like.

Without wishing to repeat all the things we’ve said before, we’ll make an exception to state that the staff members are excellent. The hotel picks the right people and they tend to stay; staff turnover is very low, apparently. It was good to see the friendly familiar faces in the bar and restaurants – such as Trevor, Michaela and Eric. And also as usual, there were like-minded guests whose company we enjoyed.

We love the lush, tropical grounds – so close to the city of Castries. The evening frog chorus from the undergrowth was as loud as ever.

I had quite a few scuba dives with Luigi and Lincoln, which were always good fun. You don’t always see a lot of marine life in the inclusive dives, but the Marine park 2 tank dives are recommended. The dive team is sometimes put in an awkward spot by guests: such as the very inconsiderate couple who persistently turned up late so the rest of us had to wait for them to saunter in and get ready. On one occasion we waited for them to finish a leisurely lunch and as a result left so late that the rest of us couldn’t get back in time for ours – as we’d planned. We weren’t pleased. If they haven’t the courtesy to turn up in time – tough luck, said the rest of us.

The food was good and the Trysting Place restaurant was up to its usual very high standard. The presentation and quality of meals was superb. The hotel tries to make the a la carte evenings a quality experience. Most people follow the dress code – but (a second gripe) you get some who turn up like they’ve just left the beach (usually turned away), or the man who padded around at dinner in bare feet. Most people we spoke to were all for enforcing the dress code. Otherwise, it’s a slippery slope.

We enjoyed morning walks along the beach, and spoke to many friendly locals. We note that the hotel discourages people from walking on the quieter beach to the right as you face the sea: and when we went a security guard followed us. But all was quiet.

I failed to complete my usual daily hikes to the Vigie lighthouse as I was discouraged by the sight and sound of huge dogs roaming loose on the approach road. I was assured ‘they won’t attack you’ – but they are Rottweiler types and discretion trumped my valour. A disappointment. The hotel does walking tours there and they seem to go OK though.

Summary: Great hotel, really good fun and, in our opinion, excellent value for a quality experience.

Room Tip: If you book a garden room, then the #3 block has the better views. They've also been modernised.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

Great place to chill out and relax with brilliant staff, lovely long beach, pools, spa, free water sports, great sociable crowd of like minded people, but very easy to just be you as well. Great food, great choice, great all inclusive drinks and choices, attentive and relaxed service from nice people.

If you moan about the birds tweeting around your dinner table, or the cats, or the infrequent local small planes taking off overhead, then you clearly miss the point and I suspect need to whine about anything. Ignore these points as they are irrelevant to your inner enjoyment.

All inclusive relaxation and enough choice of reasonable high quality, ambience, comfort and sociable fun that any self sufficient upper middle class snob would be happy to get lost in.

Book it, you'll love it.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We stayed for two weeks at the end of May '14. After a hectic few weeks running up to our wedding this was the perfect place to unwind.

We had a private transfer by car to the hotel from the airport which took just over an hour. Some of the roads are intresting but its a good way to see some of the island interior. There's a lot of bananas!

We booked a Beachfront Room but ended up in an amazing Luxury Beachfront Cottage! I'm guessing this was a free upgrade rather than a mistake (very much doubt it) but whatever, we loved it. As we booked as a honeymoon, when we arrived in our room we were greated with fruit and chilled champagne. We also enjoyed our free Couples Honeymoon Massage in the Water Garden Spa. We also made use of the spa again and it's pretty reasonable prices with good choice of treatments.

The location of this hotel couldn't be any better, it's literally right on the beach and in a paradise setting.

The staff are amazingly friendly and after a couple of days virtually everyone of them knows your name. You really feel that they will do anything to make your stay with them perfect. The food is fantastic and there is so much choice at every meal. The Beach BBQ night with Dino (the Gym fitness instructor) dooing his fire breathing act was a highlight. You'll know why when you see it.

There is loads of activities and watersports to do if you feel you want to drag yourself out of the sun or pool but no pressure to join in. We did a couple of trips out around the island and I can recommend it as it is a beautiful island. Places like Marigot Bay and Soufrieres are worth a visit. Most of the time however, the most effort we made was to swim up to the pool bar to order another cocktail.

The Champagne bar was a nice retreat and the hosted 'Bubbly Hour' every night was a social highlight. All the bar staff were really friendly and chatty and if you go get Eric to design and make you your own special cocktail, the man is a genius.

We can't fault this hotel in anyway and we had a perfect two weeks there. I would go back in an instant, it was absoulte paradise. Now we are back in the 'real world' we are missing it a lot.

Room Tip: We had a beachfront cottage which was awesome but any beach facing rooms have a perfect view. Garde...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Just spent 10 nights at this hotel and it was fab.
Hotel is adults only so very relaxing,it's just on the edge of town so you can walk in.its a working town very busy with a market most days,not a lot to buy but okay if your just looking for something to do.
The hotel itself is lovely,2 pools we preferred the spa pool as it was quiet.also nice breach area.there's plenty of room not squashed in like other hotels.
Food was great there is buffet restaurant which does a la carte twice a week and the posh restaurant which you can book as often as you like we went every other day.food was fantastic.
The staff are fantastic so friendly and happy as is everyone in st Lucia.
We hired a driver for the day which we arranged through the hotel which was great and we managed to see all the things we wanted too see at our own pace,would recommend as works out cheaper if your going to do a few trips and means you can choose to do what you want.
Loved this hotel,we met some lovely people and had a great holiday will return

Room Tip: Better views if higher up
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linlithgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

We visited in May for 2 weeks after our wedding and it was a welcome retreat after all the hectic wedding planning. Everything about the hotel is wonderful. I would recommend anyone to book it if traveling to St Lucia as there is not a better location with 2 miles of beach! The boutique hotel has a wonderful friendly feel and we can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: We stayed in a garden view room which is standard but it is lovely and a great size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reading
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

We had a lovely ten days at this hotel, wish it had been longer. Could not fault anything, the location, food (such choice and all fresh) the room (go for a garden room on the top floor) all excellent. And the best staff, they could not do enough for you, and really good fun. I wish they had name tags so you knew who they all were...but special mention must go to Jackie (mad) Pauline (great aqua aerobics) Trevor and Eric (pool bar) and Dwight who looked after me on the beach volley ball court...they were all great. One word of caution, if you want to climb the Pitons (and it is a climb) make sure you are fit!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Virgin Holidays

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rendezvous Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rendezvous Resort

Address: Malabar Beach, Castries 190, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Castries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Castries
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Castries
#2 Spa Hotel in Castries
#2 Luxury Hotel in Castries
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Castries
#3 Romantic Hotel in Castries
#4 Family Hotel in Castries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rendezvous Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rendezvous - The Boutique Hotel For Couples. Rendezvous is the only all-inclusive boutique resort in the Caribbean nestled in a tropical garden on a 2-mile stretch of beach, designed for couples who want to spend quality time together in an atmosphere of personalized care. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Regatta Hotels, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, Priceline, Odigeo, Venere, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Rendezvous Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rendezvous Hotel Castries
Rendezvous Hotel St Lucia
Rendevous St Lucia
Rendezvous Resort St. Lucia/Castries

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rendezvous Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.