I feel like a 2.5 rating would be more appropriate, but have given a 2 star rating as 2.5 isn't possible.
My partner and I stayed at Rendezvous for 2 weeks. Here is a synopsis of our experience:
* Super friendly staff from the kitchen and bar employees to the entertainment crew, cleaners and groundskeepers. They were happy to answer your questions or give you a friendly smile and hello while walking about the property.
* Food was a choice of buffet style or formal dining and there was always something to tempt the palate. The menu at the Trystings Restaurant changed every 3 or 4 days while the buffet selection changed daily on a weekly rota (i.e. every Monday is the same, etc.)
* A complementary pass to Rendezvous's sister resort, Body Holiday Le Sport, is a great idea - partly for the change of scenary, but mostly for the food. Be sure to make reservations for Tao as their food is FANTASTIC and far superior to what you will find at Rendezvous. You will need a rental car or taxi to get to Le Sport as it is in the far north of the island, off the beaten path.
* The entertainment crew were extra friendly and really encouraged everyone to take part in their sporting and event activities. This really contributed to the friendly atmosphere at the resort. Trying to encourage particpiation without being pushy is a diffucult job so kudos to them.
* The wedding coordinator is a very capable lady who made all the arrangements for us (ordering cake, flowers, providing the minister, etc.) and answered loads of questions.
* Unlike other resorts, Rendezvous have a maximum of 3 weddings per day (your choice of 11am, 1 pm, 3pm) which makes the day more special and also ensures no other wedding couples are in your photos! In addition, it is up to you where the ceremony takes place - I think the only restriction was that it couldn't be in the water. This means you can choose between the colourful gardens, the beautiful beach or the practicality of an indoor (air conditioned) room.
* Wifi is not available and internet prices are an outrageous $10USD for one hour!
* There is no shuttle service into Castries. Of course you can get to town on your own, but I would have expected an all inclusive resort to offer this service. It is possible to walk (a bit of a trek) or take a local bus to Castries as there is a bus stop not far from the gate of the resort (you can see it from the roundabout). Most people seemed to take a taxi which is not good value for money.
* The resort is right next to the local airport. Most of the time this is not a problem as there are not many flights. However, the most common time to hear planes is early morning when daytrippers are flown to neighbouring islands - not the best morning wake up call.
* Always check your Account Statement before paying. We were double charged on two items; however this was quickly revised when we brought it to reception's attention.
* During the planning stage of the wedding I emailed the wedding coordinator numerous questions about the wedding. It often took her at least a week to get back to me and frequently not all of the questions were answered. This resulted in me having to send more emails to get all the questions answered. This, on top of the the delay in responding, resulted in 2/3 months passing before everything was finalised.
* I asked for irises for my wedding bouquet and got a mixture of irises and daisies. It looked pretty, but it wasn't what I asked for. I also asked that seating be provided for our wedding guests. Minutes before the ceremony was to begin, I learned that no chairs had been set out. One of my friends had to contact the wedding coordinator who had the chairs brought over.
* Our wedding cake was thrown in the garbage. Yes, that's right. Thrown in the garbage on the evening of our wedding day. We only found out by accident several days later when we asked a restaurant staffer to cut us a piece for dessert.
Their story is that following our wedding day evening meal the waitress was unsure what to do with the leftover cake. She said my mother told her to throw it out. In actuality, my mother told her to save it under our room number. Even if my mother had told her to throw it out they should have confirmed it with myself or my partner before taking such a decision. And besides, who throws out their wedding cake on the day of their wedding?
We made a strongly worded complaint and the resort manager called us to apologise and to say this definitely should not have happened and they actually have a policy not to throw out cakes until after the guests have left.
In the end, they offered to make another cake for us, free of charge, and have it ready for us on the day of our departure so it would be fresh. This would have improved a rather sour situation, however, when we returned home we discovered the cake was made with a different flavour than what we had requested. Grrrr!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Report response as inappropriate
We have reviewed your comments and wish to apologise for the disappointment you felt during your most precious of occasions. We view weddings as sacred at Rendezvous and therefore take much care and attention in planning and arranging the details of each wedding.
We note that you stayed with us 3 years ago in May 2010 and at that time we did not offer wifi service. Sine then we have upgraded the internet offering and have been offering wifi for the past two years.This service is still in place and is offered complimentary.
We are sorry for any delays as you mentioned regarding correspondence with the Wedding Planner. Generally Sandra is very good and very attentive to our wedding couples. We reviewed your trail of correspondence with her and although she was quite prompt in responding to most of your requests, there were in fact delays in respponses to your enquiries about flowers. Unfortunately, this was becuse there was a need to wait for responses from various local suppliers to secure your preferred flowers. In fact, the supplier had advised us that as irises were rare and seasonal into the island they would have to do some checking with overseas suppliers before being able to confirm your order. Interestingly, you are the only couple to get married with us who has ordered irises. Every effort was made to provide the bouquet you requested and each order was made to suit. The supplier received your flowers on island only a couple of days prior to your wedding day. The usual checks were done to ensure the delivery was in keeping with the order and all of our reocrds show that the delivery was in order. There was no report made at the time that would suggest the delivery was incorrect and so we were of the impression that all was in order. Regarding the set up for your ceremony and chairs being delivered late, we can confirm that the chairs were placed in the wedding location 25 minutes before the wedding. As your group was a small one, it was not required to place them far in advance. The wather on the isalnd can be unpredicatble and therefore for a small group we place chairs close enough to the ceremony to avoid a situtaion where they become drenched by sudden rain showers.
Most regretful was the incident with your cake. This was most unfortunate and really should have been avoided. Although, the employee in question believed that she was taking instruction from a family member, since this incident and having seen how disappointed you were, we have retrained all of staff to confirm such requests directly with the bride or groom to avoid another such incident. In our attempt to replace your cake, the order made previously was repeated and we were assured by the supplier that it was the same type of cake.
Our sincere apologies again for your disappointment.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.