We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute Heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rendezvous Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Rendezvous Resort to your Saves list
Rendezvous Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Malabar Beach, Castries 190, St. Lucia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Castries
Certificate of Excellence 2014
England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Absolute Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

My husband and I visited the Rendezvous for two weeks in November 2011 for our honeymoon. It is amazing and the perfect place to spend your honeymoon relaxing, drinking and eating! We were given a complimentary room upgrade and were in the rooms by the pool. The rooms were clean and comfortable and we were given a lovely welcome gift of a basket of fruit, massage oil and some rum.
The staff were all really lovely and friendly. You never felt pressured to join in the activities and were never pestered by staff. Definitely recommend the cocktail making competition it was brilliant fun.
The only thing I would say is that we were the youngest couple by quite a long way in the first week! We are 25 and felt our age but it didnt bother us.
We have already decided that for our 10 year wedding anniversary we will be coming back again. We never go anywhere twice but this is the exception we loved everything about it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,953 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,342
    422
    111
    46
    32
See reviews for
25
1,614
Solo
0
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (564)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Just returned from 9 nights staying at the Rendezvous.

WHAT A PLACE!!!

From the moment we arrived we were sat on the in the terrace area and given a complementary grapefruit based cocktail before being shown to our room.

When we got to our room the bags had already been taken in and were waiting for us. We opted for the "cheap seats" and had a Garden View room. However we were amazed. The room was beautifully decorated and I believe the entire block of Garden view rooms has been recently renovated. Everything looked brand new and the room was spotless. To our surprise there was a bottle of champagne on ice which we enjoyed on the balcony whilst reading the hotel info and studying the handy map. I was so glad we did not pay the extra to upgrade on the room, as they were no closer to the beach, and looked no more impressive the recently renovated garden rooms, so save your money and you will not be disappointed! The bed was huge and one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in. I miss the sounds of the tree frogs at night.

Having stayed at some larger resorts on other holidays it was lovely to stay in a smaller boutique hotel. It had a much nicer feel to it. the whole place was lovely and relaxed.

Food was plentiful, varied and of excellent quality! I'm not a fussy eater, but even the fussiest would surely not go hungry here! Coffee and pastries available from 6am, Breakfast 7.30-9.30am, Lunch 12.30 - 2.30pm and dinner (most nights) 7.30 - 9.30pm. The view from the Terrace (for breakfast and lunch) is stunning and evening meal is enjoyed (after sunset) with just the waves gently lapping against the shore. Different theme each evening with the beach buffet a personal highlight for me.

You can book the A'la Carte restaurant at reception, we decided to go on our last night, as we couldn't get it booked up as some people seem to book it every night which is a little unfair (so book soon after arriving)

Only thing I would say about the terrace is that for some meals it felt very warm (if there was no breeze) which made eating a little uncomfortable, but the staff keep you topped up with ice cold water which was much appreciated.

Staff were amazing, always smiling and making every effort to ensure your stay was as comfortable as possible. Special mention to Deano. A real character and an absolute legend.

Great beach, choice of pools, secret garden river, plenty of sunbeds so no need to reserve them!

Excellent spa facilities, we had a couples massage which was fantastic.

Don't look at other hotels, there is no need. Book Rendezvous, you will not be disappointed and if you were then i think there is something wrong with you.

would definitely return here!

oh.... No Russians pushing in at the buffet or being loud and obnoxious either, what more could you ask for?

Room Tip: Book the garden view room. They're cheaper but all newly refurbished!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Travelled to St Lucia at the end of July/start of August. Took a 40 minute plane ride from Barbados and the Castries airport is only a 2 minute drive from the hotel. Even though near, I didn't notice any plane noise that lasted more than a few seconds a day. Stayed in a luxury beach front room which was in excellent condition and spotlessly cleaned each day. The food and service at the resort is excellent as are the water sports activities. Spent 9 days at the resort and had 7 massages so recommend the service here as well. Through the hotel I booked a number of activities around the island. Segway tours, helicopter flights, island trips etc

Would recommend this place highly

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windlesham
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We returned to Rendezvous for a 12 night stay at the end of September 2013. We had stayed previously some 15 years ago and been less than impressed at that time.
This time the changes were remarkable and the ambiance was superb - relaxing, comfortable and without formality it seemed like a home rather than a largish hotel. The food whether a la carte or buffet was of a high standard and the staff in all departments consistently provided a service beyond expectations. The Water Sports team and facilities were again well above expectations which was brilliant because that is one of the factors we look for when we go on a Caribbean holiday. Another plus for us was the absence of noisy fellow guests which we have experienced in some Caribbean Resorts and the room sound proofing was superb so no clonking feet or conversation noise from adjacent rooms or rooms above.
Overall a delightful break and we really look forward to returning again in 2014

Room Tip: We had a Premium Garden View room one floor up from Ground level. For us that was ideal a ground flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Stayed here briefly last week. Very quiet with an amazing view of the sunsets from the patio area. The rooms are so comfortable and it looks like the bathrooms were recently remodeled. A very nice place to stay and get away from everything - including TV!! No TV in the room which is amazing - loved it! And Tony who greeted us is just amazing - very nice guy!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We have just returned from a lovely two week stay at The Rendezvous. It was our first time here and we were pleasantly surprised.

We opted for the car transfer from the airport. Although the journey was quite long it was nice to see the island before we settled into our holiday.

On arrival we received a warm welcome from the staff and were checked in very quickly.

The resort itself is very clean. We prefer swimming pools to the sea so we spent most of the day around the spa pool which was very quiet. There was an aquarobic session weekdays with Pauline - who was very dynamic. This was always good fun. We were a party of four and Trevor - who must be the best pool barman in the Caribbean kept us topped up with drinks all day. It was extremely hot and Trevor kept smiling and working hard throughout - he made our holiday.

The food was very good - all buffet style apart from the Trysting Restaurant. We ate at the Trysting three times and the service and food were first class. At breakfast time we particularly enjoyed Veronica's omelettes and scrambled eggs - she is a lovely, lively character.

We stayed in a Verandah suite which although a bit dated was kept spotlessly clean with plenty of clean towels and REN bathroom products.

The downsides that have been mentioned are:-

(1) An airport nearby. This is a small airport with a few planes each day and the noise was minimal and so no real problem.

(2) Cemetery. This is further along the beach and no problem.

(3) Locals on the beach. The people we saw were making the most of the weekend off work and if I lived it St Lucia I would certainly head to the beach. I could see no problem with this.

In the evenings the resort takes on a different look as the trees are lit up - this adds to the atmosphere and is very romantic.

I must mention Ginger the resident cat - he is a lovely friendly boy and always around if you want to feed him.

All in all we had a super holiday and I would highly recommend The Rendezvous - there is plenty to do if you wish - but under no obligation - and if you just want to relax and chill out as we did you will be left free to do so.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, England
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

My wife and I visited St Lucia for our honeymoon at the beginning of September. We had a lovely time and just wanted to share some points and things that may be of interest to readers. I hope you find this useful.

Rooms have UK style sockets
Rooms have air conditioning
Complex is very private except on the beach which is accessible by public
There is a small airport next to the resort but the planes aren't disturbing, only 10 or so a day, first being about 6:55am
Staff are very friendly, although it pays to be polite and wish a good morning/afternoon/evening.
The food is mostly buffet style for breakfast, lunch and dinner, although lunch and dinner varies each day and two days of the week is a-la-carte for dinner on the Terrace (Tuesday and Saturday)
The Trysting Place is very nice but book a table well in advance as it is popular and there is limited seating.
The activities are varied, from Table Tennis, Volleyball, Cricket, Badminton, Archery, Golf (extra cost for lessons), Tennis (on AstroTurf courts - again private lessons are extra), water sports, wind-surfing, tubing, water skiing, snorkeling, boating. There is an activities board near reception that lists all the daily activities you can take part in that are organised by the staff, such as aqua aerobics, group lessons for some of the previously mentioned activities and evening entertainment information.
September to October is the quiet time of the year, therefore some of the activities can be a little quiet with only one or two giving it a go at any one time.
The drinks are fantastic, the Rum cocktails are varied and tasty and there are as many non-alcoholic as alcoholic to choose from.
They have premium branded spirits, so you can have Southern Comfort, Absolut Vodka, Jim Beam whiskey, plus coke, sprite, lager etc.
The verandah suite we stayed in was clean and comfortable.
There is no TV in the room, which we didn't mind, there was a stereo though, not that we used it.
There is free WIFI around the site, but the signal strength in the rooms might be too weak, it's good around the pools and in the Terrace.
The lazy river is a nice spot however there are no parasols so it can get very hot.
The Spa garden pool is a nice spot, although make sure you get your spot early as it can get busy.
Trevor kept everyone everyone topped up with their favourite beverage at the Spa garden pool, this applies to the lazy river too. The evening entertainment is good, we particularly liked the steel band that played and the pianist. A welcome accompaniment to our dinners.
Everything is free on site, all sports, drinks etc. Anything that is not free is quite clearly marked, including vintage champagnes, some wines (although there are always free house wines and champagne).
The scuba PADI course costs, personal training in the gym and private tennis lessons. There is always a free sampler, or group lessons which are free.
I would suggest bringing mostly US dollars and a small amount of EC dollars and nearly everywhere we went prices were quoted in US dollars, especially in all the regular tourist spots. If you are planning to go to the any of the local markets then perhaps EC dollars would be more useful.
There is a small shop on site (near the beach pool) that sells an assortment of items, including clothing, flip-flops, sourvineers, bottled water, international items, such as some cosmetics, chocolate (including Cadburys), deodorants and other toiletries, snack foods and other bits and bobs.
There are towel stations by the beach and at the water garden where you can exchange your wet towels.
You get a nice sense of privacy from the outside while in the resort, except on the beach.
Can recommend the St Lucia by land and sea trip. You get to see lots of the island and experience many different aspects of food, culture and nature.

Things to be aware of
The shower in the verandah suites has an overhead shower head and two extra shower heads that are just above waist height, the idea being that they massage you while you shower, however they can't be controlled or turned off so while your lower back is being sandblasted, your head gets a nice soft spray. This seems to only be a problem for ground floor apartments, although the water pressure is a lot less from the main shower head on upper floor apartments we were told.
The birds that insist on sharing breakfast with you can be annoying at times although the staff are quick to remove dirty plates when you go up for seconds.
There is a resident cat that will also sometimes wander around during meal times, locally known as Ginger. He's friendly though.
We were a honeymoon couple and as such we were told that we should get a complimentary basket, which contains flowers, champagne and a voucher for a free his and hers spa massage. We were told we should get it the evening of our arrival or the following morning, however we didn't. We mention this at lunch the following day to another member of staff and he said he would sort it. Again nothing happened. It took a mention to a third person to finally get the gift. I shouldn't complain, considering it was free. The massage was very relaxing.

In summary, we both had a fantastic time and recommend choosing this venue.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rendezvous Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rendezvous Resort

Address: Malabar Beach, Castries 190, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Castries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Castries
#2 Luxury Hotel in Castries
#2 Spa Hotel in Castries
#3 Romantic Hotel in Castries
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Castries
#5 Family Hotel in Castries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rendezvous Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rendezvous - The Boutique Hotel For Couples. Rendezvous is the only all-inclusive boutique resort in the Caribbean nestled in a tropical garden on a 2-mile stretch of beach, designed for couples who want to spend quality time together in an atmosphere of personalized care. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Rendezvous Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rendezvous Hotel Castries
Rendezvous Hotel St Lucia
Rendevous St Lucia
Rendezvous Resort St. Lucia/Castries

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rendezvous Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.