We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delightful resort.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rendezvous Resort

Save Saved
You added Rendezvous Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rendezvous Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Malabar Beach, Castries 190, St. Lucia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 17 hotels in Castries
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A delightful resort.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

Don't be put off by the location to the small airport. The flight noise is minimal.
The resort made an idyllic Christmas location.The staff are fantastic hosts and the all inclusive is great value as there are a surprising number of things included where other resorts charge extra. The food selection is excellent and good quality. Named brand drinks freely available including the cocktail list.
Would i recommend it? You bet!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,707 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,158
    376
    104
    41
    28
See reviews for
20
1386
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (443)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

This was our second time at rendezvous, following our first visit in july 2009.

This review is nearly 8 months overdue! Me and my partner stayed for 2 weeks in may. As we were getting married we thought we would treat ourselves and opted for the private transfer both ways, which is great as you don't have to wait for other passengers going to the same hotel. On arrival at the hotel we were greeted by the friendly staff and taken to our sea view suite, this room is well worth the extra money for the amazing view of the beach.

It was also my partners birthday and to celebrate this the hotel put flowers, champagne and delicious handmade chocolates in the room.

Our wedding was originally planned for the 10th may, however due to weather conditions the hotel suggested that we moved to the 12th, which we were more than happy to do. There were no additional costs and no problems or issues in doing so. We were very pleased we did as the day was fantastic, the weather was great and everything was how we dreamed it would be. Everything that the hotel had arranged for us for the 10th was there on the 12th. Our wedding planner Sandra was absolutely fantastic from start to finish, she even helped me into my wedding dress! We got married in the gazebo on the beach, this was beautifully decorated with voiles and fresh flowers.

On the night of our wedding we have a lovely candlelit dinner by the lazy river, where Francis was our personal waitress for the evening. The following morning we had a wedding breakfast delivered to the room followed by a couples massage in the spa.

As we were returning guests we were invited to a special dinner with one of the owners and a few other guests and we also given a bottle of rum!

A trip to rendezvous isn't complete without a trip to pointe seraphine. This is where we brought our omega watches at Harry Edwards jewellers and a lovely diamond bracelet from diamonds international.

We shall be returning this year to celebrate our first year anniversary!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResortManagementRDV, General Manager at Rendezvous Resort, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear Guests
Thank you for your review. We know that you think you were late psoting this but it is better late than never. We appreciate and welcome a glowing review like yours at any time. We use them as a motivation tool for our employees. We are very pleased that your so very special day turned out to your satisfaction. Weddings are so improtant to us at Rendezvous and we truly enjoy making couples happy.

We wish you a great married life and hope we get to host you again, perhaps for your anniversaries.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Stayed in October for 10 days. The food was delicious with a large variety. Top of the shelf drinks. Staff attentive and pleasant. Stayed in a Beachfront Cottage but wouldn't do so again. Look forward to returning later this year.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Over 20 trips to the caribbean and this was by far the best! First off, the St. Lucian people are some of the friendliest you'll meet, but this is not a developed country. Use common sense.

The trip from the airport is long, and the road, while in good condition, is extremely hilly and winding. If you have the means, I strongly recommend the helicopter transfer. It leaves from the international airport and lands right beside the Rendezvous. This cuts your hotel transfer from 70 minutes to about 12. Well worth the extra.

Check in at the hotel is excellent. Your bags are taken to your room and you are escorted to the "front desk", where you sit in comfort and the staff arrange your room. No standing in line for ages! You're then escorted to your room where your luggage is waiting.

The hotel is old (built in 1966) but very well maintained. Rooms are comfortable, not cramped and not huge. We were in the veranda suites, which are farthest from the beech, but still only a 2 minute walk away from the restaurant and beech.

The spa is excellent, the fitness facility is more than adequate for the number of guests with goods quality, modern machines, free weights, mats, nice shower facility above, which double as a courtesy room if you have a late flight out. Never saw more than 1 other person in the gym while working out.

The beech is a granular sand, with some shells in it. Not a white "icing sugar" sand like Nassau or Cayo Coco, but nice enough to walk on and entrance to the ocean is easy. Loads of loungers, covered day beds and palapas on the beech. You never worry about finding a spot. The beech bar is close, but there is also excellent waitstaff on the beech. They have a flag system. Put up your flag and waitstaff shows up right away. Even when its down, they'll drop around occasionally to see if you need anything. Water sports are all there; Hobbi Cats, Wind-surfing, Water-skiing, Wakeboarding, Diving and snorkelling as well as sunset cruises. I wakeboarded daily and was impressed by the quality of the equipment. Not brand new, but good.

There are 2 restaurants. Often we've found there is no sense in booking an all-inclusives a-la-carte, but in this case, Trysting Place is worth going to. The menu is actually different from the buffet and changes twice weekly. That said, the buffet is small, but excellent. Different foods are served daily and there are always "daily specials" prepared fresh. If you like seafood, you'll find it as an option 3 times daily, always prepared differently and always great! St. Lucians cook with flavour, but not too much spice. If you like heat, there are always a yellow and red hot sauce available. The red is Scotch Bonnet peppers. Use Caution! There is an afternoon tea at 4:00pm. Check it out, there are some gems available. In a word, the food is great. The best we've had at an all-inclusive.

The staff is fantastic! Sooo friendly, and not in a fake, "I need to try to make you happy" way. It really feels like you're a guest at a good friends place who wants you to have a great time. They remember your name, what you like to drink, where you like to sit. By day 3, every bar had my drink ready for me by the time I got up to it. They see you walking up and get it for you. Love it!

So should you go here? Depends. If you like a lively nightlife, nope. This place is for couples who want to spend time together. If you like a big, bustling atmosphere, nope. This place is quiet and chill. If you like a subservient staff, nope. This place has a warm, friendly staff that won't hesitate to ask you a personal question. Do you need room service? Sorry, not available. If you and you're honey are looking for a totally relaxed vacation on a good beach with great food and friendly service, you should go. We rarely go back to the same resort twice, but we are missing the Rendezvous and will return in March. I can't wait!

Room Tip: Veranda Suites are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Stayed for 2 weeks beginning of Dec12. The hotel is fantastic little hotel, large enough to get a bit of space away from others on the beach, but small enough that within a few days you will know the names of quite a few of the staff and other guests (should you want to).

The rooms were great. We had a upgrade to a seaview for one night on arrival as our garden view was not ready (plus $50 spa voucher, bottle of bubbly and 2 t-shirts as an apology!). Seaview was huge, with nice balcony and amazing bathroom. Garden view, whilst smaller and nowhere near as good a view, was more modern and looked newly refurbed. And to be honest, the resort is so nice, you won't spend that long in the room so go for the cheaper garden view.

All facilities seemed well kept, modern and clean and there always seemed to be plenty of staff around to help/clean/serve etc.

I should point out the main highlight for us was the staff. Almost to a man they were wonderful. Really friendly and happy. Whether you are playing volleyball with Josie or propping up the pool bar with Eric. They seeemed to really enjoy the work. The activity guys seem to be there from morning to night and yet still laughing and joking, and teh hotel has a policy that each must find a couple of different guest sto dine with each night, which may sound intrusive, but is not at all. They will only ask once they know you and they are great dining companions for the evening.

Having not done a proper all-inclusive before, I was nervous about the food, but actually found it really good. The buffet restaurant (Terrac) has a huge choice changing daily, and the food is tasty and well cooked. Rather than trying to find things we liked, we had to try and stop ourselves eating a bit of everything. Half a stone gained in 2 weeks is testament to this!

You can book the indoor Trysting place for french alacarte a couple fo days in advance at no extrat costs. We did this once and the food was good, but to be honest, we can eat French food indoors whenever we like in London, and much preffered the the Terrace resturant where we were sat by the beach watching the waves crash in.

Both pools are nice, though we preferred to be by the beach.

Pros:
- Staff are brilliant. All really friendly and always seem to be happy.
- Room (Garden View) was in great condition, looked newly refurbed and was modern.
- Room (Sea View) was huge, with nice balcony and wonderful bathroom.
- Resort is not too big, not too small.
- Facilities for sports are great and there is plenty of free stuff organised every day. Be it something like watersports or just bocceball (beach petanque)
- Buffet had a huge variety of choices, changed nightly and was surprisingly good quality.
- All-inclusive beer/cocktails/spirirts at the bars are great.
- Couples only so no sreaming kids. But a nice mix of guests and ages, not all 'oldies', but not full of noisey 'young-uns' too. And despite being couples only, it's not only honeymooners or anniversaries so don't be put off.

Cons:
- Some of the nightly entertainment was a little bit cheesy, but still fun!
- Extra excursions are quite pricey. You could save money booking outside of the hotel.
- All-inclusive wine was pretty ropey. Rose fine for lunch, otherwise stick to beer/cocktails/champagne.
- All inclusive 'Champagne' in the champagne bar is either so-so house champagne, or may also be cava/prosecco etc. It's still nice enough, but don't expect to be drinking a famous brand you've heard of before.
- Despite being predominantly Brit resort, seems to suffer from people claiming the best beach beds with their towels at 6am every morning before going back to bed (Shame on you guys! Let me never catch you complaining about the Germans again!!).
- Little bit on it's own, if you like exploring by foot. But taxis are easily booked.

To summarise, we thought te place was brilliant. Lovely location and facilities, great for just relaxing by the sea with a cocktail if you want, or filling the whole day with sports activities should you wish. But it really is the staff that really make the place so great. We paid £1.7k each for 2 weeks (excl flights) and compared to many other resorts we thought this was really good value. Met many other couples there who raved about it compared to other places they'd been like Sandals, and the place seemed to have lots of couples coming back for their 2nd, 3rd, or 4th visit (and one on their 12th!!!).

p.s. Unless you're unlucky with the taxi driver the transfer is really not that bad. Took about 1hr for our return journey. If you can though, treat yourself to the heli-transfer on arrival. Takes 10mins, you get to see the island, feel like a rockstar and hit the beach/bar that bit earlier.

Room Tip: 106 Sea View room was great. Large with nice balcony and great bathroom. 206 Garden view, was small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

This review is about 1.5 years late. My wife and I stayed for about a week back in spring of 2011. The resort staff was great; they are all about making sure the guests have a great time. The resort itself is of modest size, is clean, has a nice beach and we had a great ocean side patio.

The resort is near a small airport, but it didn't bother us much. Other than that, the only average thing was the food. They had a rotating menu and we found that the nights where they had more local flavors was awesome; it's just the other nights (e.g. asian, italian, etc.) that was so-so.

Be sure to take advantage of the access to their sister property (we took a trip to so some snorkeling and just followed the boat back up to sister property and they had a shuttle back). We also took a day trip to hike the Pitons and visit other sites around the island, which we booked through the resort.

Tip: If you are not used to wearing a wedding ring (like i was), be sure to take care of it on the beach and in the water. I had lost it on the beach and spent an hour or 2 looking for it. The staff was super helpful and helped with the search. Unfortunately, we couldn't find it. However, to my amazement, I got an email from them 2 weeks later saying they found it in the sand! They mailed it to me and all was fine. Another example of the great staff.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one week early December , except for the weather which we have no control over, we had the most Wonderful time Fine Wine Fabulous Food and entertaining company made for a Great Holiday . The Staff were so kind and attentive but discreet and courteous . The Island is Beautiful so PLEASE take time to have a look around

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rendezvous Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rendezvous Resort

Address: Malabar Beach, Castries 190, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Castries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Castries
#2 Luxury Hotel in Castries
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Castries
#2 Spa Hotel in Castries
#3 Romantic Hotel in Castries
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Castries
#4 Family Hotel in Castries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rendezvous Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rendezvous - The Boutique Hotel For Couples. Rendezvous is the only all-inclusive boutique resort in the Caribbean nestled in a tropical garden on a 2-mile stretch of beach, designed for couples who want to spend quality time together in an atmosphere of personalized care. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Regatta Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Jetsetter, Venere and Otel so you can book your Rendezvous Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rendezvous Hotel Castries
Rendezvous Hotel St Lucia
Rendevous St Lucia
Rendezvous Resort St. Lucia/Castries

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rendezvous Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.