We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boring unless your 100 years old” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Rendezvous Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Rendezvous Resort to your Saves list
Rendezvous Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Malabar Beach, Castries 190, St. Lucia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Castries
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Boring unless your 100 years old”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

I'll start with the good the staff & hotel and grounds are wonderful and the planes & cemetery are no problem.
The bad- it is the most boring hotel & resort I have ever stayed in- there is no atmosphere at all. The age group this is suited for is elderly people. The food is average not spectacular as others are saying.The beach is not great go more north of the island to get the beautiful beaches. St Lucia is a wonderful island itself. The hotel needs to seriously liven up I heard the accousist version of titanic theme tune 500 times. The rooms have no television either! Also a handy tip bring a torch as the evening lighting is very dim. All in all it its a very tranquil resort and I don't want to put people off but you must only go to this hotel if you want to do nothing & if saga holidays are your thing.
Conclusion- anyone under the age of 40 choose a different hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResortManagementRDV, General Manager at Rendezvous Resort, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you for your comments. The resort was designed to give our guests an opportunity to find time for each other. We like our guests to spend time together so that they may reinvigorate their relationship, rediscover the fun of being together and escape the humdrum of day-to-day life. Although we make lots of options in terms of activity available to our couples including but not limited to yoga, pilates, bike tours, volleyball, tennis, archery, aqua aerobics, water sports, mixology, scuba diving, live entertainment and dancing each evening, we do not pressure our couples into doing anything. We receive couples of a wide range of age groups but mainly ages 35 - 45 and we are told by our uests often that the atmosphere is one of camaraderie amongst guests and staff. We are sorry we did not meet your expectations.

Yhasmine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,809 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,233
    391
    109
    46
    30
See reviews for
22
1,480
Solo
0
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (496)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Rendezvous was a beautiful resort, pretty typical of what we were expecting out of an all inclusive option. The only thing we were not expecting was that we would be the only American Honeymooners. Awesome being right under the small airport, cool beach views when small planes were taking off and landing (not too often, never was annoying). All the buildings, pools, activities were well put together. Food was just ok (might have been only ok because it was mostly british and local cuisine).

Room Tip: We purchased our package via Luxury Link which had a pretty good deal. Even though the food is all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

My husband and I decided to take a risk with the weather and stayed here at the very end of July. Thankfully we were very fortunate and it only really rained on our last day. We stayed in a garden view room which had just been renovated and was right next to the lazy river. The room itself was lovely and modern, didn't have any problems with anything leaking/not working.

The whole place is lovely but the one thing that really impressed us was the quality of the food. O often find that when you go all inclusive, the food can be somewhat lacking. Not so at the Rendezvous. The chefs there were absolutely fantastic. The food was different every night and was always fresh. You never got the impression it had been sitting under heat lamps for hours. The beach BBQ was excellent.

The staff were on the whole lovely, all though the odd one seemed a bit straight faced. Mostly though, they couldn't do enough to help you.

If we had stayed longer then I think we probably would have needed to go on some trips or something. Although my husband did make the most of the free water sports and discovered that he sucks at windsurfing! For a week all inclusive just relaxing then I don't think you coud easily beat this place in terms of value for money, beautiful location and gorgeous food. Oh, and the "airport noise" is really only an issue if you're the kind of person who finds fault with everything. It was barely noticeable!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

As my title expresses, i could not be happier or more impressed with my recent stay at Rendezvous. My partner and i had a very relaxing 5 night stay in one of the newly refurbished PREMIUM GARDEN VIEW rooms. The room was lovely, bright, spacious and contained the most amazingly comfortable bed we have ever slept in! trust me, it was a king size cloud that will guarantee a great night sleep. The resort philosophy is perfect i believe. Rendezvous offers the chance to relax and just take in the beautiful surroundings whilst be served by one of the resorts very friendly and hard working staff that will come around regularly and offer you refreshing cocktails or you can take advantage of the great activities that are available, such as Water Ski, Tubing, Wake Boarding, Tennis just to name a few. There is no pressure to do these activities, they are just there if you feel like it. We highly enjoyed the opportunity to learn how to water ski etc. While i am mentioning the staff, they are a credit to themselves right the way from the kitchen staff through to the sports team, everyone does a great job of making you feel very welcome and great at looking after the guests. They all looked like they enjoyed their jobs and are always happy to make your stay as comfortable as possible.
There is also a great choice of pools at Rendezvous and even though the resort was 98% full during our stay it never felt busy or crowded as the guests are very spread out and enjoying the various beautiful areas to relax on the grounds.
The food was faultless with a great choice each morning, lunch and evening. Different themes each night keep the choices varied and the Thursday night beach BBQ offering some great meat feasts that the British weather just didn't allow us the chance this year. The bars do offer branded drinks so this adds to the choices.

The airport nearby is certainly not a problem, these are just small local flights that are only one every 2 hours or so, they really do not effect the enjoyment of your stay, in fact they are gone within a few seconds so i cant see how it is enough to effect anybody.

We would certainly stay at Rendezvous again and easily recommend it people wanting to visit St Lucia and we certainly had that feeling of not wanting to leave on our last day.

Go on, see for yourselves. 5/5

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This was our third visit to the Rendezvous.We noticed some minor differences this year.The details seemed to be missing. Top shelf alcohol is not available. We were told they are now using the local brands only. The food quality and selections have also deteriorated from last year. The verandah rooms are in dire need of an upgrade. Our first night the toilet leaked. It seemed to be repaired quickly. The next day the toilet was leaking again. It was not a huge problem but nonetheless a little irritating.Be aware that the room safes do not accommodate a laptop.They found us an older safe.to use. The doors on the furniture did not close properly if at all. The in room fridge sounded like it was on its last legs. We unplugged it so we could sleep. The shower door seal was cracked leaving water on the floor after showering. The front reception staff excluding Andre were not helpful. I used our room telephone to make two local calls due to the staff being unhelpful. The lounge chairs by the spa pool were almost all coming apart. The gardens are lovely but again are not as nice as previous years. The attention to detail is missing.

These were some of the minor things we noticed from our return visit.

The staff is wonderful . They are to be commended. The only staff member we really disliked was
Josie. Pauline, Shane,Mimi me,Angela,Carmen,Gloria,Candice,Myra, and Deano are all exceptional. There are many more that I have not mentioned that are equally deserving.

We enjoyed our stay at the Rendezvous but we were not wowed this year. We met two couples from our previous visit. We planned meeting again because we had such a good time last year. They also noticed a big change in the food quality .

St.Lucia is a beautiful island . You will enjoy your time there.

We are not likely to return to the Rendezvous but would return to St. Lucia.

Room Tip: The garden view or beach front rooms have been renovated. The seaside rooms were renovated minimally...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResortManagementRDV, Manager at Rendezvous Resort, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you for the support you have given to Rendezvous. We regret your disappointment on this your third stay. All feedback from our guests is taken quite seriously and it was important to us to respond to some of your concerns as they touch on some of the services that we believe we do well. We have no record of not serving top shelf liquor and have remained consistent at delivering top brands such as Absolut, Barcardi, Courvoisier, Jack Daniels, Johnny Walker, Remy Martin, to name a few. All of these brands are displayed on the shelves at all the bars on the resort and are served to any and all guests. Our Bars team does promote cocktails made with local brands simply because we are patriotic and as with any other aspect of our culture and beautiful island, we want our guests to experience it. You may not be aware but our local distillery has received many accolades for local rums such a s Chairman’s Reserve and Admiral Rodney.

We apologise for the problems in your room. We are aware that although we accommodated you in the room category you reserved, we were unable for the first 3 nights to provide the room number you specifically requested . We were under the impression that we had resolved the toilet leak to your satisfaction at the time it was brought to our attention and that there were no other problems in the room. We are sorry if this was not the case.

Your comments on the food have also been noted and although guests in general at the time you stayed, registered their enjoyment of the food in the guests survey, we are disappointed that we did not meet your expectations this time around. Our food offerings are constantly being reviewed as we aim to provide fresh, good quality and delicious meals.

It is great to hear that you continued to enjoy the staff and most aspects of your stay and we hope to have the opportunity to host you again.

Yhasmine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

This was a beautiful resort upon a beautiful island.

The staff were great, friendly and respectful if you just wanted to sun yourself and relax in peace.

The land and sea safari was superb, Romain aka Lettuce was a wonderful guide, both knowledgable and entertaining. A fantastic way to see and understand the island. Who knew pineapples took so long to grow and that cashew nuts came off of fruit the size of mangoes!?

The food was varied and of a high standard. They often showcased local produce and cuisine but not so prominent that you had no other choices. Different themes every night and a changing menu at the a la carte restaurant meant plenty of variety.

Word of warning, if you are a light sleeper you will want to take ear plugs. The noise from the local tree frogs is quite something at night!

Loved every minute. Ignore the bad reviews regarding planes, hardly noticed and the graveyard is discreet and well away from the resort.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts England
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We don't need to say much everyone else has said it all.

Great hotel, great staff, beautiful grounds, good food, Verandah Suite Upper level fantastic big rooms with great verandahs, might need a bit of updating but in true caribbean colours.

We have had a few holidays at Le Sport and loved it but didn't even bother to take the opportunity to spend a day there we were so comfortable at Rendezvous.

Nothing negative to say..we will definetly return.

No need to take travel adapters from England

Room Tip: Verandah,upper floor large verandah which is great in the morning with a cup of coffee !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rendezvous Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rendezvous Resort

Address: Malabar Beach, Castries 190, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Castries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Castries
#2 Luxury Hotel in Castries
#2 Spa Hotel in Castries
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Castries
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Castries
#3 Romantic Hotel in Castries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rendezvous Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rendezvous - The Boutique Hotel For Couples. Rendezvous is the only all-inclusive boutique resort in the Caribbean nestled in a tropical garden on a 2-mile stretch of beach, designed for couples who want to spend quality time together in an atmosphere of personalized care. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Regatta Hotels, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Rendezvous Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rendezvous Hotel Castries
Rendezvous Hotel St Lucia
Rendevous St Lucia
Rendezvous Resort St. Lucia/Castries

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rendezvous Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.