We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely wonderful week away.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rendezvous Resort

Save Saved
You added Rendezvous Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rendezvous Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Malabar Beach, Castries 190, St. Lucia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 17 hotels in Castries
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Absolutely wonderful week away.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

My husband and I decided to take a risk with the weather and stayed here at the very end of July. Thankfully we were very fortunate and it only really rained on our last day. We stayed in a garden view room which had just been renovated and was right next to the lazy river. The room itself was lovely and modern, didn't have any problems with anything leaking/not working.

The whole place is lovely but the one thing that really impressed us was the quality of the food. O often find that when you go all inclusive, the food can be somewhat lacking. Not so at the Rendezvous. The chefs there were absolutely fantastic. The food was different every night and was always fresh. You never got the impression it had been sitting under heat lamps for hours. The beach BBQ was excellent.

The staff were on the whole lovely, all though the odd one seemed a bit straight faced. Mostly though, they couldn't do enough to help you.

If we had stayed longer then I think we probably would have needed to go on some trips or something. Although my husband did make the most of the free water sports and discovered that he sucks at windsurfing! For a week all inclusive just relaxing then I don't think you coud easily beat this place in terms of value for money, beautiful location and gorgeous food. Oh, and the "airport noise" is really only an issue if you're the kind of person who finds fault with everything. It was barely noticeable!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,705 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,156
    376
    104
    41
    28
See reviews for
20
1384
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (443)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

As my title expresses, i could not be happier or more impressed with my recent stay at Rendezvous. My partner and i had a very relaxing 5 night stay in one of the newly refurbished PREMIUM GARDEN VIEW rooms. The room was lovely, bright, spacious and contained the most amazingly comfortable bed we have ever slept in! trust me, it was a king size cloud that will guarantee a great night sleep. The resort philosophy is perfect i believe. Rendezvous offers the chance to relax and just take in the beautiful surroundings whilst be served by one of the resorts very friendly and hard working staff that will come around regularly and offer you refreshing cocktails or you can take advantage of the great activities that are available, such as Water Ski, Tubing, Wake Boarding, Tennis just to name a few. There is no pressure to do these activities, they are just there if you feel like it. We highly enjoyed the opportunity to learn how to water ski etc. While i am mentioning the staff, they are a credit to themselves right the way from the kitchen staff through to the sports team, everyone does a great job of making you feel very welcome and great at looking after the guests. They all looked like they enjoyed their jobs and are always happy to make your stay as comfortable as possible.
There is also a great choice of pools at Rendezvous and even though the resort was 98% full during our stay it never felt busy or crowded as the guests are very spread out and enjoying the various beautiful areas to relax on the grounds.
The food was faultless with a great choice each morning, lunch and evening. Different themes each night keep the choices varied and the Thursday night beach BBQ offering some great meat feasts that the British weather just didn't allow us the chance this year. The bars do offer branded drinks so this adds to the choices.

The airport nearby is certainly not a problem, these are just small local flights that are only one every 2 hours or so, they really do not effect the enjoyment of your stay, in fact they are gone within a few seconds so i cant see how it is enough to effect anybody.

We would certainly stay at Rendezvous again and easily recommend it people wanting to visit St Lucia and we certainly had that feeling of not wanting to leave on our last day.

Go on, see for yourselves. 5/5

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This was our third visit to the Rendezvous.We noticed some minor differences this year.The details seemed to be missing. Top shelf alcohol is not available. We were told they are now using the local brands only. The food quality and selections have also deteriorated from last year. The verandah rooms are in dire need of an upgrade. Our first night the toilet leaked. It seemed to be repaired quickly. The next day the toilet was leaking again. It was not a huge problem but nonetheless a little irritating.Be aware that the room safes do not accommodate a laptop.They found us an older safe.to use. The doors on the furniture did not close properly if at all. The in room fridge sounded like it was on its last legs. We unplugged it so we could sleep. The shower door seal was cracked leaving water on the floor after showering. The front reception staff excluding Andre were not helpful. I used our room telephone to make two local calls due to the staff being unhelpful. The lounge chairs by the spa pool were almost all coming apart. The gardens are lovely but again are not as nice as previous years. The attention to detail is missing.

These were some of the minor things we noticed from our return visit.

The staff is wonderful . They are to be commended. The only staff member we really disliked was
Josie. Pauline, Shane,Mimi me,Angela,Carmen,Gloria,Candice,Myra, and Deano are all exceptional. There are many more that I have not mentioned that are equally deserving.

We enjoyed our stay at the Rendezvous but we were not wowed this year. We met two couples from our previous visit. We planned meeting again because we had such a good time last year. They also noticed a big change in the food quality .

St.Lucia is a beautiful island . You will enjoy your time there.

We are not likely to return to the Rendezvous but would return to St. Lucia.

Room Tip: The garden view or beach front rooms have been renovated. The seaside rooms were renovated minimally...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResortManagementRDV, Manager at Rendezvous Resort, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you for the support you have given to Rendezvous. We regret your disappointment on this your third stay. All feedback from our guests is taken quite seriously and it was important to us to respond to some of your concerns as they touch on some of the services that we believe we do well. We have no record of not serving top shelf liquor and have remained consistent at delivering top brands such as Absolut, Barcardi, Courvoisier, Jack Daniels, Johnny Walker, Remy Martin, to name a few. All of these brands are displayed on the shelves at all the bars on the resort and are served to any and all guests. Our Bars team does promote cocktails made with local brands simply because we are patriotic and as with any other aspect of our culture and beautiful island, we want our guests to experience it. You may not be aware but our local distillery has received many accolades for local rums such a s Chairman’s Reserve and Admiral Rodney.

We apologise for the problems in your room. We are aware that although we accommodated you in the room category you reserved, we were unable for the first 3 nights to provide the room number you specifically requested . We were under the impression that we had resolved the toilet leak to your satisfaction at the time it was brought to our attention and that there were no other problems in the room. We are sorry if this was not the case.

Your comments on the food have also been noted and although guests in general at the time you stayed, registered their enjoyment of the food in the guests survey, we are disappointed that we did not meet your expectations this time around. Our food offerings are constantly being reviewed as we aim to provide fresh, good quality and delicious meals.

It is great to hear that you continued to enjoy the staff and most aspects of your stay and we hope to have the opportunity to host you again.

Yhasmine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

This was a beautiful resort upon a beautiful island.

The staff were great, friendly and respectful if you just wanted to sun yourself and relax in peace.

The land and sea safari was superb, Romain aka Lettuce was a wonderful guide, both knowledgable and entertaining. A fantastic way to see and understand the island. Who knew pineapples took so long to grow and that cashew nuts came off of fruit the size of mangoes!?

The food was varied and of a high standard. They often showcased local produce and cuisine but not so prominent that you had no other choices. Different themes every night and a changing menu at the a la carte restaurant meant plenty of variety.

Word of warning, if you are a light sleeper you will want to take ear plugs. The noise from the local tree frogs is quite something at night!

Loved every minute. Ignore the bad reviews regarding planes, hardly noticed and the graveyard is discreet and well away from the resort.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts England
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We don't need to say much everyone else has said it all.

Great hotel, great staff, beautiful grounds, good food, Verandah Suite Upper level fantastic big rooms with great verandahs, might need a bit of updating but in true caribbean colours.

We have had a few holidays at Le Sport and loved it but didn't even bother to take the opportunity to spend a day there we were so comfortable at Rendezvous.

Nothing negative to say..we will definetly return.

No need to take travel adapters from England

Room Tip: Verandah,upper floor large verandah which is great in the morning with a cup of coffee !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Second visit; still excellent; staff friendly; facilities first class love the swim up bar and the excellent water sports; food always good and entertainment just right for us;Piano bar so cool and friendly met some great people. Nice upgrade to Verandah room :) Thanks Expedia? Hotel can sort hotel transfers via email excellent. Will go back again; it is our special place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We have just returned from 2 weeks holiday at the Rendezvous, St. Lucia.
Everything was excellent, the accommodation, staff (very friendly and helpful).
The gardens were so beautiful, as was the beach. Plenty of sunbeds etc.
This Hotel ticks all the boxes and we will certainly go there again. l
The entertainment team were very talented. The games on the beach were very funny and popular. The evening entertainment was varied and enjoyable.

Room Tip: Pool view rooms have just been refurbished and they are excellent although all grades of room are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rendezvous Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rendezvous Resort

Address: Malabar Beach, Castries 190, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Castries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Castries
#2 Spa Hotel in Castries
#2 Luxury Hotel in Castries
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Castries
#3 Romantic Hotel in Castries
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Castries
#4 Family Hotel in Castries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rendezvous Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rendezvous - The Boutique Hotel For Couples. Rendezvous is the only all-inclusive boutique resort in the Caribbean nestled in a tropical garden on a 2-mile stretch of beach, designed for couples who want to spend quality time together in an atmosphere of personalized care. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Regatta Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Jetsetter, Venere and Otel so you can book your Rendezvous Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rendezvous Hotel Castries
Rendezvous Hotel St Lucia
Rendevous St Lucia
Rendezvous Resort St. Lucia/Castries

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rendezvous Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.