We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spices and Rum” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Castries Market

Castries Market
Castries, St. Lucia
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 3 Shopping in Castries
Type: Flea/ Street Markets, Shopping
Activities: Shopping
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A lively and colorful market bursting with tropical fruit and vegetables.
Goa
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Spices and Rum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

A nice market in the heart of the city. Lots of restaurants in the area serving local food. Many stalls in the market selling all different types of spices and Local Rum.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    60
    35
    15
    13
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swanage
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Lots of Souvenirs, but Hard to Browse”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

I went there twice. There was lots of stuff to buy, from spiced rum to wood carvings and lots of fun jewellery. I intended to do some early Christmas shopping there, picking up fun trinkets, but the second time I went there were no cruise ships in so we were practically the only tourists and got hustled the minute we looked at anything, so I moved on quickly and came away almost empty-handed. So oddly, my advice is to go when it is packed so that you have a chance to look at things in your own time.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Didn't much care for this market.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

While in St. Lucia for the day on a cruise we went to this market and the one across the street. While i did buy a t-shirt, I liked this market the least of any we went to on the 6 island tour. I found the vendors to be mildly aggressive and would follow you after you said no, trying to get you to buy something. Also almost every stall had the same basic items so it became redundant saying no to almost everyone.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Worth a look”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

such a contrast between the duty free mall that is enticing the rich cruise ship passengers that stop for a day trip to St Lucia versus the poverty of life in Castries market (the 2 and next door to each other). As said by many before the stalls all seem to sell the same mix and match of local produce and crafts. Take a Piton beer in one of the small bars and people watch. Worth a visit...

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Chritmas Shopping at Castries market in St. Lucia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

I just returned yesterday from my second visit to St. Lucia in 3 months. Love the Island, love the people. I have read some of the reviews from others on here stating they felt unsafe. I have never felt threatened here, and have shopped 2 times with my daughters, and this last time alone. I took a taxi from my resort to the Castries market to purchase Christmas gifts for family and friends. The people are there to make money not to entertain rude tourists. I knew before going what I was looking for. One of the vendors and I had a good little visit, and realized we shared the same birthday. They are great people and as I said before I have never felt unsafe or threatened at this market. They have good quality locally made items for sale in the market. Local spices, T-shirts, beautiful baskets and wood carvings. Take the time to visit with them, they love to tell you about their great Island and culture, even how the products they sell are made. After returning home, my daughter wanted some of the spice baskets I purchased to give as Christmas gifts...wish I had purchased more...

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Castries Market also viewed

Castries, Castries Quarter
St. Lucia, Caribbean
 
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
 

Been to Castries Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castries Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.