We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Family Resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort to your Saves list
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Labrelotte Bay | Saint Lucia, Castries, St. Lucia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Sun Sparkly Beach Escape!
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Castries
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Family Resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2007

We stayed at the Windjammer Landing for 7 nights in May/07 through a RCI exchange. This was our first trip with our baby...the resort is wonderful for babies and kids. The beach is not rough and is not your typical aqua colour...however is a nice beach. It is recommended to fly into the George Charles (SLU) airport (about 15 minute drive), Hewanorra International Airport is approximately 1 1/2 hour drive (very hilly and windy roads)...we drove the whole island and timed it from this airport to the resort. We rented a small car and managed to get everywhere we wanted to go...a 4x4 is suggested, as it would be nice when going off the main roads. They drive on the left side. Most of the main road around the island is newly paved (May/07). The resort itself is well maintained. Staff are very friendly. We stayed in a 2 bedroom/3 washroom w/full kitchen - Estate Villa (Villa 402). Our villa had a parking spot (most didn't) so we were able to park at our villa. There is parking by the main lobby for guests. The shuttle is always there immediately when called...although we didn't use it much. The villa had lots of room (included a washer and dryer) and beautiful view to the ocean with a private pool. The kitchen had everything you needed...however the gas oven did not work, just the stove top. Super J IGA is a close drive to Rodney Bay....groceries were reasonably priced. The beach always had chairs available. Overall, we would recommend the Windjammer Landing.

  • Liked — Lots of space
  • Disliked — Oven did not work
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,623 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    929
    451
    135
    72
    36
See reviews for
492
640
18
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (419)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brighton
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2007

We were married here last November & couldn't have chosen a better setting. The resort is beautiful, fabulous food ( definitely recommend the AI option), friendly staff. Our wedding coordinator, Simone, arranged everything superbly. We are an older couple, our children & grandchildren & friends joined us for the occasion & everyone loved it. All the villas were beautiful and serviced daily. We plan to return. Can't recommend it highly enough.

Stayed November 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plettenberg Bay Western Cape
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2007

Having not been there for many years it was still as good as I remembered. Great rooms, lovely beach and you could not find a more helpful. Would not pick anywere else on St Lucia. Will be back

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna VA
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2007

My wife and I just came back from a wonderful 6 days at WJL! We stayed in a 3BR villa mid way up the "hill" and had sweeping and magnificent views of the Carribean Sea (you get great views only by being at high elevations!). The hills that everyone talks about are for real -- very steep and not recommended to walk at night -- but certainly fine for the able-bodied during the day. The shuttle service the hotel runs around the facility - from Villa to Villa are very reliable and quick -- so getting up and down is not an issue.

The villa was very well maintained, nicely appointed, with firm comfy beds and high quality linens. The daily cleaning and turndown service was excellent. We had a plunge pool in our villa that was super clean and wonderful to have (as we used it night and day!). The hotel prepares you with bug spray, netting and a bug repellent system -- but the bugs were not an issue at all for us all week. The kitchen in our villa was fine and the den area had television, vcr and dvd. We had a huge assortment of books as well.

The activities were really super. We played tennis on very well maintained artificial grass surface during the day and under the lights at night. Sailing is excellent on the bay, snorkelling was terrific and the beach splendid. We also did banana boat riding and had fun on the "water trampoline" off the coast. The atheletic facility/gym can use an upgrade. People are completely left alone to do as they please, lay in the sun, or engage in the array of activities. They have established a very balanced and very relaxing (key for us) environment.

The food is classic carribean. No meal was better then a 7. There is one place for breakfast, 3 for lunch and 4 for dinner. Breakfast is the best meal of the day with a wide selection of fresh fruits and hot and cold breakfast -- incl daily made to order omelets. Lunch is pretty standard fare -- but the widest selection is at Jammers over looking the beach that serves pretty good food all day long. Dinner is good -- with the winner being Papa Don's Italian. Face it -- you are not going to the Carribean for the Haute Cuisine.

The overall service was very good. A little confusion upon check in and check out -- but overall the people were very attentive, extraordinarily nice and friendly, and were there to make sure that all was taken care of.

The construction during the week was a non-issue for the most part. The discount is fair -- as you are inconvenienced if you want to walk down the hill to the beach/pool/restaurants. But there was no noise, dust, etc. That may change later -- but in week 3 of construction -- it was almost unnoticeable.

We would definitely go back to WJL...and may even bring the kids (who could have fun there also).

Stayed May 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2007

The Windjammer Landing was more than we could have hoped for in a Honeymoon destination. Although we were initially put in a room with 2 twin beds, the next day we were upgraded to a beautiful one bedroom villa with an amazing view. The staff at Windjammer were incredibly helpful without being overbearing. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would highly recommedn this as a honeymoon destination. While there were some children, the beach is big enough to stay away if that's what you prefer. The Windjammer provided the perfect balance between being social and in the middle of the action while still having an intimate honeymoon. We tried all of the restaurants at Windjammer except for the Upper Deck and found all of our meals to be of extremely high quality. The spa services were great (I highly recommend couples massages on the terrace of your villa) and the concierge desk was so helpful in arranging for tours, dinner reservations, candlelight dinner arrangements, etc. etc. etc. My husband and I seasoned travelers and have experienced many different levels of resorts. On that note, we cannot say enough great things about this resort. We loved it for its personality and the fact that it wasn't huge or overly commercialized like a resort such as Sandals. Windjammer helped to make our Honeymoon more than we could have imagined.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2007

Hello
Just to over-ride any negatives you read, this place is fabulous. It is pure unpretentious luxury. I think you need to consider who wrote the review - I am a 32 year old well-traveled Londoner who doesn't usually write on TA but just had to. We've just got back from a week at Windjammer and would go back again without any hesitation.

Yes it is on a steep hill which is why you have unparalled views of the Caribbean sea. Breath-taking views which make it hard to even leave your room or villa. From what I saw every single room has a wonderful view. If you need assistance getting up and down there are plenty of shuttle buses to pick you up and bring you back up. If it was flat you would not have a view - it is as simple as that.

Staff are great, rooms are spotless. If you need anything the staff are more than happy to come up and sort out anything that you need.

It has a great balance of being as social as you want or as private and quiet as you want which is what we wanted and as a result had a fabulous beach holiday. Highly recommend the trip out to Windjammer. Lastly, the truth is in the repeat which is why we encountered at least 10 people who were on their 2nd, 5th or even more frequent trip.
Food is great down by the beach - there are loads of eacting options. (Papa dons has lovely ambience but only OK food) and you are 5 mins from Rodney Bay. If you want a beautiful restaurant then check out THE EDGE in Rodney Bay.

  • Liked — The views
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambria, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2007

We joined friends staying at Windjammer. The staff was very attentive to all of our needs. Check-in was slow and check out was slower, but we stayed during the time the computer system was being changed. We would recommend the Windjammer. There is a umbrella in your room for a reason. Take it with you when you go down to dinner, it can really pour. I do not recommend this location for the handicap. Hills, steps and stairs everywhere (lobby, grounds, restaurants and villas), and restrooms do not have large stalls or handrails.

Stayed October 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort

Address: Labrelotte Bay | Saint Lucia, Castries, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Castries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Castries
#3 Family Hotel in Castries
#3 Luxury Hotel in Castries
#3 Business Hotel in Castries
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Castries
#6 Romantic Hotel in Castries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort & Spa in Saint Lucia, offers an unforgettable Caribbean vacation for families, honeymooners and couples. This exotic 60-acre full service resort is a panorama of picturesque, spacious and secluded hillside villas. With breathtaking views of the cobalt waters of the Caribbean Sea, this Mediterranean village resort is alive with the sights and sounds of beautiful Saint Lucia. Absorb the stunning beauty of nature at the Windjammer Landing. From dining on tropical fruits at sunrise to enjoying a refreshing cruise at sunset and only your choice of what to do in between. Richly appointed with the warmth of wood and an exotic blend of tropical furnishings, your spacious villa sets the mood for complete relaxation and truly your greatest escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Hotel Castries
Windjammer Landing Hotel Beach
Windjammer St Lucia
Windjammer Landing Resort Beach
Windjammer Landing St Lucia
St Lucia Windjammer
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort St. Lucia/Castries

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.