We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“family vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Labrelotte Bay | Saint Lucia, Castries, St. Lucia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
FAMILY TRAVEL
Ranked #4 of 17 hotels in Castries
la jolla
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“family vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

We will be returning to Windjammer Landing this year for the third time.. The resort is lovely and the staff very friendly and accommodating.. We especially liked the easy access to the kids club and watersports offered. We will once again utilize the services of Serenity vacations and tours for excursions and trips into Rodney Bay (great variety of restaurants). The staff is both friendly and reliable.

3284

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,513 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    859
    420
    131
    69
    34
See reviews for
461
591
16
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (375)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
St. Catharines, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

The Friday night buffet at the Dragonfly Restaurant is well worth a visit to Windjammer Landings for, whether you are staying at the resort or not. First off your senses are greeted with the tangy smell of smoked brisket and other delights at the carving station. If that is not enough to get one's mouth watering, the incredible salad / soup and side dishes definitely are. My husband had three helpings of the Tortilla soup and would have made an entire meal of it if not for the BBQ meats calling out to be tasted. The smoked brisket melted in the mouth. In addition there was pulled pork, BBQ chicken, sirloin steaks, smoked ribs, shrimp on a stick and a lovely fish dish as well. OMG it was all so good. Having seen the wonderful dessert selection, I saved room for the flan and was very happy that I did.

The price is a mere $95 EC which is about $35 US. A bargain at that price.

The sign hanging at the door states "Where there is smoke there is flavour" and I could not agree more.

Well done Chef Bill and team!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smyrna, Georgia
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for a very brief trip to St. Lucia. It was planned last minute and was our first trip to the island.

Our room was very spacious with a kitchen, living room and separate bedroom. We also had a balcony with a beautiful view. Our room had air conditioning throughout but note that there are rooms with "open air" living rooms, which can get a little warm. Also our room had an HDTV which was nice to have to catch up on news, although the cable can be spotty at best.

There are several resteraunts here and in our brief stay we managed to eat at Upper Deck (seafood), DragonFly (Carib-Asian), and Jammers (island/pub food). All of the food was fantastic. Food and drink prices were moderate. Having only been to the island once I can't say if they are high or low for a resort. There was a little market on property though that sold food, snacks, and drinks for reasonable prices which was a big plus.

The resort is right on the beach. It was very nice during our stay. Not too crowded and no hawkers which I saw mentioned in other reviews.

Lastly, plan for a 90 - 120 minute drive to and from the airport. It's a bit of a hike.

Room Tip: Higher floors will certainly enhance your view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

"Welcome to Paradise" was the phrase we heard every morning when we secured our spot on the beach. It was true, St. Lucia is paradise.

My wife and I spent our honeymoon at the Windjammer Landing upon the recommendation from a friend. We were not disappointed. From the rum punch at check-in to the day sail down the coast line, our honeymoon was memorable and worth every dollar spent.

The staff was friendly and attentive to our requests. We visited every restaurant on the resort at least once and were never disappointed. The WJL's cocktail menu includes fun, tropical drinks with fresh island ingredients. The local Piton beer is was excellent.

Our villa was clean and in order upon arrival and the room was turned early everyday. The housekeeping staff helped up snag a few mangoes off the trees outside our villa.

The only down-sides to the WJL (which are beyond the resort's control) are the distance from the main airport (45-50 min.) and hills/mountains that make up the resort's landscape. These do not deter me from giving it a 5 rating, however.

The resort picked my wife and I up at the airport and we had our own personal cab driver bring us to the WJL. We weren't in a crowded bus with other guests trying to check-in at the same.

The mountains add to the mystique of the resort and the staff does a good job with their shuttle service to/from your villa. If you have trouble walking/navigating hills, stairs, etc. then you should request a room or villa close to the epicenter of the resort.

All in all, we were beyond satisfied and plan to return!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hockessin, de
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

We have just returned from our 10th year in St.Lucia. From the start, the "home " feeling was at play.
Our daughter and son-in-law from the UK were meeting us there. It was their first trip to the island. They arrived, we were delayed a day in Philadelphia. We had no way to reach them but reached our faithful taxi service- Peter Lord's group, and the resort.
Peter handled everything, explained our situation, got them settled at reception and the resort folks got them settled into our villa. What could have been unpleasant, was an introduction for them to the kind of place they were about to vacation in. Everyone is caring.
The resort itself continues to improve itself, year after year!
The rooms are gorgeous and spotless. The restaurants (there are 5) serve local cuisine, international cuisine and vegetarian. All beautifully presented.
The staff from upper management to the great guys who continually prune the vegetation are all
happy to help and greet us with smiles.
The views from our villa and the whole atmosphere make us come back year after year. And now our daughter and her husband eagerly await next year!

Room Tip: the room with the plunge pools are wonderful But all the rooms have great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

The Windjammer have certainly one of the nicest garden/landscaping and view of all the islands we visited. We went 5 times. We are a family of divers so our first objective is diving. The dive shop is located to few minutes from the villa, we are reserving in the Hibiscus section closed to restaurant, dive shop and beach. All the villas are on the hills so you can walk or take the shuttles. Some time you may have to wait few minutes for the shuttles especially at the end of the days. The director of the of the resort did a lot of improvements in the last couple of year, the restaurants and facilities are better. The villas are all very well equipped , nicely decorated and have nothing to complain. The staff is amazing and as we are coming back every year since 5 years, we know a lot of people. At the opposite of other hotel, the turnover of this hotel is very low in the staff which is very good. We are planning to come back. I did not talk about restaurant but they all very good, Pappa Don is on the hill , a lot of good choices (lamb, veal cutlet, chicken, filet mignon, also for children they have a good choice - pastas, pizza on wood oven is excellent…), the Upper deck has the beef for specialty, and the Dragon fly is is very good for Tuesday and Friday buffet style.

Room Tip: All the villas are in the hills, if you have problem to walk, you may request closer villas to the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

We have just returned from what was the most memorable stay in St Lucia!
Windjammer Landing – the most inviting resort and by far, my best experience of St Lucia. Nestled on a lush green hillside in Castries and about a mile from the main road – but not far from the bustling nightlife of Rodney Bay, this picturesque resort is perfect for a relaxing holiday.
On arrival we were greeted with the warmest smiles – and a delicious rum punch (thank you Lawrence). Staff were extremely welcoming and accommodating, ready to deal with any queries. You feel right at home! It is clear customer service is high on the list with emphasis on families.
We chose the Windjammer for a 50th birthday celebration break.
Special thanks to the untiring Darrel, our dedicated ambassador and Sheena-Rose in reservations who went above and beyond to accommodate our ‘many’ requests.
Our villa which was clean and comfortable came with full kitchen, refrigerator, cooker and dining facilities, not to mention a plunge pool. We had stunning views from our deck – you can watch the sun go down with a few pre-dinner cocktails of course. Grounds were beautiful and well kept – thank you Francis for the water coconuts.

From the Windjammer jetty we took off on a catamaran and mud bath tour – a great way to see the island. Fantastic day out on the high seas. And if you have never been on a horse try horseback riding – it’s terrific. You even get to ride in the ocean, just like in the movies!

You might prefer to end your day with a sunset cruise – basically a two hour party taking in the sunset. Enjoy yourself too much and you might just miss it!
The hotel has a full list of water sports / activities to fill your time – but lazing on the beach is totally acceptable. Thanks to Suleka, for guidance on which tours to try.

With a choice of 5 restaurants (shuttle service between accommodation and restaurants) there’s something for everyone, including vegetarians. Thank you Angus, Upper Deck manager and Anecia for excellent customer service. To the Windjammer trio – Esie, Glen and Cassandra, for their birthday rendition and Darrel for arranging. It was all good!

The resort has gift shops and a small supermarket, and free wi-fi also available. Fantastic!
There’s a main pool and one other including a hot tub. But guests seemed to prefer the long stretch of golden sandy beach. The hammocks at the far end of the beach is heaven discovered. Can’t think of a better way to spend the afternoon (with a piton or red stripe beer)!
Nightly entertainment is highly recommended and Caribbean night is not to be missed.

The highlight of each morning for the group has to be aqua aerobics. Shake off the night before with a leisurely workout with an instructor who’s very easy on the eye. That’s a daily pick me up!

There was nothing we requested that could not be provided, including British 3-pin adaptor.
I would only say more fresh towels please and bath mats.

It was wonderful to meet Mark Ozawa, the MD at Windjammer – mistaken him for a guest he introduced himself. A charming man, relaxed but professional. He engages with the guests and has a visible presence throughout the resort. This is rare!

Thanks also to the shuttle drivers, Edward, Spencer, Terry et al, who constantly ferried us to and from our villa.

All in all, our experience of the Windjammer, and the overall ambience of the resort entices you to return. Credit to the staff’s endeavour to make your stay an unforgettable one.

WOULD I RETURN TO WINDJAMMER? Absolutely!
WOULD I RECOMMEND THIS RESORT? Most definitely!

Room Tip: Four bed villas are on three levels so if you don't like stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort

Address: Labrelotte Bay | Saint Lucia, Castries, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Castries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Castries
#3 Luxury Hotel in Castries
#3 Family Hotel in Castries
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Castries
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Castries
#6 Romantic Hotel in Castries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort & Spa in Saint Lucia, offers an unforgettable Caribbean vacation for families, honeymooners and couples. This exotic 60-acre full service resort is a panorama of picturesque, spacious and secluded hillside villas. With breathtaking views of the cobalt waters of the Caribbean Sea, this Mediterranean village resort is alive with the sights and sounds of beautiful Saint Lucia. Absorb the stunning beauty of nature at the Windjammer Landing. From dining on tropical fruits at sunrise to enjoying a refreshing cruise at sunset and only your choice of what to do in between. Richly appointed with the warmth of wood and an exotic blend of tropical furnishings, your spacious villa sets the mood for complete relaxation and truly your greatest escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Hotel Castries
Windjammer Landing Hotel Beach
Windjammer St Lucia
Windjammer Landing Resort Beach
Windjammer Landing St Lucia
St Lucia Windjammer
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort St. Lucia/Castries

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.