We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort to your Saves list
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Labrelotte Bay | Saint Lucia, Castries, St. Lucia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Beyond Extraordinary Sale
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Castries
Certificate of Excellence 2014
UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2008

My husband and two children (aged 2 & 4) have just returned from a wonderful holiday in the Windjammer. We stayed in a two bedroomed villa which had the most fantastic views and very spacious accomodation, which was kept clean by the daily visits from house keeping. I would say that this resort is a must for families, the staff are friendly and loved the young children and the beach is not too big so the children felt they could run around but were always in our sight and so safe. The food is good and agin all returants offer high chairs and some had kids menus. Our only slight dissapointment was that the kids club was not seperated into age catorgories and as it was easter holidays there were alot of older children in the club which my 4 year old felt a bit intimerdating, especially as he'd never done anything like that before. but it did not effect our holiday as the children had such a wonderful time on the beach and at the pool it didn't matter.
We will be going back and think it's agreat find as I've never seen anything that offers a similar kind of set up with the accomodation

  • Liked — set away from the hotel felt like we had out own space
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,782 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,032
    491
    145
    77
    37
See reviews for
556
708
18
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (473)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2008

We stayed at Windjammer from Feb 10 through 24 (two weeks) booking through Air Transat vacations with a direct flight from Toronto leaving at 6:15am. We arrived at Hewannora at 11:45pm, took the Air Transat arranged mini-van shuttle to the resort arriving at 1:15pm. Check-in time is 4pm and we sat in the lobby until receiving our room at 4:15pm but fortunately this was the worst part of the trip. We paid approximately $4,250 for the two weeks: this works out to about $1,500 for both our flights and $200 a night for the room (basic, lowest price bedroom). We did not take a meal plan as we were away from the resort fairly often.

We had a very nice time at this resort but it is not a 5 star resort due to the quality of the rooms. I would have paid up to $150 per night but $200 was more than the room was worth. The restaurants were very good and the staff was excellent. St. Lucia is a beautiful country but on the verge of heavy development – visit while you can!

Room
The room was tropical: no screens on the windows (there were shutters), ceramic tile floors. The bathrooms could use refurbishing as could some of décor. We were originally in 142B which looked east but due to loud neighbours moved to 44A for the second week. Staff were very accommodating with the request and were very friendly and helpful in general.

Beach
The beach is nice however the section blocked off for swimming is fairly small and filled with kids. You can swim and snorkel outside the specified area but there are sea urchins around so you have to watch where you step. We usually sat at the far east end of the beach which was not crowded plus there was a small bar set up in that area. Finding a lounge chair was never a problem and the resort was full during the time we were there.

Food
I found the restaurant prices to be similar to Toronto prices and we ended up paying, on average over the 14 days, around $120 per day including alcoholic drinks. We did eat supper off the resort about 5 times though. We usually had a snack type lunch (hot dog or burger with fries at Embers) and this cost around Cdn$5 to Cdn$8 per plate. The food was consistently good and Jammers serves the perfect Caesar salad which can be followed by the perfect brownie!

Taxis
Taxis were fairly expensive (US$15 to $20 to either Castries or Rodney Bay). We walked the 25 minutes out to the main road a couple of times and flagged down a cheaper taxi there or took the local bus (EC$2.25).

We rented a car and drove down to Jalousie one day. Driving was not as difficult as we expected although a bit slow; the main highway is in fairly good condition although the side roads are less good. I would not want to drive at night due to the narrow roads bordered by open sewers.

Self-tours
We took the local bus into Castries but there is not much to see although a little bit of duty-free shopping. We took a taxi to Pigeon Island - make sure to have a drink at the Captain’s Cellar Pub and say hi to Mike and Suzie.

Excursions
Endless Summer Day Cruise – this would have been a nice sailing excursion down to Soufriere if it hadn’t been rainy. It’s more of a day out on the boat excursion with a bit of snorkeling opposed to seeing anything on land although there is a trip to the waterfall and the sulphur springs and lunch at cocoa plantation. We paid US$30 instead of the regular US$90 because we attended the time share presentation.

We booked the remainder of our excursions through the Air Transat rep although the resort was offering them at a comparable price.

Rainforest Sky Rides (zip line) – ok but highly overpriced at US$100. Only 7 of the 12 zip lines were in operation when we went.

Rainforest Walk –this is an expertly guided hike of the Piton Flore Trail for US$48. Best excursion of the trip although since it was rainy, it was more flora than fauna.

Horse riding – US$60 and fun, especially riding in the water.

  • Liked — Nice location on the hill
  • Disliked — Overpriced
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2008

We had just spent a romantic 4 days in Soufriere when we came up here. We waited forever to check in, and when someone finally assisted us we needed some receipt from a travel agent or something.. luckily I had a PC with me and was able to log into my email and fetch what they were looking for. But how sad that I had to do this? They couldn't just pull my reservation? The place is horrible!! the shuttle was a pain, always crowded, unromantic "ocean view" had a big ugly mound in the middle of it, barely a view... it was a horrible experience! a honeymoon DOWNER! Unfriendly service, dumpy room, expensive mediocre food, crowded fake beach, too many kids AND you have to drive through SHANTYVILLE to get to it. Ick. I would never recommend this place.

  • Liked — Close to Castries
  • Disliked — EVERYTHING - the view from our place, the place itself
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2008

I think in my 20s I would have been at least a bit impressed with the Windjammer. But, now, with more experience I would have a hard time describing the Windjammer as a "resort". The staff is friendly, but it is a bit shallow. My husband and I had a villa with a plunge pool that was too cold to be comfortable, but the view was stunning and the villa was very clean and nice.

The food was decent, but nothing to get excited about - a bit of an overzealous effort with caribbean fusion resulting in some fighting flavor combinations. Beware: there is no room service for breakfast, so if you were thinking about coffee and a croissant being brought to you while you were still in your jammies, forget it. You need to get dressed, get on the shuttle down the hill (min 15 minute effort), and eat...but not before 7:30 a.m.

The real disappointment was the beach and tennis. The beach is not run like a luxury resort: no umbrellas for those seeking the option to be in or out of the sun; no server - we never were approached for drinks; very few tables in between the chairs (not that you'd need them since the server , yes the one server for over 100 people on the beach, is nowhere to seen).

The tennis is a joke - it you are a tennis player, go elsewhere. There are two very worn out carpet courts with what appears to be beach sand all over them. The courts are dead in so many spots it's just worthless effort to play. If you've played on clay, grass or carpet, you know it can be really fun...these are not fun, they are just beat to a pulp and not worth playing on. There are no wind screens - this is an issue as St. Lucia can be pretty darned breezy. There is no pro shop - you have to buy your own balls in the mini market, but no one tells you that. We did not travel with gear, assuming we would "demo' a couple of racquets. Well, demoing was a bit of an over-expectation. The concierge has a stack of old racquets for guest use - we selected the two best and they were strung so tightly they were almost unplayable, not to mention that they had ratty grips. There are no services at the courts - no balls, no towels, no chilled water, nothing. There is a pro hanging out who is only interested in selling you a lesson and doesn't want anything to do with you if you don't want a lesson. Oh, but to be fair, there is a dirty drinking fountain that spews white chalky water that does not look like anything any human ought to go near.

So, bottom line, the veneer on this "resort" is very thin, and it only took us a day to figure out that this is not worth the money or the travel time to get here.

  • Liked — View from the villa
  • Disliked — Beach, tennis, no breakfast room service, irritating shuttle service
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Albans
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2008

We have just returned from a week at this resort. We stayed in villa 145 - 1 adult and 2 teenagers in 2 rooms. The resort is stunning to look at with beautiful gardens and lovely views over the bay. Our rooms were simple but attractive with lots of wildlife coming in - the birds were welcome but the mosquitoes and (1 night) cockroaches less so. Take plenty of mosquito repellent! We liked the beach and it was not too crowded. We were not on an inclusive package but ate in the resort most nights. We liked Upper Deck and Papa Dons but Dragonfly looked a bit pricey. The service is a bit slow sometimes but then you are on holiday! The cocktails are great.
The island is unbelievably beautiful and we took several trips. The day sail was excellent as was the half day jeep safari. We also went on the dolphin watching trip which was an excellent way to see them. Be wary of the Martinique trip - it can be rough and on the day we went a lot of people were seasick and it can be very wet on the top deck.
Take plenty of rain-wear - it was supposed to be the dry season but there were still plenty of downpours.
This was not a cheap holiday but it was certainly memorable and
I think we will all be thinking about it for a long time to come.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2008

We just returned from 7 days at the Windjammer and loved the resort. The resort was sold out as it was a holiday week , however we never felt it was crowded. There was always room at the beach, around the pools and at the restaurants. This was the first time we ever participated in an all-inclusive and it was great. We ate in all of the restaurants and enjoyed every meal. The all-inclusive also included non-motorized water sports such as kayaking, wind surfing, water skiing and paddle boats. There were also plenty of organized activiites throughout the day. We took a couple of tennis lessons from the Tennis Pro David, he is an excellent instructor. I utilized the spa and had a hot stone massage with Lindy, which I would highly recommend. If you are looking for a tour the Zipline tour was fantastic, it is a must for those who would love a little adventure.

The resort is not luxurious, however it is well kept. I would recommend staying in a 1 bedroom villa instead of a regular hotel room, which can be small, whereas the 1 bedroom villa has plenty of room for couple or a small family.

The staff could not have been any more helpful in all areas of the resort. I highly recommend vacationing at The Windjammer.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2008

It's difficult to know where to start with this resort especially when I read so many positive reviews. I appreciate we are all different and have different standards and expectations but this place was tired, dirty and there was absolutely nothing luxurious about it. We arrived after a long day of travelling and were met by the staff who at this point I would like to say were very nice - they proved to be still very nice later on but totally inefficient! After a welcome drink we were taken to our 2 bedroom villa with pool. We walked in to a musty smell and very dusty tiled floors. The kitchen area was also dirty and had a small infestation of ants (nice). The fridge had a huge dent in it and was rusty, the bedroom looked ok but upon further inspection it too was dirty and on the ceiling was a cockroach. I didn't really want to look any further but naturally did, however nothing was right about this villa not least the 'cot' they provided for our 6 month old baby son. When it did arrive after asking 3 times it was a travel cot which they had to hire and it looked like it had been used to store bricks on a building site. Could it get any worse? Well we were moved up the mountain to a time share villa which I have to say was immaculate but unfortunately it was miles away from the reception and we then had to rely on the shuttle service. The service works well but it's not an ideal way of getting around your holiday resort but in for a penny.

We had our welcome meeting the next day (our first full day) and it became apparant that the hotel does have issues. The premises is in real need of refurbishment - it just looks old and in need of tlc. The pool was really dirty and there was nobody in it at all, in fact there were only 4 sunbeds there and the majority of people were on the beach. Back to the welcome meeting - ok if you wanted to be sold timeshare but otherwise useless. Becoming increasingly disappointed we went to the bar and ordered a couple of drinks. The bar cocktail menus were grubby and rusting on the sides, the bar itself looked like a shipwreck. We both came to the conclusion that this extrememly expensive all inclusive holiday would turn into the holiday from hell unless we did something about it. Unfortunately we couldn't change the surroundings so the only thing to do was simply get out as quickly as we could. I spoke to a couple of the staff and explained our situation, the way they acknowledged it made me feel like they are used to the complaints. They were very understanding and ordered us a taxi so we could check out other accommodations. Fortunately we came across Almond Morgan Bay Resort and after expaining our situation, talking to our St Lucia rep etc we were transferred there for the rest of our holiday. I'll write a seperate review for Almond Morgan Bay but suffice to say we had a fabulous time there and it was so clean! So in a nutshell, if you want a luxury holiday in clean modern surroundings, steer well clear of Windjammer Landing as you will be very disappointed.

  • Liked — The views were stunning
  • Disliked — It was filthy
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort

Address: Labrelotte Bay | Saint Lucia, Castries, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Castries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Castries
#3 Luxury Hotel in Castries
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Castries
#4 Romantic Hotel in Castries
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Castries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort & Spa in Saint Lucia, offers an unforgettable Caribbean vacation for families, honeymooners and couples. This exotic 60-acre full service resort is a panorama of picturesque, spacious and secluded hillside villas. With breathtaking views of the cobalt waters of the Caribbean Sea, this Mediterranean village resort is alive with the sights and sounds of beautiful Saint Lucia. Absorb the stunning beauty of nature at the Windjammer Landing. From dining on tropical fruits at sunrise to enjoying a refreshing cruise at sunset and only your choice of what to do in between. Richly appointed with the warmth of wood and an exotic blend of tropical furnishings, your spacious villa sets the mood for complete relaxation and truly your greatest escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Hotel Castries
Windjammer Landing Hotel Beach
Windjammer St Lucia
Windjammer Landing Resort Beach
Windjammer Landing St Lucia
St Lucia Windjammer
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort St. Lucia/Castries

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.