We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise exists” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandals Halcyon Beach St. Lucia

Save Saved
You added Sandals Halcyon Beach St. Lucia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sandals Halcyon Beach St. Lucia
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Choc Bay, Castries GM910, St. Lucia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
1 Free Night!!
Ranked #5 of 17 hotels in Castries
Gloucestershire
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Paradise exists”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2010

We have just returned from a two week holiday at Halcyon Beach. The resort is ultra all inclusive and lives up to its reputation.
There are three sandals resorts in St lucia and the Halcyon is the smallest and lies midway between the other two just a ten minute shuttle bus ride from each and shuttles run hourly through the day and evenings.
Halcyon is quieter than the other resorts and has a slightly older clientele. The site is flat and accommodation is either ground or first floor level. The Paradise rooms have all been modernised within the last two years and are spacious, lovely and comfortable, many of the Ocean view and other rooms are being or have been revamped and this process will be complete by the end of the year. The work is in progress but hardly noticeable and causing minimal disturbance as each room is being updated on an individual basis.
At the Halcyon there are three restaurants plus a beach grill. Both Mario's and the Pier restaurants rate as highly as any in either of the other larger Sandals resorts the Regency or the Grande though everyone is welcome at each of the other Hotels to eat or share all of their facilities.
The larger resorts are perhaps more active and noisier than Halcyon and we have had great times sharing the fun and attractions of each.
The Dive Centre is wonderful and at Castries Harbour with purpose built boats, good equipment and a superb dive team. Diving is all inclusive for certified divers and there is a short resort dive course available, at a small charge, for non qualified divers which when successfully completed enables them to continue diving on an all inclusive basis.
There is also an active water sports centre at the Resort with water skiing behind a Mastercraft, ringos and Hobie sailing again all inclusive. Tennis at the halcyon and golf at the Regency plus a playmaker beach sports and recreational team.
Last week visibility underwater was really good, the water was warm and we had some great easy diving. We were really well looked after with brilliant dive guides and we even had a bonus of seeing Humpback whales whilst travelling to the morning dive sites.
Trips around and activities on the Island such as ziplining can be arranged from the Resort
The staff are so welcoming and helpful. Each and every member of staff will give you eye contact and a friendly smile. Should you have a problem and make a member of staff aware of it then each will do their utmost to rectify it for you. The motto is, 'If we don't know about it we can't do anything about it. Please inform us'.
Castries Harbour has its fair share of huge cruise liners visiting the Island and staying a few hours before sailing off again. We have looked at them and pondered the option but only for a few seconds. We have decided we would rather be at the Halcyon it is superb and we look forward to a return visit. Grateful thanks to all

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,210 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,292
    543
    197
    95
    83
See reviews for
29
1690
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (489)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester NH
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2010

Right from the moment we stepped out of the taxi we were greeted with a glass of champagne and given a wonderful cool towel to freshen up with. Our check in was timely and very welcoming. Being too early to check into our room, we were told to enjoy the resort that our luggage would be taken care of and that our concierge would find us. That was indeed fact. Within an hour we were found on the beach and escorted to our lovely room. We were so happy with the food service, the shuttle between the three resorts, and the fact that all of our needs and request were granted within minutes. I only have wonderful comments to say about this small scale resort but big in quality and service with a smile..

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2010

We flew with Virgin Atlantic on the 9th November 2008 for a 12 night stay at Sandals Halycon Beach Resort in St. Lucia.

We booked a WeddingMoon, and were married in a gazebo overlooking the beachfront on 14th November, the only people to marry that day.

Throughout our stay the staff were fantastic, they were all so lovely and did all they could to ensure our stay was perfect - which it was!

We stayed in a Grand Luxe Ocean View room near to the second of the pools, and it was so quiet and relaxing, the room was beautiful and absolutely spotless. The housekeeping staff and gardeners attended to it everyday, and there wasn't a thing out of place.

All meals were delicious, only on one occasion did we have to go away and come back to one of the restaurants, but this was not a problem to us as the theme of the Carribean is to relax and take it easy, which we did!! It was a very popular spot (Mario's) as guests would book tables from the other two resorts, but as I said, not a problem for us.

The staff were superb at all levels, most members would remember your name and why you were there (Wedding etc) and would remember what drinks you would order and so on, whicfh made it feel very special and personal to us.

We took a trip to Soufriere, which was organised by Virgin Holidays and we booked it through the Tour Desk at the resort. No hitches whatsoever, it was a smooth process and it was just a shame that we didn't have enough time to do more trips -- next time maybe!

The only drawbacks for us were that we had to come home!! Also, some confusion with the photos that we had taken on resort as we were lead to believe the Sunset photos were included with the wedding shoot, but they were a separate charge. Luckily we did not want any of them so not too much of a problem for us.

One thing I would like to say about the photography --- A lot of people from outside the resort contacted us before we flew out, and told us horror stories about the photographers and the quality of pictures etc, which left us a little uneasy... But I can clarify for those of you booking them in the future - SNAPSHOTS are a great bunch of people to shoot your memorable pictures, we have our wedding album and the pictures tell the story, like you are there at the time, they are timeless and beautiful and we are extremely impressed with the results. We were shot before, during and after the ceremony, in the Gardens of Eden and on the beach, and it was fun to do and not at all tiring or awkward, so we were really thankful to Fefe and Alvin.

An extra special thanks also to Julietta from the Weddings office, and Maggie and Dane thanks for all your help! They did all they could to make our day so special and sacred, and we will never forget it ever!!

Other thanks go to our friend Maverick, you made us feel right at home and we hope to see you again one day, Felica and Andy at the Beach Grill, thanks for all the snacks and the smiles, you guys work so hard and should be congratulated on your personal services, we miss you!! Francis - thanks for all the words of advice for the Newlyweds, haha!

Since we travelled out there, we know they now have built some new apartments by the quieter pool, I would thoroughly reccommend trying those out they look stunning!

Final thought for the whole experience ---- For those of you who want to spend some unforgettable days and nights in an amazing place with the person that you love, then head to Sandals in St. Lucia - Love IS All You Need!!!!

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2010

There was a huge variety of food, even the pickest of eaters will find something they enjoy. The staff is so friendly and accomadating. There are games for the young at heart; quiet places for those who want to get away; a night life for the night owls - definitly something for everyone. The rooms and resort were very clean.
I would have liked the air conditioner to cool the room more than it did. The resort is an hour drive from the main airport.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midwest USA
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2010

Just spent a week and a half at the Halcyon resort (and got married there on the 18th)- I was shocked at how much I enjoyed myself.

Pools and beach are very clean, the staff is very friendly and attentive, and there are enough activities scheduled to keep busy, but not be overbooked. I was shocked at the quality of the restaurants as well- the wait times can be a little long, but meals (esp. at Mario's and the Pier) are very good. We had a newer (or updated room), friends in a non-updated unit had an older ac unit, safe, and smaller tv. The resort appears to be updating to modernize and make the rooms more energy efficient.

Traci ran the wedding ceremony, and it was flawless. Everything was literally perfect, and I was (and am) much impressed by how detailed in planning the Sandals reps were.

We visited the Grande for half a day, and while it was bigger, more modern, and had more amenities (and was likely a ton more expensive); I much preferred the smaller and quieter setting of the Halcyon - the Grande was wall-to-wall people. The water is prettier at the Grande, but the sand/clay combo that muddies the Halcyon's water a bit makes for more comfortable footing.

I have no complaints (other than with Delta, who I'll never fly w/again), but if you plan to visit the Halcyon, keep in mind - there are ten (or so) resident cats on the grounds - probably to catch mice and small lizards. The cats are relatively small and generally leave people alone, but are somewhat dirty and will follow you if you have food (or are at the outside grille).

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2010

We visited the other Sandals nearby which were very nice but we are glad we chose to stay ay Halcyon Beach. The staff were very friendly and attentive and always up for a joke. We ate at many of the resturants all were top class but enjoyed the Pier followed by Marios then Barefoot on the beach at the Grande. Sailing was best from the Grande as many very nice boats anchor off the beach. We had a recently refurbished room next to the paradise pool which was first class. We have previously stayed at Sandals Inn, Princess del Mar (Cuba) and the Grande Ocho Rios, this was the best yet for quality of food, room and service.
May well return next year if we can get a good deal

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2010

We had our wedding at Sandals Halcyon and it was a perfect day!! The staff was exceptional especially the head Chef who went out his way to prepare Guyanese food for us! The grounds were beautiful and we couldn't have been closer to the beach. We could see the beach from our room!!! We visited the other Sandals resorts in St. Lucia, and although they were grande, we still prefer the peace and tranquility of Sandals Halcyon. The service was amazing and they made us feel at home and "like family!" The wedding personnel took the time to listen to us and made our vision for the wedding a reality..it was nothing short of perfect! I admire the professionalism and genuine kindness of all the staff...and will never forget them! I would highly recommend this resort to anyone looking for a relaxing vacation!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sandals Halcyon Beach St. Lucia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Halcyon Beach St. Lucia

Address: Choc Bay, Castries GM910, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Castries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Castries
#4 Romantic Hotel in Castries
#4 Luxury Hotel in Castries
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Castries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sandals Halcyon Beach St. Lucia 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•Friendly to the physically challenged with low rise architecture •Fully air-conditioned Caribbean cuisine restaurant on its own 150 ft pier over the •Caribbean Sea •Houses 169 Rooms with true personal service and intimate experience •English-style afternoon tea served at the Paradise pool •Tableside service at the Beach Bistro •“Stay at one, play at three” free shuttles to Sandals La Toc Golf Resort & Spa and Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa & Beach Resort•Sandals Resorts “World’s Leading All Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row •Sandals Resorts “Caribbean’s Leading Hotel Brand”, 18 years in a row ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Sandals Halcyon Beach St. Lucia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Halcyon Beach St. Lucia Hotel Castries
Sandals Halcyon Beach Castries
Sandals St Lucia
Sandals Halcyon Beach St. Lucia Castries

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandals Halcyon Beach St. Lucia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.