We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“25th Anniversary” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Choc Bay, Castries GM910, St. Lucia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to $355 Instant Air !!
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Castries
The Villages, Florida
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“25th Anniversary”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

My wife and I choose Sandals Halcyon for it's small size and intimate feel. We were not disappointed, it is all that. The hour and 15 min. ride from the airport is not that bad. The vans are new ,clean and comfortable.You get to see what St. Lucia is all about. This is not a wealthy country and the living conditions are quite simple. But the people both at the Resorts and in the community are fantastic. The grounds, beach and restaurants and rooms at the resort are outstanding. One of the best part about this place is the hourly van service to Grande and La Toc. To have the opportunity to dine at any of the restaurants,part take in the entertainment offered or just use the pools at any of the three resorts is what separates Sandals from others.. If you want to be constantly entertained then by all means pick Sandals Grande or La Toc if quite is what your looking for then Halcyon is your spot. What ever you choose you won't be disappointed. From rooms to restaurants and pools Sandals St. Lucia is a great vacation pick.I'm a beach bum and all three beaches are great. If your looking for a good tour while your here then Joe Knows is a good pick, speed boat,snorkeling ,volcano, lunch and drinks you will have a good time.Our stay was from 6/11 to 6/17/14..

Room Tip: Any of the sea view rooms are great. Building 300 where we stayed or 400 offer that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,324
    556
    200
    95
    83
See reviews for
30
1731
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (512)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wichita, Kansas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

My boyfriend and I were so happy we chose Sandals Halcyon. The resort is beautiful manicured, the room was nice and clean and updated. The beach left a little to be desired, but a trip down to Grande fixes that. The Grande is a gorgeous resort; however, it was a little to "grande" for us, we prefer the more smaller, intimate vibe of the Halcyon. We did Joe Knows tour and had a great time, my boyfriend was a little apprehensive leaving the resort, once we got back he made the comment he was happy we chose to do the tour. i also have to suggest eating at La Toc restaurant at the La Toc resort... WOW. The veal was amazing.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 113, there was a bit of noise from the road behind the resort but closing the bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We went in March for our honeymoon and had a great time! Beautiful beach, great food and drink, and wonderful staff. Loved the small feeling of the resort and the different buildings instead of one giant high rise hotel. That is just our personal preference. We would definitely go back!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

My husband and I chose Sandals Halycon Beach for our Honeymoon destination. Prior to booking we read several reviews and took to heart the description/photos that the Sandals website provided. Large mistake! When we arrived to Halcyon we were utterly disappointed. We were expecting a beautiful beach with comfortable rooms. Halcyon is literally a turn off of the busy street. You constantly hear cars driving, horns honking etc. The beach is nonexistent. The room looked and felt like an airport hotel/motel. It was dark and damp. The advertising on Sandals website is so false. This is not the beautiful, tranquil resort that Sandals wants you to think it is.

With that said-- we decided quickly that we could either have a pity party and stay at the Halcyon only to be miserable or do something about it. So, the morning after arriving- we got a cab ride to the Grande to check it out. Its literally like the movie Couples Retreat. Its unreal that these two places are even comparable. When we drove up it was amazing! The beach is absolutely beautiful. The staff in so nice. We got to view a room (that the Halcyon said would be a "downgrade"-- it was a HUGE upgrade to us) it was perfect. We worked with the people at Halcyon and they were able to switch our reservation to the Grande. It took two days of our Honeymoon working on the switch but in the long run it was so worth it. We got to enjoy four beautiful days at the Grande.

Long story short-- STAY AWAY FROM THE HALCYON! Go with the Grande! We are hard-working, early thirties, normal folk. We just wanted a beautiful, relaxing, peaceful honeymoon but, more importantly we also wanted what we paid for and deserved. You will NOT get this if you stay at the Halcyon but you certainly will if you stay at the Grande!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Hello and thank you for your review, Katie.
We appreciate you taking the time to reach out to us about your honeymoon stay at Sandals Halcyon Beach. We were so disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your time there and left with an unsavory impression. We have many guests who feel the direct opposite and have boasted of our luxurious accommodations. But as hoteliers, we recognize that one person’s specific experience can only be judged by that individual and we respect all of the opinions you expressed. We strive to keep the highest standard of quality and service and we deeply regret if we did not live up to your expectations. Once again, we thank you for your feedback and hope to welcome you back at one of our other lovely properties in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We were very happy with our stay at Sandals. We stayed for 10 days at the beginning of June 2014 for our honeymoon.

The resort is beautiful - the grounds are well-kept and the rooms are clean.

I heard others complain about the beach but we didn't have any problems - the sand is smooth, there aren't a lot of rocks or seaweed and the water is calm. You are not going to get crystal clear Caribbean water here - you are still technically in the Atlantic Ocean. Many days we were one of few couples on the beach which was nice - it was like having your own private beach! As people who have traveled before, the vendors on the beach did not bother us as we have experienced this several other places. Most of the vendors are perfectly nice and OK with you saying you are not interested - some even stick around just to chat about your vacation and whether you are enjoying the island.

The food was some of the best I've had when compared to other all-inclusives. The mac and cheese at BBQ night is a must! Kelly's did not live up to the hype for us but we heard from others during our stay that they had really good experiences so we probably should have tried it twice. Bayside when it is a brasserie (every night except Monday and Friday) we thought was seriously underrated - it was some of the best food we had.

We stayed in a honeymoon hideaway room (room 511) which is a club level room. The room met our expectations, was quiet and clean, and the fridge re-stocked daily with water, soda, juice, champagne, wine, and beer. We also had bottles of vodka, rum, and whiskey in our room - we didn't care for the in-room liquors but we weren't mixing our own drinks in our room that often and they do offer an option to upgrade your in-room liquors if you would like. I would absolutely recommend the club level - having club sandals there made everything much easier. We only went to the front desk twice - once to get change for a $20 and once to check-out (which we probably could have done in club sandals.) Everything else from dinner reservations, booking excursions and even having a new key printed when we locked ours in the room was handled by the club sandals staff. They also had special martini and cocktail nights in the club sandals lounge which we enjoyed.

We only did one excursion - the Piton Sunset Cruise - and would recommend it. We aren't early risers so the fact that this leaves later in the day was a huge plus for us. The excursion is about 5 hours and sails you along the coast of most of the island to the exclusive Sugar Beach resort for swimming and snorkeling. We weren't impressed with the beach at Sugar Beach at all so we are glad we got to take it for a test drive before booking a future vacation! However, the sight of swimming between the Pitons was lovely. Then the boat cruises you back and the bar is open and the music is going - it was definitely a party on the way back! We only did this excursions because each excursion only goes out on specific days and the ones we wanted didn't work with some of the dinner reservations we had and our arrival/departure dates. Also, one of the excursions we wanted to do which was in the pamphlet we were given was not actually being offered anymore.

We also did the candlelight dinner on the beach which we would highly recommend. Andrea was our server and she was wonderful!

The downsides to our experience were few and include the ride to and from the airport (which is out of Sandals control) and the lack of nighttime entertainment. The ride is about an hour and a half and is up and down the mountains on 2-lane roads - just not enjoyable.

The nighttime entertainment is severely lacking and well behind what is offered at the other 2 Sandals resorts. During our stay there was a limbo and fire eating show on Mondays (which we saw twice) and that was about it. Many nights it would say on our planner that there was going to be a singer or a pianist at least but we never saw them. I know the night one of the singers was there he was there but he was only at the honeymooners cocktail party not out entertaining all of the guests. Almost every night it would also say there was going to be a pianist at 10:30 but I think we saw the pianist once. There was another "Caribbean Vibes" show on Friday but we missed it as we were at our candlelight dinner.

The other resorts appear to have much more going on at night according to the daily planner you receive. However, the shuttle schedule is inconvenient so we only went to La Toc one night for dinner and right back. The shuttles don't run that often so if you miss one shuttle you are stuck for the next 2 hours. This could definitely be improved.

Overall, we were very happy with the quality of our vacation and we found the service level of almost every staff member we interacted with to exceed our expectations. We were looking for somewhere quiet and romantic for our honeymoon where we wouldn't have to lift a finger and that is what we got. We would definitely recommend Sandals and look forward to booking with them in the future!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Trip Advisor - Sandals Halycon - St Lucia - June 2-12 2014

After an excellent flight with Virgin in Premium Economy my future wife and I arrived on time and quickly passed through St Lucian passport control and were directed to the Sandals arrivals lounge where a welcome drink was waiting, when you ask for the Rum ensure you ask for a “small one” as the glass was 80% Rum and 20% Coke, was nice though.

We were taken by minibus, not the cleanest or most comfortable, with 6 other occupants and a driver who thanked us for coming to “his island” and that a generous tip would benefit all, this comment was made on more than 10 occasions on the 1 hour 45 minute transfer. Have a look at booking either a private transfer in an air conditioned comfortable car or the slightly expensive ($200 per head) helicopter transfer which takes you to the small runway approximately 10 minutes from the Halycon, your luggage is transported by road and arrives well after you.

The welcome at the hotel was quick and efficient and our wedding planner ‘Dane’ introduced herself and arranged our meeting for the following morning to allow us to settle in. Our room 413 was clean, tidy, well set out with large screen TV, fridge with soft drinks (no beer or wine in an all inclusive resort did not make sense with a bar less than 30m away), coffee perculator, kettle, iron/ironing board, hair dryer and a safe. The bathroom was dated and requires an update but who spends all their holiday in the bathroom, water pressure was ok and the temperature was never a problem. We had no issues with insect visitors and only saw one cockroach all holiday, I admit that it was not on my “to do list” to go searching for them. If you leave food around the small ants will find and infest it, top tip leave the food in the restaurants. There are mosquitos and a plug in repellent would alleviate any problems. The bed was large (probably due to the size of some of the guests who travel the short trip south) and very comfortable. We had no issues with noise at all.

The food throughout the resort was plentiful, well cooked with excellent presentation and it had a wide variety of choices. The “Bayside” buffet was always different and the staff are attentive and polite. The Al a Carte restaurants are walk in and no bookings are required and we sampled “Marios” Italian (long trousers are required for the men) which was a nice meal. Our favourite restaurant was “Kelly’s Dockside” where the food was fantastic, the steaks and chicken dishes are outstanding quality. The staff in all the dining areas are professional, polite and the majority are always smiling, special mention must go to ‘Celina’ who has been at the resort for 19 years and is an absolute star, she is genuine, kind, honest and sincere and cant do enough to make your dining experience an evening to remember. We had our wedding meal in there and she made it an evening to remember, Thank You ‘Celina’ you will be in our wedding album xxx. ‘O,Niell also requires a mention as he is an asset to the organisation, very professional in an understated manner. We did not eat in the Japanese restaurant.

The beach is excellent, plenty of beds and the beach hawkers leave you alone if you politely refuse. The sea is calm and safe for swimming.

The two pools are good, plenty of beds and towels, no rush in the mornings, no germans. We selected the main pool as there was a nice sea breeze throughout. After the first day we realised that a certain countries patriots drank all day and invaded the main pool about 4pm, sat at the swim up bar and became annoyingly loud and obnoxious (no surprise there) to all staff and other hotel guests. We also noted that not many used the toilet facilities during this period, thank christ for chlorine. We decided on a short walk or a quick siesta at this time of day. We did not really use the quiet pool as this is in the middle of the accommodation blocks with no breeze. A big thank you to ‘Garrie’ and ‘Danny’ in the pool bar for their hard work, humour and for always getting our order correct, thank you guys.




As a qualified diver the free watersports and scuba set up is excellent. Show your qualification card, sign the normal disclaimer and dive to you hearts content. The dive skippers are very thorough, knowledgeable, run a good dive boat and deliver briefings complete with a great sense of humour. I predominately dived with ‘Ace’ & ‘Barney (the sea horse specialist)’ who do a great job pointing out the life in the underwater world.


Now to the most important part of the holiday, our wedding. From the start we were treated to a thorough pre-arrival brief and administration from ‘Shauna Lewis’ and ‘Dane’ in the resort. We selected the Beautiful Beginning wedding package and all our needs were met in a friendly, understanding manner and no stone left unturned. The setting in the gazebo was stunning and the ceremony conducted with a sense of occasion and humour, although there are weddings most days at the resort we were made to feel like VIP’s throughout our time in the spotlight. The post wedding administration was seamless and we had ‘Lanna’ who spent over two hours on three separate occasions making sure our photo album was what we wanted. She took us to various settings and produced 110 photos which we will cherish. ‘Lanna” is an excellent photographer who used her experience and location knowledge to fulfil all our requirements. Thank you to all involved for making our day so special.

Our only negative comment would be the hard sell when you first arrive, certain staff are naturally on commission for selling excursions, upgrades, diving qualifications and wine/champagne, ‘Davis’ in Kelly’s is a prime example and does not do the Sandles brand any favours by his smarmy, hard sell attitude. He just happened to forget our wedding champagne until prompted by more professional and personal staff. This abates as time goes by as there is a constant stream of new blood to target. Be firm and polite and you get left alone.

This was our first Sandals experience and we thoroughly enjoyed the entire package and will definitely be booking again at one of the variety of destinations and hotels. On the whole I would give this hotel, staff and resort a 9 out of 10.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

This was our first trip to a Sandals resort, and we loved it!

The transfer from the airport is about 80 minutes and perfectly pleasant - not the nightmare trip other reviews had led me to expect. Halcyon Beach is a lot smaller than the other two resorts on St Lucia, but we liked it for that reason. The accommodation was quiet, spacious and attractive to look at, the grounds were quiet, beautifully maintained and full of wildlife and flowers. The beach was clean and the sea was blue. What isn't there to like?!

Our room was always lovely and cool from the air conditioning, with the mini bar stocked every day with soft drinks (included in the price), although you didn't have to walk very far to find something else to drink if you wished.

There was a social pool and a quieter pool, we liked the latter and found that there were always sun beds available whatever time we turned up. We also enjoyed the garden games and water sports included on site. There isn't much to do in the evenings, other than to drink (and the cocktails were lovely, most all inclusive cocktails make me cry, these did not) - the performance stage was being renovated during our stage, and the steel band and fire dancers we saw once it was open were excellent!

As far as food goes it was all very tasty, and even as a veggie I wasn't usually stuck for choice. Mario's, the Italian was excellent as was Kelly's Dockside. The only slight disappointment was Kimono's - tonnes of food, great service and showmanship but the food wasn't as nice as elsewhere. If you like sushi go to 'Soy' on the resort - excellent sushi!

You are able to go to both La Toc and the Grande St Lucian as part of your stay with Sandals, and although they are both bigger and slicker they are nowhere near as charming as Halcyon Beach. There is some criticism of it being dated, but I think there's some charm in a clean, well loved appearance. Both La Toc and Grande St Lucian have a more party atmosphere, and so it is whatever suits you best in this respect.

The staff are all very friendly and welcoming at Halcyon Beach and it's a very nice atmosphere.

We would definitely stay here again, but need to see some more world before we become Sandals regulars!

Room Tip: Blocks 200 and 300 are centrally placed with some sea view, lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Hello Catkin,
We are so thrilled to hear what a lovely time you had at Sandals Halcyon Beach! It is wonderful that you enjoyed the quiet charm of the resort and you found our staff members to be accommodating. We hope that you will return soon and we look forward to hosting your next visit to the Caribbean!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort

Address: Choc Bay, Castries GM910, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Castries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Castries
#4 Luxury Hotel in Castries
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Castries
#4 Romantic Hotel in Castries
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Castries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•Friendly to the physically challenged with low rise architecture •Fully air-conditioned Caribbean cuisine restaurant on its own 150 ft pier over the •Caribbean Sea •Houses 169 Rooms with true personal service and intimate experience •English-style afternoon tea served at the Paradise pool •Tableside service at the Beach Bistro •“Stay at one, play at three” free shuttles to Sandals La Toc Golf Resort & Spa and Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa & Beach Resort•Sandals Resorts “World’s Leading All Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row •Sandals Resorts “Caribbean’s Leading Hotel Brand”, 18 years in a row ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, BookIt.com and Otel so you can book your Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Halcyon Beach St. Lucia Hotel Castries
Sandals Halcyon Beach Castries
Sandals St Lucia
Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort St. Lucia/Castries

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.