We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Wedding Day!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort to your Saves list
Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Choc Bay, Castries GM910, St. Lucia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$305 Spa/Tour Credit!!
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Castries
La Plata, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Wedding Day!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We went to Sandals Halcyon to get married. We brought along 10 other people. Our stay was amazing. The staff was great. It wasn't over crowded which is what we wanted. I read all the reviews on this site before we went, some good and some bad, but we really enjoyed ourselves. The wedding department there was excellent. I had an issue with the wedding planners off site, I went through three, one quit, one was let go, and the third was new. She had to ask a supervisor about everything. Once onsite, they took over and made it the perfect day.
The only problem I had was the staff in the photo shop. They were very unfriendly, and made you feel stupid. All of them had attitudes. The photographers were amazing, it was just the shop's staff that were complete jerks.
We stayed from 10/12-10/19 and the weather was great. We had a couple storms that lasted 30 minutes at the most. Kelly's resturant was the worst on the resort. Mario's and the Japanesse resturant's were the best. Even the buffet style place was better than Kelly's.
We took the Gullian Knows tour, they treated my wedding group like VIP's we had our own bus, we had our own table at mom's house, and he even made us a gift for our wedding day!! Amazing guy! Take this tour!!! Highly recommended!There was a lot to do and they didn't rush. The other tours were rushed. We also did the zip lining, so much fun!!! I recommend it.
Halcyon is the smallest of the three resorts but we met a lot of great people, never fought over a chair at the FUN pool, and there was something for everyone. If you don't have fun here, it's your own fault. Thanks to the staff that made it the perfect wedding day!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Thank you for your review of Sandals Halcyon Beach, Laurie! We are delighted to hear that your wedding was spectacular and that our wedding team did a phenomenal job at making sure your big day was perfect! I apologize if at any point you experienced any difficulties and we encourage you to notify our staff while on property if something does not meet your standards. They are always willing to work with you and make sure that you are completely satisfied. I will be forwarding your kind remarks and concerns to our resort team for further review.
We hope to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,345
    559
    203
    97
    83
See reviews for
31
1,757
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (525)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Absolutely wonderful hotel, great location. Perfect for couples of all ages.

Staff are amazing. Lovely and quiet hotel.

Rooms are very clean.

The landscape is very intimate.

Selection of food is the best I have ever had in an All Inclusive.

Luxury included... and then some! thanks for such a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: Go for a room that is single storey
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Thank you for your review of Sandals Halcyon Beach! We are thrilled to hear that you had a wonderful vacation at our resort and that you thoroughly enjoyed all aspects of our service!
We hope to welcome you back in the future for more amazing memories!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

My wife and I traveled to St. Lucia for our honeymoon in May of 2012. After doing quite a bit of research, we decided on Halcyon Beach because of its quaint feel. We absolutely loved it! If you are looking for over-the-top, Vegas-style glamour than go to the Grande. While at Halcyon, we toured the other two resorts and knew that Halcyon was the right choice for us. The food is great at Halcyon and if you want more variety, you can always take a shuttle to the other two resorts for dinner. Another bonus is that Halcyon is right in the middle of the other two so a trip to one is not inconvenient. Halcyon is certainly not as big as the other two resorts, but the benefit of that is that you don't have to take a shuttle or a 15 minute walk to get to a pool or a restaurant. Casino night was a blast and a great way to raise some money for a worthwhile charity. We are both certified divers and dove with Sandals six times. While St. Lucia isn't known as a popular dive locale, we've been diving in multiple places in the Caribbean and Hawaii, and we found the diving to be great! The dive staff was very helpful and always felt safe.

Room Tip: Because the resort is so small, I don't know if Butler service would be that beneficial. You can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Hello and thank you for your review, Brian! We are thrilled that you had an amazing honeymoon stay at Sandals Halcyon Beach. It is the perfect spot for our couples to relax and reconnect, as it is so cozy and intimate. The dive staff are some of the most helpful and friendly professionals and they truly do know the best diving locations! What a fun way of exploring more of this beautiful island!
We look forward to having you come back for many more adventures with us in paradise!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We spent our birthdays at Halcyon and were spoilt rotten. Perfect staff - especially Sasha at Concierge who could not do enough for us and was excellent in organising our time! Lorenzo at Bayside grill who went out of his way to welcome us every morning. Eslynn, Michael, Viana and Everton on the Ents team who worked hard to keep us entertained in every way. Noel & Laurence on the Island routes desk who sorted us out great trips. We were treated like returning friends by Gmgr Lennox.
Highly recommend La Toc French restaurant and Toscaninis Italian restaurant (where my fiancé proposed to me!) at the sister hotels both you need to book for but are well worth it. Both sister hotels are glamorous and vast and nice to visit for the day if you want big pools, games, pubs, big beaches and loads of people but we preferred Halcyon's laid back approach and friendly vibe. The quiet pool was lovely and we were always able to get sun loungers in the shade.
St Lucian's are so friendly and even though there are locals on the beach trying to make a living they do not pressure you to buy. The stray cats didn't bother us as this is natural in a island resort.
One improvement comment would be that the resort did look tired in comparison to the sister hotels which makes it feel cheaper and less loved to those who are looking for the 'Sandals' touch. But the quality of the food and service received does make up for this.
Thank you Sandals staff for a great fortnight. Didn't want to leave!
Melvyn & Michelle x

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Thank you for your review of Sandals Halcyon Beach, Melvyn and Michelle! We are so happy to hear of the fantastic time you had staying at our resort. The staff members are a wonderful group of people that truly make you feel right at home with them! We are happy you took the time to enjoy our other properties as well. It is a wonderful benefit to "pay for one, play at 3" and gives our guests so many options to explore at their leisure.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Paradise for 7 nights. Everything about this location was perfect. Staff, accomodation, food, weather, facilities are five star in every way. Thank you sandals staff for delivering perfection consistantly all week. Hope to cpme bacl again next year.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Thank you for your review of Sandals Halcyon Beach. We are delighted that your trip was perfect from beginning to end. We strive to provide the best in service and quality in all areas! It is fantastic that our staff did an excellent job taking care of you during your stay and you thoroughly enjoyed yourself.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed 10 fun filled days at this wonderful couples resort. We upgraded to the Butler level and have no regrets. We had a team of 4 butlers that were there to meet our needs. Making our reservations for restaurants and excursions. Making sure we had our favorite beverages on hand. Every day a different surprise. The room service was exceptional and the view from our room could not have been better. Roland, the head butler loaned us a cell,phone while there so we had instant access to the staff. Willard, Silveria and Claudia were always there for us. Deanna at Bayside always treated us with a smile as did the whole staff . It is hard not to want to mention all who made our vacation so special. St. Lucia itself is fabulous. We also had access to the 2 other Sandals Resorts there, but thanks to a very knowledgable travel agent, Kathy Pickerell from Denham Springs, LA, she was able to direct us to this particular resort that met our expectations.

Room Tip: Loved our room and extra service at the butler level, the view we had was magnificent. We first stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Hello and thank you for your review, Dee. We are thrilled that you had such a wonderful time at Sandals Halcyon Beach! The staff members are very helpful in accommodating our guests and the Butlers do a phenomenal job at ensuring that you have nothing to do but relax!
We look forward to welcoming you back soon for more fun in the sun!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

We have recently returned from our first stay at a Sandals resort.
Rooms were clean and well maintained, the view from our room overlooked the gardens and the quiet pool.
All food within the resort was very good, but more choices are needed,especially if you are there for more than a week. A good range of drinks available.
The gardens are very well looked after and all areas were very clean.
The beach was very clean and usually very quiet.
The diving is excellent and would be recommended. Could have done with a bit more choice regarding the water sports ie jet skis or a pedlo.
The staff were very polite and hard working.
Please be aware when arriving at the airport that people offer to take your bags for you, but only take around the corner and want a huge tip. The Sandals staff at the airport would be more benefit waiting for customers in the arrivals and directing them instead of waiting in a room. They also seemed at a loss as to what customers they are expecting and what resort or room they were staying in. This was frustrating especially after a 8 hour flight.
Overall an excellent week and we will definitely return.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort

Address: Choc Bay, Castries GM910, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Castries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Castries
#4 Romantic Hotel in Castries
#4 Luxury Hotel in Castries
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Castries
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Castries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•Friendly to the physically challenged with low rise architecture •Fully air-conditioned Caribbean cuisine restaurant on its own 150 ft pier over the •Caribbean Sea •Houses 169 Rooms with true personal service and intimate experience •English-style afternoon tea served at the Paradise pool •Tableside service at the Beach Bistro •“Stay at one, play at three” free shuttles to Sandals La Toc Golf Resort & Spa and Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa & Beach Resort•Sandals Resorts “World’s Leading All Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row •Sandals Resorts “Caribbean’s Leading Hotel Brand”, 18 years in a row ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Halcyon Beach St. Lucia Hotel Castries
Sandals Halcyon Beach Castries
Sandals St Lucia
Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort St. Lucia/Castries

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.