We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A-MA-ZING” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandals Halcyon Beach St. Lucia

Save Saved
You added Sandals Halcyon Beach St. Lucia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sandals Halcyon Beach St. Lucia
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Choc Bay, Castries GM910, St. Lucia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
1 Free Night!!
Ranked #5 of 17 hotels in Castries
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A-MA-ZING”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Absolutely wonderful hotel, great location. Perfect for couples of all ages.

Staff are amazing. Lovely and quiet hotel.

Rooms are very clean.

The landscape is very intimate.

Selection of food is the best I have ever had in an All Inclusive.

Luxury included... and then some! thanks for such a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: Go for a room that is single storey
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Halcyon Beach St. Lucia, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Thank you for your review of Sandals Halcyon Beach! We are thrilled to hear that you had a wonderful vacation at our resort and that you thoroughly enjoyed all aspects of our service!
We hope to welcome you back in the future for more amazing memories!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,208 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,292
    542
    196
    95
    83
See reviews for
29
1689
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (488)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

My wife and I traveled to St. Lucia for our honeymoon in May of 2012. After doing quite a bit of research, we decided on Halcyon Beach because of its quaint feel. We absolutely loved it! If you are looking for over-the-top, Vegas-style glamour than go to the Grande. While at Halcyon, we toured the other two resorts and knew that Halcyon was the right choice for us. The food is great at Halcyon and if you want more variety, you can always take a shuttle to the other two resorts for dinner. Another bonus is that Halcyon is right in the middle of the other two so a trip to one is not inconvenient. Halcyon is certainly not as big as the other two resorts, but the benefit of that is that you don't have to take a shuttle or a 15 minute walk to get to a pool or a restaurant. Casino night was a blast and a great way to raise some money for a worthwhile charity. We are both certified divers and dove with Sandals six times. While St. Lucia isn't known as a popular dive locale, we've been diving in multiple places in the Caribbean and Hawaii, and we found the diving to be great! The dive staff was very helpful and always felt safe.

Room Tip: Because the resort is so small, I don't know if Butler service would be that beneficial. You can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Halcyon Beach St. Lucia, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Hello and thank you for your review, Brian! We are thrilled that you had an amazing honeymoon stay at Sandals Halcyon Beach. It is the perfect spot for our couples to relax and reconnect, as it is so cozy and intimate. The dive staff are some of the most helpful and friendly professionals and they truly do know the best diving locations! What a fun way of exploring more of this beautiful island!
We look forward to having you come back for many more adventures with us in paradise!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We spent our birthdays at Halcyon and were spoilt rotten. Perfect staff - especially Sasha at Concierge who could not do enough for us and was excellent in organising our time! Lorenzo at Bayside grill who went out of his way to welcome us every morning. Eslynn, Michael, Viana and Everton on the Ents team who worked hard to keep us entertained in every way. Noel & Laurence on the Island routes desk who sorted us out great trips. We were treated like returning friends by Gmgr Lennox.
Highly recommend La Toc French restaurant and Toscaninis Italian restaurant (where my fiancé proposed to me!) at the sister hotels both you need to book for but are well worth it. Both sister hotels are glamorous and vast and nice to visit for the day if you want big pools, games, pubs, big beaches and loads of people but we preferred Halcyon's laid back approach and friendly vibe. The quiet pool was lovely and we were always able to get sun loungers in the shade.
St Lucian's are so friendly and even though there are locals on the beach trying to make a living they do not pressure you to buy. The stray cats didn't bother us as this is natural in a island resort.
One improvement comment would be that the resort did look tired in comparison to the sister hotels which makes it feel cheaper and less loved to those who are looking for the 'Sandals' touch. But the quality of the food and service received does make up for this.
Thank you Sandals staff for a great fortnight. Didn't want to leave!
Melvyn & Michelle x

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Halcyon Beach St. Lucia, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Thank you for your review of Sandals Halcyon Beach, Melvyn and Michelle! We are so happy to hear of the fantastic time you had staying at our resort. The staff members are a wonderful group of people that truly make you feel right at home with them! We are happy you took the time to enjoy our other properties as well. It is a wonderful benefit to "pay for one, play at 3" and gives our guests so many options to explore at their leisure.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Paradise for 7 nights. Everything about this location was perfect. Staff, accomodation, food, weather, facilities are five star in every way. Thank you sandals staff for delivering perfection consistantly all week. Hope to cpme bacl again next year.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Halcyon Beach St. Lucia, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Thank you for your review of Sandals Halcyon Beach. We are delighted that your trip was perfect from beginning to end. We strive to provide the best in service and quality in all areas! It is fantastic that our staff did an excellent job taking care of you during your stay and you thoroughly enjoyed yourself.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed 10 fun filled days at this wonderful couples resort. We upgraded to the Butler level and have no regrets. We had a team of 4 butlers that were there to meet our needs. Making our reservations for restaurants and excursions. Making sure we had our favorite beverages on hand. Every day a different surprise. The room service was exceptional and the view from our room could not have been better. Roland, the head butler loaned us a cell,phone while there so we had instant access to the staff. Willard, Silveria and Claudia were always there for us. Deanna at Bayside always treated us with a smile as did the whole staff . It is hard not to want to mention all who made our vacation so special. St. Lucia itself is fabulous. We also had access to the 2 other Sandals Resorts there, but thanks to a very knowledgable travel agent, Kathy Pickerell from Denham Springs, LA, she was able to direct us to this particular resort that met our expectations.

Room Tip: Loved our room and extra service at the butler level, the view we had was magnificent. We first stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Halcyon Beach St. Lucia, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Hello and thank you for your review, Dee. We are thrilled that you had such a wonderful time at Sandals Halcyon Beach! The staff members are very helpful in accommodating our guests and the Butlers do a phenomenal job at ensuring that you have nothing to do but relax!
We look forward to welcoming you back soon for more fun in the sun!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

We have recently returned from our first stay at a Sandals resort.
Rooms were clean and well maintained, the view from our room overlooked the gardens and the quiet pool.
All food within the resort was very good, but more choices are needed,especially if you are there for more than a week. A good range of drinks available.
The gardens are very well looked after and all areas were very clean.
The beach was very clean and usually very quiet.
The diving is excellent and would be recommended. Could have done with a bit more choice regarding the water sports ie jet skis or a pedlo.
The staff were very polite and hard working.
Please be aware when arriving at the airport that people offer to take your bags for you, but only take around the corner and want a huge tip. The Sandals staff at the airport would be more benefit waiting for customers in the arrivals and directing them instead of waiting in a room. They also seemed at a loss as to what customers they are expecting and what resort or room they were staying in. This was frustrating especially after a 8 hour flight.
Overall an excellent week and we will definitely return.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

My partner and I have stayed at this resort 5 times. That really speaks for itself as it is the only place we have ever returned to. We love the relaxed vibe.
It is in a beautiful location with mature gardens and gorgeous flowers. The beach is pretty and what's not to like about swimming in the Caribbean?
The food is absolutely first-rate - extremely good with plenty of choice. I love the fresh papaya.
The staff are efficient and friendly - they make a point of recognising and acknowledging familiar faces. They really do remember past visitors.
Will we go again? We've already booked our next trip!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sandals Halcyon Beach St. Lucia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Halcyon Beach St. Lucia

Address: Choc Bay, Castries GM910, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Castries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Castries
#4 Luxury Hotel in Castries
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Castries
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Castries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sandals Halcyon Beach St. Lucia 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•Friendly to the physically challenged with low rise architecture •Fully air-conditioned Caribbean cuisine restaurant on its own 150 ft pier over the •Caribbean Sea •Houses 169 Rooms with true personal service and intimate experience •English-style afternoon tea served at the Paradise pool •Tableside service at the Beach Bistro •“Stay at one, play at three” free shuttles to Sandals La Toc Golf Resort & Spa and Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa & Beach Resort•Sandals Resorts “World’s Leading All Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row •Sandals Resorts “Caribbean’s Leading Hotel Brand”, 18 years in a row ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Sandals Halcyon Beach St. Lucia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Halcyon Beach St. Lucia Hotel Castries
Sandals Halcyon Beach Castries
Sandals St Lucia
Sandals Halcyon Beach St. Lucia Castries

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandals Halcyon Beach St. Lucia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.