We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but very nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort to your Saves list
Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Choc Bay, Castries GM910, St. Lucia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to $355 Air Credit!!
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Castries
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Small but very nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

This was our second visit to Halcyon, the first being 14 years ago (1998), we were there from 5 - 19 December 2012. We have to say that it is not as good as it was 14 years ago, but does not detract from what was a very enjoyable, relaxing holiday in beautiful surroundings.

The Pier Restaurant (especially the piano player) and Marios are excellent, although we were disappointed in the Bayside which we found to be in need of some TLC. The hygiene standards were not as good as they should be, the chair cushions quite dirty and the cinstant pesetering from the cats gets annoying after a time. We also found breakfast got monotonous as it never ever changed. We also found that the grill at lunchtime frequently only had burgers which you can get from the beach grill every day.

We chose a basic room which was more than adequate as we do not spend much time in there(used our money flying Club World with BA which was good but the seating arrangement is apalling). However, we were somewhat surprised at there being no shower gel, only a bar of soap, it was a bit like stepping back to the 1800's, so if you are going take your own shower gel.

The nicest things about Halcyon is that it is small, has beautiful gardens and some really terrific staff who could not do enough to help. We met Agnes again at the sunset pool bar who was there when we went in 1998 and it was great to see her again.

It is a good location as you can use the courtsey bus to visit the other 2 sandals resorts (Grande & Le Toc) although we found the timings of the buses did not fit in well with the restaurant booking times at the other resorts.

All in all this was an excellent vacation in a very nice resort and we will definitely return and will not leave 14 years this time.

Keith E

Room Tip: Basic rooms are more than adequate unless you want to be pampered
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,544 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,477
    633
    238
    107
    89
See reviews for
37
1,980
4
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (625)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

before booking our honeymoon my husband and i did a lot of research and finally settled on Halycon St Lucia and we were not disappointed. we purposely chose it as the smaller of the 3 sandal hotels and really enjoyed it from our champagne arrival. The staff were all very helpful, and as the hotel wasnt too large we got to recognise the same faces.There were a lot of activities at the hotel everynight, including fire blowing, but you have to pay for all activities except water sports. The hopper bus they have between the 3 hotels was brilliant, so you can eat and drink at all 3 hotels. only downside at all 3 hotels was the cats. alot of stray cats everywhere.

Restaurants: of all the restaurants Marios, the Pitons and Josephines were our favourites

Tours:
Pitons: we hiked the pitons which we really loved, but it was hard work so might be worth doing this at the beginning of your trip before too much indulgance. also you need decent trainers with a grip as parts of it were like rock climbing. worth it for the view though.
Seatrek was amazing, my husband doesnt swim but we got to walk on the seabed and were down for about 40mins so as the only thing he could really do underwater it was definately worth it.
Land tour to Volcano and Sulphar Springs - this was the best trip we did, you can do the trip either by land or by boat (boat is joe knows) but we chose the land trip as you see more, going through the rainforest and banana plantations. We also had a fantastic guide who gave us so much information on the island, it was really insightful into the history of the island.
Dolphin & Whale Watching - in retrospect we wish we hadnt booked this tour as you could pay to do the supersnorkal for half the price and everyone came back saying they saw dolphins and whales and it was like a sunset tour aswell

Overall this hotel was amazing, fridge was restocked everyday, the room was very clean and all the staff were amazing. of the 3 sandals hotels on the island this was the smallest, so no large high rise buildings and everything was in walking distance, you got to know all of the staff, it wasnt as loud at night and has definately given me a taste for sandals.

Room Tip: we got a downstairs room which was a pain with the cats so would ask for a 1st floor one instead
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

My Husband and I just got back from the Halcyon and we wish we could have stayed a little longer... We were not sure how nice the people will be there and we have been really suprised in a good way. The hotel was perfect, very clean, right on the beach and the food was excellent. The staff 99.9% of them were extremely welcoming, much nicer than on some other Islands..... The Halcyon is the "smallest" of the Sandals but also the Greener, lots of trees and vegetation which was very nice. The Other Sandals are much bigger and we didn't care for it too much, the Halcyon was the perfect choice for us. Quieter too...
We higly recommend it, we traveled to many places in Tahiti, Hawaii, etc.. and this is one of the best trip we had because of the accomodation, the food and the people.
Although, since we have kids, I don't know where we will be able to go back as none of the Sandals in St Lucia welcome kids but it is perfect for adults!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorhead, Minnesota
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

This review is late in coming, as we stayed during Reunion Week at the end of September through early October - where does the time go?!! A little background, my husband and I are in our late thirties and prefer to travel in the Caribbean. We have previously stayed at 3 Sandals resorts in Jamaica.

This was our first trip to St. Lucia and we picked this time because it was reunion week and we got a good deal on both airfare and the room rate. We did have a two day flight both ways coming from Minnesota; staying over in Miami on our way down and in NY on our way back. The travel time got long, but it was nice to break it up as I have an injured leg that does not travel well.
We opted for a private transfer through Serenity tours both to and from the airport. It was well worth the extra $90 each way to not be crammed in the shuttle bus. There were lots of complaints from those who had taken the complimentary transfer about how little leg room there was and how crowded it was. The trip took 1.5 hrs both ways and was pretty windy and hilly. I would say it was comparable to a trip from SWH to Sandals Negril.

The shuttle between the resorts was a very nice shuttle, plenty of room and very comfortable. Much nicer than the airport shuttles. It ran about every 2 hours. During busy times there was more than 1 shuttle running to accommodate all of the guests. I feel like Sandals has this down to a science and we used it almost every day. We met many other guests and had some fun conversations while on the shuttle bus. If the shuttles became full, we observed them calling a van to accommodate the remaining guests.

One day we took a private taxi to the Grande so we could start the Pigeon Island hike early. We asked for a taxi at the front desk and there was one there for us in 2 minutes flat! It cost $20 to go from Halycon to Grande. You can leave bags at the other resorts' front desks as needed while you are there for the day. We left our beach bags at the front desk at the Grande the day we went to Pigeon Island so we didn't have to carry it all with us - very easy and worked out nice!

Sandals Halycon:
We really liked this resort! The grounds were very nice, the flowers and trees perfect. There was limited dining choices and the beach bar, bistro and nearby hot tub were closed for remodeling while we were there. We used the shuttle to the other resorts for dinner several times. In the evening before the piano bar opened there was just the one main bar open and often times it was a long wait to get a drink due to it being so busy. This was frustrating, and a couple of times we walked away after a good 20 minutes of waiting. They could benefit from an extra bartender and/or opening another bar during this time frame. There are A LOT of cats around the resort...I was worried that hubby would be annoyed as he is not a cat lover, but their presence did not bug him at all and many people were paying attention to them. This was the first beach vacation that we did not walk the entire beach once. The beach vendors were a part of the reason, although for the most part they were very friendly and respected your decline to purchase their goods or services. The beach at the Halycon was just ok, the water was not clear and slightly more rough than what we have become used to in Jamaica. We did go in and swim here one day and again, it was just ok. I am a beach lover, so I was disappointed in this, although I knew what to expect and the beach at the Grande is where we spent our 'beach time' and the beach there is very nice. The front desk staff at the Halycon were hit and miss for pleasantness.

Room - we selected the lowest level room and were very happy with it! We were in a lower level cottage in the 200 block facing the cabanas. We were close to everything and away from most noise. The flora was beautiful!! We were able to fall asleep every night listening to the toads (I think!) singing. We did not spend very much time in our room as we were busy checking everthing out.

Meals - there are a lot of choices between all three resorts!
Breakfast - We ate breakfast every day at the Bayside Buffet and there was adequate selection. Francis was an absolute standout staff member at this location, he always went out of his way, was working hard and smiling and greeting everyone!! We were disappointed that there was not more variety of fresh fruit offered - only melons, bananas, pineapple and oranges. We were hoping for papaya and mango and something unique or local, at least once during the week. The juices and mimosas at breakfast were good but often on the warm side. I thought the breakfast buffets in Jamaica were much better.
Lunch -
Halycon Bayside buffet [/u]- just ok for us... although the service was very good!
*La Toc Neptunes - awesome! Service, menu, food and location!
*Grande - brick oven pizza and crepes - we did this two different times and the second time we ordered it to go and brought it over the to the tables on the pier and had a private little lunch while watching the fish around the rocks - very nice!
Dinner -
*The Pier - food was good, service was just ok
*Marios - food was great and service was just ok - waitresses tended to rush through service to get back to the group to talk and flirting with the photographer, tickling each other, etc. The night of our private tour we were too tired to dress for dinner and ordered food from here to eat on our patio. We had brought candles from home so we dressed up our patio and got a couple of drinks from the bar and had a very romantic private dinner all to ourselves. We thought the food at Marios's totally beat out Armando's at La Toc, although the service and ambience was very nice at Armando's. We had chartered a fishing boat with Serenity Tours and caught a Wahoo. We were able to bring a couple of fish steaks back with us and the chef at Marios did an awesome job preparing this for us one evening. We were very appreciative of his willingness to do this! The asparagus risotto is absolutely fabulous!
*La Toc Armandos- food was just ok, menu limited, but service and ambiance was great!
*La Toc - Neptunes - Awesome! Food, menu, service and location - all spot on!
*Grande Barefoot by the Sea - Awesome!! Everything spot on, and we really enjoyed eating on the beach!
*Halycon Bayside Steak night - my least favorite meal of all...service was very good and there was a live saxophonist playing and it was such a nice touch. Really enjoyed the saxophone! The food itself just didn't appeal to me at all.

Beaches -
Halycon - ok,, very sandy and swimable. Not very clear and not totally calm.
Grande - the best beach, very calm, clear, sandy and lots of fish to see around the pier. We snorkeled here on two different days and got some good underwater video footage of fun colorful fish.
La Toc- we did not go in the water on the beach, it was fun to watch but looked pretty rough.
Pools - there were always floaties available at each pool we used.
Halycon - Paradise Pool was very nice, I liked the benches at the right level a long the sides, nice to sit on and read in the pool. The hot tub here was WAY too hot...we tried to get in two different times and couldn't. It was not being used much, and I am guessing this is why. We had been in the hot tubs at both other resorts and they were better - temperature was right. Agnes the bar tender here was very good!! Always quick and friendly service!
Grande - we only used the hot tub here and it was good!
La Toc- bluff pool and hot tub - awesome!! Nice chairs, constant pool side bar service, nice big pool, very scenic and we enjoyed watching the sunset from the hot tub on the cliff. Definitely take the shuttle up to this area and check it out!

Evening Entertainment -
We were wiped out by the end of the day and did not make any evening entertainments - yikes!
We did tend to hit the hot tub or pool or sit by a fire pit after dinner instead.

Reunion Week -
I honestly thought most of the reunion week activities were pretty hokey. We went to the first part of the opening evening and it was pretty much a fashion show of clothing from the gift shop...something that is a regular event as evening entertainment. We stay so busy doing our own thing it didn't really matter. The one thing we really enjoyed was the sunset cruise as part of reunion week. They took us on a catamaran with open bar and snacks down the west coast and all the way into Marigot Bay...it was beautiful! One thing I found frustrating about Reunion Week was not getting the schedule in advance...I am a planner and wanted to finalize all of our outside tour plans before leaving and had a difficult time getting a copy of the reunion week schedule so I could plan around events we wished to attend. Some tours are only offered on certain days and we like to see and do alot of things on our vacations. I would not go out of my way to plan for reunion week again, but would go if it was convenient to our schedules.

Pigeon Island - We did this our first day on the island...took a taxi over bright and early. You can walk along the beach to the gate. It is $5/pp to get in and then you are on your own to walk around and explore. I have had a hip replacement and 9+ surgeries on one leg and I was able to climb to Fort Rodney, albeit slowly and carefully. It was well worth it! The view from the top was very nice.

We really enjoyed St. Lucia and the Halycon. If staying at a Sandals resort in St Lucia again, we would choose this resort again, the place has a charm about it with the low lying buildings, lush vegatation, etc.

We also spent some time at Anse Mamin, Anse Chastanet, did the Tet Paul Trail, and deep sea fishing - check out our reviews under Things to Do for more information on those tours.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We visited Halcyon from December 15 - 22 as a couple and it was great!

The staff are very friendly and it is no surprise to learn that St. Lucians have been voted the friendliest and most courteous people in the Caribbean. The resort is small, very well kept and maintenance and repairs are ongoing but with little or no disruption to the guests.
The beach is smaller than we prefer and beyond the resorts boundaries there is garbage left by the locals. The beach vendors are a pain but they are only trying to make a buck.
The food is excellent at all restaurants, buffet and beach grille. The service is a little slow at the Pier Restaurant but it is definitely worth the short wait. The portion sizes at the a la carte restaurants are much bigger than we have experienced at other resorts so you must be careful not to go overboard on the starters or you will be stuffed before you can finish the entree. The 'playmakers team' at this resort is exceptional and really try their very best to get people up and active and as part of their interaction, regularly have lunch with the guests. We had lunch with two different team members on different occasions. Neillan and Garfield are really down to earth people and along with the rest of the team and staff at Halcyon they make it a warm and welcoming atmosphere.
The management is totally open and approachable and deal with issues straight on with no delay.
We will go back.

Room Tip: We stayed in the 500 block that faced the Paradise Pool (quiet pool) and it was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bridgeport, wv
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

This was our third trip to the Halcyon and we keep going back because it is a smaller friendly resort with beautiful grounds, excellent service, unlimited bars, and great food. It is an all-inclusive resort in between two sister resorts where you can enjoy the beach there or the other resorts' beaches and a number of restaurants via a 15 minute shuttle. It was a vacation with no problems – everything went very smoothly. We had no problem going to any of the other restaurants including getting reservations at the Japanese Steakhouse and French Restaurant at the other resort. (which I recommend doing) I can't quantify the number of strawberry daiquiri's and BBC's (included) we ordered at the many bars with very friendly bartenders.

We signed up to go scuba diving every day (included) and the diving there is wonderful. (Be sure to request to dive Superman's Flight and Fairyland) Overall highlights include seeing 2 frogfish, a sea horse, squid, slipper lobsters, and 2 dens of lobsters.

Room selection at Halcyon can range from ocean front cottages to garden view. Be forewarned that most of the ocean front rooms are on a main path, so there isn’t a lot of privacy. I loved my less expensive garden/pool view room. It was updated with flat screen tv, bar, stocked refrigerator and marble. With the resort, nothing is inconveniently located. The garden pool was also a very nice popular place to relax or socialize. We have visited the other Sandals in St. Lucia, but this is our pick. (Grande - think highrise, but great beach - which you can visit) (La Toc - think mountain goat and the need to take shuttles within the resort, but great restaurants). I will be back to Halcyon for a 4th visit!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We just returned to snowy Ohio from Sandals and had a great time at Halcyon. The resort is small and personal. Occupancy was low the week prior to Christmas, and gave it an even more intimate feeling. We struck up many conversations with other guests and the hotel staff. The staff were friendly and helpful. Special thanks to Chef Canniah, who personally saw to it that my husband got food without onions every night (they make him ill), even going so far as to cook special meals for him! Kenzely, our bartender, took great care of us, and the interns Leona and Jessie were so much fun to talk to- good luck in hospitality school, girls! Many other staff members made us feel welcome, also, too many to name. Other travelers commented on liquor. We were quite satisfied, but they did not have some top shelf beverages such as Maker's Mark bourbon or Jameson whiskey, but there were plenty of other options. We went to the Sandals Grande for a day- it was quite big, great beach, but noisy and less personal, and we were happy to return to the peacefulness of the Halcyon, which I chose by reading the other Trip Advisor reviews. Highly recommend this for a mellow, laid back romantic vacation.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort

Address: Choc Bay, Castries GM910, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Castries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Castries
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Castries
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Castries
#6 Romantic Hotel in Castries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•Friendly to the physically challenged with low rise architecture •Fully air-conditioned Caribbean cuisine restaurant on its own 150 ft pier over the •Caribbean Sea •Houses 169 Rooms with true personal service and intimate experience •English-style afternoon tea served at the Paradise pool •Tableside service at the Beach Bistro •“Stay at one, play at three” free shuttles to Sandals La Toc Golf Resort & Spa and Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa & Beach Resort•Sandals Resorts “World’s Leading All Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row •Sandals Resorts “Caribbean’s Leading Hotel Brand”, 18 years in a row ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp. and Expedia so you can book your Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Halcyon Beach St. Lucia Hotel Castries
Sandals Halcyon Beach Castries
Sandals St Lucia
Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort St. Lucia/Castries

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.