We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“anniversary trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandals Halcyon Beach St. Lucia

Save Saved
You added Sandals Halcyon Beach St. Lucia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sandals Halcyon Beach St. Lucia
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Choc Bay, Castries GM910, St. Lucia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 65%!!
Ranked #5 of 17 hotels in Castries
Newent, United Kingdom
1 review
“anniversary trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Stayed at Halcyon Beach from 6th November for 10 days, absolutely wonderful!
Icing on the cake was the cake which we received on our anniversary, thanks to the staff!!!!!
The most relaxing holiday we have had, resort smaller than the other two on the island but easily the best. We became familiar with the staff and were always made to feel very welcome.
This again due to the small scale site. Highly recommend The Pier Restaurant and Mario's (Italian), Bayside for wonderful breakfast and a la carte. EXCELLENT !!!!!!!!!!!
We do not normally visit twice but will certainly go back again.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,216 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,297
    544
    197
    95
    83
See reviews for
29
1696
4
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (493)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

My Husband and I stayed at Sandals the week of November 18-25th,2012. This was our first visit to a Sandals Resort and we were not dissapointed one bit. We researched this resort on trip advisor and were a little skeptical about some of the negative reviews we read and we advise to disregard them, this resort is PERFECT! If you like a quiet resort this is the resort. We found the staff and entertainment crew amazing and very friendly. There are daily activities that they offer throughout the day that a very fun and allows you to meet new people while having fun. The staff never bother you and you rarley hear the entertainment crew come on a microphone to bother you while you are relaxing. They announce the game during that time and then you are left alone. We visited Sandals La Toc and in 2 hours of being there we had to leave because every 10 minutes someone was coming on the microphone to announce something. We enjoyed La Toc's beach but it is just way to big and nothing to special. We also visited the Grand which is beautiful seeing as it is the newest of all 3. We only went during 1 night to eat at the English Pub (which is a must if you love pub food). We found that we always wanted to go back to our resort which we called "home" for a week. The food at every restaraunt and Buffet was to die for. I am not a very big pork and sea food person and I that is all I ate and was full after every meal.
We did 2 excursions...The Sunset Cruise and Joe Knows. The Sunset Cruise was one of the most romantic experiences we had. It starts at 2pm and goes till7pm you start off by cruising on the west coast to the Piton mountains and snorkel for an hour in a beautiful coral reef. Once the sun starts setting you are on the boat cruising back and each couple is given a bottle of champange to share and you sit and watch the sun set with your loved one. Such a lovely evening.
Joe Knows is an amazing day trip as well, but a little rushed if you ask me. I would totally recommend it but would give you a little tip, once youve done your mud bath your on the go, then the waterfall for 5 mins and your on to your next stop. Its a very fun and amazing experience we just would have perfered it to be a little bit more relaxed and not just go,go,go.
We also did a romantic candle light dinner on the beach on our last night which was absolutley incredible and an amazing way to cap off our honeymoon, You do not leave starving for that meal. Our waitress Andrea was attentive and didn't bother us one bit while we ate.
The resort offeres you a free photoshoot where a photographer takes you around the resort and takes some amazing pictures that you can view and purchase. A little pricey but the pictures turn out beautiful.
As for the beach, which everyone complains about is really not that bad. A bit smaller than the other two but it is just as nice. A word of warning it is not a private beach, there are multiple people that come and bother you to buy things. Even if you are just walking by they whistle and ask you to come over even if its just to say hi. We didn`t enjoy that part at all but if you do buy something it sort of vetos you from everyone else. We suggest buy something from someone and anyone that comes up to you, you can say sorry I bough something already. But please do not let that deter you away from this resort because that is the only and minil problem we had with the resort.
Also be careful with swimming in the sea close to the sunset, there are jellyfish and they come close to the shore to cultivate, my husband did get stung. There is a warning sign that says be aware of jelly fish so it was our own neglagence swimming close to dusk.
There is a loud pool and a quiet pool both with swim up bars and we hung out a both everyday. During the morning we were by the loud pool for some pool volleyball and some music. After lunch we would go by the quiet pool which is just lovely. You can relax meet some amazing people and not have to hear Shaggy for the 5th time that day :) Also we strongly advise you eat at the beach bar, the chicken wings and hanburgers are delicious. We went there almost everyday they are that good.
Overall we had an amazing time and are planning on returning on our 5 year anniversary. xo

Room Tip: We stayed in 407 close to the beach and everything else. Beautiful room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton Heath, Warrington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

This holiday was a gift from my parents for my 21st birthday and it was fabulous!
Food was really nice, good variety, but if your looking for a la carte then you may not enjoy it as much as the choice for a la carte is limited (At Halcyon anyway). We did have problems with cold food on the first night, but you seem to find such things trivial in such a fantastic place. Staff are really friendly and attentive, the pools were lovely, the selection of drinks and cocktails were fantastic (not really a drinker but the non alcoholic cocktails were fab)
We did go on a few day trips to La grande one of the sister hotels, the food was fantastic at the Marina and we spent quite alot of time on the beach which was beautiful, their is abit more of a lively atmosphere compared to Halcyon BUT it was nice to go back to the Halcyons peaceful enviroment.
The bus service is a great idea and really regular. I only saw La Toc at night as we went for an Itailian there, food was fab and it also looked like a lovely resort.

There was one tiny thing that aggravated me and that was people trying to sell you things, not the hotel but people on the Halcyon beach, you don't usually mind it if it happens once or twice on holiday but there were round about 10 of them their all day and the main restaurant is right near the beach so you were continously being forced upon to buy things 15 times a day whenever you walked past!

Other then the beach sellers it was amazing, so peaceful and such a treat, would/will I go back? 100% I adored it!

Room Tip: I think our room may have been room number 613 which was near the tennis courts and we were quite cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We are so glad that we picked Halcyon Beach instead of the sister resorts. It is perfect for us because it is smaller and so laid back. We have found it like a big house party because you soon get chatting to other guests and to the staff. They are fantastic, always smiling and greeting and looking after our every need and more.
For those who are disabled, this place is on the level , there are ground level rooms and everything is easily within reach. The pools are good and easily accessible with good steps and handrails. The showers are above the bath, but the bath side is low and I had no problem stepping over. If you cannot walk far and bring your pedestrian mobility scooter as I did, you will find no problems using it. Apparently there are some popular trips, but not really suitable unless you are able bodied enough. Instead we took a chauffeur driven car to take us to see other areas: worth every dollar to us and the driver was really knowledgeable.
We have enjoyed everything here, and hope to come back.
Thank you to every member of staff here, and a special mention to Jonas and Yves who made it possible for us to have a ride in the speed boat as we can no longer take part in the various water sports available so this was very special. By the way- don't miss Charlie, the 'beach bum'. He is full of fun and laughter.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saltash, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012 via mobile

Just come back after spending 12 nights.we had a lovely time, the hotel is small which is perfect for us. The food was lovely and the staff very friendly a credit to sandals. Our room was clean and quiet. Not a bad thing to say about the place we would go back. Thank you for a lovely holiday

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We have just returned from the Halcyon having enjoyed a charming relaxing Winter Break.
Since our last visit there have been some considerable improvements to the Gardens and the general amenieties.
The staff were exceptionally friendly and were most helpful and good humoured without exception with special emphasis on attentiveness to the Guests and their needs.
The food was excellent in all three restaurants with a varied choice of cuisine in each, the restaurants being Italien,International and Caribbean with a fourth alternative being a Beach Grille serving Burgers, Chicken wings, Fries, Grilled Fish etc should you wish to depart from fiine dining for a change. Breakfast and Lunch are of Buffett style with a very large selection of choice with the Lunch Buffet offering daily variences to the Menu. A Japanese restaurant is currently being constructed adjacent to the Tennis courts and should provide another superb dinning alternative.
The Water Sporting facilities are of an excellent standard and available immediately most of the time and including 2 types of Sailing,4 types of Boarding including Water Skiing, Canoeing, Diving, Rings pulled by speed boats (no skill required other than a good grip) etc, etc. Other facilites offered are Tennis, Basketball, Volleyball, Shuttle Board and out door Chess.
The Pools were both good one being more secluded than the other therefore allowing Guests to alternate subject to their mood or needs, both Pools have swim up bars and have adjacent Jaccuzzi,s with a third near the Beach Grille, all the Pools had attendants and were very clean.
The accomodation ranges are varied, we stayed in Beachfont Walkout Rooms which we absolutely great with fantastic veiws of the Sea and Beach and you could hear the casual seductive sounds of the lapping waves, however the lower grade rooms are of a better internal standard as they have being fully refurbished.
The Gardens are Magnificent and a feast to th eyes with Gardeners constantly tending to them to maintain the splendour and the colours of the blossoms.
In summery the Holiday with regards all aspects met with our expectations and was good value for money. The range of Guests were between 18-75 with a vast amount of Honeymooners enjoying a Romantic time.
If you are looking for a partying 18-30s type holiday this is not the place for you, it is far to Romantic and relaxing and certainly suits couples who want to spend time with each other for relaxation.
We absolutely had a great time and we have already booked to return soon.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indian Land, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed at Sandal's Halcyon Beach in May 2012. This was our first vacation with Sandals and we enjoyed it. We enjoyed this resort being a smaller one. You can usually find a spot by the pool or on the beach without too much trouble and the bars aren't too crowded. The staff was always very friendly and helpful. We visited the other two resorts for dinner and I would say those were nicer and had more too offer but if you are looking for a quieter, less crowded resort you may like the Halcyon. Food was all good. It was nice that we could walk right out of our room and hop on a kayak or paddle board. We stayed in one of the Honeymoon Beachfront Walkout Concierge rooms and it was worth the price for the view and easy access to the beach. I will say that the rooms aren't quite as nice as in the pictures but they did the job.
Just fyi on extra things we did that don't reflect on Sandals: We took the helicopter in from the airport--soooo worth it! Great views of the island and only took 15 minutes versus 1.5 hours. The ride back to the airport made us realize how worth the price it was. Lastly---zip line tour was awesome! Horseback ride-n-swim was the biggest rip off and waste of time (wrote a separate review for that).

Overall-great trip and would recommend the resort to others who prefer small and quiet. Would go to the other resort if you want a little more upscale with a little more going on.

Room Tip: Beachfront walkout room's a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sandals Halcyon Beach St. Lucia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Halcyon Beach St. Lucia

Address: Choc Bay, Castries GM910, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Castries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Castries
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Castries
#4 Luxury Hotel in Castries
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Castries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sandals Halcyon Beach St. Lucia 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•Friendly to the physically challenged with low rise architecture •Fully air-conditioned Caribbean cuisine restaurant on its own 150 ft pier over the •Caribbean Sea •Houses 169 Rooms with true personal service and intimate experience •English-style afternoon tea served at the Paradise pool •Tableside service at the Beach Bistro •“Stay at one, play at three” free shuttles to Sandals La Toc Golf Resort & Spa and Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa & Beach Resort•Sandals Resorts “World’s Leading All Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row •Sandals Resorts “Caribbean’s Leading Hotel Brand”, 18 years in a row ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Amex, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Venere and Otel so you can book your Sandals Halcyon Beach St. Lucia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Halcyon Beach St. Lucia Hotel Castries
Sandals Halcyon Beach Castries
Sandals St Lucia
Sandals Halcyon Beach St. Lucia Castries

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandals Halcyon Beach St. Lucia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.