We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandals Halcyon Beach St. Lucia

Save Saved
You added Sandals Halcyon Beach St. Lucia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sandals Halcyon Beach St. Lucia
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Choc Bay, Castries GM910, St. Lucia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to $355 Air Credit!
Ranked #5 of 17 hotels in Castries
Saltash, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Peaceful holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012 via mobile

Just come back after spending 12 nights.we had a lovely time, the hotel is small which is perfect for us. The food was lovely and the staff very friendly a credit to sandals. Our room was clean and quiet. Not a bad thing to say about the place we would go back. Thank you for a lovely holiday

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,201 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,288
    540
    195
    95
    83
See reviews for
29
1685
4
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (486)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We have just returned from the Halcyon having enjoyed a charming relaxing Winter Break.
Since our last visit there have been some considerable improvements to the Gardens and the general amenieties.
The staff were exceptionally friendly and were most helpful and good humoured without exception with special emphasis on attentiveness to the Guests and their needs.
The food was excellent in all three restaurants with a varied choice of cuisine in each, the restaurants being Italien,International and Caribbean with a fourth alternative being a Beach Grille serving Burgers, Chicken wings, Fries, Grilled Fish etc should you wish to depart from fiine dining for a change. Breakfast and Lunch are of Buffett style with a very large selection of choice with the Lunch Buffet offering daily variences to the Menu. A Japanese restaurant is currently being constructed adjacent to the Tennis courts and should provide another superb dinning alternative.
The Water Sporting facilities are of an excellent standard and available immediately most of the time and including 2 types of Sailing,4 types of Boarding including Water Skiing, Canoeing, Diving, Rings pulled by speed boats (no skill required other than a good grip) etc, etc. Other facilites offered are Tennis, Basketball, Volleyball, Shuttle Board and out door Chess.
The Pools were both good one being more secluded than the other therefore allowing Guests to alternate subject to their mood or needs, both Pools have swim up bars and have adjacent Jaccuzzi,s with a third near the Beach Grille, all the Pools had attendants and were very clean.
The accomodation ranges are varied, we stayed in Beachfont Walkout Rooms which we absolutely great with fantastic veiws of the Sea and Beach and you could hear the casual seductive sounds of the lapping waves, however the lower grade rooms are of a better internal standard as they have being fully refurbished.
The Gardens are Magnificent and a feast to th eyes with Gardeners constantly tending to them to maintain the splendour and the colours of the blossoms.
In summery the Holiday with regards all aspects met with our expectations and was good value for money. The range of Guests were between 18-75 with a vast amount of Honeymooners enjoying a Romantic time.
If you are looking for a partying 18-30s type holiday this is not the place for you, it is far to Romantic and relaxing and certainly suits couples who want to spend time with each other for relaxation.
We absolutely had a great time and we have already booked to return soon.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indian Land, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed at Sandal's Halcyon Beach in May 2012. This was our first vacation with Sandals and we enjoyed it. We enjoyed this resort being a smaller one. You can usually find a spot by the pool or on the beach without too much trouble and the bars aren't too crowded. The staff was always very friendly and helpful. We visited the other two resorts for dinner and I would say those were nicer and had more too offer but if you are looking for a quieter, less crowded resort you may like the Halcyon. Food was all good. It was nice that we could walk right out of our room and hop on a kayak or paddle board. We stayed in one of the Honeymoon Beachfront Walkout Concierge rooms and it was worth the price for the view and easy access to the beach. I will say that the rooms aren't quite as nice as in the pictures but they did the job.
Just fyi on extra things we did that don't reflect on Sandals: We took the helicopter in from the airport--soooo worth it! Great views of the island and only took 15 minutes versus 1.5 hours. The ride back to the airport made us realize how worth the price it was. Lastly---zip line tour was awesome! Horseback ride-n-swim was the biggest rip off and waste of time (wrote a separate review for that).

Overall-great trip and would recommend the resort to others who prefer small and quiet. Would go to the other resort if you want a little more upscale with a little more going on.

Room Tip: Beachfront walkout room's a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We have been to this resort 3 times now and have a 4th already booked. Great staff, lovely food and resturants. Smallest and most friendly of the 3 hotels on St Lucia but still have the ability to visit the other 2 and make the most of the facilities and other restuarants.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowie, Maryland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We are Sandals regulars and have spent the last 10 anniversarys at a Sandals in the Bahamas/Exuma, Jamacia, Antigua and now St. Lucia for our 34th!.

Just returned from 9 days at the Halcyon . The service was great, the weather perfect and the food was good..... We were in room 133 which is near everything and close enought to fall asleep to the sound of the waves even with the windows closed. We spent time on the patio morning and night but days when we were at the resort were mostly spent at the quiet pool which we really enjoyed.
The staff that we delt with were great and went out of their way to make us feel welcome. I don't want to leave anyone out but give them all a huge thanks for all you did for us.

Our friend stayed at the Grand and we did go over for dinner and spa day on the shuttle with no problems . The food was good at Tuscanny and the spa service delightful but for us it was not relaxing enought. We liked our Halcyon for us!!!!!

We did two wonderful tours that we highly recommend ( I will also review them on their sites) JOE KNOWS was a blast with JR and Jr. in the speed boats and bus trip up the mountain I booked through the website but you can also book thru Sandals Island Routes......
My favorite trip was with Carnaval, "Chocolate Decadence /Bean to Bar" which was all day on and off the catamaran and ending with a sunset sail back.

It was a restful, relaxing wonderful trip and Sandals made us feel welcome and everything what we needed.

Room Tip: Room 133 was perfect....close to all the restaurants and a fire pit but far enough away that the noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co.Durham
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

We always love coming home to The Halcyon. Everything (to us) is speciial. The staff are the real bonus to the resort.I could write a long list of of names for the staff who looked after us. But as they were all great I don't want to leave anyone out! After contacting Wayne and telling him it was my husbands 50th birthday, he left him a lovely cake and rang him to see if he needed anything else to make his trip anymore specialn but there wasn't! The resort manager,Lennox is doin agret job and we can't wait for our 4th visit! P.S. Agnes it was great to see you again and get our lovely hugs X thanks again Sandals.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

just got back from our much awaited Sandals vacation. The hotel rooms, staff and most food were excellent. There was alot of building and refurb work going on and in the day sometimes it was very noisy with hammering, concrete mixing etc. The beach was no where near as nice as i expected but we couldnt get on it anyway due to lack of sunbeds and the fact most had towels on from dawn. You also had to get up very early to bag a sunbed round the pool with some shade as there wasn't enough.The beach bistro had awfull food and it was always stone cold. We did get served another cold meal in the restaurant which we sent back. It was hard to get in the Pier or Marios restaurants as they was always a long wait.It was a scramble to get on any transport to go to one of the other resorts as a load of people stood in reception then it was a sudden rush to jump on a bus though we did manage to. The Grande hotel complex is much better than the Halcyon if you want to be impressed and have more choice. Believe it or not we did have a lovely time and did get some relaxation in though I probably wouldnt go back.

Room Tip: ask for an upgrade to a concierge room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sandals Halcyon Beach St. Lucia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Halcyon Beach St. Lucia

Address: Choc Bay, Castries GM910, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Castries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Castries
#4 Luxury Hotel in Castries
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Castries
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Castries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sandals Halcyon Beach St. Lucia 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•Friendly to the physically challenged with low rise architecture •Fully air-conditioned Caribbean cuisine restaurant on its own 150 ft pier over the •Caribbean Sea •Houses 169 Rooms with true personal service and intimate experience •English-style afternoon tea served at the Paradise pool •Tableside service at the Beach Bistro •“Stay at one, play at three” free shuttles to Sandals La Toc Golf Resort & Spa and Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa & Beach Resort•Sandals Resorts “World’s Leading All Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row •Sandals Resorts “Caribbean’s Leading Hotel Brand”, 18 years in a row ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Amex, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Sandals Halcyon Beach St. Lucia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Halcyon Beach St. Lucia Hotel Castries
Sandals Halcyon Beach Castries
Sandals St Lucia
Sandals Halcyon Beach St. Lucia Castries

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandals Halcyon Beach St. Lucia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.