We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'm hooked!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandals Halcyon Beach St. Lucia

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orbitz.com Expedia.com
and 5 more sites!
Sandals Halcyon Beach St. Lucia
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Choc Bay, Castries GM910, St. Lucia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to $355 Air Credit!
Ranked #5 of 17 hotels in Castries
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“I'm hooked!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

To be honest, this was our first trip to St.Lucia and first Sandals experience. If you're looking for a relaxed, calm atmosphere, Halcyon is exactly that! We knew Halcyon was for us by the pictures alone. Most of the other Sandals Resorts have a tall square hotel, but Halcyon has two-storey, plant covered love nests. From the 2nd floor, we had an excellent view of the RedLane massage table closest to the beach, of the water and the cute little gazebo's spread across the garden.
We're professional musicians, so it was fun to participate in a talent show one night. Being in the entertainment field, the band was amazing. Its hard to find a groove like that in Toronto. The Playmakers were a lot of fun. Say hi to Nicky for me if you go. She's great!
Everything went extremely well. They even gave us a complimentary upgrade at check-in which gave us a higher wood panel ceiling and a better view of the gardens. We like to vacation at different places each year, but Sandals Halcyon will see us again. Check out my photo's on my Facebook page Liana Primerano. Photo Album: Saint Lucia Oct 2012
Oh they even have a 15 minute complimentary photo shoot and a second shoot because we missed the sunset the first night. It was a lot of fun. Sandals Halcyon, a 5 Star Experience!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,116 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,228
    520
    194
    93
    81
See reviews for
28
1612
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (445)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Michigan, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

My husband and I celebrated 20 years there and he surprised me with this vacation! We stayed Nov 3-10. I'm so glad he picked the Halcyon vs the other resorts. We had a beach front, butler room and we loved Sylvie and Claudia!! The food was outstanding and the pool was a total blast every day. Get up early to get a spot! What I liked most about Halcyon is the laid back atmosphere. The average age was 25-65. We met a lot of Brits and a lot of east coasters just making it through hurricane Sandy. We met people we will, no doubt, be friends with forever! The Friday night street party is a must see...not the one at the La Toc, but the one thrown by the locals. Well worth the trip! The beaches were nice, but I'm a pool kinda person. The "vendors" on the beach were there trying to sell you their jewelry, aloe, carvings and smoke. Yes, smoke...the illegal type! Don't be discouraged, they don't push hard. A simple, no thank you will suffice. Make sure you bring slacks and dress shirts for the men. We were turned away from Marios, which is ok. Its nice to dress up for a week. Make sure you take the "Joe Knows" tour. It is all day long, but soooo worth it!! Big Al, Snoop Dog and Big Willie were so much fun and we learned so much about the island! You get to snorkel, go in a volcano, wash off in a water fall, eat traditional Creole food, and see the other side of the island. A must do. (Tell Al, Willie and Snoop Clint and Angi said hi!!) All in all, we would totally visit this resort again and again!!

Room Tip: Get the ocean view, butler service...well worth the little extra money. They make the trip so worth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

First I would like to justify our critique. Both my wife and myself are seasoned travelers and frequent the Caribbean. We have just returned from a week at Sandals St. Lucia Halcyon. 11/03/2012-11/10/12.
First, if you are a serious beach/water person you might not want to pick this resort. It is not what you see in the pictures. It was too rough to enjoy the ocean and the water was stirred up and murky. Not the crystal blue you see in pictures. Have to settle for the pool.

The food at Mario's and Pier Restaurant are pushing 4 star with service to match. However, the food at the Bayside is hotel grade at the best. Service is spotty and there are times when no service is around. JUST FOR A HEADS UP, BOTH MYSELF AND MY WIFE GOT SEVERELY SICK ONE NIGHT AFTER EATING AT BAYSIDE. WE ALSO RAN INTO SEVERAL OTHER COUPLES WHO DID ALSO THE SAME EVENING. SO I QUESTION THEIR SANITATION.

Transportation buses are available to travel between Sandals resorts, however there appears to be a problem with there being enough buses. We had dinner reservations at another resort for 6:00 and attempted to use the 5:15 bus. It arrived at the our resort already full from another resort. We finally arrived for dinner at 6:45. Just to add a footnote, it is apparent that one hand doesn't know what the other is doing at this resort.

The property is nicely kept however is becoming very worn out and needs to be updated for it to be the quality Sandals advertises.

Housekeeping was superb. Our little St Luciana gal, Shermina, could not do enough for us. Its such a shame the rest of the resort doesn't share her passion!

In summery, we would say that if you were to compare Halcyon with other Sandals resorts, Couples resorts in Jamaica and several other Caribbean resorts; Chose elsewhere, this is a poor bang for your buck!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Sandals & Beaches Review Coordinator at Sandals Halcyon Beach St. Lucia, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review Sandals Halcyon. While we have not had similar complaints regarding food sanitation, we are respectful of the opinions you have expressed and recognize that one person’s specific experience can only be judged by that individual. We strive to keep the highest standard of quality and service and we deeply regret if we did not live up to your expectations. Your comments have been passed on to the relevant departments as well as the General Manager for immediate evaluation and action as needed.

Thank you, again. We hope to welcome you again in the future for an experience that exceeds your expectations.


Sincerely,
Cassie C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I visited Halcyon for the first time in 2007 with my now husband… it was a first time at an all inclusive and at Sandals and we really enjoyed ourselves. Back then there were some other guests our age and there was a little night life. This past time was very different…. We also got the feeling of really not being welcomed by the staff because of our age… this time they were very rude especially about the “dress code” that they enforce when they want to. The worst experience was going to the pier restaurant. We were told “Leather Sandals” were appropriate so my husband had leather sandals on. The hostess was so rude and said we couldn’t come in… fine.. so he went and put full shoes on. We came back and were seated the whole time she is rolling her eyes at us. When we were sitting we look behind us and there is a man (Probably in his 60’s) wearing shorts and flip flops… also another women who was in her 50’s looking a mess… braids in her hair (which was wet) and a sun dress wrap. We were both dressed very nicely…I just feel we were treated differently because we were in our late 20’s. We didn’t even eat our dinner and I left in tears because I was so angry…We complained to the manager on duty and she did nothing just said that we should follow the dress code. We ended up spending all the rest of our days at Sandals Grande where there was fun music… better food… and a more laid back vibe. Food is good at Mario’s but other then that the food is just average. Service is just OK there is no real urgency and there were some rude staff. The only exception is the Hostess and the servers at Mario’s… they were all fantastic! It was a sad disappointing experience to think the place we loved years ago we are no longer welcomed at…maybe we will give them another chance but it isn’t likely.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, Pennsylvania
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Everything about our honeymoon was perfect!! We stayed at Halycon Beach Sept 30th-October 8th, 2012 for our honeymoon. We loved the small, quaint feel of this resort. (We visited the Grande one day and felt we were "just a number") The staff was amazing (Nikki, the 'playmaker' had us laughing at the pool and got everyone involved) The gardens/beaches were spectacular and the view from our room was right out of a movie. (We were in room 110, overlooking the beach) Everyone from the GM to the housekeeper was pleasant, smiling, and eager to serve. You can really tell they take pride in their resort, and country. Although other reviews commented on the poor quality of the food, we LOVED the food! (Great fruit and local cuisine) If we didn't have to return to work, we would have extended our trip a day or two. We will DEFINITELY be back (Hopefully for our 5 year anniversary!!) Erin and Andrew Quarino

Room Tip: Room 110 is right on the beach, but still nice and quiet! You can hear the ocean at night through th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colonia, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

WE STAYED AT SANDALS HALCYON ON OCT 11th though the 17th. We had two and a half day of Tropical storm Ralph. But the other days were nice. We were in room 716 (the Laborie Building, # 8 on their resort map). Nice room, kept clean, nothing really special about it. The room entrance was adjacent to city road, but you did not hear any road noise. The balcony side over looked the quiet pool if there was not a large tree in the way…. Oh well. The staff had all been very friendly. The beach was not appealing at all. But in all fairness we did have a lot of rain. This resort needs to be looked at by Butch and his son Adam quick. I had seen several issues of maintenance that I had seen at 3 star resorts, which I would feel that Sandals would and should be on top of!!! A few of the issues were the tile and grout, in and around the pool and swim-up bar at the main pool!!
The food was ok for the most part. The Bayside restaurant was redundant. The Pier restaurant was good. Mario’s restaurant was the best. They do try to push whole bottles of wine on you for an additional charge. The house reds were just fine.
The other resorts were as nice. Their beaches were not great either. The better of the three was the Grand. La Toc had a 9 hole golf course… don’t go for the golf! It’s included but, club, cart and shoe rental, with caddy tip, still cost 125usd for two. Not so all included! So, now we’ve been the seven Sandals/Beaches/Grand Pineapple resort properties, the three on St Lucia are at the bottom of the list over all. But with that said, we would go back if the price was right.

Room Tip: "There is NO Need to UPGRADE the room,UNLESS you need a BUTLER or have to be on the water, all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

My wife and I went to Sandals Halcyon for our honeymoon. We were skeptical about the all inclusive price model. It turned out to be more than worth it. We got our money's worth in food and drinks (alcohol) alone. As if that was not enough, the people were all very pleasant and friendly. Everyone in St. Lucia has a lot of their pride in their country which was great, and it reflected in their attitudes. It did not feel as touristy as I was expecting, and I never felt like the locals were trying to rip us off or take advantage of us (like in Mexico). The excursions were also very exciting, the beaches were beautiful and we really felt like we were in paradise. The food was good but it could have been a little better, that was probably our biggest complaint. But hey, it was all free, and it was still interesting. I would highly recommend this resort to anyone needing a peaceful, relaxing vacation away from the kids.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sandals Halcyon Beach St. Lucia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Halcyon Beach St. Lucia

Also Known As:
Sandals Halcyon Beach St. Lucia Hotel
Sandals Halcyon Beach St. Lucia Hotel Castries
Sandals Halcyon Beach Castries
Sandals St Lucia
Sandals Halcyon Beach Hotel
Sandals Halcyon
Sandals Halcyon Beach St. Lucia Castries
Address: Choc Bay, Castries GM910, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Castries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Castries
#4 Luxury Hotel in Castries
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Castries
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Castries
#7 Family Hotel in Castries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sandals Halcyon Beach St. Lucia 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•Friendly to the physically challenged with low rise architecture •Fully air-conditioned Caribbean cuisine restaurant on its own 150 ft pier over the •Caribbean Sea •Houses 169 Rooms with true personal service and intimate experience •English-style afternoon tea served at the Paradise pool •Tableside service at the Beach Bistro •“Stay at one, play at three” free shuttles to Sandals La Toc Golf Resort & Spa and Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa & Beach Resort•Sandals Resorts “World’s Leading All Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row •Sandals Resorts “Caribbean’s Leading Hotel Brand”, 18 years in a row ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Amex, Tingo, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Venere and Hotels.com so you can book your Sandals Halcyon Beach St. Lucia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandals Halcyon Beach St. Lucia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Sandals Halcyon Beach St. Lucia to your Saves list