We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sadly not sure if we will ever go back…” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sandals Halcyon Beach St. Lucia

Save Saved
You added Sandals Halcyon Beach St. Lucia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sandals Halcyon Beach St. Lucia
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Choc Bay, Castries GM910, St. Lucia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
1 Free Night!!
Ranked #5 of 17 hotels in Castries
Columbia, Maryland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Sadly not sure if we will ever go back…”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I visited Halcyon for the first time in 2007 with my now husband… it was a first time at an all inclusive and at Sandals and we really enjoyed ourselves. Back then there were some other guests our age and there was a little night life. This past time was very different…. We also got the feeling of really not being welcomed by the staff because of our age… this time they were very rude especially about the “dress code” that they enforce when they want to. The worst experience was going to the pier restaurant. We were told “Leather Sandals” were appropriate so my husband had leather sandals on. The hostess was so rude and said we couldn’t come in… fine.. so he went and put full shoes on. We came back and were seated the whole time she is rolling her eyes at us. When we were sitting we look behind us and there is a man (Probably in his 60’s) wearing shorts and flip flops… also another women who was in her 50’s looking a mess… braids in her hair (which was wet) and a sun dress wrap. We were both dressed very nicely…I just feel we were treated differently because we were in our late 20’s. We didn’t even eat our dinner and I left in tears because I was so angry…We complained to the manager on duty and she did nothing just said that we should follow the dress code. We ended up spending all the rest of our days at Sandals Grande where there was fun music… better food… and a more laid back vibe. Food is good at Mario’s but other then that the food is just average. Service is just OK there is no real urgency and there were some rude staff. The only exception is the Hostess and the servers at Mario’s… they were all fantastic! It was a sad disappointing experience to think the place we loved years ago we are no longer welcomed at…maybe we will give them another chance but it isn’t likely.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,210 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,292
    543
    197
    95
    83
See reviews for
29
1690
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (489)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, Pennsylvania
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Everything about our honeymoon was perfect!! We stayed at Halycon Beach Sept 30th-October 8th, 2012 for our honeymoon. We loved the small, quaint feel of this resort. (We visited the Grande one day and felt we were "just a number") The staff was amazing (Nikki, the 'playmaker' had us laughing at the pool and got everyone involved) The gardens/beaches were spectacular and the view from our room was right out of a movie. (We were in room 110, overlooking the beach) Everyone from the GM to the housekeeper was pleasant, smiling, and eager to serve. You can really tell they take pride in their resort, and country. Although other reviews commented on the poor quality of the food, we LOVED the food! (Great fruit and local cuisine) If we didn't have to return to work, we would have extended our trip a day or two. We will DEFINITELY be back (Hopefully for our 5 year anniversary!!) Erin and Andrew Quarino

Room Tip: Room 110 is right on the beach, but still nice and quiet! You can hear the ocean at night through th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colonia, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

WE STAYED AT SANDALS HALCYON ON OCT 11th though the 17th. We had two and a half day of Tropical storm Ralph. But the other days were nice. We were in room 716 (the Laborie Building, # 8 on their resort map). Nice room, kept clean, nothing really special about it. The room entrance was adjacent to city road, but you did not hear any road noise. The balcony side over looked the quiet pool if there was not a large tree in the way…. Oh well. The staff had all been very friendly. The beach was not appealing at all. But in all fairness we did have a lot of rain. This resort needs to be looked at by Butch and his son Adam quick. I had seen several issues of maintenance that I had seen at 3 star resorts, which I would feel that Sandals would and should be on top of!!! A few of the issues were the tile and grout, in and around the pool and swim-up bar at the main pool!!
The food was ok for the most part. The Bayside restaurant was redundant. The Pier restaurant was good. Mario’s restaurant was the best. They do try to push whole bottles of wine on you for an additional charge. The house reds were just fine.
The other resorts were as nice. Their beaches were not great either. The better of the three was the Grand. La Toc had a 9 hole golf course… don’t go for the golf! It’s included but, club, cart and shoe rental, with caddy tip, still cost 125usd for two. Not so all included! So, now we’ve been the seven Sandals/Beaches/Grand Pineapple resort properties, the three on St Lucia are at the bottom of the list over all. But with that said, we would go back if the price was right.

Room Tip: "There is NO Need to UPGRADE the room,UNLESS you need a BUTLER or have to be on the water, all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

My wife and I went to Sandals Halcyon for our honeymoon. We were skeptical about the all inclusive price model. It turned out to be more than worth it. We got our money's worth in food and drinks (alcohol) alone. As if that was not enough, the people were all very pleasant and friendly. Everyone in St. Lucia has a lot of their pride in their country which was great, and it reflected in their attitudes. It did not feel as touristy as I was expecting, and I never felt like the locals were trying to rip us off or take advantage of us (like in Mexico). The excursions were also very exciting, the beaches were beautiful and we really felt like we were in paradise. The food was good but it could have been a little better, that was probably our biggest complaint. But hey, it was all free, and it was still interesting. I would highly recommend this resort to anyone needing a peaceful, relaxing vacation away from the kids.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

This was my first trip to the Caribbean and my first time staying at an all inclusive resort. Sandals Halcyon was a great first experience. Of the 3 resorts on St. Lucia, Halcyon is the quietest which was exactly what I was looking for. My husband & I were both in need of a relaxing vacation. Sandals came recommended by a colleague who went there for her honeymoon.
Sandals has their own lounge at the airport, so once you get through customs, your bags are whisked away, you get something cold to drink and wait comfortably for the shuttle. It's about an hour & a half drive.The AC in the shuttle could have been a little more powerful and the roads aren't the best, but we made it just fine.
We stayed in a Honeymoon Beachfront Concierge Room. Our room was very clean and was pretty much the way it was pictured on the website. It was about 30 steps from the beach. The beach is narrow, but most of the people there spent their days at the pool, so the beach never seemed crowded. The only negative is there are not nearly enough umbrellas for the beach. You have to get up early and go claim an umbrella or else you fry on the beach.
The food was very good - not 5 star gourmet, but you could have as much as you wanted along with any kind of alcohol. There was plenty of variety regardless of your dietary needs or preferences.
They have all kinds of fun drinks, not all of which are alcoholic. I loved their Scorpion which is a non-alcoholic banana & coconut smoothie. The only beers available are either Heineken or Piton.
They have 2 pools - the one by the beach is the "fun" pool where they have games & events. The Paradise Pool is the "quiet" pool. There are a LOT of Brits who come to this Sandals and they serve tea at the Paradise Pool every day at 4 p.m.
I was told that the Halcyon has the highest return guest rate of any Sandals resort and I can believe it. The staff is top notch.
While this isn't a vacation that we can afford to do every year, I would not hesitate to return,

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed here for our honeymoon in October. My advice is DON'T dress for dinner. No one does. The 'dress code' that is supposed to be in place is totally ignored. For Breakfast and lunch people wear swim wear and men sit down to dine bare chested (erghhhhh!) In the evening the supposed dress code of ' resort evening attire' of long trousers, collered and sleeved shirts with closed toe shoes for men is totally ignored. Women wear cut off denim shorts and vest tops with flip flops. Men wear shorts, t shirts and again flip flops. Even in the more formal places such as the pier, this was totally acceptable. My husband and I always made an effort (as did some of the British couples). I always wore a dress and heels in the evening and he would follow the dress code too. But we always felt totally out of place and uncomfortable by peoples stares and even catty comments. Very dissapointing for what is supposed to be a luxury hotel. Either have a dress code or don't. Don't pretend to be something you are not.
On a positive note. Private dining on the beach (or wherever you choose) is a must. It truly is a fantastic experience and the food is delicious with good service. This was without a doubt the best night of our honeymoon. (plus we did'nt have to mingle with people who don't understand the term 'dress code') ;-)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

Amazing destination. We have not wanted for anything here. All inclusive means exactly that. I'd definately come back for our anniversary. Good choice of excursions and reasonably priced. I wouldn't bother with the local eastern Carribean currency and just get usd, it saves a lot of confusion. From mud baths and water fall springs with shuttle buses between resorts all of which 15 mins away subject to traffic. Golf is fun with well experienced caddies.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sandals Halcyon Beach St. Lucia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Halcyon Beach St. Lucia

Address: Choc Bay, Castries GM910, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Castries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Castries
#4 Luxury Hotel in Castries
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Castries
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Castries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sandals Halcyon Beach St. Lucia 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•Friendly to the physically challenged with low rise architecture •Fully air-conditioned Caribbean cuisine restaurant on its own 150 ft pier over the •Caribbean Sea •Houses 169 Rooms with true personal service and intimate experience •English-style afternoon tea served at the Paradise pool •Tableside service at the Beach Bistro •“Stay at one, play at three” free shuttles to Sandals La Toc Golf Resort & Spa and Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa & Beach Resort•Sandals Resorts “World’s Leading All Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row •Sandals Resorts “Caribbean’s Leading Hotel Brand”, 18 years in a row ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Sandals Halcyon Beach St. Lucia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Halcyon Beach St. Lucia Hotel Castries
Sandals Halcyon Beach Castries
Sandals St Lucia
Sandals Halcyon Beach St. Lucia Castries

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandals Halcyon Beach St. Lucia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.