We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Vacation Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort to your Saves list
Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Choc Bay, Castries GM910, St. Lucia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to $355 Air Credit!!
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Castries
Certificate of Excellence 2014
PA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Vacation Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

This was my first trip to the Caribbean and my first time staying at an all inclusive resort. Sandals Halcyon was a great first experience. Of the 3 resorts on St. Lucia, Halcyon is the quietest which was exactly what I was looking for. My husband & I were both in need of a relaxing vacation. Sandals came recommended by a colleague who went there for her honeymoon.
Sandals has their own lounge at the airport, so once you get through customs, your bags are whisked away, you get something cold to drink and wait comfortably for the shuttle. It's about an hour & a half drive.The AC in the shuttle could have been a little more powerful and the roads aren't the best, but we made it just fine.
We stayed in a Honeymoon Beachfront Concierge Room. Our room was very clean and was pretty much the way it was pictured on the website. It was about 30 steps from the beach. The beach is narrow, but most of the people there spent their days at the pool, so the beach never seemed crowded. The only negative is there are not nearly enough umbrellas for the beach. You have to get up early and go claim an umbrella or else you fry on the beach.
The food was very good - not 5 star gourmet, but you could have as much as you wanted along with any kind of alcohol. There was plenty of variety regardless of your dietary needs or preferences.
They have all kinds of fun drinks, not all of which are alcoholic. I loved their Scorpion which is a non-alcoholic banana & coconut smoothie. The only beers available are either Heineken or Piton.
They have 2 pools - the one by the beach is the "fun" pool where they have games & events. The Paradise Pool is the "quiet" pool. There are a LOT of Brits who come to this Sandals and they serve tea at the Paradise Pool every day at 4 p.m.
I was told that the Halcyon has the highest return guest rate of any Sandals resort and I can believe it. The staff is top notch.
While this isn't a vacation that we can afford to do every year, I would not hesitate to return,

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,544 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,477
    633
    238
    107
    89
See reviews for
37
1,980
4
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (625)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chorley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed here for our honeymoon in October. My advice is DON'T dress for dinner. No one does. The 'dress code' that is supposed to be in place is totally ignored. For Breakfast and lunch people wear swim wear and men sit down to dine bare chested (erghhhhh!) In the evening the supposed dress code of ' resort evening attire' of long trousers, collered and sleeved shirts with closed toe shoes for men is totally ignored. Women wear cut off denim shorts and vest tops with flip flops. Men wear shorts, t shirts and again flip flops. Even in the more formal places such as the pier, this was totally acceptable. My husband and I always made an effort (as did some of the British couples). I always wore a dress and heels in the evening and he would follow the dress code too. But we always felt totally out of place and uncomfortable by peoples stares and even catty comments. Very dissapointing for what is supposed to be a luxury hotel. Either have a dress code or don't. Don't pretend to be something you are not.
On a positive note. Private dining on the beach (or wherever you choose) is a must. It truly is a fantastic experience and the food is delicious with good service. This was without a doubt the best night of our honeymoon. (plus we did'nt have to mingle with people who don't understand the term 'dress code') ;-)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Amazing destination. We have not wanted for anything here. All inclusive means exactly that. I'd definately come back for our anniversary. Good choice of excursions and reasonably priced. I wouldn't bother with the local eastern Carribean currency and just get usd, it saves a lot of confusion. From mud baths and water fall springs with shuttle buses between resorts all of which 15 mins away subject to traffic. Golf is fun with well experienced caddies.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

A little history, we have travelled to many different islands in the Caribbean, few places in Central America and Columbia, South America. All hotels we have visited have been rated at a 4-5 star level. Review of our stay for 1 week in the month of October:

Good:
-The best part of this resort is the staff they have working for them. You can see the ownership and pride in the work that they do and the commitment they have to making certain the guests enjoy themselves and have a good time.
-The quiet pool was a nice relaxing break from the noise that was generally on the higher end at the main pool.
-Daily snorkelling/scuba trips that were included in the package.
-The grounds of the resort were well kept, again, a reflection on the work performed by the staff.
-Check in/check out process was quick.
-Ability to travel to the other 2 resorts, allowing for more options for beach, pool, bars and dinning.

So/So
-Food, nothing terrible, but nothing great. Found the selections at the buffet to be limited, but still able to find something. Quality of the food was also average.
-The room itself was somewhat dated, limited lighting and a bit small. I realize that when on vacation limited time is spent in the room, but when a full day of rain arrives, options are not available.
-Availability of chairs, both at the pools and beach. The towel game does exist, but the main problem was the lack of chairs to begin with. As well, getting a location that had some shade on the beach was limited.

Bad:

-The beach at this hotel was no where close to the pictures advertised in the travel books or on their website. We are both people who usually spend a great portion of our trip in the ocean, not the case on this trip.
-While going to the other resorts, the staff at the other locations were no where close to what was seen at this resort. At best, 50% might acknowledge you and say hello.
-At the other resorts, there seemed to be a different level of service based on the room you had. Gave a feeling of social class’, which we didn’t like.
-Almost everything is at an extra cost, trip here, internet, pushing wine in the restaurants, ect.

Summary, we have stayed at a Couples resort in Jamaica, and were expecting the same kind of resort. We had the perception that this would be a “luxury all inclusive” vacation as advertised and trademarked by Sandals, but it was not. The level of service and amenities we experienced at the Couples Resort far exceeded what we experienced during our stay at this Sandals property.

I would say that it was an “ok” vacation, but not what we were expecting based on the hype and advertising and higher price point. Better options out there.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kewadin, Mi
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

My husband and I spent a week at Halcyon and totally enjoyed it. It was our first experience at a Sandal's resort and it was better then we expected. The food was very good and there were many dining options so we had good variety. I think we only ate dinner at the same restaurant twice.We took advantage of the bars and while they didn't have every brand they had some call brands that I enjoyed. We spent most of our time at the Halcyon, taking advantage of their water sports during the day. I water skiied, kayaked, and learned how to paddle board. I had no trouble getting on any of the equipment. We used both pools; one for fun activities and the other for more quiet swimming and sun bathing. The work out facilities looked top notch but I didn't use any of them-too busy doing other things. The grounds were beautiful with many areas to just sit and relax. They have sitting areas that have gas fire pits to sit around at night-a very nice touch We ate at all three restaurants there and didn't have a bad meal. We went to LaToc for one evening for dinner. We spent one afternoon and another evening at Grand. We ate dinner there twice and both were good meals. The beach there is nicer than at Halcyon but the resort as a whole is busier. We made reservations at one of the fancier restaurants one evening and didn't have any trouble getting a spot. We took advantage of the free photo shoot and ended up buying some pictures because they really turned out well. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I can't say enough about the resort and about the Sandal's experience. We will definitely use Sandal's again. We also took a day to tour the island. Following the advice of many, we hired Cosol to give us a priviate tour that was wonderful. I had some ideas about what I wanted to do and not do on the tour and he worked my ideas into the tour. He took us to some fun places. I recommend the hot mud baths and Tet Paul. This day was wonderful and was a good value. I highly recommend using his service.

Room Tip: We had room 200 and it was great. It overlooked the garden and was far enough away from the road tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

This is not the fanciest of the three St. Lucia Sandal's resorts, but to me it's the best. The staff couldn't be more helpful and the grounds are very Eco-friendly. If you need a taste of the luxury, take the 15minute shuttle to one of the other resorts for te day, then return to the laid back resort for relaxing time. The restaurants at this resort are smaller, but very nice and extremely accommodating to your needs.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stayed at the Halcyon 10-20th October 2012 and celebrated hubby's 50th birthday while we were there. We had a room (139) that overlooked the gardens. It was spacious, comfortable and convenient.
We ate at the pier a couple of times, including on Nick's birthday- he was delighted when the staff arrived with pudding singing him happy birthday. Also ate at Mario's and had a fantastic meal. We found all the staff extremely friendly, with a special mention to Sherry-Ann and Kirby who went the extra mile for us.
We did venture as far as the Grande to eat with other couples that we met, we were greeted with the same excellent food and friendly service.
We recommend the Soufrieres buggy trip, Deighton, our guide was brilliant and was great fun. This trip takes in as much as the Joe knows Tour with the added bonus that you drive the buggy yourself which was great fun.
This was a relaxing, chilled out holiday that we wished we had booked for 14 nights instead of 10.
We are planning on going back for our silver wedding anniversary in a few years time, sooner if we can.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort

Address: Choc Bay, Castries GM910, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Castries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Castries
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Castries
#6 Romantic Hotel in Castries
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Castries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•Friendly to the physically challenged with low rise architecture •Fully air-conditioned Caribbean cuisine restaurant on its own 150 ft pier over the •Caribbean Sea •Houses 169 Rooms with true personal service and intimate experience •English-style afternoon tea served at the Paradise pool •Tableside service at the Beach Bistro •“Stay at one, play at three” free shuttles to Sandals La Toc Golf Resort & Spa and Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa & Beach Resort•Sandals Resorts “World’s Leading All Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row •Sandals Resorts “Caribbean’s Leading Hotel Brand”, 18 years in a row ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp. and Expedia so you can book your Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Halcyon Beach St. Lucia Hotel Castries
Sandals Halcyon Beach Castries
Sandals St Lucia
Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort St. Lucia/Castries

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.