We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Little resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harmony Suites

Save Saved
You added Harmony Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Harmony Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Reduit Beach Rd, Rodney Bay | PO Box 155, Castries, St. Lucia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 17 hotels in Castries
Central Florida
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great Little resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Stayed at Harmony on my first trip to St. Lucia on an Expedia package flight/lodging deal.

It was a good stay, very clean room, nice staff, and in a secure area. I would recommend this for those who are more the adventuresome type, that aren't looking for the all inclusive type resort many who travel here look for. We rented a car, and made our own adventure, and the resort was fantastic for a home base. Didn't eat here, but did use the kitchenette in the room.

I wasn't thrilled that the pool was only open from 6a-6pm, but we didn't end up with time to use it anyway after snorkeling, driving around and diving.

It is in walking distance to restaurants, grocery, and other amenities.

If you're going to whine about a few sugar ants around, go stay at Sandals and waste your $

I would definitely stay w/ Harmony again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    49
    47
    22
    8
    7
See reviews for
7
60
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

I found this to be a perfect little hotel, in a perfect location. I highly recommend Harmony Suites for a economical, safe, clean place to stay across the road from the beach and around the corner and up the block from all of the clubs, bars and restaurants in Rodney Bay Village. There are two malls and two big, clean supermarkets less than 10 minutes walk (in the malls). More restaurants than you can ever patronize less than 5 minutes walk away from the hotel.

Harmony Suites has 24 hour security and both the front door and the driveway gates are locked at 11 p.m. so you are nice and secure. I stayed in a "premium" suite which was really a 1 bedroom apartment. It was cute, very roomy, clean and quiet sufficient. The balcony was enormous and overlooked the pool with a good view of the harbor. I had a full kitchen with a little two burner stove and all the kitchen amenities needed to cook whatever. There are two full closets with more hangers than I have ever seen in any hotel room (this is important for us women). The bathroom is a comfortable size with plenty of hot water. The room attendants kept my unit spotless and fresh towels were never a problem. They even wash your dishes in the sink.

The bed in my unit was king sized and was outfitted with four of the best king sized pillows I have ever enjoyed. I want those pillows for my bed at home. To be honest, my unit did not look like the units in their pictures. My unit was larger and nicer. (Ask for Unit 28)

The pool is small but kept spotless and is very quiet. All in all, the entire hotel grounds are lovely and very quiet and peaceful. The lounge chairs on the dock overlooking the water are a great place to nap and/or take pictures.

All of the employees are friendly and very helpful.

Unless you need loads of luxury and/or want to waste money, this may be a great base for exploring the island and enjoying Rodney Bay. Everything is no more than a slow 5-10 minute walk with the best beach on the island only 2 minutes away.

Note, on the beach there are security personnel whose only job is to watch over the beach and keep it peaceful. The ladies in the sports huts will even watch your belongings while you swim or whatever, free of charge (please tip them).

Finally, because of Harmony Suites, I had one of the best vacations ever and the next time I visit St. Lucia, I would stay no where else.

Room Tip: Room 28 overlooks the pool and have a good view of a portion of the marina. Very large 1 bedroom uni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

I have stayed twice at Harmony Suites this year and was fortunate both times to stay in one of the waterfront rooms (#11!). Walk out from your room in the morning and watch the sun come up on your own dock. Great views of Rodney Bay ( I dont know why this hotel is listed in Castries...its ON Rodney Bay). Nice little English breakfast, great service, and terrific value. The Edge restaurant is on the property which is a premium eatery (with sushi bar!), but you can walk to any of a dozen great restaurants within 10 minutes. You can also access the beach through the Rex hotel across the street. Great service from the front desk to the bar...will stay there again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port of Spain, Trinidad
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

the services was really poor, the staff lack customer service training esther is very rough there r cats living on the patio the only good thing was the garden the hair dryer in the room dont work the door falling down an imagine they lock there gates at 11pm then they want u to ring the bell its a big cow bell that is deafing to u i will never stay there again nor even recommend it to my gramdmama an she is 86next time is coco palm or sandals for me

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cole bay, st.maarten
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

We had a great stay at the Harmony suitesl. We were a bit sceptical at first due to the few negative reviews. But we dicided to try it anyways. We are sure glad we did as we had a wonderful time. The photos on trip advisor does not do justice to the hotel as they are old. The furniture in the rooms are totally different and relatively new.

Although we did not take room service daily the room attendent was always smiling and had the room spotless despite our usual mess. I do feel gulity as we always left our dirty utensils in the sink.

We had a wonderful stay in St.Lucia and Harmony Suites and the staff contributed greatly to that. We will definitely be back and recommend this hotel to anyone looking for 3 star accommodation. It is well worth the price. We stayed in a classic suite. We saw the Luxury Water front suite and have decided this would be our next choice.

Room Tip: Luxury suites provide exceptional view of the bay. Thats our choice for the next visit
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012 via mobile

Front Desk customer service is horrible! When I checked in, I noticed there were many flies in my room. I complained to the front desk receptionist and she stated, "you're in the tropics" I quickly told her this was not my first time in st.lucia or "the tropics" and I've never had to deal with flies!

She changed me to an upstairs room which was just as horrible. Plaster coming down from the ceiling.carpet was industrial and not meant for residential and there was an old musty smell about the entire place.

The worst part is there were small ant/chigger looking bugs throughout the entire hotel room. you can barely see them with the human eye! They got into my suitcase. You couldn't even eat without a swarm of them coming out for the food! This hotel needs to be demolished and built again!

Don't do it to your yourself or you family! stay at the coco palm. That's where we stayed before and it was 1000x better!

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harmonysuites, General Manager at Harmony Suites, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Customer was supposed to have checked in on June 1st claimed the flight was cancelled and in the same instant said they wouldn’t let her on the flight and asked whether we could have allowed her to check in on the 2nd for the 2 nights which we did. On arrival she was checked in as the sole occupant of the suite. Customer made a local call and became agitated and emotional in the lobby. She was handed her keys and was escorted to her suite half way through she returned to the desk and asked for an upstairs suite. The customer service rep was dealing with another client and asked her to wait a minute. She said never mind and proceeded to the suite. The other customer was surprised at her behavior.

She returned instantly and said the suite was infested with flies, our investigation revealed not a single fly. The other customer was still at the desk and was even more surprised as he had been here for 10 nights and not sported a single fly. We have never had a problem with flies. We do have monthly pest control and eradication performed by a reputable company with certified technicians.

She was immediately moved to our 2 bedroom suite on the upper floor as this was the only one we had available. She than asked whether she would be charged more for the suite. The customer service rep told her no she would keep it at the same price. Our suites are surrounded by tropical gardens therefore food crumbs or food not properly covered will attract ants.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Lucia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

We visited Harmony this past week for one night as we had some business to take care of in the city. e have stayed at Harmony 3 other times in the past 2 years, so we are very familiar with the hotel, amenities and location.
Harmony is an older hotel that is showing it's age in lots of areas. It is well kept, lovely gardens and small pool and the rooms are very clean; they are also extremely dated. 80s tile in the bathrooms, wall mounted old tube hairdryers, older wicker furniture, sink that takes forever to drain, toilets that keep cycling for a long time, even after jiggling the handle, poor soundproofing (could hear the footsteps and conversation from above room, small old TV that you can't even see form the bed and has limited channels (not even the full lineup for the cable provider they use), etc. Just very dated. Also, for those who may like to sleep late - be prepared for a very bright room in the mornings - the curtains do not cover the whole sliding doors and one window is only covered by a rattan roman shade - lots of light in the mornings (and even at night from the pathway lghting) I will give a thumbs up to housekeeping - it is very clean. We were in a classic suite and they do have kettle, mini-fridge, toaster, a few glasses and kitchen odds and ends, etc. No microwave or cooktop or anything though to re-heat food. As noted, we have stayed several tiems when we have needed a clean, affordable option while taking care of business in the city.
Our disappointment and frankly, odd, experience started at check-in though. The young man at the front desk, McKenzie, asked us if we were checking in, we said yes and he gave us the form to fill out. He then proceeded to take out the key and show us to the room. Never once were we asked for ID, a CC for any incidentals, etc. Very wierd and a bit disconcerting - how does he know who we are? We also inquired about a later check out (normally it is noon). We were asking for 1pm. He told us that would be $45US. For 1 hour. As noted, we have stayed in the past and have always been able to get a later check out with no problem and never been charged $45US. He claimed this was standard procedure at hotels in St. Lucia. I called his bluff and told him - this has never happened to us before, not at this hotel, and not at any others we have stayed at - and proceeded to list off a handful we have been at in the last few months. After that, the story was we could speak with Esther in the morning and work it out with her. Ok, no prob. He took us to the room, which as noted was very clean and adequate. Also - be forewarned. The parking for the hotel is very, very tight with small parking spaces and limited space to turn around.
We came back later that night from dinner - around 11:30. Their hotel procedures state that the hotel will be secured after a certain hour (either 10 or 11) and you would have to pass through the lobby which will have a security guard. Well - we passed right on through and never saw a living soul; again very strange as we have been in the past and have definitely had to show our room key or room number to pass on into the hotel. Front doors were open and no one was around.
In the morning, we spoke with Esther. Asked about a 1pm check out. She told us not possible. didn't even offer the $45US extra fee option. Doubly strange - never asked our name or what room number or type of room we were in. Just told us no, she had people coming in for 10 of the Classic Suites and we couldn't get a later check out. Now - I've never met her before. How does she know who we are, what room we are in, etc? Hmmm...Checked Expedia and there were several classic suites still available for that night, so that wasn't the issue. Strange. Again.
Lastly, check out. We were there promptly at 11:55. Turned in the key to Esther and asked for our reciept. We are then told there is no reciept. As we booked with Expedia, she could not print us a reciept. What? Supposedly, as we had booked with them and the rates are confidential- she can't print us a reciept that shows a zero balance due the hotel. I have booked with Expedia all over the world - always, always, always have received a receipt showing a zero balance due the hotel. Just very strange. Again though - she never asked our names, room number, etc. How does she know who we are? It is all very strange and disconcerting.
Needless to say, that is the last time we will be staying there. It is unfortunate as it is a comfortable, affordable option in Rodney Bay. But between the lack of checking IDs, security missing and strange responses, we will be taking our business elsewhere in the future.

Room Tip: Try to get a 2nd floor room (or 1st floor for our British friends) Avoid the ground floor rooms - yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harmonysuites, General Manager at Harmony Suites, responded to this review, June 6, 2012
Harmony Suites is indeed one of the oldest small hotels, and for that reason we try to keep it traditional. The rattan furniture is only two years old. The television set is located in the living room so one cannot expect to see it from the bed. We do provide the full lineup of channels provided by the cable company.
The bedroom is located to the back of the living room which is separated by glass blocks and the bedrooms have no windows. The curtains on the sliding door have black-outlining and the rattan shade is actually bamboo, thereby making the light penetrating the living room limited. To get light into the bedroom the light would have had to penetrate the blackout lining and the glass blocks.
Our Premium suites provide the option of microwave and stove top for cooking and reheating foods.
The gentleman man at the front desk was familiar with the guest as she had stayed twice before and because she was staying 1 night did not ask for ID as is our norm. As our record indicate on both occasions that the clients stayed they left before noon. Check out time is at 12:00noon and late checkouts are permitted for a fee providing the suite is not needed for arrival. The suite was needed for arrival and therefore we could not permit the late checkout.
Some hotels do not even allow late check out whether it is for a fee or free.
Whilst our policy states we lock up at 11:00; whenever we have a number of guest out, as was that case on that day we extend to 11:30. However at the time in question 1 side of the door was open and both the night guard and clerk were present. After the clients walked in her associate proceeded straight to the car that was parked in the parking lot. Both the guard and the clerk saw them.
Strange that the client claimed not to have known Esther as she is the only Female working the desk and have been employed with us for the past 11 years. What makes it even stranger is the fact that due to the hours she works it would be impossible for a guest not to have met her. Only the odd exceptions are those who checks in after 6pm and leaves before 7:00am.
She is also the reservations clerk and would know who is coming and going and all messages would have been relayed to her by the night clerk. Your suite key would also provide the details such as suite number. When we have suites that we are not able to use due to maintenance issues we do not close out Expedia or any internet site. We only do so when we are fully sold out. Expedia...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Harmony Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harmony Suites

Also Known As:
Harmony Hotel Castries
Harmony Suites St. Lucia/Castries
Address: Reduit Beach Rd, Rodney Bay | PO Box 155, Castries, St. Lucia
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Castries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 17 hotels in Castries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Harmony Suites 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Venere and Otel so you can book your Harmony Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harmony Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.