We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place for an overnight stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Auberge Seraphine

Save Saved
You added Auberge Seraphine to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Auberge Seraphine
Vielle Bay, Castries 00000, St. Lucia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Castries
ohio
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“great place for an overnight stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We stayed here in order to catch a flight back to the States coming from another island. We arrived in the evening. We got the feeling initially that there was a question of is there a reservation. But everything worked out. We were given rooms. Breakfast in the restaurant was good. We were able to walk easily and quickly to Castries to spend a little last minute souvenir shopping before heading home. Rooms clean, close to inter island airport, relatively inexpensive, perfect for a quick overnight stay, not a beach destination

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    41
    17
    1
    3
See reviews for
8
19
16
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Auberge Seraphine was just the kind of place I needed to relax after a busy Christmas Season. The pool and deck were a great place to relax and enjoy the sun. Room with a private balcony and a view of the harbor and the setting sun. Good food in the restaurant at reasonable prices. Courteous and helpful staff made me feel special at all times. Friendliness, good service and comfortable rooms at an affordable price.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, AZ
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

We stayed one night here for our last night of island hopping before returning home. I don't agree with "David R" - it is in a good location with good food choices with in walking distance if you choose not to eat at the hotel. However, be aware that this hotel is very close to the domestic (Caribbean islands), airport on the Northern part of the island, it is NOT close to the international airport which is located on the opposite end of the island. Who planned that? It is an expensive 2 hour cab ride to get to the international airport. There are no dollar buses that serve this route. When we arrived at the hotel and checked in, we certainly did not feel welcomed! In fact, we felt like we had majorly inconvenienced the man who checked us in. We were shown to our room by another young man with his earphones plugged in his ears, who spoke not a word to us and of course could not hear us speak to him! Strange and not a good first impression. But we are pretty independent so no tip for him! We went down to the bar to get a cold Coke and after finally getting waited on, the bar tender was courteous and the drinks were not expensive. The room was very large (we had decided to splurge for our last night and upgraded to a deluxe room(120 USD), so it was large and had a mini-refrigerator and large balcony with two chaise lounges facing the harbor. The room was contemporary, clean and bright with a king bed that was comfortable with clean linens. The bathroom could have used a renovation, but the shower was great, fixtures clean with a large vanity - big bathroom. It was also very quiet - on the second floor, two flights of stairs to get there - hauling your own luggage. We did not eat at the hotel restaurant, but instead followed the tip from our travel book and the cab driver and went to a very nearby/easy walk to restaurant - the Coalpot. It is definitely a business hotel as there were several men and women sitting around the pool, outside their rooms and around the bar and lobby - all on their laptops! The grounds are green and lovely including a large Lilly pond and of course the tree with all the birds - crazy how many! Be sure to ask about the short cut to the main down town of Castries. It is an easy walk that takes you to the main business/shopping/shipping/cruise ship area of town. The outdoor market is great with loads of fresh vegetables and fruit. There are public bathrooms in the heart of the market and you have to purchase your toilet paper, but you get a good amount and the inside is surprisingly clean and the toilets flush - so don't let the outside scare you away. ALL of the market sellers are more friendly than the hotel personel and you can taste anything and even get a fresh coconut with a straw popped in the top hole created by a lady who is a master at using the machete! Stand back! Way fun, interesting and friendly area. I would definitely stay here again, but not for more than 2-3 nights max - there's no beach access, airplanes fly overhead and one day downtown is plenty. I would not expect to be welcomed!

Room Tip: The website said that some rooms had been renovated and to be sure to ask for one of these. I did a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Auberge Seraphine is a true St Lucian hotel which caters for local business people and also for international business travellers. My father has been staying at this small hotel for the past 20 years when on business and loves it so much. This is the second time we have all stayed a week with my children and had a family vacation together.

The hotel is in a great location for independant travellers, it is a short walk from the craft market, fruit/veg market and grocery store, and across the bay, (again a short walk), is the Coalpot restaurant.

The pool is lovely, rooms 304 and 303 are worth paying a little extra for as you get a fantastic view accross the harbour from your private balcony. You can leave your balcony doors open and listen to the bull frogs and the birds. The open restaurant is a delight to be in; breakfast was great, and Barbara was wonderful always asking about our day.

We hired a car which gave us the freedom to tour the island at our leisure and there is so much to see and do.

Auberge Seraphine is a real taste of St Lucia which you won't get in an all inclusive resort.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaguanas, Trinidad
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

This hotel is situated in an area where there is no food available nearby and one has no other choice but to order food at the hotel's restaurant.The food there is tasteless except for the salt.It's very salty.The chef has no creativity in food catering, especially good tasting food. The service is very very poor, one has to actually beg for attention from the waiter/waitress.One thing they are cabable of doing however is charging for the food/drinks.It is very very costly and expensive. Management there seems to have 'connections' in high places in order to get their rooms filled.

Room Tip: Definitely not this hotel: the 'Auberge Seraphine'
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EAST SUSSEX
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

We stayed at the Auberge twice during our recent holiday as it was convenient to the airport (five minutes by taxi). It was a clean hotel with welcoming service at the reception desk. We were shown to our room on both occasions and used the restaurant for dinner (enjoyed both evenings. The service at breakfast was relaxed but we enjoyed our bacon and eggs!! We would recommend this hotel for a one night stay - an airport hotel with character!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grants Pass, Oregon
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

We chose Auberge Seraphine for proximity to Vigie Airport for an outbound flight and to get a feel for Castries while still enjoying a harbor view. Front desk service was good, but restaurant service lax and indifferent at breakfast, bordering on irritating. Dinner was better. I had a reasonably priced and wonderful rack of lamb both nights.

There are two walking routes to town. The walk should take you an unhurried 20 minutes. The short way is through a littered dirt path behind small boat docks, then through a gate leading to the cruise ship dock and its fancy stores (and a couple of places to get light meals during their opening hours). The long way is paralleling the airport which, for my wife and I (both pilots), was actually an attraction.

The pool and surrounding deck, with umbrella-covered tables, was very pleasant both by day and night. Probably 200 egrets roost in trees adjacent to the lilly-pad covered pool between the restaurant and parking area and the harbor which adds color and almost constant motion to the scene.

We'd definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: We stayed in 211 which has a deck area but overlooks the flat roof of the south wing of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Auberge Seraphine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Seraphine

Address: Vielle Bay, Castries 00000, St. Lucia
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Castries
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Castries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small family run hotel in St. Lucia with one of the most popular restaurants on the island. An obvious choice for business travelers visiting Castries or Gros Islet because of its proximity to SLU airport, more and more vacationers are stopping into Auberge Seraphine for one or two nights during their stay on the island for an authentic local experience. While there is no beach, most rooms overlook the pool and beautiful Vielle Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Regatta Hotels and Regatta Hotels so you can book your Auberge Seraphine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Seraphine Castries
Auberge Seraphine Hotel Castries
Auberge Seraphine St. Lucia/Castries

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Auberge Seraphine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.