We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient to Regional Airport, Good Food, Indifferent Restaurant Service at Times” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Auberge Seraphine

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Castries
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Auberge Seraphine
Save
You added Auberge Seraphine to your Saves list
Vielle Bay, Castries 00000, St. Lucia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Castries
Grants Pass, Oregon
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Convenient to Regional Airport, Good Food, Indifferent Restaurant Service at Times”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

We chose Auberge Seraphine for proximity to Vigie Airport for an outbound flight and to get a feel for Castries while still enjoying a harbor view. Front desk service was good, but restaurant service lax and indifferent at breakfast, bordering on irritating. Dinner was better. I had a reasonably priced and wonderful rack of lamb both nights.

There are two walking routes to town. The walk should take you an unhurried 20 minutes. The short way is through a littered dirt path behind small boat docks, then through a gate leading to the cruise ship dock and its fancy stores (and a couple of places to get light meals during their opening hours). The long way is paralleling the airport which, for my wife and I (both pilots), was actually an attraction.

The pool and surrounding deck, with umbrella-covered tables, was very pleasant both by day and night. Probably 200 egrets roost in trees adjacent to the lilly-pad covered pool between the restaurant and parking area and the harbor which adds color and almost constant motion to the scene.

We'd definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: We stayed in 211 which has a deck area but overlooks the flat roof of the south wing of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    42
    17
    1
    3
See reviews for
8
20
16
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Connecticut
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

We chose to stay at the Auberge Seraphine for one night before flying to Martinique, and for two nights when we arrived back, largely because it is close to Castries airport and to the town itself.

The room we were given on our first night was great, in the newest (or most recently refurbished) part of the hotel at the far end of the swimming pool. The room looked modern and almost new, was a good size and, like everywhere in this hotel, had an amazing view of Castries harbour. When we returned from Martinique, we were given a room in the older part of the hotel, behind the swimming pool. This room was even larger than our first room but was a little dated and worn. The faucet on the sink functioned but was broken, the refrigerator ran off a clunky-looking transformer sitting on the floor beside it and the closet doors would not close. The staff at the front desk were friendly and helpful. WiFi worked well in both rooms. And the room price is undoubtedly a bargain compared to the prices charged by many of the luxury resorts in Saint Lucia.

Which brings me to our experiences in the restaurant. We had lunch there on the day we arrived. The restaurant was quite full and we got the impression that many of the people there are regulars, who seemed to be enjoying themselves and their food. But both of our lunchtime dishes were bland to the point of being almost tasteless and the service was, at best, indifferent.

Not knowing of any other restaurant within walking distance of the hotel, we decided to give the dining room another try at dinner time. After our totally uninspired lunchtime meals, we opted for a pizza, despite the fact that this requires a 40 minute wait “because they are made from scratch”. But we were happy to sit at the bar while we waited. We asked to see a wine list but the barman told us that “we have lost it” and gave us the impression that this loss was neither recent nor considered important.

Our pizza topping, like many on the menu, included olives. When the pizza arrived, it tasted as if the chef had poured half a bottle of pickling liquid from the jar of olives over the pizza, rendering it almost inedible. When we commented on this, the staff were completely indifferent.

So for the other two days we stayed in the hotel, we went to the dining room only for breakfast. The breakfasts themselves were O.K. but by no means great. Service continued to be indifferent bordering on incompetent. The waitresses were very concerned to make sure that the dining room looked “neat” by dragging the rather heavy tables and chairs around the tiled restaurant floor. This included providing a third chair at our table-for-two while we were still dining. They were so busy doing this that they had little time to spare for the dozen or so guests. Coffee is poured for you by your waitress. When we finally got her attention and asked for a second cup, we were told on two days out of three that … “We have run out. You will have to wait while we make a fresh pot”.

Visually, this hotel has a superb location. But it is not quite as convenient as the map makes it appear. You still need a taxi to go almost anywhere, including downtown Castries unless you are willing to make the half-hour walk down a muddy path and a rubbish-strewn street past the cruise terminal to get to the main road. And of course, you still need a taxi to and from the airport. So, the next time we are flying into or out of Castries, I think we will look for a hotel in Rodney Bay.

Room Tip: Room 301 on the ground floor "at the far end of the swimming pool" is great. Room 303 abov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Hotel grounds were pretty and pool deck was nice with shaded tables and lounge chairs. The room itself was clean, but basic. It did have a flat screen tv with full cable package. There was an iron/ironing board and fridge in the room. I would compare it to a high 3 or lower end 4 star hotel in the US. We found the service all over the island very friendly, but slow and this was no different.

We also ate dinner and breakfast in the restaurant. The restaurant is open air, so I recommend bug spray for dinner. We had a pizza which was surprisingly good. It was freshly made upon order. Breakfast was also freshly made, but not as good as the dinner.

Room Tip: We had a top floor room that had a balcony overlooking the pond. Room was quiet and slept well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for a conference in 2013. Before coming to the island, I researched by looking at pics & reviews online. Lovely hotel from the looks of it, close proximity to the city & most of the reviews were good. Check-in went smoothly upon arrival & the friendly staff escorted me to my room. So far everything looked great, restaurant was exactly as the pics, pool area was good, although I checked in at night. So far so good. So imagine the horror when I entered my room & felt like I was in a flashback in some old 80s movie. I said, "Ok, maybe poor on decor but it could work." WRONG!!!!!!!!! It was a horror movie, I was stalked by mosquitoes for 3 nights coming from what I initially thought was a lovely pond in the front. To make matters worse, the toilets were outdated and clogged frequently, there was no mini-fridge and the television speakers on the relic of a tv made watching my favorite programs a nightmare. To make matters worse, the beds were almost as hard as the ironing board, which by the way was soiled beyond measure with water stains & gosh knows what else!

The conference room was another story, small, cramped, inadequate equipment ( no cordless mics, out of focus projectors), and the refreshments provided by the hotel were far from superb.

The only saving grace for this hotel was the friendly staff at the front desk, bar & dinner service. The meals were satisfactory but the breakfast service left a lot to be desired.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Stayed at the hotel back in Aug for a few days, it was relaxing there, there is a lovely view of the bay from the top. Customer service was good and the food was delish. location is excellent due to close proximity to the vigie airport.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westland, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

The rooms were clean and gave us a beautiful and relaxing view of the tree full of egrets, as well as the harbor and the hills surrounding Castries. The staff was always eager to serve any desire from a dish of their delicious rum and raisin ice cream to a special request for a breakfast for five of green fig and saltfish(St. Lucian National Dish) which had to be ordered at least a day in advance. Even the nightly romantic overtures of the tree frogs became musical toward the end of our stay.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vieux Fort, Vieux-Fort, St. Lucia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We are locals and we visited the hotel in August. We were really looking forward to staying there after reading all the great reviews on this place, plus there was free wifi in the rooms so i knew that i would be able to catch up on some work. Unfortunately it was not what we expected. The room didn't even have a mini fridge to bgin with, so in order to get a cold drink we had to go to the bar and to make it worse the wifi kept on dropping so i was unable to get much work done. The bar staff and dinner staff were friendly, but the breakfast staff were not too friendly and very unprofessional. One of them wore flip flops while serving which i found to be very strange and unprofessional since ive been in the hotel industry for over 10 years. I tried to overlook all those things and tried to make the best of my stay at the hotel. On the day of departure, after breakfast i went to the front desk to ask what time was checkout. I was told noon. It was a bit after 10am when i asked. When i got to the room, the phone rang and the receptionist informed me that we would have to leave the room at 11 because the maintenance department has to carry out some work in there. That was it for me. I hung up the phone and we left the room immediately which was about 10:30 am. At this point i wanted to ask for a refund but decided against it. I would say that my stay was horrible due to the unprofessional-ism of staff and poor service and i never want to visit this place again. Out
of the many hotels which we have stayed in St Lucia, this one was the most disappointing stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Auberge Seraphine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Seraphine

Address: Vielle Bay, Castries 00000, St. Lucia
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Castries
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Castries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small family run hotel in St. Lucia with one of the most popular restaurants on the island. An obvious choice for business travelers visiting Castries or Gros Islet because of its proximity to SLU airport, more and more vacationers are stopping into Auberge Seraphine for one or two nights during their stay on the island for an authentic local experience. While there is no beach, most rooms overlook the pool and beautiful Vielle Bay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Auberge Seraphine Castries
Auberge Seraphine Hotel Castries
Auberge Seraphine St. Lucia/Castries

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Auberge Seraphine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.