We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Meal, Right on the Water, Excellent Menu” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Coal Pot

The Coal Pot
Seraphine Road, Castries 00124, St. Lucia
+1 758-452-5566
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 24 Restaurants in Castries
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $25 - $75
Cuisines: French, Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Fish and seafood specialties restaurant on water front at Vigie Cove, Chef Xavier Ribot has lead this charming restaurant for 15 years offering french and Caribbean cuisine.
Albany, NY
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Great Meal, Right on the Water, Excellent Menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We took a long ride in from our resort, and it was totally worth it! The staff was so welcoming, the setting is gorgeous right on the water and the menu was fantastic. We couldn't each decide on appetizers so wound up sharing everything - St. Lucian crabback was melt in your mouth wonderful, coquille St. Jacques was heavenly, creamy and rich lobster bisque, a sumptious goat cheese and cranberry salad and one of the best french onion soups. The bread was also fantastic - so crusty on the outside and warm and soft on the inside - absolutely perfect. 3 of us went with the barracuda - a local had said its the best hes ever had and he didn't steer us wrong - its nice too bc you can choose from a number of sauces for each of the fresh fish. Our 4th had the dorado and also loved it. In reviews I read before going some people complained about pricing - I think its bc they didn't realize it was in EC not US$ - it is a very reasonable priced menu for the level of cooking and freshly prepared seafood. Staff was friendly and attentive, I had seen some comments about stray cats as well - there is one cat - its the restaurant cat her name is Grey Goose and she isn't pesky if you just shoo her away she goes somewhere else, nothing to freak out about! Beautiful location, excellent food, lovely setting - I would love to come again if and when we are in St. Lucia!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    299
    150
    37
    10
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Blue Bell, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“a Romantic dinner right on the water”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

the food is always fresh and perfectly prepared. the setting is lovely and romantic, the owners and servers are always attentive and friendly.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“overrated and very expensive”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Tried this restaurant on recommendation of our B.A. rep. what a let down!
the menu was written up on a chalk board which I think may have been marked up especially for us.
the food was nothing better than average, my wife and daughter had a three course meal with a bottle of wine Bill = $400 US and the waitress promptly said the tip was not Included!!!
Sorry not for me, and definitely wont ever return.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Disappointed this time”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

One of our favourites. We always visit when we are there. The owner is extremely friendly and the menu is vast. I don't like fish even though the choices are extensive, but there is plenty for meat eaters too - pork, beef and lamb.

What lets this place down is the unfriendliness of the staff. Our waitress didn't engage or speak with us other than to take our order. It wasn't service with a smile. I hope it was just a bad day and not a sign of what we can expect in the future. It really dampened our spirits and we couldn't wait to leave.

Another thing I hate is when a restaurant is being closed down around you. We weren't there late - arrived at 8pm but by 10 they were closing off lights, shutting down the bar and we felt they couldn't wait to get rid of us. At least wait until the last guest leaves before you do this it really is very unwelcoming.

I do hope this place bucks it's ideas up - it was once superb but other than the food and the outlook it really doesn't have more to offer.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Caribbean food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

After 2 months in St Lucia, this was our favourite restaurant. The fish was amazing (particularly the dorado) and it is in a beautiful location. Fantastic Caribbean food.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Coal Pot also viewed

 
Marigot Bay, Castries Quarter
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
 

Been to The Coal Pot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Coal Pot, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.