We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly Saga owned hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bel Jou Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Castries
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bel Jou Hotel
Save Saved
You added Bel Jou Hotel to your Saves list
PO Box 296 | La Pansee, Castries 89131, St. Lucia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 17 hotels in Castries
Shaftesbury, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Very friendly Saga owned hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

I have just spent 2 weeks at this hotel and found all the staff very friendly and helpful. The hotel is situated near the top of a hill, the road to the hotel has a lot of bends and is very steep. The free shuttle bus runs several time a day to the centre of Castries and beaches. The Saga representative, Elizabeth was very helpful.The optional trips out were very well organised, The food was good but not Caribbean, Sunday lunch in the main restaurant :- roast beef and Yorkshire pudding. Lunch was also served in the Cabana restaurant by the pool.Variety of sandwiches and fish and chips. The house wines were palatable. The rooms were very clean and air conditioning worked well. Location of the hotel was not to my liking, a bit isolated without any bars, snack bars or shops near the hotel.A pleasant relaxing place to stay.There are a lot of steps in the area.

Room Tip: The hotel does not have a lift, from a ground floor room in the main building there are three flight...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    67
    53
    19
    7
    3
See reviews for
9
89
35
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Watford England
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

The Bel Jou caters almost wholly for SAGA customers, who are usually in the "senior" age bracket. It does not offer some of the sporting and leisure facilities that might be found at a hotel serving a wider age range but provides most of the other services that would be expected.. We stayed for one week in March, and found it quite acceptable and good value. The hotel is located on a hill above the capital, and a courtesy bus runs a regular shuttle into town and to local beaches - this was very helpful and gave more options than if the hotel had been an enclosed beach resort. There are two restaurants, although the pool-side one was only open at lunchtimes. The food was good - a mixture of Caribbean and British dishes, with a good choice at all meals, although the selection of house wines was rather poor. Hotel staff were friendly and helpful. There are good views from the upper floors of the main block - ground floor rooms have no view but direct access to the very attractive gardens. Several species of birds can be seen in the grounds. There are just sufficient loungers and garden chairs for the number of guests (the hotel was full during our stay) but the pool is small and space there is limited. As the hotel is built on a hillside, there are many steps to get from place to place. This might be a problem for some people. A good range of excursions is available and St Lucia has a number of attractions which are worth visiting.

Room Tip: Higher floors have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here in February for two weeks and had a relaxing stay. My husband and I wanted to get away from the cold dreary British winter to warm sunshine. However we had a lot of rain, and St Lucia is famous for it apparently! Weather apart, the hotel was welcoming, the staff very pleasant and we had a relaxing stay. As other reviewers have noted, the position of the hotel on a steep hill is the only downside, as you cannot really go out for a stroll, but the views are excellent right down to the harbour where you can spot the cruise ships coming in. Rooms are clean, spacious and modern and public areas have a colonial feel, with wicker chairs. There are probably not enough relaxing sofas to sit on in the evening though, and many guests remain at their dining table because of this. Food was good, as was the service. Javid, one of the waiters was particularly helpful. The courtesy bus was excellent and we found Pigeon Island a little gem. Care must be taken with the steep steps at the hotel, especially after rain, and there is no way of avoiding them if you are in the main block.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chester
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

i had 18 wonderful days at the bol-jou i arrived on my own to find several more single people i met another lady betty on the first night and we got on great .bel jou has an old colonoal feel even afternoon tea and cakes .the food is very good and i am fussy you only had to ask as my friend did as she was vegetairian and they came up with some new dishes that delighted eveyone .definatly go back again

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicestershire
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

The hotel is rather nice, rooms spacious, fresh and clean, top floor ones have great views over to the sea and gardens, which is what we had. Nice pool and good poolside lunchtime eatery serving light meals. The gardens are very well kept. However, this hotel is more for the Saga upper age group as there is no real atmosphere for the lower age Saga group. The evening meal is average and not what we'd expected as we found it to be pretty dull, the salad choice was extremely limited with hardly any variation. Its a buffet restaurant where a dress code is essential for the evening and as this is the Caribbean and the hotel not even what we would consider a four star (3* max) think this is unnecessary, smart shorts collard top for the men should have been expectable. The saving grace was that the staff are lovely except for a couple of surly ones. Would we return, not for another 10 years or so!!!

Room Tip: Choose the higher floor rooms for beautiful sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Lucia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

We stay for one night it was my wife Birthday. Which she Enjoy the time there , the Staff was wonderful thanks to ms Carlyn for make it all wonderful .the food was the Bomb .the Room is to died for .very nice place.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gloucestershire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

The Saga owned Bel Jou is one of the nicest hotels I have ever visited. It is certainly not the smartest but it has something very special that makes people go back, often more than once. The staff, headed by Camilla and Navin, are delightful. It's hard to pick out any one in particular but I must mention how lovely and helpful Navin is and also the lovely Brettany and Mani who drives the shuttle bus. The food is really excellent. At the buffet there are always several choices for each course and there is something for all tastes. The rooms are spacious and clean. The bungalow rooms are a little dark because of all the vegetation in front of them but that is a small niggle and I thoroughly enjoyed watching the humming birds and small lizards that inhabit the area. I am sure that if the rooms were painted white and dressed with some of the beautiful brightly coloured batik that is available on the Island then they would be more cheerful. The gardens are beautiful although the access from the pool terrace involves a lot of steep steps so not suitable for anyone with mobility problems. There is a well stocked air- conditioned library next to the bungalows and a nice little bar by the pool. The Saga representative, Elizabeth, is a lovely lady who does an excellent job. She is really efficient and will sort out any problems you may have. The shuttle bus provides regular free trips into Castries, Rodney Bay beach and shops and the fabulous Pigeon Island. The access roads to the hotel are incredibly steep so walking around the area is probably not a good idea! Do take plenty of insect repellant.......there are midges aplenty and they will get you! Having said all that I can't wait to go back to this lovely relaxing and very special place!!

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bel Jou Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bel Jou Hotel

Address: PO Box 296 | La Pansee, Castries 89131, St. Lucia
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Castries
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Castries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Saga guests can now enjoy a holiday at Saga’s own hotel on the Caribbean island of St Lucia. Boasting stunning views over Castries from its setting atop a steep hill, the 4-star Bel Jou provides a tranquil, tropical retreat for today’s over 50s, free from the distractions of the more overrun resorts. With many opportunities for sightseeing and sampling island life, the hotel’s relaxed atmosphere is perfect for a leisurely holiday or a lively Caribbean experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bel Jou Castries
Bel Jou Hotel St. Lucia/Castries

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bel Jou Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.