We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value holiday experience.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bel Jou Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Castries
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bel Jou Hotel
Save
You added Bel Jou Hotel to your Saves list
PO Box 296 | La Pansee, Castries 89131, St. Lucia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Castries
Certificate of Excellence
West Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Good Value holiday experience.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We have just returned from a holiday at Beljou. We knew what to expect as we came here five years ago. The staff are great. I never saw a miserable face. Special thanks to Navin, deputy manager acting for Camilla his wife who has a new baby. He even gave us all the opportunity to go on a free trip to Creole country while the builders were carrying out a noisy repair. The food is first class. The Sous Chef Alvin seems to be the driving force. He even made four of us a rice pudding when we said we missed it. Our room maid Favriana kept the room spotless with a smile. She had a marvellous boss, the housekeeper Celine who kept them all on their toes. She only had to shout a name from the bottom of the steps and they came running. We stayed in room 502 which had a marvellous view of the gardens and sea.
The Gala night was a real treat with waiter service, a first class meal and entertainment and dancing provided by the Reggae music and dancing.
Having said all this there are problems with the hotel structure which is in need of repair and refurbishment. It is now tired looking. Some of the woodwork in the grounds is rotten and the roof is leaking in places. The pool area and Cabana bar needs attention to update. I love the atmosphere at this hotel but unless a lot of money is spent on it soon there will be serious problems. I suppose it didn't help with it being rainy season because when there were sharp short spells of torrential downpours it didn't improve the image. The new rep Sarah is settling in but she has a lot to learn about the area and the local and Saga culture!
However I will 'watch this space' and see what develops as I would like to return. All in all we had a lovely relaxing holiday.

Room Tip: Try and get a high floor for best views of sea and gardens but remember there are no lifts so you ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    58
    19
    9
    3
See reviews for
10
106
42
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
clacton on sea
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We have just returned from a wonderful holiday at the Bel Jou hotel, We had a great top floor room (501) which had fantastic views from the balcony. The room it self was very clean and there was nothing more we could have wanted.
The hotel management & staff made us feel very welcome, there was plenty of wonderful cocktails on offer and as for the three course breakfast, lunch and dinners you couldn't have wanted more. The variety of food was very good, great salads, tasty fish and lots of different meats which could be eaten out on the veranda. The evening entertainment was very nice, steel drums, local dancers and singers.
We spent most afternoons around the pool area which was lovely, always spotlessly clean and there were plenty of sun beds for all.
Yes the hotel is on a steep hill and you really do need to use the shuttle bus but we found this to be great and VERY reliable.
We will return to this hotel in the future as there are many things we still which to do on St Lucia.

Room Tip: Any rooms on the top floor will give great views but be aware there are no lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guia, Portugal
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

This hotel is on a hill overlooking Castries. The hotel advises using their frequent free shuttle bus service if you wish to travel to town as it is quite a steep hill to the hotel.

The fans and decor are reminiscent of an older style colonial hotel. The food which is served buffet style is excellent with a wide choice which varies on a daily basis. It is probably aimed mainly at the British market.

There are many steps between bedrooms, swimming pool and dinning area but the hotel is quite clear in its literature that this is the case.

The bedrooms have recently been re-modeled and are very comfortable. There is evidence that much of the hotel has been the subject of major refurbishment.

There was entertainment every evening after dinner whilst we were there.

The management were helpful and friendly.

Touring excursions were good although the boat trip seems to be aimed at the younger generation as the music level on board rather spoiled what could have been an idyllic trip round the island.

Room Tip: Middle floors have fewer steps to facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We returned to the Bel Jou in June after having such a great holiday there last year and we were pleased that very little had changed!
The rooms were clean and roomy - we chose the third floor this year for a better view , the meals were good and the staff pleasant and helpful, as we expected.
We had a little more rain and cloud this year but this was not really a problem.
Henry, the rep, was great and always around if you needed him.
We are looking forward to our next visit!!

Room Tip: The third floor has the fewest steps if you are going to the pool and the restaurant and decent view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Stayed at the Bel Jou In May and was very happy with the hotel. I will not dwell on other posters comments as I find most of them quite correct and truthful. The staff were very helpful and looked after you very well indeed. There seems to be a lack of organisation with waiters regarding the main restaurant, but found that on the Gala Dinner Evening they were all together and just proved that if they were more organised then, then it should be done as a matter of course. However I must say you were never empty of wine from your glass for very long. Felt like we were being pushed out of the restaurant after the evening meal even though the entertainment was still on as they were trying to set up for the breakfast meal. (Restaurant served as the focal point for the entertainment in the evening). Took the helicopter transfer option and felt it was not worth the money as all you did was fly over banana plantations to the other airport where you were transferred to a bus to your hotel. Met some very nice people who made the holiday more enjoyable but all in all a nice relaxing time was had. The humming birds feeding from the feeders around thepool are a delight and well worth the patients to obtain a video, However be quick as they are very fast

Room Tip: Take a very good Quality mosquito spray or rub as you will be the main course for them and they get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

My husband and I booked an all inclusive birdwatching and wildlife exploration through SAGA (over 50's) staying at the Bel Jou for two weeks. The hotel sits high on a hill overlooking Castries and has great views. We ate meals on the verandah at breakfast and lunchtime, and in the evening we ate in the restaurant. Six meals a week are buffet style with one night being Gala night, therefore waiter/waitress service. All staff at this hotel are very friendly. The food was good with plenty of choice, roast and fish, pasta dishes etc. As a vegetarian I found some of the meals limited but made up for it by having dessert e.g. gateaus, ice cream or fruit cobbler and custard! A good selection of cheeses was available. At breakfast there's a wide selection of food, cold meat, cheese, bread, cereals, yogurt, sausage, bacon and eggs cooked to order etc. At 4.15pm each afternoon there was an English tea of fabulous scones, hot from the oven, with jam and cream, and sandwiches, enough to keep you going until your evening meal..
Rooms are very spacious with plenty of room for your clothes etc. A nice bathroom with a useful clothes line so you can dry your swimming costume, a very good shower and plenty of hot water. All the rooms overlook the gardens and most have a seaview. The housekeeping staff did and excellent job and the hotel grounds and external areas are kept exceptionally clean. The evening entertainment was good with the opportunity to dance it you want to.
As our party had it's own tour host, Dee, who was exceptional, we had little to do with Henry, and on the occasions when he was asked for advice it wasn't always forthcoming. We therefore thought we were treated differently because we were there as a specific holiday group.
The manageress Camilla and her husband were very friendly.
Many of our group made the same comment as us that it's a shame of the location of the hotel as most of us like to have a walk in the evenings, but once you see the surrounding roads you understand why it's not safe to walk. We used the courtesy bus which takes you into Castries, Rodney Bay or Pigeon Island (great for snorkelling but mind the black sea urchins).
We had a wonderful time and met some great people. SAGA only runs this wildlife trip once a year (May) at present, but if you are able to get a place and you have Dee Doody as your tour host you will have a fantastic holiday. Some of our group were new to wildlife holidays, some were experienced 'birders', others like me just want to see it all! Fabulous!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Hotel excellent - rooms extremely good - balcony overlooks gardens and sea - staff very friendly - Saga Rep 'Henry Roberts' was one of the best reps I have ever met - cannot walk from hotel as terrain very steep but you can use daily free hotel minibus to get around and it is punctual and good service - restaurant and views from are excellent - swimming pool small but useable, but we went on the hotel minibus to beach which was deserted and lovely to both walk and swim - overall excellent -

Room Tip: Have room on second floor or above for views and size -
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Bel Jou Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bel Jou Hotel

Address: PO Box 296 | La Pansee, Castries 89131, St. Lucia
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Castries
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Castries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Saga guests can now enjoy a holiday at Saga’s own hotel on the Caribbean island of St Lucia. Boasting stunning views over Castries from its setting atop a steep hill, the 4-star Bel Jou provides a tranquil, tropical retreat for today’s over 50s, free from the distractions of the more overrun resorts. With many opportunities for sightseeing and sampling island life, the hotel’s relaxed atmosphere is perfect for a leisurely holiday or a lively Caribbean experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bel Jou Castries
Bel Jou Hotel St. Lucia/Castries

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bel Jou Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.