We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and true to brochure” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bel Jou Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Castries
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bel Jou Hotel
Save Saved
You added Bel Jou Hotel to your Saves list
PO Box 296 | La Pansee, Castries 89131, St. Lucia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Castries
north east
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
“Good value and true to brochure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

A SAGA hotel that is very clean and the room are excellent .Food good but not fantastic and the staff very helpful. Hotel very safe and beautiful situation on hill overlooking Castries. Mixture of ages because it is a Saga hotel but that depends on how young young feel.Good bus service so young can get out and about.No computer for hotel guests this year. Not told. Could have taken I pad if we had been told.Also as said by others more information about what's going on locally ie when there are celebrations and opening hours of shops etc.Rep only recently parachuted in and not up to previous rep yet.

Room Tip: High rooms give great views - garden rooms great feeling
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    54
    19
    7
    3
See reviews for
9
94
36
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Heswall, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

As the title above suggests the Bel Jou is a home from home for British Elderlies.
Whilst the rooms are clean and comfortable the decor is old fashioned but the rooms are well serviced each day. The hotel is situated up a hill away from Castries and the beach. A minibus service does run to take you to a number of places. If you like beach walking directly from your hotel, as at Coyaba Beach Resort, Grenada, this hotel is not for you.
The pool is small as is the pool seating area although there are about 16 loungers in the gardens.
The food is typically British cavery as would be available in any pub in the UK. Nothing exciting!
With no youngsters in the hotel life stops at about 10.30. There is no area for having a drink and a chat as the outside Cobana shuts at six .
Definitely a SAGA oldies hotel and very disappointing after the other hotels, Blue Haven, Coyaba Resort and Buccament Bay Resort experienced on the SAGA Islanda of the Caribbean tour.

Room Tip: If you have difficulty with stairs this hotel may not be your best choice as all rooms have stairs a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Witney, Oxfordshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Lots of steps which are dangeous when wet. On arrival found the swimming pool to be filthy had not been cleaned as they stated they had run out of chemical. Food was Hospital type food very basic. Set three meals a day no coffee shop to get a sandwich, cake etc. which normal all inclusive have. Room smelt unpleasant and again very basic. Bedding inadequat especially when it is necessary to have the air conditioning on. The shuttle bus did not always run. Although when it did it was good. Hotel very isolated and it was necessary to use the bus. There are only 17 louge type chairs to sit on and relax in the evening, so you had to remain at your dining table for anythis that was going on. The only good point was the Saga Rep. Henry who did try his best without much help from the management There was no room service and no fitness centre. Guest were very unfriendly and were waitng for god..

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

The hotel provides what Saga claims - 'Boasting fantastic views over Castries from its setting atop a steep hill, and excellent service from our friendly staff'. The hill is steep and you do have to rely on the minibus transport but that is very good and reliable. Food is plentiful and good but don't expect Michelin star quality! The clientele makes the hotel a bit like God's waiting room but it is Saga after all! Very good attention from Saga rep, Henry, who tries to please everyone. Music provided most evenings but not to our taste - however there are DVD players in the rooms. Some old DVDs in library but bring one or two of your own if you want.

Room Tip: There are steps wherever you go. Decent view on floor 2 if you want to avoid steps to higher floors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Stayed for two weeks at Bel Jou in Dec 12. First time with Saga and not sure what to expect.We have been used to the big all inclusive resorts in the Carribean and found Bel Jou a lot different.

Location:
A bit isolated as the hotel is not on the beach but above the town of Castries. The shuttle bus was very good from the hotel and took you to Castries, Rodney Bay and Pigeon Island, only drawback was that you had to book return journey time previous day which limited you to your trips out. We found we had to catch the local bus service back up the hill a couple of times during our stay (good way to meet the locals).

Food:
food was very nice at the hotel, well cooked and presented although if you are more used to the larger all inclusive resorts it was lacking in choice. Became a bit monotonous after a while.

Accomodation:
Great: Had a room in the main block on level 4. Balcony overlooking the gardens and the sea. Very clean, spacious and well serviced every day.

Entertainment:
Very low key entertainment..singers
and dancers. Good for what they were. Most guests were up and dancing every night but disappeared by 10.30pm (Saga don`t you know)

Ambience:
Great for meeting people. Everybody talks to each other as it is all Brits together. Learnt how to play Croquet after a fashion. If you would like a comfortable holiday to make you feel at ease then this is for you.

Trips:
The included trips were excellent and can
recommend them. If you require a trip round the Island then I recommend you go to the cruise Terminal when a British ship is in and hop on one of the tours at the terminal (half the price of the saga trips) Sorry Saga.

Overall:

Very nice holiday, very enjoyable,being beach bums we are not likely to go to Bel Jou again but if you like to just chill out by the pool, eat and drink then this will suit. (English tea)

Room Tip: Level 4 is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quedgeley
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Just back from three wonderful weeks at the Bel Jou.
Weather excellent most of time although we did have one very unusual very wet day.
did our own thing which is sitting on the beach at Pigeon Island for the best part of every day. Some say boring, we say what the Caribbean is for. we love the variety of each day, there is always something different to see and the National Trust staff there are helpful and friendly.
Bel Jou itself is the same as ever, lovely food, super rooms and great company.

Room Tip: ask for high room if you like to have the view, ask for garden room if you would like to be closer t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We decided to post this review as we have been out for two meals in London since returning from the Bel Jou & neither came close to matching the quality & variety of food we enjoyed there every single day. Highlights included the freshest possible grapefruits & bananas from the hotel garden for breakfast, as we watched cruise ships arriving at Castries harbour, & leisurely dinners in the balmy evening air, watching bats flitting through the Strangler Fig tree whilst the exemplary waiting staff kept our glasses full. One continual challenge was to leave room for dessert &, although the scones provided for tea were excellent, we rarely had room for them! Having noted comments in previous reviews about the lack of traditional St Lucian fare on the menu, we raised this with the chef who responded that his menu reflected what guests actually ate.
Our room was comfortable & the daily maid service kept it spotless. We never tired of the view from the balcony & the sound of the Island’s wildlife (except for the dogs).
We were impressed by all of the staff & their efforts to make us feel welcome. Henry was a most attentive Saga Representative, who kept our brains working with his daily puzzles.
The hotel’s hillside location affords excellent views but the downside is that walking options are limited & it is necessary to take the hotel shuttle to the beach. However, having said that, we found the shuttle service to be very efficient with a choice of three very different beaches to visit.
Most of the excursions were enjoyable & watching dolphins leaping & spinning in front of the Pitons, whilst enjoying a glass of rum punch, will be an abiding memory. However, we would not recommend the aerial tram trip through the rainforest as a far wider range of flora & fauna could be viewed from our balcony.
In conclusion, there are many things about the Bel Jou, e.g. the light, the warmth, the friendly people, the food, the views, the ambience, the swimming, the dancing, the cocktails, etc etc.
John & Nancy

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bel Jou Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bel Jou Hotel

Address: PO Box 296 | La Pansee, Castries 89131, St. Lucia
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Castries
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Castries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Saga guests can now enjoy a holiday at Saga’s own hotel on the Caribbean island of St Lucia. Boasting stunning views over Castries from its setting atop a steep hill, the 4-star Bel Jou provides a tranquil, tropical retreat for today’s over 50s, free from the distractions of the more overrun resorts. With many opportunities for sightseeing and sampling island life, the hotel’s relaxed atmosphere is perfect for a leisurely holiday or a lively Caribbean experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bel Jou Castries
Bel Jou Hotel St. Lucia/Castries

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bel Jou Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.